DriveThruFiction.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Juggernaut
Publisher: Bully Pulpit Games
by Charles E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/28/2020 16:25:50

I played this game using a couple of Rock Band drum kits and boxes as Juggernaut, with a tray holding the deck of cards. It was an incredibly tense game and a nicely simple one to prepare for. If you want some Twilight Zone style fun and an introduction to Parlour LARP, then this is for you. I wrote a full review and enclosed some photos of my group in lab coats here: http://www.whodaresrolls.com/rpgs/juggernaut/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Juggernaut
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Doskvol Street Maps - Detailed Maps for Blades in the Dark
Publisher: Old Dog Games
by Charles E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/28/2020 15:55:28

Beautiful and intricate maps. Doskvol already looked gorgeous, but this adds so much worldbuilding and perspective to play with just with the names of the locations. I've been a player in a game which used this and can't wait to get behind the screen to have a go at running with it myself.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Doskvol Street Maps - Detailed Maps for Blades in the Dark
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Visigoths vs Mall Goths
Publisher: Ghostly Rituals
by Charles E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/28/2020 08:49:06

This is a gorgeous and funny book. I often find nostalgia to be poison (one which admittedly I'm not immune to) but this feels like nostalgia in a really fun and wholesome way. The rules are nice and simple, the clear goals from the scenarios and the scene limits mean people are pushing to make things dramatic while also basking in the setting. It's a simple concept, but also a unique and fun one.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Visigoths vs Mall Goths
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Dungeon World GM Screen (PDF ONLY)
Publisher: Awful Good Games
by Charles E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/16/2020 11:33:26

Really useful screen. I'm pleased there are versions which are nicer on my printer. I have a customisable GM screen and was able to work out what I needed on mine and the players' sides. Loved it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World GM Screen (PDF ONLY)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Witch: The Road to Lindisfarne
Publisher: Pompey Crew Design
by Charles E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/16/2020 11:32:21

Possibly one of my favourite games where I was burnt to death at the end. I've played it a couple of times. My review and the record of my journey as a harrowed knight are found here: http://www.whodaresrolls.com/rpgs/witch-the-road-to-lindisfarne/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Witch: The Road to Lindisfarne
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Codex - Dark 2 (Dec. 2018)
Publisher: The Gauntlet
by Charles E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/20/2019 06:55:42

The new tools for Swords Without Master and Rhapsody of Blood are good, but the reason a lot of people here is Trophy (now Trophy Dark). The thing is, they're right to be. Trophy Dark is the real deal, as far as horror games go. It's a tragedy up front, so players know to play hard with their characters. It's also collaborative between players and GM in a fashion which is really refreshing after rereading some older, more antagonistic horror games. We work together to tell the story of doomed adventurers going to a place that doesn't want them there. Using the skeleton of the spectacular Cthulhu Dark, this game's blood and flesh is very different. I've run the Incursion (adventure) from this issue of Codex and it is amazing. The format keeps things mutable, able to be changed and revisited. Hell, when I run this again and I will run this again, the adventurers from my last game will probably be there somewhere. At least, what's left of them will be.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Codex - Dark 2 (Dec. 2018)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Quietus - A roleplaying game of melancholy horror
Publisher: Sinister Beard Games
by Charles E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/20/2019 06:36:13

I'm a massive horror fan, I enjoy Forged in the Dark systems and this game feels laser-targeted at me. The mechanics are pared down to a level I didn't expect from FitD games but looks like it will work perfectly. The scenarios are all gutting just to read, so I'm really interested in seeing how they are in play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Quietus - A roleplaying game of melancholy horror
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Bite Marks
Publisher: Black Armada
by Charles E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/20/2019 03:15:41

I ran Bite Marks during the KS when itwas known as Bite Me and had a wonderful time. The game is about werewolves, sure, but its also about family. For the first PbtA game I've seen with a move which can force someone to do something, its more of a "pick your uncle up from the airport" style of obligation. the types of werewolves, like in Masks and Monsterhearts, aren't just about what kind of supernatural widgets you have but the person you and your family think you are. The game I ran was charming and friendly, with some bits of investigation and light horror. The pack were pondering overthrowing their leader who'd been a zealous dick at times. Then when the family needed to come together, they were amazing. Family trumped any kind of petty sauabbles and this game reinforced those themes in the rules and the telling of them. Like other Black Armada games, this game taught me how to play it better than most. BA run incredibly-organised Kickstartrrs and its always great to see the finished product,



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bite Marks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Night Witches - Nachthexen Cards
Publisher: Bully Pulpit Games
by Charles E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/19/2019 05:00:50

These are a fantastic addition. I admit I didn't see use for all of the cards contained, but those I did became essential. The pilot cards changed things up with the NPCs, where the group suddenly had to deal with them as people instead of simply being narrative hit points when they're on a mission #RIPDasha. The squadron leader being able to hand out cards to show who's assigned to which plane makes a nice physical element to the briefings. I didn't bother printing the medal cards as they're represented on the sheet and the oaths can be read from the book itself, but the rest are great.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Night Witches - Nachthexen Cards
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Night Witches
Publisher: Bully Pulpit Games
by Charles E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/19/2019 04:57:51

This is the closest to an HBO show that I've experienced in an RPG, and it's been close before. My group are on a break from it just because our emotional stamina can only take so much, but we can't wait to get back into it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Night Witches
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

The Warren
Publisher: Bully Pulpit Games
by Charles E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/19/2019 04:56:26

This is a gorgeous game, which uses the PbtA design in some fun, different ways.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Warren
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Tall Pines, A Surreal Murder Mystery Game
Publisher: Self-Critical Hits
by Charles E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/19/2018 18:42:06

This game allows you to make weird, Twin Peak style mysteries with compelling characters and a system of incorporating symbolism which looks deceptively simple at first. We were surprised by many of the twists and turns, but it all felt like part of a cohesive, if strange, narrative.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tall Pines, A Surreal Murder Mystery Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

7th Sea Hero Creation Index
Publisher: Chaosium
by Charles E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/19/2018 18:07:05

Really useful for my game, i printed it in a small booklet form and it helped my group find the backgrounds and advantages they wanted from throughout the released 7th Sea books.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea Hero Creation Index
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Minimal Playbooks Plus - Dungeon World
Publisher: Sentinel Sheets
by Charles E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/19/2018 18:03:33

i was after half-page playbooks for some introductory games and these are perfect!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Minimal Playbooks Plus - Dungeon World
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

7th Sea Core Rulebook (Second Edition)
Publisher: Chaosium
by Charles E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/23/2017 07:37:16

As someone who adored the original 7th Sea, this feels like a return to a beloved game and a massive evolution of it. John Wick is a game designer who's made a ton of games, most of which feel like they've led to this.

Characters are swashbuckling heroes with mechanics to back that up. The nations of Theah present an interesting fictional Europe (and beyond!) with magic and myth amongst it. The setting is deep, but still ultimately about the player characters.

The previous edition had a good fictional Europe, but this version feels both more researched and more progressive, which it should be as this is a fantasy world.

The system is roll and keep (them all!) which is similar but more extreme than the original 7th Sea. Now all those lovely dice are clumped together in batches totalling 10 each. These results allow you to not only succeed at what you're doing, but select which other risks in a challenge you deal with and which don't. This level of agency of the players is sublime.

So far I've only played, but cannot wait to run this game for my group.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea Core Rulebook (Second Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 27 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates