DriveThruFiction.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Edge of Sundown
Publisher: Chaosium
by Christopher c. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/22/2019 00:23:16

Excellent wierd western horror and action ! I enjoyed this anthology very much , tho all of the stories were connected by the background theme , they were each different and original , I would definately love to see another anthology in this setting ! They provide really interesting ideas for wierd western roleplaying , I dont want to spoil it for anyone , but I will say if you like wild west horror , like The Bone tomahawk for example , or The burrowers ... And sprinkles of occult , horror , and wonder , then you will enjoy this anthology.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Edge of Sundown
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Red Shield & Gold Eagle: A Role Playing Game of the Napoleonic Wars
Publisher: Dragon Trove LLC
by Christopher c. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/20/2019 20:08:25

Well done ! covers just about everything you could need source wise to run a game between 1796 and 1815 ! It is written to be fun to read and I enjoyed reading it , and it is written for several variants of those grand old games ;) I think it will be perfect to blend with Sabres & Witchery for the Napoleanic sword and sorcery type game ive been trying to envision. This book contains a great deal of historical source , you do not have to be an expert on Wellingtons hangnail problems to be able to enjoy this !



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Red Shield & Gold Eagle: A Role Playing Game of the Napoleonic Wars
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Blade and Lockpick. A game engine for solo and two player games
Publisher: Nordic Weasel Games
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/28/2019 20:44:53

Interesting system , that I enjoyed reading . This system is composed of character creation, system rules and solo rules/tools. It expands the dice pool system I enjoyed for years playing Tunnels and Trolls fifth ed. With these rules you can build a sandbox world in any genre you choose . Creating foes and npcs, monsters appears to be easy with these rules. Simple rules for magic, super powers etc. You will need to use your imagination with this game , but thats not a bad thing , after all its good mental exercise and creativity, its the way played back in the day . I purchased this game on sale , and im happy with the purchase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blade and Lockpick. A game engine for solo and two player games
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Privateers and Pirates
Publisher: FJ Gaming
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/10/2019 22:42:55

...Having spent the last ten days reading various Pirate/Swashbuckling games , this one has shown to be the best , and most enjoyable to read, it is the one I will start a "SaltBox" campaign with soon...

Pros 1 The game itself is complete as far as a Historical based game, no magick , no monsters . You have to add those if you want a supernatural setting , which I will probably do. 2 Character creation is simple yet has depth. 3 One system to handle all checks and combat , thats like a breath of fresh air , and all D10. 4 Detailed setting info that does what its intended to do without having to read a 300 page book. 5 The skill system ensures a variety of characters , that fall under wild and free Pirates or Dedicated agents of one of the major powers , working as Privateers.. 6 There are very good appendices to help support your adventures / campaign. And a adventure is included as well. 7 The character sheet is well done and serves its purpose. 8 After reading Flashing Blades/wHigh Seas, Honor and Intrigue, 7th sea 2nd Ed. Crimson Cutlass Omnibus, Pirates!, and All For Me Grog... (whew) All good games for sure ... This game inspired me to write this , and its the one I want to play like ...Right Now! Cons 1 No published adventures or supplements available yet . 2 No natural bestiary, thats an easy fix. 3 no supernatural, again an easy fix. Overall I enjoyed reading this game , I read it in one sitting and I know how to play it already . 86 pages of goodness! I noticed this game publisher has several historical based games available , if they are all based on this same system then I may pick up the western themed game they have next. This game is for persons who want a historical Pirate game , or historical with a sprinkling of home made supernatural elements , which I plan to house rule myself and add in.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Privateers and Pirates
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

The Dark West
Publisher: Micro RPG
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/19/2018 11:33:22

There I were, having just spent two and a half days in Tombstone AZ, soaking up some the awesome western history there , when I started having nostalgic memories of playing Boothill 2nd ed. back in the eighties ... This kicked off a day long search and review hunt on all available western themed Rpgs, I came across the Dark West rpg here on this site and downloaded it , and read thru it in one sitting and I completely grasped and new how to play it just from one reading, this is now my go to western Rpg ! I liked it so much i signed back in and repurchased it with money this time for the authors efforts . I will briefly list its features ; Three methods of resoloution , Dice , simple cards , and slightly more involved cards .. im really liking what im calling here "simple cards. Character gen is very easy , and quick , yet still has some old school crunch to it . Good selection of weapons , clothing , and gear as well as mounts and things common to the era. Sytem for weapons and combat is what i call easy crunchy , and i can add any other weapon types to it with no muss or fuss. detailed and varied enemies and npcs lists , with room for the supernatatural if so desired . A progression system for attributes as well .... so here I am now very happy with this game system , and im downloading Barbarians of the gothic waste as well as its the same author and system that ive already been charmed by. Hoping to see more of these Micro RPG games ! Thank you !



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Dark West
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Creator Reply:
I really appreciate the review and support. It's been a minute since I've written one of these Micro RPGs, but I'm happy to say I'm working on a new one. I'd considered updating the system, but after seeing how much you enjoyed it, I will be keeping it the same. Again, thank you, thank you, for the kind words.
Crimson Dragon Slayer 1.11
Publisher: Kort'thalis Publishing
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/22/2017 16:17:20

" Bearded Bastards of the realm"... Enjoying reading this ! Purchased the Adventure you wrote for this version as well. and looking forward to the release of the next edition ! Not having a regular group to play with as my job makes me travel alot and some of the places I go to dont allow a whole lot of gaming possibilities , im always looking for game systems that allow simple yet deep fun ... that I can use with RPGSolo. Very fresh approach and the writing style actually motivates me ! Thank You !



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Crimson Dragon Slayer 1.11
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

PEAT GODS: Introductory Scenario for Tale of the Slayer
Publisher: Rooster Games
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/27/2015 21:18:02

I have just finished reading thru this awesome game intro / scenario. The art is great and helps promote the atmosphere of the setting, the rules are concise and written well , and feel like they fit this dark world like a glove, I love the "Brink of death "rules as I feel they add a real sense of desperation for the rest of party as they struggle to face challenges and keep their wounded members alive! the included adventure Is classic Gothic Horror set in a dark fantasy that feels like you are reading a really good novel. I eagerly await the release of the full game! I would also love to see solitaire scenarios and group scenarios in the future if possible !Thank you for creating an original and compelling game ! One last thing ... will there be an online site/tavern for Slayers to congregate in and discuss game related stuff and updates ?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
PEAT GODS: Introductory Scenario for Tale of the Slayer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you very much! The game is still in development and it will take a while before I can consider it \"finished\"... However, it\'s comments like yours that make it worth the effort! If the project does well, I am considering doing youtube videos on this, and a community could be the next step. But first, the game needs to be played and polished... a lot! Please play it with your friends and send feedback, I\'d love to hear about what worked (and what didn\'t)! Happy new year! Emanuele Galletto, Rooster Games
Oath of the Dead (fiction)
Publisher: DwD Studios
by christopher c. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/04/2015 14:55:47

Very exciting tale, that went in a different direction than I expected. RPGs that are supported by fiction have always held a special place in my heart as they reveal the living side of the games and supplements they represent. I feel like I'm very acquainted now with Clave , the knightly order, and the tribe presented in this tale. It felt like i was immersed in an episodic slice of the daily struggles in this game world and i haven't even had a chance to read the rule book yet, which I will read next. Great Tale not too long, not too short, but well made and a great introduction for me to this game system/universe! I hope to see more!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Oath of the Dead (fiction)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

OneDice Pirates & Dragons
Publisher: Cakebread & Walton
by christopher c. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/07/2014 14:18:37

Awesome read, wonderful game! Simple yet intelligent rules ! Would love to see modules and solo tables for those of us who do not have groups !



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OneDice Pirates & Dragons
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Scarlet Heroes
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by christopher c. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/17/2014 18:15:27

I am enjoying reading this game very much! excellent product indeed. Im very glad to see there is also a section on playing GM less, as i have no current group. I am happy with my purchase, thanks for a great game! There is also a community on Google + For Stars Without Number that has a section covering Scarlet Heroes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scarlet Heroes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Nights of the Crusades: Blades of the Betrayed
Publisher: Aetheric Dreams
by christopher c. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/06/2014 23:17:26

These short stories are wonderful! I actually read them while my unit was in the desert . Very cool indeed and I look forward to more ! Thank you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Nights of the Crusades: Blades of the Betrayed
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Yarr! The Rules Light Pirate RPG
Publisher: BD Games
by christopher c. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/13/2013 17:15:45

After one read thru I am very happy with this game, and it is a complete role playing game, i was not left with that feeling of incompleteness that I usually get from games claiming to be rules lite. I love pirates and have been hooked on them for over forty years now, this game fits the bill exactly , my search may be over for this genre! (naw , im a sucker for all things piratical lol). The rules are clear and flow well , theres just enuff crunch to add spice to the game, yet its not enuff to interrupt the game or turn it into a math contest. Chargen, skills, equipment, spells , monsters (for them that want a fantasy game or supernatural elements added, historical guides, treasure guides, adventure guides... everything that we used get in a box decades ago , well done! I would love to see some modules as well .



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Yarr! The Rules Light Pirate RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

USR (Unbelievably Simple Role-playing)
Publisher: Trollish Delver Games
by christopher c. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/24/2012 00:23:35

Brilliant, compact, perfect for enjoying actual roleplaying with out scouring tables and charts .



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
USR (Unbelievably Simple Role-playing)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

D&D - Expert Set
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by christopher c. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/27/2008 01:12:03

The meat and potatoes of classic d&d will always be the basic and expert sets, Ive always found that playing thru the levels these two sets detail are the heart of the game! I got my start back in 1980, back when you had to color your own dice, I would like to see other classics such as gamma world, star frontiers, boot hill, etc. My printing of the expert set came out perfectly! Well worth the cost considering that back in the day these two sets wouldve cost (well did cost me ) upwards of forty dollars.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D - Expert Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Displaying 1 to 14 (of 14 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates