DriveThruFiction.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Killer Kobolds from Outer Space
by Rudyard D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/26/2020 05:53:36

Killer Kobolds from Outer Space is brilliant! This is a polished product with great B-movie comic style art, well designed scenarios, and a useful 'phone ready' pdf you can provide your players to choose the type of kobold they want to be.

My friends had a blast being murder hobos the last time I ran this. I put them through the first two scenarios; they spent the whole afternoon laughing our heads off. I can't wait to run this again for them!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Killer Kobolds from Outer Space
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

The Travelers' Handbook
by Michael M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/26/2020 04:58:05

Another fantastic supplement by Cawood Publishing, Great artwork thorough out, If you are looking for encounters and random events at the roll of a dice then this book is just for you, Blow off the dust on that D100 and have an adventure, this Handbook gives you the power to DM like a Demi-God.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Travelers' Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Modern Map Bundle
by Rudyard D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/26/2020 04:25:34

TLDR -- Do not purchase until publisher fixes the maps and QCs this product. Not up to DMs Guild standards.

Most of the maps in this pack are alright if you needed some modern interiors in a pinch or want some blank floorplans based on modern houses.

On the other hand, there are major issues with the product that make me not recommend it - especially at the asking price of $9.99. Inconsitencies, poor asset placement and design errors in the product show that the maps were rushed out to DMs Guild without checking to make sure it was ready for publised.

For example the 'Condo' and 'Condo 2' maps only have a slight difference (closets added to the central staircase/no value added) and I would've preferred the second version of the Condo map to be a blank empty version without internal assets similar to the rest of the maps. Additionally some maps that are clearly supposed to be the upper floors of some maps have inconsistent/nonsensical stairway orientation (such as House 2 and House 3 maps stairwell don't align at all). Also some floorplans don't match the ones with assets removed (House 9 has an entire corner wall piece not in the blank version and House 3 has an entire room/balcony that is not in the blank verion. Lastly, one of the maps looks to be a modern version of a lair (multifloor windowless office with sleeping area, conference rooms, storage) -- this map doesn't match with any of the other maps, has no blank version, some rooms that don't seem to have a purpose, and questionable design choice-- for example "Floor 1" map has a bathroom (which looks like it has a toilet, a bidet, and a bathtub) that is in a totally separate room as the sinks to wash your hands -- not to mention these two rooms are separated by a conference room. The assets on this map seem slapped on here with no thought unlike the standard house maps.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Map Bundle
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Classic Modules Today: S4 The Lost Caverns of Tsojcanth (5e)
by Zachary H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/25/2020 16:15:52

I ran this conversion of The Lost Caverns of Tsojcanth last year with my regular group. It served as a way to reunite a party that had been through a campaign the year before. As a whole the conversion was very useful if a little uneven in parts. Given the nature of the original adventure kind of being a monster zoo to begin with, it stands to reason that the experience would still be a little lumpy decades later. All in all it was a positive experience, and I would recommend this conversion for anyone who wants to run this old adventure specifically.

For reference my group was four level 10 characters, who among them had two CR3 servants, two CR2 servants, a CR1 pet, and a variety of magic items from the previous campaign. One player left the campaign partway through, but another joined at the same level so balance was retained throughout.

Pre-dungeon Wilderness: The wildneress exploration portion seemed well balanced. My group encountered probably half of the encounters, including many of the higher challenge ones, but was able to take their time and resolve many of them in creative ways.

Horde Encounters: Many of the most dangerous encounters in the Caverns involved large groups of monsters. Lesser Caverns 4's group of Mobats wound up being dangerous to the point that I pulled some punches. Lesser Caverns 20's ghasts ended up scaring off the adventurers. The Troglodytes in Greater Caverns 1 were a mostly on target group of foes, while the Gargoyles at Greater Caverns 4 managed to kill two underlings and deal a serious blow to the party. I suspect the Barlguras at Greater Caverns 8 would have been a problem as well, but that encounter wound up playing out differently than a pure combat one.

Boss Encounters: Conversly many of the boss encounters ended up being very simple for the party. Chossos the gorgimera at Lesser Caverns 16 was felled fairly quickly, though he managed to petrify a party member and an underling. Drelnza at Greater Caverns 20 was similarly knocked out with ease. The party avoided fighting the Dracolisk at Greater Caverns 16, but encountered it on their return journey to civilization, which ended up being a better final boss, sort of.

Role Playing Encounters: Despite the original dungeon not being set up for very much if any non-combat roleplay, the party was able to deal with several of the denizens of the Caverns in entertaining and rewarding ways. The Formorians at Lesser Caverns 12 and the Giant at Greater Caverns 14 both wound up being fun and playful characters. The group of Dao at Lesser Caverns 18 ended up being crucial to curing the party members who had been petrified. Even the encounter with the Xorn at Lesser Caverns 21 turned into a weird pantomining argument instead of just combat.

Magic Items and Treasure: The party acquired most of the treasure in the Caverns but did not spend much time using any of the magic items. The conversions for the end dungeon artifacts seem solid though, and when we eventually return to these characters they will certainly provide some useful lead-ins to the next adventure. Also one of the party members has the Rug of Smothering and still doesn't know it's cursed, which is a fun prize for me in the future.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Classic Modules Today: S4 The Lost Caverns of Tsojcanth (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Titans of the Ancient World
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/25/2020 15:06:54

This is one of the best books I have ever had the pleasure to review on the Guild. Jackson has done a stellar job making seven horrific and magnificent kaiju for you to battle in D&D, so if you aren't a bitch-ass DM who only uses the Tarrasque, whip this bad bug off the bookshelf and through the amazing CRABGOAT at them (he's my favorite). Then that will really leave your players trembling in their sabatons as they face the 1/2 crab, 1/2 goat, all bastard beast that is CRABGOAT. Honestly though, this is the kind of creativity is what I live for at the Guild, and 90% the reason I love doing these reviews. If you have a chance, please please PLEASE grab this book - you will not regret it one bit. I am pleased to present the Comics, Clerics, & Controllers Golden d20 Badge to Titans of the Ancient World.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Titans of the Ancient World
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

The Treasure of Lady Hellion Hacke
by Rebecca B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/25/2020 13:20:32

My group had a blast with this adventure! It took us around 5-6hrs to complete with four level one characters.

The balance between combat, problem solving and opportunities for roleplay was perfect and really captured all of our imaginations. The mine cart race against the dracolich + skeletons felt super cinematic and flying over the edge of the cliff made for a great slow motion climactic moment. Everyone's hearts were pounding! Highly recommend.

I ended up milestone leveling them up to level 3 by the end as it was a one off separate from a regular campaign. They also wound up keeping their extremely overpowered magical items and a LOT of gold. If I run another adventure with their characters I'll probably have the magical items be cursed and/or send Lady Hacke after them. :)

Side note: If you have a few in your group who might begin to question the physics of it all, I would suggest you don't get into the nitty gritty or actual numbers break down. Rule fairly but it's also ok to give the ol' "because I'm the DM and I said so"...D&D physics...at a certain point it's best not to think too hard about it right?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Treasure of Lady Hellion Hacke
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Hoard of the Dragon Queen Maps: Episode 5 The Carnath Roadhouse
by Andrew O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/24/2020 22:22:42

Another excellent set of maps. I can't wait for all of the maps to be done.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hoard of the Dragon Queen Maps: Episode 5 The Carnath Roadhouse
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Simpler Encumbrance
by James E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/24/2020 18:23:20

definitely a simple set of rules to follow if you want to enforce the carrying capacity rules. there is one issue i had with them however, that being the fact the heavy crossbow is impossible to use as written here. 5 arms slots for the crossbow itself, and 1 for 20 bolts. you can only equip up to 5 with this rule set, so the required 6 doesn't work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Simpler Encumbrance
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hi James, thanks for the 5 stars! I just wanted to chime in to hopefully clear up some confusion on the Arms category. The Arms category of an item denotes its weight in "points," not item slots. A character could wield five heavy crossbows if they wished, though they would become encumbered or heavily encumbered depending on their Strength score. For example, a character with 12 Strength, and therefore a weight "point" limit of 6, could carry a heavy crossbow (5) and bolts (1) while wearing clothing or light armor without being encumbered. I hope that helps, and I hope you give these mechanics a try at your table sometime!
Artificer Specialization: The Toymaster
by John K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/24/2020 18:02:19

I have nothing but good things to say about this subclass! They have updated the 5th level perk - Spy Network - to be more useful and potent, and have added two Artificer Infusions which both have very cool actions!

Old review (kept for clarity): Similar to the Battle Smith subclass but flavored with the stylings of a toymaker. Everything it gives you seems very much in line with what you think a street performer would have so think in line with suggestion/illusion. In place of the Steel Defender you get Toy Constructs which are super cool! My only gripe is the 5th level spy network which I think is an underwhelming 5th level skill. It allows you to hear/see anything your constructs see within 15 feet (which is their movement speed). I understand the idea is to use this in a busy city center or tavern where hearing/sight may be lessened, but in most other situations it would be rendered useless because a normal person can see/hear well beyond this range. Otherwise it's a fun subclass!

edited taking into consideration updates



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Artificer Specialization: The Toymaster
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Creator Reply:
John, Thank you for your review! I really appreciate it! I will " tinker" with that 5th level ability and see what I can come up with!
John, Thank you for your review! I really appreciate it! I will " tinker" with that 5th level ability and see what I can come up with!
John I was considering scaling up Spy Network. Here is what I was thinking of changing it too. Spy Network At 5th level you have learned to see or hear through your toy construct swarm. As a bonus action, For up to 5 minutes, or until you end the action, your toy construct swarm disperses in a 60 foot radius around you. You can hear or see through their senses. You have proficiency with perception skill while using this feature. While you are using the toy constructs senses you are deaf or blind depending on what sense you are using. At the end of this bonus action the toy constructs reassemble in an open 5 foot space nearest you. You can reuse this feature after a short rest.
CCC-DWB-GNA-1 Gallery of the Nightmare Artist
by Charles D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/24/2020 16:31:17

Excellent adventure. A bit faster than four hours, but perfect for a pickup Tier 3 adventure, or if you just want to challenge your party. I've run it a few times, and never had the same outcome twice.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-DWB-GNA-1 Gallery of the Nightmare Artist
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Volo's Complete Subrace Handbook (Over 50 Subraces)
by Caiti S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/24/2020 12:14:19

Very detailed and very fun to flesh out the classic races! Great job!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Volo's Complete Subrace Handbook (Over 50 Subraces)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

100 Ways to Excuse a Character Absence
by Caiti S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/24/2020 12:09:38

Because of the fact my group is ever changing it's always been hard finding ways to explain why characters will organicly enter and leave at will. This helped a lot with getting better ideas!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Ways to Excuse a Character Absence
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Travel Montage
by Caiti S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/24/2020 12:07:56

I do love me any tables I can get my grubby little mits on. Fairly diverse fun ideas to set up a fun travel!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Travel Montage
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

The Book of Many Eyes - Beholders for 5e
by Caiti S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/24/2020 12:06:25

Very fun and has some really interesting beholders! My only complaint is that the art is inconsistant. Although the art not owned by Wizards is fairly simple I would have loved to see the artist interpritation of all the beholders in this suppliment. Great work otherwise! :)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Book of Many Eyes - Beholders for 5e
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

{B5} The Scroll of Strange Races
by Caiti S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/24/2020 12:01:38

Very fun ideas and the art wasn't bad! Fairly original races that people don't typically get a chance to play so it was interesting. Good job!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
{B5} The Scroll of Strange Races
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Displaying 16 to 30 (of 17914 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates