DriveThruFiction.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Villains & Lairs
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Kyle M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/12/2019 19:17:01

Very handy. I especially like the suggestions on using the NPCs in various ways: as villains, yes, but also quest-givers, merchants, etc. That makes this far more usable than I originally realized!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Villains & Lairs
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Slinker, Sailor, Soldier, Spy: 52 NPCs and Tools to Make Countless More
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Kyle M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/12/2019 12:55:16

NPCs that do more than chat or give rumors and quests are a great way to make your game feel more alive and real. The NPCs here accomplish that very well mechanically; of course, the DM still needs to imbue them with personalities and goals, but the evocative art and descriptive names help very well when you realize you need some mechanical heft behind those personalities. Very worthwhile for any 5e Dungeon Master.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Slinker, Sailor, Soldier, Spy: 52 NPCs and Tools to Make Countless More
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Deep Magic: Void Magic
Publisher: Kobold Press
by Kyle M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/12/2019 09:31:14

The void beckons you and welcomes you into its swirling embrace. Feel yourself fall ever further into the nothingness of nonexistence, and know that only by doing so can you truly become.

Does what it says on the tin.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deep Magic: Void Magic
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

(Not So) Legendary Actions
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Kyle M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/12/2019 09:29:43

Super helpful, especially for newer DMs unsure where to start in modifying and beefing up their solo monsters.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
(Not So) Legendary Actions
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

The Perilous Wilds
Publisher: Lampblack & Brimstone
by Kyle M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/26/2019 21:56:39

Provides everything you need for a sandbox campaign in Dungeon World, and many of the tools & new moves can be applied to any DW game you might run. I loved it so much I bought it twice so I could have a hard copy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Perilous Wilds
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

20 Dungeon Starters
Publisher: Lampblack & Brimstone
by Kyle M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/26/2019 21:47:33

I have used these many times for one-shots or to start short arcs. Even if you have an existing game, the repository of dangers, discoveries, monsters, and other material will be useful to you. The layout is gorgeous and evocative. Can't recommend this enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
20 Dungeon Starters
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Ravenloft Bestiary - Monsters of the Dread Domain
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Kyle M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/24/2019 09:23:38

The monster designs are pretty good with lots of story text to provide inspiration and background. My main concern is the lack of editing: the text is plagued with typos, distracting mistakes (e.g. all Turn Resistance descriptions refer to the creature as a "lich"), and grammatical errors. Looking forward to deploying some of these monsters in my Gothic (non-Ravenloft) campaign!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ravenloft Bestiary - Monsters of the Dread Domain
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Hexmoon Sabbath: A Folk Horror Doom
Publisher: Dolorous Exhumation Press
by Kyle M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/21/2019 12:01:36

Regardless of the system you're using, this excellent small supplement will prove useful. It's organized in such a way that the GM can quickly find what they need when planning a session. Even more importantly, you will have the tools to react when the players inevitably do the unexpected. I'll be dropping this in a Krevborna game, but honestly it would work just as well in any setting with witches.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hexmoon Sabbath: A Folk Horror Doom
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Truncheon World pdf
Publisher: Red Box Vancouver
by Kyle M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/21/2019 11:59:35

This has become my go-to reference when GMing Dungeon World. As a bonus, they've added a few very minor things (e.g. to the section on Fronts) that make the existing design a bit clearer and easier to use.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Truncheon World pdf
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

5MWD Presents: Traps
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Kyle M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/21/2019 11:58:48

Even if you don't use the traps exactly as written, you will likely find them inspiring and easily modified to your own needs (using the DMG and XGtE guidelines to adjust the damage, for example).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
5MWD Presents: Traps
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

X MARKS THE SPOT A Plane Shift: Ixalan Adventure
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Kyle M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/29/2018 20:06:06

The adventure starts with a prison escape (not a very challenging one, to be honest) and then turns to something of a race to reach a temple containing a powerful artifact before their erstwhile captors do.

My friends had mixed feelings about the pregenerated 4th-level characters, but they trusted me and dove in. As it turned out, they had a lot of fun exploring some archetypes they don't typically play, like Wild Magic Sorcerers and Circle of the Land Druids! Since the adventure came out before the actual "Plane Shift Ixalan" setting document did, this let players have characters that matched the story and unique constraints of Ixalan when they couldn't create them yet. This makes the adventure work well for a convention setup, where players can just grab a character sheet, sit down, and start playing. It also meant that the needed story elements were already there: every character had already agreed to work together and had particular motivations for doing so.

However, in a convention setup, I don't think random encounters make a lot of sense. For sure, have some less-important encounters that you can forego if time gets tight, but pick them in advance

The adventure itself leans really hard on its roots in MtG. Locations and loot are named after specific cards from the Ixalan block, for example, and treasure tokens work something like inspiration for handing out magic items. (That mechanic doesn't matter that much in a one-shot and probably works better in a shared campaign setting.) Several of the monsters illustrate the time-honored DM technique of relabeling an existing monster with a new name and art but the same stat block.

Balance was tight. With four of these characters, two fights each nearly did them in. Partway through the fights, I decided to reduce the total HP of some monsters, though still within the stated ranges. It would have been pretty easy for the main boss at the end to TPK them, I think, particularly since a few times I forgot to apply damage resistances.

If I run this again, I will probably drop the treasure token mechanic entirely, and roll (or choose) the extra encounters in advance. And in a pre-planned session, I'd also encourage players to create their own 4th-level characters in conjunction with the setting document and a bit of guidance about creating the initial bonds between them. You could then leap from there to an actual campaign in Ixalan based on whatever agreements they made, with lots of exciting hooks and opposition ready to go!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
X MARKS THE SPOT A Plane Shift: Ixalan Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Out of the Abyss Map (DM and Player ver.)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Kyle M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/02/2018 16:47:18

Useful as a handout for my players on Roll20. The lettering is a little hard to read, but it's still better than giving them the map from the book which has far too many spoilers on it for their use.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Out of the Abyss  Map (DM and Player ver.)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Dungeon World
Publisher: Sage Kobold Productions
by Kyle M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/31/2018 22:22:09

If you like D&D but feel it focuses too much on game mechanics and not enough on story, this is the game for you. While it preserves most of the feel of D&D, especially old-school flavor, it does so by sweeping away most of the crunchiness and getting to what matters most while still recognizably paying homage to its source material.

In my mind, if you redesigned D&D for streaming, it would basically just be DW.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Out of the Abyss - DM Guide
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Kyle M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/31/2018 22:18:52

I refer to this just about every week for my OotA campaign. Some ideas don't work for my group (e.g. the suggestion of teleportation circles), but everything here definitely gives me stuff to think about when preparing. And, given the famously poor editing of the adventure itself, Ruiz has done an admirable job of collecting things together in a way that helps the rest of us make sense of the material.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Out of the Abyss - DM Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

A Guide to Tales From the Yawning Portal
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Kyle M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/31/2018 22:13:00

Definitely worth grabbing if you're going to be running these. Lots of ideas to make them run more smoothly or just add more flavor and fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Tales From the Yawning Portal
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 44 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates