DriveThruFiction.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Awakened Blades - A 5th Edition Magic Item Collection
by Jason S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/31/2020 14:30:47

A finely crafted tome of exciting, fun and amazing creations. This is a collection of powerful and game changing blades. A fun benefit of the weapons contained in this collection is the lore and backstory attached to each of these items. It allows for easy integration into your game...or allows you to build an adventure around them. These blades will be a fine addition to your players arsenal even if they never rise above the first awakened state. Mind you any of these blades would make a great weapon that your party needs to contend with while wielded by the Big Bad of your story. Do yourself a favor and treat yourself to a superb addition to your world.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Awakened Blades - A 5th Edition Magic Item Collection
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Noblecrumpet's City Generator
by Theodore W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/31/2020 11:18:32

I first found Noblecrumpet on tumblr, and have always really liked his homebrew work. This work in particular is helpful not just for novice DMs who need help generating a town on the fly, but for anyone who wants to give the cities and towns of their setting a little bit more depth. I sat down with it before my players returned to a city they'd passed through in the past, and was able to flesh out the structure and organization of the city so much that I actually had to hustle them out in order to keep the story moving. Well done, Chris!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Noblecrumpet's City Generator
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Ulraunt's Guide to the Planes: Acheron
by Morten D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/31/2020 04:56:05

I love it. The details of the characters and the new spells was the first thing I looked at. After a day reading: What I appriciate most is the amount of data and idea's that I get from the book, combined with my own twisted way of thinking, I know it will improve my GM skills.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ulraunt's Guide to the Planes: Acheron
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

DDAL09-12 The Breath of Life
by Marcello V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/31/2020 00:54:50

Hey All-sorry for the book. But I've committed myself this year to providing constructive feedback to all designers whose adventures I have the opportunity to present and offer some insight into how I have/will successfully present their works, in hopes that my player's experience is as enjoyable as I can make it and that perhaps this courtesy will be reciprocated at some point in my future design efforts.

I had a chance to play this adventure and it was enjoyable. I am a fan of RP, so it did not disappoint in that respect. I believe my DM breathed some life into it as well (no pun intended). Now, I as prep it for one of my groups, I saw a few things that I felt warrant mentioning.

I'm not really sure why the amount of charges in Soul Coin is important at all to the CTA. I prob won't even mention it. DMs-please read the Dramatis Personae at a minimum, unless you already have some knowledge of Mahadi's Traveling Emporium from BG:DiA or other adventures in Tier Two where The Emporium appears. The adventure can come to a screeching halt if players do not barter with Mahadi. Some of the terms seem reasonable for T3 characters; however, the bartering can also be overcome with players meeting one or two of the conditions for barter. Making the group check that the modules advises garners more insight into Mahadi and the galal, but do nothing to affect the terms offered by Mahadi. There appears to be no cause/incentive for even attempting the check other than being given more background into Mahadi and perhaps some fodder to use in RP in the Second Part of the adventure.

Part 2 gave me the feel of the DDOPEN 2018. Heavy RP and again a pat down that may rattle players feathers, but they will get a chance to hide weapons and the weapons are just being checked-in storage here, so they aren't being stolen. I would encourage DMs to read Appendix Three, present the guests as people that, "catch their eye", "bump into players" or have them overhear something that might appeal to their background or ideals, bonds, flaws, etc. I intend to use events from the BG:DiA hardcover or the other Tier Two adventures plots as gossip for the party. To set the players up with options to complete the adventures objective, be sure to engage them with the bulleted list in 'Use the Clues' section in Part Two and gauge your audience when you present the Qirroz option please. Escaping after the chalice has been lifted is relegated to one check like in Part One, but I think the designer did a good job of offering options for DMs to present Exploration and Social Pillars to gain some insight into things that can help them. Players already familiar with Mahadi's rules or some behaviors in BG:DiA, should know that combat in a gala filled with all manner of devils will not end well for them.

In Bonus Objective A, I thought we could be provided some insight into what the nature of the deal between Galabraga and Mahadi was. Since its not provided, I see it as an opportunity for DMs to add a little something of their own to the adventure. I appreciate that the designer has good adventure flow back to the main story line from both Bonus Objectives.

In Bonus Objective B. What is presented here could easily be captured in a chase using chase rules. I'm a little bit surprised its not presented as such, but this is easily remedied by a three to five round chase scene. Use the Chase Complications in BG:DiA for Infernal War Machines.... add a distance trigger, and the chase rules to escape, and I think that could also meet the spirit of the chase (pun intended this time). The Social Pillar of Play in this Bonus Objective seems to be a 'No Go' from the start. I don't see any player group giving up The Chalice after what they had to go through to get it, or giving up 25 souls coins that they probably gave up already to Mahadi to get to this point in the adventure. I did enjoy the No Exceptions! Story Award, I think that it is approriate tormenter and suitable consequence for the realm that these adventure take place in; however, the other story award in this adventure is devilishing brutal. I don't imagine players being too eager to continue their travels in Avernus in the throes of the exhaustive nightmare of these two story awards working in tandem on them. I'd be working with Mahadi to book the first flight back to the Prime Material PLANE (oh, there I go again).

Alright. Seriously, I do find this adventure an enjoyable read and I know my players will enjoy it too. This adventure provides opportunities for DMs to focus on NPC presentation and amplify descriptives to help with scene immersion. If your players are looking to just chop up evil devils, this is probably not the adventure for you. I'm not a fan of "One way out" meta (One check stops/impede/complicates adventure flow), but there is enough here to work with, meet the spirit of the story the designer presents, and end with entertained players. Pick this adventure up if you haven't already!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL09-12 The Breath of Life
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Flight of the Magpies: an Eberron adventure
by Peter L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/30/2020 17:41:46

This was a great, light little adventure that fit perfectly into my Eberron campaign between big dungeon crawls. Players loved it.

The best thing, though, is the layout and graphic design! I've never known that I needed better graphic design in my adventures until now. The way it's laid out made navigating it smooth during the session and kept the breezy tone going. Awesome.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Flight of the Magpies: an Eberron adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks! this review makes me very happy and wanting to get even better at layout! :)
A Darkness from the Stars
by Peter L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/30/2020 17:38:00

Great way to introduce the Dreaming Dark into my campaign! All my players are Eberron newbies and this really piqued their interest for future adventures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Darkness from the Stars
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Cragmaw Castle Rebuilt (Maps)
by Gregory H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/30/2020 17:14:31

Perfect for my player's campaign after completing Lost Mine of Phandelver. The maps are easily imported into Fantasy Grounds and manually given a quick grid layer. My guys have their new headqaurters made!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cragmaw Castle Rebuilt (Maps)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Eberron - The Xen’drik collection at Dezina Museum
by Steve S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/30/2020 16:01:52

The list is short and needs more imagination and there is no art. There are only photos of what I assumed was a local museum and it turns out is not a local museum. The work is lacking polish. In fact, it feels like a money grab.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Eberron - The Xen’drik collection at Dezina Museum
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Creator Reply:
Dear Steve, you can say what you want about my writing, but the photos come from the archive of the Smithsonian Institution, one of the most important museums in the world. Maybe a little bit more care could be useful for your next 1-star review. Regards
Awakened Blades - A 5th Edition Magic Item Collection
by Christopher S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/30/2020 14:38:50

More sentient magic weapons than you will ever be able to use in your whole life time. There is a weapon in this tome for any character that wants to carve their fate in epic fantasy/anime style. The mechanics seem heavy handed for a beginner but if each item is used, awakening each stage over time, its just like learning your class over levels. Yes, i would like more than swords, however changing weapon type does not effect the over all gimics.

My favourites were - Past and Future, The Black Star, and The Pheonix Wing



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Awakened Blades - A 5th Edition Magic Item Collection
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Lairs Map Pack
by Ketra S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/30/2020 12:04:01

These maps are very detailed and creative. I appreciate the thought that went into all of the suggested content as well! It makes it very easy to integrate the map into my campaign, as I can focus on building the major plot points without spending too much time making up interesting things for my party to look at--it's all laid out for me already. Thanks for all your effort, and keep it up!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lairs Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

The Siege of St. Isolde
by Ketra S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/30/2020 11:59:37

I highly enjoyed playing through this story! It is adaptable in that it threaded nicely into the campaign my group was already playing, but it would be a fun introduction to new players as well. The lore was interesting, and the puzzles were challenging enough to keep my group very engaged. I appreciate stories that have a mix of combat and puzzles, and this was a great combination of both!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Siege of St. Isolde
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

DDAL09-01 Escape From Elturgard
by Heath B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/29/2020 23:29:56

I had a great time running this adventure, though I was true to form and took 50% more time to do so than recommended. The hook is straightforward and I liked how the NPCs were easy to tell apart. The inn/barn section is the standout, with clear objectives and suspenseful complications. The final part, that utilizes all of the NPCs, is a mystery, and I always struggle to run mysteries in D&D; I'm also hampered by not knowing what the NPCs will do in future adventures this season, though I tried to skim the next three which helped a bit. My party had a good time and we look forward to our next opportunity for this storyline.

Update: Dara's secret is revealed at the end of 04-Day of the Devil but really fleshed out in 05-Faces of Fortune.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL09-01 Escape From Elturgard
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Monster Manual Expanded (Fantasy Grounds)
by James K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/29/2020 22:54:59

As expected there are some very fun monsters in here that add some really great flavor to several existing monsters. From new Azers, to Zuggtomy minions this tome lends some serious encounter spice for DMs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Manual Expanded (Fantasy Grounds)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

The Dragon Prince
by Andy M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/29/2020 17:14:44

I downloaded this adventure as a first adventure for me (my first DM experience) and my 2 girls (their first D&D adventure). We loved it! I forgot to scale it down a bit for 2 players, and my 2 PCs got beaten by the swarms of rats in the tavern. I had the innkeeper jab the PCs for this throughout the game. Every time they made some progress, they returned to the tavern to make sure the innkeeper knew of theie exploits :)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Dragon Prince
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Path Of Vivex
by Owlbear F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/29/2020 16:30:35

Played this in a one-shot at level 10 and it was a lot of fun. Never played a Dragonborn before and I highly recommend using this if your considering a Dragonborn Barbarian. There is alot of extra utility with this subclass too. Being able to climb upside down with no check AND drop with no fall damage because you can fly was really rewarding.

The layout fit my phone screen nicely, had to do some swapping between the pdf & dnd beyond while playing but it was worth it



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Path Of Vivex
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 16881 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates