DriveThruFiction.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Book of Beasts: Monsters of the River Nations (PFRPG)
Publisher: Jon Brazer Enterprises
by David D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/18/2018 15:35:38

'Book of Beasts: Monsters of the River Nations' is a Pathfinder roleplaying Game compatible product from Jon Brazer Enterprises. I bought a printed copy since I greatly enjoyed another Book of Beasts in the past (Monsters of the Shadow Plane). You get a great bunch of interesting monsters, ranging from 1/2 CR up to 16 CR. Every mob comes also along with a black & white artwork picture. There are a lot of monster books on the market to find, so what makes 'Book of Beasts: Monsters of the River Nations' stand out from many other supplements? The answer is simple: no filler mobs by lack of creativity but interesting creatures to fit in any campaign. On top of that you get some useful appendixes (new templates, diseases, haunts, gambling games & drug, humanoid encounters) as bonus. My verdict: 5 stars.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Beasts: Monsters of the River Nations (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for taking the time to review our book. I am glad you enjoyed it so much. Please let us know what you thought of our other books.
Forces of Nature, Book 1 - The Druid (5e)
Publisher: d20pfsrd.com
by David D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/05/2018 16:25:09

I bought a printed copy of the rpg supplement for 5th Edition ‘Forces of Nature, Book 1 – The Druid’ from d20pfsrd.com and here is my short review of this book. The supplement comes in color and is enriched with some nice art here and there among the pages. The layout and editing are top-notch. The whole book is well-written,very enjoyable (and understandable) to read. Page 1 contains a content table, page 2 contains a word of introduction, page 3 to 12 contains different druid circles, page 13 to 16 covers different companion creatures for druids, page 17-19 tells about wilderlings (a new playable PC race and/or NPC race), page 20 to 23 goes about druid feats, page 24-25 covers magic items, page 26 to 33 lists a whole array of new druidic spells, and page 34 contains the open game license.

There are 10 druid circles to choose from which allows for diverse types of druids. A druid of the Circle of Decay for example choose to celebrate the true nature of decay as a part of life (kind of necro-druid), a druid of the Circle of Swarms learns to transform into a swarm of beasts, a druid of the Circle of Fury gains the Rage feature, etc. The new playable race, the Wilderlings gets two distinct subraces to choose from: Flora Wilderlings and Fauna Wilderlings. The new companion creatures are all of the plant type, 6 in total. (For instance the Giant Flytrap and the Grabbling Seaweed to name 2 examples). I like the new druids spells (21 in total), ranging from cantrips up to 9th level and among 16 new feats is there always something interesting for everyone. I like for example the Designated Survivor feat that allows to cast area spells with greater accuracy. You can cast an area spell and choose a target in the area of effect to ignore all effects of the spell.

To finish my review, this supplement is written with a perfect mix of love, professionalism, enthusiasm, and inspiration and personally, I attribute 4,5 to 5 stars. Since this book is the first in a new series focusing on wilderness oriented classes, I wait with interest and patience on the next parts. d20pfsrd.com made a good start with Book 1 and I hope the same quality will be upheld in further supplements.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Forces of Nature, Book 1 - The Druid (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Book of Heroic Races: Seedlings (PFRPG)
Publisher: Jon Brazer Enterprises
by David D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/17/2018 14:13:11

Having a printed copy of 'The Book of Heroic Races: Seedlings' from Jon Brazer Enterprises in my possession, I provide hereby a short review. This booklet is 26 pages rich, has a magnificient cover in color (both the art & choosen color palette), and has 21 pages of actual content in black & white. It provides you as player with a very interesting race choice for your character, the seedling and idem dito a very interesting NPC choice for the gamemaster in his/her campaign. So it is a rich addition to have for both players and GM's. Maybe you want as GM nature becoming more alive in your campaign, playing a more active role then it just being lovely scenery, then the seedling is a welcome option and a potential source for many adventures. Or maybe you as player are looking for a more special race to roleplay than humans, elves, gnomes, dwarves, halflings, and the like. This book could be what you were looking for.

It contains seedling racial traits, alternate racial traits, new character traits, favored class options, new archetypes (the switcher & the tree spirit druid), the negotiator as new prestige class, new feats, new spells & equipment, as well as new deities. The book begins with an excerpt from a seedling's forgotten journal (1 full page), providing the reader with a better insight of this tree-like race. Further, you can find in this book also full stats for 4 seedling NPC's: Seedling Guard, Seedling Prophet, Seedling Craftsman & Seedling Elder. Campaign tips are also provided for using seedlings into an established campaign or to keep players excited about this new racial option once the newness wears off. Layout and editing are good and you'll find among the pages some nice black & white art.

My personal verdict: a well written and detailed book, full of interesting stuff that is well -balanced in gameterms, a book that was created into being with care, love and a respected level of professionalism. This translates into 5 deserved stars.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Heroic Races: Seedlings (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for taking the time to review. I am really glad you enjoyed it.
Fey Folio: Clans of the Fey
Publisher: Alluria Publishing
by David D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/11/2018 15:25:36

Personally being a fan of fey creatures, coupled to the fact of being the kind of gamemaster who is of opinion one can never have enough different mobs to throw toward players in a multiverse campaign, I bought a printed copy of 'Fey Folio: Clans of the Fey Realm'. The buyer get a lot of interesting fey creatures, ranging from 1/3 CR toward 21 CR, accompanied with high quality artwork of the different creatures in a beautiful matching color palette. You not get only the full stats and the pictures, but you get also information what drives each creature to get a better insight of them. Further, the booklet also contains 2 pages with GM's reference (keys to playing the fey & gamemaster hooks for low-, mid-, and high levels) and 1 page with magic items. Layout and editing are top-notch. Everything said that needed to be said, this creature book is of a noticeable high standard on many levels and a must have for any GM. Verdict: 'Fey Folio: Clans of the Fey Realm' is well deserved worth its 5 stars.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fey Folio: Clans of the Fey
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Banquet of the Damned
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by David D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/11/2018 14:40:34

The adventure module 'Banquet of the Damned' is extremely well written, from the very first to the very last page. A delight to read for the eyes of any Dungeon Master and as a bonus accompanied with some colorful lovely pictures of art. I bought the printed version and I'm so glad I did. Initially, I was drawn by the horror-cover (being a lover of horror atmosphere adventures) and bought a copy. But once I got it in my hand and began to read through the whole adventure, wow ... such high quality you don't see often in an adventure-module.

So, what you get to throw at your players? An adventure where players can battle evil of demonic nature in a small town, encountering some new monsters. But first, they will need to do some investigation to figure out what's going on. Time plays also a role how things will turn out. Along the way, there is also a great ambush encounter to be played out. 'Banquet of the Damned' offers a great opportunity for roleplay. It can be played in a session of 4 to 6 hours of gameplay, depending on the degree how much your players like to take their time to roleplay. The adventure module contains some interesting NPC's (which are well enough detailed for the DM to roleplay them without any difficulty). Geographic approached, this adventure can easily be placed in any setting you like. And of course, this adventure comes also with some great maps.

Worth 5 stars as final verdict without second thought. Benoit, you delivered a jewel here toward both DM's and players. My congratulations and respect you have.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Banquet of the Damned
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Advanced Encounters: Terrain Toolbox (PFRPG)
Publisher: Sneak Attack Press
by David D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/05/2018 07:17:01

Having bought a printed copy of ‘Advanced Encounters: Terrain Toolbox’ (PFRPG-version), I’m very glad I did so. Although a bit expensive considering it is a black & white book of only 32 pages with 27 pages of content, I can highly recommend this book to any GM who likes to ‘play’ with terrain, bringing it a bit more to the foreground with elements of surprise toward player characters. Surprises that could either benefit player characters or being an added danger or hindrance. Same toward NPC’s.

The Terrain Toolbox allows the GM to make battles more interesting, the terrain becoming a kind of extra character in play. It allows the GM to modify encounters, making it more or less difficult without changing the amount or type of creatures by placing part of terrain with specific abilities.

Flowers that cause magical fatigue, explosive kegs to be used in the heat of battle, holy or unholy altar, magical ballistae, pillars that randomly chainlight electricity, roofs and floors that can collapse, zerogravity zones, etc… This book is just full of interesting ideas to make encounters just more memorable and challenging.

The layout is nice and the random art pictures are nice too. The only thing that could have been worked out better is ‘the shattered glass’ sample terrain, giving the glass an attack roll to hit players where a reflex saving throw on part of the player is way more logical and appropriate (shattered glass being a varation of caltrops).

My final verdict: I attribute 4 stars to this book.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Advanced Encounters: Terrain Toolbox (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Monster Menagerie: Horrors of the Aboleth
Publisher: Rogue Genius Games
by David D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/03/2018 14:52:40

I have bought a printed copy of ‘Monster Menagerie: Horrors of the Aboleth’. You get a very nice full colored product with interesting and terrifying aboleths that are very Lovecraftian inspired. Each creature is accompanied with a breathtaking illustration (the artwork is of high level) and you get aboleths going from CR 3 up to CR 17. I always say: ‘One cannot get enough water monsters. The more, the better’. Further, you get as a bonus also a few new items, feats and spells.

The only minor point I could provide is the lack of a table of contents, liking an immediate overview when opening a book. Nevertheless, I’m of opinion that this product is worth 5 stars. It has everything what I expect from a menagerie of monsters, beside the missing table of contents.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Menagerie: Horrors of the Aboleth
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

The Ebon Vault: Unstoppable Hammers
Publisher: Necromancers of the Northwest
by David D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/03/2018 14:19:01

Having bought a printed copy of ‘The Ebon Vault: Unstoppable Hammers’, I hereby provide my review of this product. It is a very useful product for any GM who wants to add more detail in their campaign concerning the availability of different kinds of hammers (and other bludgeoning weapons) when player characters go shopping at a nearby NPC weapon store. This supplement offers also some new special materials to make hammers from and also a lot of special weapon abilities and mundane weapon properties to make an otherwise ordinary hammer more special. Even at low levels, player characters are provided quite some customization choice. Not only an useful supplement for a GM but of course also for any player that likes hammers or other bludgeoning weapons (when the GM allows it, many of the abilities can be easily applied to other weapons).

The editing and formatting are nice. The only negative point about this product is that the print quality of the different tables throughout this product is quite poor, while the print quality of all the rest in this supplement is excellent. It takes some effort to read the listed prices or bonus/penalty numbers in the different tables, just because of the rather poor print quality of the tables.

Still, considering the price paid for this product versus all the useful information gotten therein, I consider personally ‘The Ebon Vault: Unstoppable Hammers’ a quality product worth its 5 stars.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Ebon Vault: Unstoppable Hammers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Shadowsfall: Temple of Orcus (PFRPG)
Publisher: Jon Brazer Enterprises
by David D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/02/2018 16:27:10

I bought the printed version of this adventure module ‘The Temple of Orcus’, which is a nice introduction adventure to lead players toward the plane of shadows, also known as Shadowsfall. It is made for a group of 4 players of 5th level and this adventure module includes 4 sample 5th level characters for those who like ready to play characters in their campaign (has also its use as NPC idea-source to help populate your campaign if so desired).

From the 18 pages this adventure module is rich, it contains 14 actual pages of content, which is nice. It is a black & white print with a colored softcover. Without giving away any spoilers, I can say that it is a straightforward adventure to fill your evening. It can be played both with the use of miniatures or without for those who like more the theater-of-the-mind approach. This module includes 2 maps (each filling half a page) with squares (each square equaling 5 feet). Not only useful to the GM, but also toward players (if you remove a few capital letters and numbers) since the maps doesn’t contain any secret (=spoiling) info.

‘The Temple of Orcus’ adventure also include 1 introduction page to Shadowsfall, explaining in short what exactly the plane of Shadows is, how Dark Vision works on this plane, how Shadowsfall affects magic, … It has a good editing and formatting with a nice layout. For its price, you get a quality product that I personally find its 5 stars worth.

I would describe ‘The Temple of Orcus’ as a classic rescue mission where player characters attempt to rescue some NPC’s from the clutches of evil, the mission clothed in an atmosphere of horror. It can be easily adapted to fit in any custom made world and Ravenloft-lovers could swap the plane of Shadows with a domain from the demi-plane of Dread for example. There is no limitation except by the limitation of your own imagination.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowsfall: Temple of Orcus (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for taking the time to review. I am really glad you enjoyed it.
Mythic Magic: Horror Spells
Publisher: Legendary Games
by David D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/02/2018 15:31:56

Having bought the printed version of ‘Mythic Magic: Horror Spells’, I personally attribute this installment with the maximum 5 stars. Comparing the price of this product with the amount of actual pages of content (18 pages out of 26 pages) one gets, the usefulness of the content (both toward players as well toward GM’s), the editing and formatting quality, the beautiful colored artwork, the quality of the paper on which this installment is printed, the nice table of contents overview, …, it is definitely worth its maximum stars.

This particular installment contains 69 mythic spells with crystal clear spell descriptions, a must have for any horror campaign lover.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Magic: Horror Spells
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates