DriveThruFiction.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Random Solo Adventure: Fantasy Dungeon
by Maciej K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/06/2019 14:34:45

It is entertaining the first time, but then you realize that there is no choice whatsoever, and not even an illusion of choice. Essentially you roll a die a million times and then you die. I understand the author's intention, but it just doesn't work. Here are the issues:

  • The mechanics are extremely simplistic, but in a bad way. You have just one stat - HP - and it doubles as your combat skill (you roll under or equal HP to hit). So as soon as you start losing HP, you get worse - you hit less often, so you get hit more often. If you get hit, you are pretty much dead.
  • Starting out is extremely harsh. You start with just 2 HP with a weak weapon, and right away you can encounter an enemy that can one-shot you, because he deals 2 damage with each hit. You can also randomly step into traps, and there is no option to spot them or avoid them or anything - you just take damage. If you are lucky, they won't one shot you.
  • And you don't have any control over what happens. You just roll, roll, roll, and die. No, choosing to go left or right to roll on essentially the same random table is not a choice, not even close. In, say, the microgamebooks from the Chronicles of Arborell series, you feel in control. You can learn traps and monsters and learn to avoid them, and on subsequent plays you can learn to build your character better to overcome the challenges. In a game like Deathmaze, you don't really have any control, but the gameplay is so fast and fluid that you don't have time to think about that, and the game gives you a great sense of exploration. Here - no control. Your character is always the same, and you just roll ad nauseam. You could roll a d1000 and on a 000 you'd win, otherwise you'd die. And it'd be about the same amount of fun.

I really wanted to like it, and the presentation and artwork are really nice, but it just feels random, boring and pointless. Sorry for being so negative, but I'm severely disappointed.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Random Solo Adventure: Fantasy Dungeon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hi Maciej, Thanks for your lengthy review and input. I really appreciate it. Fantasy Dungeon is my first gamebook, and many players apparently like it a lot - but it is not for everyone. It is the first in the series of Random Solo Adventures, and as such it has flaws and problems. In the second and third book of the series, many of these "problems" are fixed. In Jungle Quest, for instance, there is more choice and less predictability. In Post Apocalypse, there is even more choice and also other skills. Each book is expanded upon the simple rule system from Fantasy Dungeon, but carried out in different ways. Fantasy Dungeon was purposely written as a gamebook with a very simple rulesystem, using only one "skill" and one D6 dice. It's supposed to be a very fast/quick gamebook, and to be used as a hack-and-slash adventure for those who want something to play, but doesn't have the time to dig into something more complex. I fully understand that this concept might be over simplistic, especially if one is looking for more choice. The concept also incorporates much more randomness than gamebooks usually do (hence the name Random Solo Adventure for this whole series of books). As many of my gamebooks, they are very difficult to play through the first time. There might be more instant death episodes in these books (and even more in the free/pay-what-you-want-books) than in other gamebooks. I understand that this is not for all, but I wanted to cover a different path than other authors have done, and make the books a bit more "hardcore". Either way - I appreciate your notes and criticism and will bring this with me into future books. If you have more ideas, criticism and notes on this (and other products I've published), then please email me (the email is available when loggin in).
Random Solo Adventure: Post Apocalypse
by Dean K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2018 07:49:09

Excellent solo adventuring. Great story telling.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Random Solo Adventure: Post Apocalypse
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Generic Adventure Magazine #1, May 2018
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2018 12:18:01

The magazine is short, which is why I took off one pip in the rating. Aside from that, the article is spot on. It covers the topic of speed-writing an adventure quite well. I look forward to applying the techniques. It seems so easy, and obvious, once the author points it all out... "Why didn't I think of that?" To me, that is a sign of some genius work at hand. Looking forward to the next one. This is definitely worth the cost for the 'how to' article.

Some nice artwork, decent, artistic layout, well done, really. I suspect the author will continue to improve his offerings over time. I look forward to seeing more from him. Cheers!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Generic Adventure Magazine #1, May 2018
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Random Solo Adventure: The Cave & the Treasure
by Damian H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/22/2017 12:36:34

Good 15 minute diversion. I used a digital die and note. Very basic sample to demonstrate their real paid gamebooks. Good throwback to 1980s gamebooks but without the rich flavor text in this sample. Will try the other free ones. The main flaw is that grinding is required to keep earning gold to buy items, but since it has random rolls, you must keep turning right over and over again and you will eventually perish on your first run against a skeleton or trap. In other words, I probably would have made it a bit easier for a sample and not force the reader to keep going to the merchant for health, and to get three crystals from a treasure chest. Good potential for a very niche audience of solo game book players who have RPG + leveling up expectations.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Random Solo Adventure: The Cave & the Treasure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Random Solo Adventure: Post Apocalypse
by Glenn F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/11/2017 21:44:23

I ordered this about 6 months ago. There were errors that made it unplayable due to missing information. Re-downloaded it a month later. Less errors but some persist. I wrote a review then removed it after the author said they were addressed. Six month later same errors still persist. Waiting for another update for a game I look forward to enjoying eventually.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Random Solo Adventure: Post Apocalypse
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hi Glenn, Thanks for your review. I would very much like to know exactly what errors that are still there. Please email me directly (you will find the email link on our shop-page when you are logged in). Thanks!
Random Solo Adventure: Post Apocalypse
by Matthew W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/11/2017 20:59:53

I have all the solo adventures and this was by far my favorite. Not only was there more story options but great simple mechanics that help to steer the outcome ot the adventure. I actually moded the game and played this adventure not as solo but brought along my wife's character for the ride. We played it as a GM less RPG game and truly enjoyed storyline. There were some minor errors in words but I am really not picky about such things since my grammar is not up to par:) I truely hope there is a continued story with this depth or more. The writer has done a great job in my humble opinion and I hope my review sparks more imagination for future adventures. PS --- the Death Skull squad wiped us out (LOL).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks Matthew for your great review! I'm very happy to hear that you had such great fun playing Post Apocalypse! I'm very interested in hearing about your "mods", so feel free to email and let me know how you guys played this together. Currently, we're working on another fantasy Solo Adventure (which will have simpler mechanics, but much faster action, than the first fantasy book), but also a second part of Post Apoclaypse where all survivors can continue the journey. So play it again and kill those Death Skulls, so you and your wife are ready for part 2! ;) / Pingo
Random Solo Adventure: The Cave & the Treasure
by Chuck D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/10/2017 16:20:00

Win or lose you die. A stupid waste of time! Not an even remotely good way to sell the game.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Random Solo Adventure: The Cave & the Treasure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hi Chuck and thanks for your review. It's true that our free/pay-what-you-want gamebooks are MUCH darker than our premium books (Fantasy Dungeon, Jungle Quest, Post Apocalypse). We've purposedly made the games like that actually. :) As with all types of products, our books are not for everyone. We do hope that you might find more entertainment in any of our other books and games. Check out the other free/pay-what-you-want gamebooks and see if you find something more to your likeing. Especially Halloween and Pinball might be more fun for you.
Random Solo Adventure: Fantasy Dungeon
by Todd S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2017 09:28:55

Bad spelling errors - ex. "loose" instead of 'lose' - and possessives where plurals are needed.

Really needs to be carefully edited for these issues



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Random Solo Adventure: Fantasy Dungeon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Random Solo Adventure: Fantasy Dungeon
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/27/2016 18:02:30

I found this game to be mildly entertaining but it got old pretty quick.

  • Pros:
    • The artwork I thought fit the genre very well
    • The author is descriptive
    • It can be played with just a d6 (I think that is nice when you don't have your polys with you)
  • Cons:
    • It gets monotonous
    • You die very quickly quite often
    • It seems like you are playing the same adventure over and over

It may be just how the dice were rolling and I have not played this a lot so your experience may be different. I do not regret buying this as it was not expensive. I just think that overall it could be a lot better but it could be a lot worse.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks for your review! Happy to hear that you thought Fantasy Dungeon was worth the money. The Random Solo Adventures ARE made to be a bit hard, and the random-concept does make part of the game repetitive. Hopefully though, the randomness also makes it easier and more fun to replay the gamebook. Hopefully, you are more lucky with the dice next time. ;) Maybe you will like our other gamebooks better. Jungle Quest is already published here, as well as several free adventures, and soon we are releasing Post Apocalypse. This book will be less random and less repetitive and with high quality artwork from a select illustrator! Weighing in on 200+ pages, it is also the largest gamebook we've ever made! Over 50+ full page illustrations. Be sure to follow on Twitter (Pingo) and PM us there (or email us) with any constructive ideas you have for our future gamebooks! We really enjoy to hear what worked, and didn't work, in our previous books. Again thanks for your purchase and review!
Random Solo Adventure: Fantasy Dungeon & Jungle Quest [BUNDLE]
by Matthew W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2016 20:58:28

I AM NEW TO THE RPG GAMING AND PICKED THIS ONE UP TO GET MY FEET WET SO TO SPEAK. SOLO IS AT THE TIME MY ONLY OPTION AS I TRAVEL ALOT AND CURRENTLY LOOKING INTO THE NEWER DIGITAL COMMUNITIES FOR RPG TABLETOPS.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Random Solo Adventure: Fantasy Dungeon & Jungle Quest [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you Matthew for taking the time to rate and review our game books! If you are new to RPG and want to do solo-games, then check out our table-top/roleplaying game Drudge! on this site. The rule system works for solo-gaming as well.
Random Solo Adventure: Pinball
by Monte T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2016 13:14:15

This game literally saved my life. I was in a monumental depression resulted from my divorce with the Queen of England and loss of my 30 kids to rampaging alchoholic Squirrels. When I was just about to end it all and go face up those very squirrels... I stumbled upon this gem in DriveThruRPG. A free pinball game. Remembering my past sexual affairs with a pinball machine in the 60's, I knew that I was in for a treat. I am 600 hours in this one session, and I have not thought about squirrels since hour 300. Thank you, and I miss you Elizabeth. Oh and the game is pretty cool.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Random Solo Adventure: Pinball
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Creator Reply:
Very happy, Monte, that we could - literally - save your life! Watch out for our next free Random Solo Adventure: Attack of the Monster Squirell, which will be released soon. I hope it doesn't bring back too many bad memories - but then, you can always go back to RSA: Pinball.
Random Solo Adventure: Jungle Quest
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/02/2016 10:40:19

Not much of a story and quite repetetive. The art is appropriate to the theme, but the style is inconsistent.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Random Solo Adventure: Jungle Quest
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for your purchase and for taking the time to review the book! Sorry to hear that you thought the story was repetitive. I hope you will enjoy Fantasy Dungeon and our upcoming books better!
Random Solo Adventure: Pinball
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/26/2016 21:27:25

Ok, you play a game of pinbal, using a die instead of a pinball machine. He does it well. But why? To save a quarter?l



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Random Solo Adventure: Pinball
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates