DriveThruFiction.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
The Mystery of Brushgather Farm VTT Map Pack (Unisystem)
by Thizz M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2021 15:48:49

Loved this adventure (see my reviews) but having separate files made it so much easier to run in roll20. Took about five min to set everything up and made life sooo much easier. IGS maps are some of the best and I really loved having player versions and GM versions separate, this is how adventure maps should be available to gms for sure and i dont know why more dont do this. genius and much appreciated!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Mystery of Brushgather Farm VTT Map Pack (Unisystem)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

The Mystery of Brushgather Farm (Pathfinder)
by Thizz M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2021 15:47:20

Our group ran this for 5e but the comments are the same.

Loved it. Its definitely a one, maybe two shot adventure, wont take long to run. Some might be turned off by the lack of a hollywood ending wrap up but our group really liked the amibguity and i ended up using it to start something new and tie in to the setting ive made. Great stuff, very atmospheric, haunted farmhouse seems straightforward and it is until you get to the basements. Lots of secret rooms and great crawling. MORE PLEASE



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Mystery of Brushgather Farm (Pathfinder)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

The Mystery of Brushgather Farm (Pathfinder Second Edition / P2E)
by Thizz M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2021 15:47:02

Our group ran this for 5e but the comments are the same.

Loved it. Its definitely a one, maybe two shot adventure, wont take long to run. Some might be turned off by the lack of a hollywood ending wrap up but our group really liked the amibguity and i ended up using it to start something new and tie in to the setting ive made. Great stuff, very atmospheric, haunted farmhouse seems straightforward and it is until you get to the basements. Lots of secret rooms and great crawling. MORE PLEASE



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Mystery of Brushgather Farm (Pathfinder Second Edition / P2E)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

The Mystery of Brushgather Farm (5E / Fifth Edition)
by Thizz M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2021 15:46:28

Loved it. Its definitely a one, maybe two shot adventure, wont take long to run. Some might be turned off by the lack of a hollywood ending wrap up but our group really liked the amibguity and i ended up using it to start something new and tie in to the setting ive made. Great stuff, very atmospheric, haunted farmhouse seems straightforward and it is until you get to the basements. Lots of secret rooms and great crawling. MORE PLEASE



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Mystery of Brushgather Farm (5E / Fifth Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

FlexAI Digital Resource Companion (unisystem/5E/Pathfinder/P2E/OSR)
by Thizz M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2021 18:53:21

Cant believe this set of files has every single one of the hundreds of tables from teh book. Amazing. Im not that great with macros so havent done anything to automate but I can see this being a huge resource if you have excel skills. I love the book but having everything in excel makes it so easy to deal with at gametime.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FlexAI Digital Resource Companion (unisystem/5E/Pathfinder/P2E/OSR)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Aquilae: Bestiary of the Realm: Digital Resource Companion (Pathfinder)
by Thizz M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2021 18:51:50

Big fan of the aquilae bestiary books. Having an excel version is amazing. You can filter on anything, sort, basically organize it however you want. Huge and great part of the bestiary and i already cant imagine running games without it



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Aquilae: Bestiary of the Realm: Digital Resource Companion (Pathfinder)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Aquilae: Bestiary of the Realm: Digital Bookshelf (Dungeon Crawl Classics / DCC)
by Alan T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/03/2021 10:14:25

TL;DR: Great product with loads of helpful stat blocks, could use a few more editing passes.

The books offer a truly incredible number of stat blocks and the four levels for each monster make tweaking them on the fly much faster. The monsters are generic ones from popular RPG systems so if the judge wants more DCC style monsters they would need to use aid books (Monster Alphabet) to make them more unique. Each monster having four "levels" also means you can change an encounter or monster's difficulty on the fly or change published material’s level range.

My only complaint (and reason for four rather than five stars) is that some of the blocks lack information (save DC's) or reference incorrect ability scores/saves where the product has been copied over and converted from the versions for other systems.

From a price vs content standpoint though this can’t be beaten and well worth having on your shelf.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Aquilae: Bestiary of the Realm: Digital Bookshelf (Dungeon Crawl Classics / DCC)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Dark Obelisk 1: Berinncorte: Collector's Edition (Pathfinder)
by Thizz M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/13/2020 20:55:53

I had the original and have enjoyed igs stuff right from the beginning... do1 is probably my fav of their stuff to date and the collectors edition doesnt disappoint. All the crazy detail is there but its so much easier to access and read and look up. Cannot wait for the print version, i have the original printing but it would be so awesome to have it all in one single book rather than the two doorstops i already have. Superb adventure and reading through it makes me want to run it again, first time took about 20 sessions and there was still so much we never even touched, theres gotta be like 40 or more sessions worth ofquests and characters in here if you wanted to completionist it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Obelisk 1: Berinncorte: Collector's Edition (Pathfinder)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Content Conversion Mapping Inventory (Pathfinder / 5E / P2E / OSR / DCC / d20 3.5)
by Thizz M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/05/2020 08:04:26

The conversion guide was awesome, this is super helpful and has all 4000 or whatever of the monster attacks and its insane. Super useful during sessions rather than trolling through the guide, which is well organized but excel is so much easier to filter on and whatnot



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Content Conversion Mapping Inventory (Pathfinder / 5E / P2E / OSR / DCC / d20 3.5)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Content Conversion Guide (Pathfinder / 5E / P2E / OSR / DCC / d20 3.5)
by Thizz M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/05/2020 08:03:22

jeez this is useful. 430 pages for like 5 bux is crazy; its 100 p of raw sheer tables and rules and everything you need, and then another like 300 p of converted monsters for examples of how it worked. I aldy have the aqulae bestiary books but this is amazing and i can't wait to use it to take all my old pfrpg stuff and bring it up to 5e.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Content Conversion Guide (Pathfinder / 5E / P2E / OSR / DCC / d20 3.5)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Aquilae: Bestiary of the Realm: Volume 1 (Dungeon Crawl Classics/DCC)
by Thizz M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/17/2020 08:27:10

i have the other systems of this bestiary and i gotta say the osr and dcc versions might be the best ones. one page per beast and its just so concise and laid out easy to read and the conversion to dcc was really awesome. Not completely insanely detailed like some dcc stuff is with like tables foreach poison so thats a bit different but it s 16,00 monsters so that would be really insane. if you want to run more monsters with dcc this is the starting point for sure. just amazing



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Aquilae: Bestiary of the Realm: Volume 1 (Dungeon Crawl Classics/DCC)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

FlexAI Guidebook (unisystem/5E/Pathfinder/P2E)
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/14/2020 20:47:16

Having played a LOT of RPGs since AD&D (ages and aeons ago) and bought far too many sources books, supplements, etc, FlexAI Guidebook is the single best purchase I have ever made.

These days, my group likes to play GM-less games (aka collaborative GM games) and Mythic GM Emulator holds the spotlight, howeveer FlexAI Guidebook is one of those crucial pieces that makes combats and encounters far more meaningful. There is no arbirtray GM decision. For my group this is vital, beacuse we don't want to bias NPC behavior in any direction.

This tome is over 400 pages and provides reaction tables for esentially every imaginable NPC type in almost every imaginable situation and scalable for different levels of difficulty.

The book breaks down into major chapters of NPC type: Solider, Skirmisher, Controller, Brute, etc. It's easy to assign an NPC to one of these categories. Within these categories it breaks down again to minion, normal, elite, etc. THEN it breaks down into current situation such as: unprepared, ambushing, bloodied, etc.

For example, in my own Lord of the Rings game, we have orc gruns (Soldier, Normal) and goblin grunts (Skirmisher, Normal)j and both will behave differently. As will ranged fighters (e.g. archers) and leaders (e.g. captains).

As good as this book is (every GMs friend and if you enjoy GM-less or solo playing I cannot recommend it enough) there is one issue. If you really want to go all-in on the detail, it will be vital to set up a chart to track each NPCs current condition. I use dice to match a specific NPC to a specific condition which provides a specific chart. Due to this, I recommend getting the PDF so that charts can be printed out to have onhand rather than constant flipping through the book. By the way, the hardcover is an amazing price to the content!

Because of the extra bookkeeping there can be a lot of overhead. In my opinion, this overhead is worthwhile because combats (and other events) become richer and more realistic. (My RPG of choice is GURPS which already can be slow in combat so this isn't such a big issue.)

This is truly an amazing purchase! At a minimum check out the sample and give it a try!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FlexAI Guidebook (unisystem/5E/Pathfinder/P2E)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Aquilae: Bestiary of the Realm: Volume 1 (OSR)
by Thizz M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/08/2020 13:50:14

dude once again this is insane. haven't played old school stuff in a long time and one of the reasons is lack of monsters... thi s is half of everything from pfrpg in one place. Great conversion and works awesome with lots of diff pc levels. outstanding htx



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Aquilae: Bestiary of the Realm: Volume 1 (OSR)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Aquilae: Bestiary of the Realm Abridged, Vol 1 (5E/Fifth Edition)
by James Y. Date Added: 09/06/2020 00:44:22

Bottom line, DO NOT buy this book if you're looking for a 5e bestiary.

I'm gonna be honest--I was really looking forward to this, as I figured it would solve one of 5e bestiaries biggest problems--a lack of high CR beasts. The quadded chart seemed like an excellent way to solve this problem, and while the price was steep I believe in supporting folks in their endeavours.

Well, despite 5th Edition being on the front cover, this is not a 5E pure book, it's a Pathfinder book that's hastily ported over to get unwitting DMs to buy it. What's your first clue? This is the "legal stuff" section:

Compatibility with the Pathfinder Roleplaying Game requires the Pathfinder Roleplaying Game from Paizo Publishing, LLC. See pathfinderRPG for more information on the Pathfinder Roleplaying Game. Paizo Publishing, LLC does not guarantee compatibility, and does not endorse this product. Pathfinder is a registered trademark of Paizo Publishing, LLC, and the Pathfinder Roleplaying Game and the Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Compatibility Logo are trademarks of Paizo Publishing, LLC, and are used under the Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Compatibility License. See [insert Pathfinder] weblink for more information on the compatibility license. Some artwork courtesy Publisher’s Choice Quality Stock Art (c) Rick Hershey / Fat Goblin Games.

Note that there is no comparable block of text for Wizards and 5e. Furthermore, mechanics (monster recharge, actions, etc.) use Pathfinder language. In short, if you thought "OMG, something that will let me spring a trap on my cocky Level ##s...", the only person who's going to end up having regrets is you.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Aquilae: Bestiary of the Realm Abridged, Vol 1 (5E/Fifth Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hi James--Thanks for posting your feedback! You're 100% correct in that Aquilae: Bestiary of the Realm, like all IGS products, was produced first in Pathfinder, and then converted into 5E and Pathfinder Second Edition rules formats. Basically, each of the 1,600 monsters published in the Paizo Pathfinder era were converted twice: first, to the Quadded Statblocks format, and then secondly into the other rules systems format. I would clarify, however, the process was painstaking, involving hundreds of hours and converting each and every one of the 6,400 statblocks individually. The process used was a rigorous one, developed specifically for this conversion, and is being documented in a hotly-anticipated upcoming book called the Conversion Guide. From the standpoint of the "Legal Stuff", you're correct, it does reference Pathfinder. That's because there are some cases where the words that were published in the original Pathfinder products from which the bestiary derives its converted content remained intact, and, frankly, I wanted to err on the side of caution in making sure that all credit and OGL compliance that might possibly apply, applied. Hence the extensive Pathfinder legal notes that were included, even though the content itself is 100% 5E, rigorously converted by hand to that format. The error of course is that the 5E bestiary books of course do not require the Pathfinder Roleplaying Game to use in 5E, but the OGL licensing wording was fairly explicit in requiring that those words persist in the legal notes accompanying the book, so I didn't want to exclude it. In a similar vein, since I authored the content myself from Pathfinder sources, there was nothing copied or used directly from 5E itself. Finally, if you're looking for brand-new monsters, then you should check out the upcoming Monsters of Aquilae book, which will contain more than 200 new critters. I believe the introduction of the books attempts to address and explain all of the above so that there are no surprises: the books deliver fully on what they were created to accomplish. But I am sorry if you were less than satisfied with the result even so. Onward!
FlexAI Guidebook (unisystem/5E/Pathfinder/P2E)
by Thizz M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/21/2020 06:51:54

this is crazy. Hundreds of pages and like a thousand tables. Totes overkill.

I loveit. Its insane but thats what this guy does best, insane. Ill prolly use just like a few dozen of the tables but its crazy useful and inspiring



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FlexAI Guidebook (unisystem/5E/Pathfinder/P2E)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 63 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates