DriveThruFiction.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
The Quick, Digital Edition only
Publisher: Myrrysmiehet
by Jonas M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/14/2020 04:46:19

So far only game in nordic noir genre. I like the attitude of the game that does not wallow in grim darkness and hopelessness. It also feels like written by grown ups for grown ups. Things are bad because of indifference not because of every authority is aligned gleefully with malignant forces.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Quick, Digital Edition only
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Alas Vegas
Publisher: Magnum Opus Press
by Jonas M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/28/2020 06:43:35

Alas Vegas is intriguing consept, but wrecked by how shoddily it is executed. First of all it is absolutely railroaded, author would have spent time by writing a novel. Writing style is edgy and gritty like straight from 90's. It is challenging, not very engaging, needs huge investment in time and several people to run it, all but one commited in in blind to something that might be awesome or not. Demands lot but gives a little and might just not be worth the trouble.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Alas Vegas
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

X3 Curse of Xanathon (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jonas M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2014 02:50:01

Curse of Xanathon is really bad apple for a published module you are expected to pay for. If these would be someones campaign notes offered for free my tone would be different.. Illogical and railroaded adventure that does not even have anything special, weird or gonzo to redeem it from utter mediocrity. DM really has to shine and take extra effort to make this work, I have been lucky enough to play this module with one and after getting the PDF to satisfy my curiosity my it is my respect for the DM that rose.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
X3 Curse of Xanathon (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Castle Falkenstein
Publisher: R. Talsorian Games Inc.
by Jonas M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2014 02:40:20

Castle Falkenstein was far ahead of its time when it was released in the 90's and I can't say I would have stumbled on anything remotely like it. Sure, there are dozens of steampunk roleplaying games with orcs and elves but none have the same dedication to atmosphere and making it all work as whole. System and design choces make sense in what the game tries to establish, it's not D&D with guns. Propably the first and still the best best game in steampunk fantasy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Castle Falkenstein
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

13th Age Core Book
Publisher: Pelgrane Press
by Jonas M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/22/2014 03:27:26

13th age is culmination of D20-system era D&D or the next logical step on the games evolution, at least to me. Different branch of evolutionary tree might be more fitting way to describe it. Rules are not as cluttered as D&D 3.5 or Pathfinder but this does not give you feeling your options would have been limited in any meaningful way. Default setting that comes with book is pure D&D-kitch in style of Forgotten Realms or Golarion, I kind of like it. Thing I like the most in the game is how the rulebook is written, it explains in straightforward and honest manner with lots of examples it's rules. It is written for people who are sitting around the kitchen table and having fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
13th Age Core Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

CM6 Where Chaos Reigns (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jonas M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/12/2013 06:49:37

Epic scope of this adventure is a bit daunting and it is hard to believe everything has been succesfully crammed to one adventure module. These days similar adventure would take hundreds of pages. Science fantasy elements in it makes me think of the adventure like Doctor Who plot crossed with D&D. It's a bit plot heavy but that can be forgiven all the fun that can be had with it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CM6 Where Chaos Reigns (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Under the Storm Giant's Castle (1979)
Publisher: Judges Guild
by Jonas M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/12/2013 03:20:31

This is truly a bit crazy adventure. Unconventional, strange and funny but the age really shows. There are tons of better dungeon crawls out there.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Under the Storm Giant's Castle (1979)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Starships & Spacemen 2e
Publisher: Goblinoid Games
by Jonas M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/12/2013 03:13:06

Starships & Spacemen is roleplaying game of 1960's original series Star Trek with serial numbers filed off. It's rules are based on Labyrinth Lord that is 1980's Dungeons & Dragons serial numbers filed off. Dispite perhaps lacking on originality it does not lack enthusiasm. This game is in short really skillfully put together fan tribute to the TV-show.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Starships & Spacemen 2e
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Serpent Scales #4: The Lion in Fimbulwinter - Sweden (Savage Worlds)
Publisher: Atomic Overmind Press
by Jonas M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/12/2013 02:47:02

When I think of good old neighbor to the west action. excitement and adventure are not the things that first come to my mind but The Lion in Fimbulwinter manages to sell me consept of Sweden as setting for pulp adventures.

Hite has crafted this mini-setting with great depth, or at least feeling of such. There is atmosphere of impending doom, uncertainty and back to wall desperation in the post-serpentfall Sweden that main setting of devasted America I think lacks. This does not look like a post-apocalyptic western setting for plucky pioneer types that will repuild a nation and kick snakemonsters and KKK-klowns in the behind. It is still fun over the top setting like main The Day After Ragnarok and there is even a silly Pippi Longstocking joke in the mix.

I would really want to read more of material that Hite has published in Fenix magazine.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Serpent Scales #4: The Lion in Fimbulwinter - Sweden (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Many Gates of the Gann
Publisher: Chaotic Henchmen Productions
by Jonas M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/09/2013 17:05:44

One of the best modules that has come out of OSR phenomenon. Has really interesting science fantasy thing going on in it that is not totally "gonzo" style. Atmosphere reminds me of old pulp stories more than many other modules. I personally like the use of Fiend Folio monsters.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Many Gates of the Gann
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

The Day After Ragnarok
Publisher: Atomic Overmind Press
by Jonas M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/21/2013 07:20:12

Best Savage Worlds setting I have come across, because this just oozes style and substance. Writing shows real understanding what makes old pulp stories cool and worth emulating on roleplaying games. Rules on creating adventures and campaigns are very handy and get the show on the road real quick,



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Day After Ragnarok
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

The Cursed Chateau
Publisher: Grognardia Games
by Jonas M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/26/2013 12:52:50

Adventure suffers from lack of structure feels like a haphazard collection of rooms, in other words it's a so called funhouse dungeon. I think there are better modules that combine horror and dungeon crawling. Not really a bad adventure but lamentably mediocre.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Cursed Chateau
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Ursined, Sealed and Delivered (S&W)
Publisher: Frog God Games
by Jonas M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/26/2013 12:48:51

Absolutely marvelous adventure. I liked the adventures whole setup and folktale logic of talking seals and magical fish. There is interesting situations and new monsters. Maps are top notch and informative.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ursined, Sealed and Delivered (S&W)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Weird West Roleplaying Game Basic Rulebook
Publisher: Robertson Games
by Jonas M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/25/2013 15:24:11

Price is exatly right for amount you get. This minimalist roleplaying game gives you everything you really need to start building your own weird west adventures. Propably the best thing I have bought for a single dollar.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Weird West Roleplaying Game Basic Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Fiend Folio (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jonas M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/25/2013 01:11:13

Out of all the D&D monster manuals this is the most imaginative, weird and fantastic. There great deal of variety to fill whatever you want, there are creepy and disturbing monsters, there is weird folklore and trash literature inspired critters and some clearly done just for the laughs. Special mention should go to art which really illustrates the weird and fantastic contained in this tome.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fiend Folio (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 16 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates