DriveThruFiction.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
The Book and The Spring - Encounters & Sourcebook
Publisher: Anachronistes Press
by Thomas W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/04/2018 22:21:55

It is one of the best fits for a port over to Astonishing Swordsmen and Sorcerers of Hyperborea that I have seen in a while. There are many great OSR modules, but not as many that can be run as a Sword and Sorcery style with such ease. This module reads like it was made for Conan and his ilk. The monsters are well done and the adventure is well contructed and covers the plot of destroying an evil item in an interesting way that I would want to run or had I not read it, played through. Even if you don't DM, point your DM this way and enjoy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Book and The Spring - Encounters & Sourcebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

The Book and The Spring - Maps & Supplements
Publisher: Anachronistes Press
by Thomas W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/04/2018 22:20:56

It is one of the best fits for a port over to Astonishing Swordsmen and Sorcerers of Hyperborea that I have seen in a while. There are many great OSR modules, but not as many that can be run as a Sword and Sorcery style with such ease. This module reads like it was made for Conan and his ilk and this collection of maps and monsters plus handouts are a must have. Very useful even without the module as a mini creature collection, but for the price even better if you buy the sister product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Book and The Spring - Maps & Supplements
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

(ME1001) - Mithgarthr RPG Core Rulebook
Publisher: Mithgarthr Entertainment
by Thomas W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/21/2017 21:02:40

A great example of taking a great system and making it fit an idea for a world. Using 5E as a basis and taking the level of magic down a notch and starting the characters at lower power brings the low magic, high danger Warhammer style setting to life. From there you gain power over 10 levels per class at a faster rate per level than 5e. The magic system is changed to better fit the level of power in a lower magic world, while still being powerful within the setting and more dangerous to use. When I bought this product I thought it might be good for things to add to my 5e game. Instead I find that I would rather run this game on its own when on a 5e break. That is reason enough to give it 5 stars.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
(ME1001) - Mithgarthr RPG Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Arms & Equipment Guide 5e
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Thomas W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/30/2017 23:39:04

Great way to add some items from older editions to 5e. The author has done well making a very useful product and even brought out a printer friendly verson, for those who wish all products had a backgroundless version, as soon as asked for one. If you want more armor and weapons and miss some of those seen in past editons, this is a good place to start. Five stars for use and for the author's update.

Best,

Tom



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arms & Equipment Guide 5e
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Ex Cyclopedia
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Thomas W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/23/2017 20:00:20

More monsters are always great and these are some of the best from the past converted to 5e. I've had a chance to use a few and the balance seems right. I would give this product 5 stars and add that the author added a print friendly version within a very short time of my mentioning how helpful it would be to those of us who are still stuck on liking a printed copy to read.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ex Cyclopedia
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Realms of Chaos: Limbo, the Elemental Chaos, and the Slaad
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Thomas W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/24/2016 22:56:28

An excellent product filling in some useful creatures and races from Limbo. The Slaad round out those already seen in 5e and the other monsters are well presented.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Realms of Chaos: Limbo, the Elemental Chaos, and the Slaad
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

A Clash of Swords
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Thomas W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/23/2016 13:12:22

An excellent source for NPCs that would appear in an army. I have not had time to run any numbers, but the stats seem well balanced and the author does a great job of giving a brief setup for each entry. If you are worried about the Author's statement that English is not the Author's native language, don't be. While there are small usage or word issues, the work is still very clear. I wish I could trust myself to be as clear in another language.
As the Author notes, these are Stats for the groups of soldiers and attached personal found in an army. The Armies covered are the standard Human, Elf, Dwarf types expected in such a product. Where this product really shines is in the other armies covered, such as an Undead Army, an Infernal army of Tieflings and a Fey army. In many ways the feel is like a Warhammer army list, but set to use in 5e encounters rather than minature warfare. This would be a great product to use to create a section of an army for your Characters to interact with when they find themselves caught in a war zone.
Overall, a great addition to the NPCs in the Monster Manual and a product I will keep up with as the author updates it further. The only negative, I would give it is the same one most products have on this site and therefore not something I'd drop the rating for. The use of a color background is painful in printing even it looks nice on screen. A printer friendly white background would certainly make this old gamer, who prints everything to read, a happy gamer.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Clash of Swords
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Spawning Pool of the Elder Things
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Thomas W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/13/2016 20:00:21

Wow. This is exactly, what I needed for quick monster ideas. If you want to spark your ideas for great Things from Beyond for your game in any setting (This fits Conan and Primeval Thule like it was made for them) buy this. It is like Goodman Games' Random Esoteric Creature Generator for Classic Fantasy Role-Playing Games and their Modern Simulacra on steroids, but for 5e. The system for creating your "Thing from Beyond" is well explained and the logic of how to test its balance against a list of creatures in the MM is a very good idea, that is also fun. The pdf, while not printer friendly, due to a background, did not seem to eat as much ink as I feared it would and printed very well in Draft mode. I do wish more sellers here would be aware of us poor old folk who prefer to read printed copies of our pdfs. This was the only minor fault in the product and does not bring down a beyond five star rating from me. This is now my go to random monster system. If you are not certain about using Cthulhu inspired creatures, don't worry, instead make them servants of Chaos or Trickster Gods Maybe those Demon lords did more than create madness in your Realms. Did that crazy Elemental/Dragon Cult or some Blood Sucking Jerk of a Mage, dabble is messing with creatures too? The many tables covering types and traits of creatures here, have you covered. I look forward to more useful things from this author.

Best,

Tom



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Spawning Pool of the Elder Things
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Character Crucible: The Wyrm (A Warlock Otherworldy Patron for 5E)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Thomas W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/04/2016 20:51:32

The author continues to create useful options that are very good values. In this case, you get a very useful addition to your list of Warlock Patrons. Everything looks balanced and just as important looks like it would be fun to play. For the price of these products, they are excellent five star items worth trying out and should you find them at all lacking in any way, contact the author as he has proven excellent at working with buyers to improve small things that add to each buy. Need a way to have a Dragon involved with the Characters from the start and have a player who wants something a bit different from a Sorcerer, this fills that role very well. A good buy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Character Crucible: The Wyrm (A Warlock Otherworldy Patron for 5E)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Deities and Domains 2: Specialty Priests of the Faerünian Pantheon (11 Feats for 5E)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Thomas W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/01/2016 20:58:33

More of the same as per part one. These round out other Deities of the Forgotten Realms and gives the same type of information for them as part one. You get Specialty Priests and their vestments as well as a short table of punishments should your Priest not live up to his or her duties to the Gods. Very useful additions for those wanting more ways to make the Gods feel alive in their Forgotten Realms.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deities and Domains 2: Specialty Priests of the Faerünian Pantheon (11 Feats for 5E)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Character Crucible: The Celestial (A Warlock Otherworldly Patron For 5E)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Thomas W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/01/2016 20:46:46

An excellent product adding a possible good aligned patron for your warlock. The class is well written and balanced with the official Player's Handbook patrons. I can see players enjoying this addition and DMs practicing their Christopher Walken impersonations after watching "The Prophecy". Fun all around.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Character Crucible: The Celestial (A Warlock Otherworldly Patron For 5E)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Psionics Unearthed: Tesseract (A Martial Archetype for 5E)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Thomas W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/10/2016 22:26:20

The Author sent me a copy to look over a few days ago and added a few things (a cool example of how the character would look in a story), and sent me the final copy. It was good enough that I bought a copy as the price is very fair. The character class is a fighter that uses movement through natural use of teleports and related abilities as he/she advances in level. Mostly, the class looks fun to play if it fits your campaign. It is hard to say how balanced it would be as I have not used the class in play, but for the price it is worth trying and knowing the author, he would be glad to help any issues that would pop up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Psionics Unearthed: Tesseract (A Martial Archetype for 5E)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Deities and Domains: Specialty Priests of the Forgotten Realms (39 Feats for 5E)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Thomas W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/07/2016 20:26:39

This is a review of the revised version (2/7/2016). The Author has listened to what reviewers have said and this version is an improvement of an already useful product. He has cleared up entries to make them feel unique for each God and included new useful information such as basic garb for the Priests which is very useful for flavor. Also, adding both a Printer Friendly and nice looking version for online viewing or for those not minding the ink cost, adds great value to this five star (for me) product. You will note that the author thanks me as well as others for letting him know what could be improved for each of us. That he cared enough to listen and improve the pdf says a great deal about why I would say, "buy this product", if you want to expand how Priests work with these Gods.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deities and Domains: Specialty Priests of the Forgotten Realms (39 Feats for 5E)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Character Crucible: Giff (A Race for 5E)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Thomas W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/30/2016 18:55:06

It has been years since I have read anything SpellJammer, which really makes me feel old since I had been gaming for over 12 years when SpellJammer first came out. Since it has been so long, I will instead look at this as it would be useful to a non-SpellJammer setting. The Giff, could fit well into any setting that allows renaissance muskets and pistols as written here. That works for me, since I allow rare use of such firearms in my campaign so I liked the race. The Giff seem balanced and like something fun to play with a DM's permission. Other than the sample names (Horton makes me need a who race), I would use as is, and I love the headbutt ability being called headbanger. The added feat ties in well with the Giffs' firearm proficiencies.
As per the question asked by another in discussion, a sister supplement giving a few sample NPCs applying the Race Stats could be future add on from the author if he were inclined to expand. As is, it would be easy to apply this race to the generic NPCs listed in the 5e MM. For a dollar, a buy I am very happy with.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Character Crucible: Giff (A Race for 5E)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Inhabitants of the Dark: Savage Drow (Legend)
Publisher: Solace Games
by Thomas W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/22/2013 19:56:58

First off, the author, Mr. Uyl fixed a slight issue I had with the pdf in under an hour. That shows how great this company is and I think that should be noted since it reflects on the care he has for his work and its buyers. The product itself is very well put together. It adds a classic fantasy race with a twist to Legend (or as I will use it, RQ6). The race is close enough to standard Drow/Dark Elves to enable the basics to be used for them while different enough to fit as a separate group within their society. The two creatures fit the tone and the equipment and spells add to the new race. If this is the first in a series of Dark Inhabitants, I look forward to more. That it is for Legend (with a version for Pathfinder available too) is great. A five Star buy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Inhabitants of the Dark: Savage Drow (Legend)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 16 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates