DriveThruFiction.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
FREE d20 to FATE Conversion Guide
by Jim B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/06/2018 08:29:06

This conversion guide is now somewhat dated. The guide was released in 2007 (11 years ago as I write this). That's right about when Evil Hat started using Fate (the word) instead of FATE (the acronym). More to the point, it's 6 years before Fate Core and Fate Accelerated were released, and it's when d20 3.5 was the latest d20 release.

The guide is most useful if you're converting from d20 Modern to Spirit of the Century. It has you create up to 10 aspects, just as you'd get for a player character in SotC. It maps d20 Modern skills to SotC skills.

If you're not specifically converting from d20 Modern to SotC, this guide won't do much for you. You'll have to come up with your own skill mappings. The Fate "aspect economy" in Core and Accelerated would have you create no more than 5 aspects instead of 10. You'd come up with your own conversions for creating stress tracks. You could still use the guide's conversions from d20 ability modifiers to levels on the Fate ladder. The guide already suggests that you create Fate stunts from scratch instead of trying to convert anything to stunts, so that guidance can still be applied to newer editions of Fate.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
FREE d20 to FATE Conversion Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

MARS: Savage Worlds Edition
by Rodney O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/23/2018 08:26:52

A great product if you are bored with normal fantasy and want some rayguns as well. This is clearly in the classic John Carter / Flash Gordon pulp science fantasy tradition and it does it extremely well. Lots of good setting background and a very good Plot Point campaign. Artwork is getting a little dated, but it's still very playable.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
MARS: Savage Worlds Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Thrilling Tales Adventure Omnibus (Savage Worlds)
by Rodney O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/23/2018 08:24:13

If you like 30s pulp, you are in the right place. These are top-notch adventures that will keep your players well, thrilled :-) Although these adventures are written for the Thrilling Tales supplement, you could easily run them with just the basic Savage Worlds core rules alone. A great purchase for all pulp fans.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Thrilling Tales Adventure Omnibus (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Thrilling Tales 2nd Edition (Savage Worlds)
by Rodney O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2018 03:29:55

A fantastic resource for 1920-1930s roleplaying. Great background info, lots of period gear, loads of villains, an excellent adventure generator, and a great 5 chapter plot point campaign. The only thing I don't like is their suggestion of running a game with one super character and all his assistants (a la Doc Savage). While that may be true to the pulp heritage, it doesn't make for a fulfilling RPG session. That niggling criticism aside, this is a must-have package if you like pulp adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Thrilling Tales 2nd Edition (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

City-States of Mars: Korium
by David D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/02/2018 22:27:26

An excellent setting book. Huge amount of detail on the region, its cultures, political factions, and it's history. Tons of plot hooks which relate to the region. A large NPC gallery. Edited for easy reading rather than easy referencing during play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
City-States of Mars:  Korium
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Face of Mars
by David D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/02/2018 22:25:58

An excellent dungeon crawl complete with memorable monsters and villains, a great story, and the opportunity for politicking. It is somewhat hamepered by bad editing and many spelling and grammatical errors.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Face of Mars
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Sell-Swords of Mars
by David D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/09/2018 12:15:04

The exact 'Martian Campaign' I've been hoping to write and run for years. Someone else beat me to it!

Edgar Rice Burroughs' Mars is invaded by HG Wells' Martians!

Tripods vs Sky Galleons! Red Men vs Grey Men!

A great romp through several intrigues, battles, and dungeons

One of the best 'Adventure Paths' I've seen published for any system.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sell-Swords of Mars
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

MARS: Savage Worlds Edition
by David D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/09/2018 12:11:24

Really great fun, a wonderful and complete product I cannot recommend enough either to fans of Sword and Planet or rookies looking to learn what it's all about.

Includes character options for Red Men, Green Men, White Apes, Synthoids, and Grey Men in enough detail to play multiple character types from each race.

Equipment and vehicles for Mars including Sky Galleons and Martian Tripods.

Includes a Gazeteer of Mars including 4 Red-Martian City-States as well as the homes of the other races and several wilderness area. Their version of the 'Martian Underdark' is especially interesting

A small Bestiary, Introductory Adventure and Random Adventure Generator are included as well as an essay on 'How to GM Sword and Planet Stories'

Excellent black and white art throughout. The PDF is bookmarked.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MARS: Savage Worlds Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Venture 4th: Pact of Ghosts
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/24/2017 23:25:47

Even early in its development, this really is a nice piece of work for 4th edition.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Venture 4th: Pact of Ghosts
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Thrilling Tales 2nd Edition (Savage Worlds)
by Joseph H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2017 21:11:30

Everything in this book is absolutely perfect for portraying the pulps as most people know them, though there is ONE small problem.

The prices for items are absurdly low. I like to think that Savage Worlds (like most other generic systems with gear listed by dollar value) abstracts what the value of $1 is... and this is very true of all the "X Companion" books that Pinnacle itself has come out with. Thrilling tales however has the option of a .38 detective special for a mere $25, which is WAY too cheap given the default $500 starting cash, and the usual value of a nearly equivelent pistol bottoming out at between $100 and $200 in the core book.

To clarify, this makes two MREs or K-Rations, plus one canteen equal in cost to a .38 detective special. That's not exactly realistic in any setting, and it makes food utterly not worth purchasing if you have anything above a D4 in Survival. I generally just change the prices to fit the ones in core books, but the fact this makes it necessary to do so means one less star.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Thrilling Tales 2nd Edition (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Creator Reply:
To be absolutely clear, the prices presented in Thrilling Tales 2nd Edition (Savage Worlds) are historically accurate, not abstracted. The prices were taken from various period sources of the 1930s. Whereas this does mean that the prices do not compare easily with those in the Pinnacle core releases, they are true to the period of the game. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you.
Modern Dispatch (#29): Modern Adventure Generator
by Thomas J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/18/2017 04:56:09

I am disappointed with this product. Even if the price is low, I do not see how this document is exclusive to the system d20, the content is very generic and is suitable for all gaming systems. Finally, there are only 5 random draws tables spread over 6 pages, including a full one on the licensing specifications. This adventure generator can give some creative ideas but this remains weak in my opinion.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Dispatch (#29): Modern Adventure Generator
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Thrilling Tales 2e: Pulp Villains - Von Keiner
by Miika T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/28/2016 13:19:30

Beautiful supplement, well written and informative. The blueprints are amazing. I was expecting a much more compact or raw idea, but the booklet has everything you need. Main villain history, airship "map" and individual location details, crew and equipment details, tactics and adventure hooks. Really wonderful stuff. Truly ready to drop in to any pulp adventure.

Can't wait to modify and drop this in my ongoing Savage Fallout game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Thrilling Tales 2e: Pulp Villains - Von Keiner
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

The Imperial Age: Hell Hath No Fury
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2016 06:22:15

Characters start with a locked-door mystery, and end up with a monsterous twist. A very Combat-lite,Roleplay-heavy plot, which I was looking for to ease new players in to the hobby. Newer GM/DMs will need to step up their game to make sure the NPCs are portrayed correctly. Over all; Excellent and Well done! Very printer friendly, except for the beautiful cover art. Lets face it all cover art, if done right, is not exactally printer friendly anyway. All the artwork within the pages is also beautiful and done well, it definately adds to the flavor of the setting, I just wanted a bit more of it. I wanted a couple of pieces of "Show 'Em" type artwork or maybe a couple of handouts too. As for the letters and the telegram used in the story, they aren't something that I can't reproduce on my own. I enjoyed the callback to the Thrilling Tales adventure and it has a really nice alternative set up for the next printed adventure (The Price of Immortallity) as well, so you could run the two back to back. Which I'm considering doing exactally that. I feel it is worth the time and price.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Imperial Age: Hell Hath No Fury
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Hot Pursuit: ON FOOT
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2016 05:55:18

I have been using the Hot Pursuit rules for vehicle chases for years, and I finally found this! So many badguys are going to start RUNNING away too...



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hot Pursuit: ON FOOT
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

FREE d20 to FATE Conversion Guide
by Mike K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/03/2016 14:45:10

This is good if you want to convert games like Dungeons and Dragons to Fate Core. Most things translate easily.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FREE d20 to FATE Conversion Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 551 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates