DriveThruFiction.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Tome of Beasts for 5th Edition
Publisher: Kobold Press
by Jeremie C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/12/2019 21:22:06

Absolutely fantastic product, adding a swath of creatures that will sensibly fit in many settings, and will keep adventurers on their toes with unfamiliar foes. My favorites were the creatures of the fey.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tome of Beasts for 5th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

A Guide to Curse of Strahd
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jeremie C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/29/2016 12:13:49

A definite time saver for the time concious GM. The scope of the recent D&D campaigns can sometimes be hard to grasp without reading the whole book from front to back, with necessary details buried here and there, and this product makes using the official product much more manageable.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Curse of Strahd
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Deadlands Reloaded: Coffin Rock
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Jeremie C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/08/2015 11:26:12

Coffin Rock is a great entry point for marshals and players into the Deadlands setting. The module is quite well contained and doesn't have you diving headfirst into a sea of Deadlands canon, so you have the opportunity to focus on theme and the town's (Coffin Rock's) individual NPCs and locales. There are of course connections to wider events, but you won't miss out if you happen to forget them during games play. This is the first official adventure for Deadlands Reloaded, and was probably designed as such.

The small town is detailed down to the dwelling, with various events corresponding to the various fear levels for each dwelling noted, along with the town's immediate surroundings. This design gives a large variability on the amount of play you can get out of this 30+ page product, and will work if you want a really quick two session adventure or a mini-campaign. As for the plot, there's nothing trying to be clever, but it won't feel dog-eared cliche either. If your posse succeeds they'll be able to pat themselves on the back and have something to show for it in the papers.

My one gripe is a technical one. Many official products have PDF layering, where you can disable images, txt etc at your own discretion. However this product unfortunately does not support that feature. I like to print and markup documents, and this saves on ink and writing space.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Reloaded: Coffin Rock
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

The Ruins of Undermountain (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jeremie C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/04/2008 00:44:13

One dungeon to rule them all...

I owned the box set but seeing a show I left my AD&D stuff behind in a move. My gaming ahs evolved over the years into less hack and slash games but sometimes there is an itch that needs to be scratched. The dungeon is quite large and has quite a lot of character. This is not a death trap like Tomb of Horrors, and while it has the reputation of being dangerous (certainly deserved) it's not over the top.

One thing people usually don't expect is the amount of detailed rooms. There is a large amount of rooms already detailed but a fair bit is left for you to fill (or leave empty) at whim. Personally I don't have a problem for this but some people want a fully detailed dungeon. The first level is more detailed then the second and third levels.

The scan quality is quite good and all the additional cards (Trap cards, miscellaneous effects) are in there.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Ruins of Undermountain (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Campaign Cartographer 3 Full Version
Publisher: ProFantasy Software
by Jeremie C.
Date Added: 04/04/2008 00:27:03

Excellent CAD based cartography program for creating maps. If you were always impressed by the maps you found in RPG products, such as the Forgotten Realms maps, this is the program to make them. There is a learning curve to learning to use the program so be prepared to invest a number of hours before you're creating maps you want. If you're familiar with programs such as CAD and other vector based programs you will have an easier time for sure.

If you're only going to make a map or two you may want to step away from it, but for those who enjoy making maps and impressing their players with their work then the program is certainly worth every cent.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Campaign Cartographer 3 Full Version
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

DMGR5 Creative Campaigning (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jeremie C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/04/2008 00:21:35

This product wasn't exactly what I was expecting. The product details steps you can take to create a campaign that doesn't fall within the standard medievil theme of AD&D. They give numerous examples such as campaigns heavily influenced by ancient Rome or a Lost World where conquistadors ride dinosaurs. I had thought it would have more material applicable to DM skills at the table but I hadn't researched the product well enough.

If your having troubles coming up with a unique theme for your campaign and want something really different this might help you. If that's not what you are looking for then this product will be of little use.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DMGR5 Creative Campaigning (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Uncaged: Faces of Sigil (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jeremie C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/04/2008 00:15:13

I really enjoy this product. The NPC's are presented in a large amount of detail and gives them life. What I most enjoy is the network of relations between each NPC ,which gives a large amount of ideas to springboard adventure ideas or background events to add further depth to your games in Sigil.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Uncaged: Faces of Sigil (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Tome of Ultimate Mapping
Publisher: ProFantasy Software
by Jeremie C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/14/2006 00:00:00

I picked up the Tome after I purchased Campaign Cartographer 3. I played around with the program for awhile but then caved in and got the tome. The Tome I found very useful for a novice and it probably eliminated hours of playing around with CC3 trying to figure things out. Specifically, making nice paper looking maps.

Although this is intended for users of Campaign Cartographer 2 and its various addons, I found it still easy to follow with CC3.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: A fast track to making decent maps and getting comfortable with Campaign Cartographer.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: There is a bunch of material in the Tome that I don't have a use for. Specifically those parts dealing with CC2Pro's addons. However, this isn't a fault of the Tome, more so just material I didn't need for my own uses.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tome of Ultimate Mapping
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Doors to the Unknown (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jeremie C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/31/2004 00:00:00

Outside of what's in overview the adventures are set over a relatively short period of time (2-3 months). This wouldn't be much of a problem except that the set of adventures as is have a fairly large level spread (2-8). This may be too fast a leveling rate for some people. I found it best to up the challenge of the easier ones and bring in a more developed party.

Other then that this module is quite fun. The PC's failure can have serious repurcussions and is great to give your players that feel of really setting something right or seriously causing a lot of trouble.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Doors to the Unknown (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Planescape Faces of Evil: The Fiends
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jeremie C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/31/2004 00:00:00

A very good source of material on the structure of fiendish society. A great resource to giving your fiends a depth to them that extends beyond the naming of Baatezu and Tanar'ri. Also it answers questions on what sex the fiend is, do they sleep and do they need to eat. As well the cant is there and given from a perspective from a number of characters. One such interesting character is Xanxost a Slaadi.

Was hoping for some insight on playing the politics of a Yugoloth and Baatezu. But that hardly detracts from the usefulness of the product.

There are no new creatures, spells etc so don't expect it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Planescape Faces of Evil: The Fiends
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates