DriveThruFiction.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Robotech: A Macross Saga RPG (SWAdE, Revised)
by Robert R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/17/2021 07:26:10

I bought this because I'm fans of both SWAdE and MACROSS. Okay, fine. I also grew up with Robotech and actually have no issues with that. I do have issues with HG but that's neither here nor there.

If you run SWAdE, this can be played out of the box. Everything is in place and seems to fit with the general storyline of Robotech Season 1. If I understood the rules right, you can play everything from Ep1 all the way to at least the end of Khyron's assault on Robotech City.

It's best if you have the Scifi rulebook. Even if it's not SWAdE (as of this writing), it can provide you with some ideas to help you out here.

The rules can be used to of course play as Veritech and Destroid pilots. If you play in the time period between the end of the First Robotech War and befor Kyron's final assault, you can even play as Zentradi working with/for the EDF. Not as micloned, but as full-sized Zentradi and Meltrandi in pods and that disctinctive power armor because all of those things are present. You can also play as infantry! My own campaign setting for this involved a mixed command of Veritechs, Destroids, micloned and not Zentradi, and human and micloned infantry.

You can also play it as Macross. Which is what I did. If you're familiar enough with SWAdE, you can either simply swap terminologies for Robotech's treatment of Protoculture for Macross stuff or, if your knowledge/undertanding of SWAdE is good, design your own Macross-specific rules (like using Arcane Edges to simulate Song and Spiritia power). Before I suspended play to research on some new rulesets I bought (ah, these DTRPG sales), I was trying to incorporate that disctinctive reactive armor of Macross to the setting. The tweaks aren't that big, if you're playing Macross using these rules.

What will be hard - and why I only gave this four stars - is to play in eras beyond what would be in Macross as when the SDF-2 Megaroad left. There are stats for the next-generation VF, but that's it. The main issue would be to do the necessary GM legwork to design later-era Variable Fighters for a Macross setting.

Oh, I just remembered you CAN play during the Sentinels/Army of the Southern Cross era because there are stats for the Hovertank veritech. At least the early version. So just tweak that using info from ,say, MechaHQ and you're good to go.

But really, the 4 star rating is only there because you're limited to the eras you can play. If they included a robust Veritech/VF design guide based from the Sci Fi Companion's mech creation rules, plus notes on how to sinulate later era Robotech PLUS conversions to Macross, I'd give this 11 stars if I could.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Robotech: A Macross Saga RPG (SWAdE, Revised)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Creator Reply:
The other eras are currently in layout and will be released as soon as they are ready.
Gaslight Victorian Fantasy 2nd Edition (OGL Edition)
by JAVIER E. P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/23/2021 15:32:39

Just received my printed copy amd it really looks fantastic. It take me back in time to the good 3/3.5 era with perhaps the most interesting setting of AD&D: Masque of the Red Dead. POD version is fantastic, good paper, hard and solid book. This is a must.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gaslight Victorian Fantasy 2nd Edition (OGL Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Robotech: A Macross Saga RPG (SWAdE, Revised)
by Russell J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2021 08:18:10

I bought this product becuase when i asked the publisher if they would cover the other eras they said they were working on it. over a year ago. i like the game system and i do not have issues with the book itself. but robotech is a three era series. and if you are not covering all the eras I am not interested in the game.

> Battlefield P. has replied your review on Robotech: A Macross Saga RPG (SWAdE): The other eras are currently in layout. We will release them in due time. If you had been following along on our FB group, you would have seen the announcement for the new material, plus the announcement for a revision of this one. We were hit with theft and arson in August of 2019, and it has taken time to catch back up (which was also talked about in our FB group). We were displaced for nearly a year, and then we got hit with Covid, deaths in the family and other personal stuff. These books do not appear out of thin air, and patience is what is needed to get the new material. I wish you would have talked to us before posting this review, as you might have learned all this information prior to now.

Since I cannot reply to battlefield P directly Ill do it here. I do not have facebook. I do not like thier practice and to assume I should have it so i can track your work is insulting. Have youe own website and share its link. I would gladly go there. they said there are two additional books on the way. That is excellent. I am excited for that and as soon as i can find them I ll aquire them. I prefer downloads. Sorry your studio/home burned down, but besides your facebook how would we know this? I like the Savage world setting and I do like the Robotech adaptation. I highly suggest these. However I have expectations when it comes to robotech. I want the entire series.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Robotech: A Macross Saga RPG (SWAdE, Revised)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Creator Reply:
The other eras are currently in layout. We will release them in due time. If you had been following along on our FB group, you would have seen the announcement for the new material, plus the announcement for a revision of this one. We were hit with theft and arson in August of 2019, and it has taken time to catch back up (which was also talked about in our FB group). We were displaced for nearly a year, and then we got hit with Covid, deaths in the family and other personal stuff. These books do not appear out of thin air, and patience is what is needed to get the new material. I wish you would have talked to us before posting this review, as you might have learned all this information prior to now.
Ninja High School Textbook Volume 2
by Eddy W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/01/2020 07:53:37

The story turns a little more serious and interconnected here, but there are still some funny bits (including some thinly-veiled swipes at superhero comics). The art jars at one point -- I think a comic produced later was jammed into the ongoing storyline -- but still a good collection.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ninja High School Textbook Volume 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Ninja High School Textbook Volume 1
by Eddy W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/01/2020 07:51:49

Fun comic in the vein of Teenagers From Outer Space (or, more accurately, the reverse). With over 500 pages of comic, it's well worth the price!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ninja High School Textbook Volume 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Ninja High School Textbook Volume 4
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2020 16:36:25

Many of the lesser side characters get their own stories, like Ichi's little sister. And alot about the daughter of the enemy ambassador, who is a midget cross dressing male.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ninja High School Textbook Volume 4
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Ninja High School Textbook Volume 3
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2020 16:29:12

Most of it was very good, (the combat cheerleaders are back), but the longest worst drawn story arc was nearly unfollowable, as it dragged on far too long with too many fights.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ninja High School Textbook Volume 3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Ninja High School Textbook Volume 2
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2020 16:23:15

I got used to different artists doing the comic. Loved the combat (boy hating but mst have a boyfriend) cheerleaders best.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ninja High School Textbook Volume 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Ninja High School Textbook Volume 1
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2020 16:17:42

Would have been a five, but the artwork varies immensely from looking great to ooking like he rushed through it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ninja High School Textbook Volume 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Ninja High School Textbook Volume 1
by Benjamin S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2020 13:58:19

I forgot how funny Ben Dunn can be. It's been fun re-reading it, and seeing all the homages, call backs, and other little bits sprinkled within the series.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Dinosaur Protocol (SWAdE)
by John G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2019 17:18:58

I wanted to not like this product. You see, this is nearly identical to an idea that I had myself and was preparing a Savage Worlds (yes, really) campaign for. Except that they beat me to it, and improved upon my idea. So I wanted to hate it, but I can't. It is a really good product that any Savage Worlds gamemaster would be proud to own (I am). First off, it provides a great new post-apocalyptic campaign setting for anyone who is a) tired of the familiar PA tropes, and b) loves dinosaurs (who doesn't?). Second, did I mention the dinosaurs? All the major dinos are described in full (and largely scientifically accurate) detail. This campaign has everything that you need to run a PA campaign, a time-travel scenario in which your players meet dinosaurs, or a prehistoric campaign set in the past of Earth's history! Also included are a number of other prehistoric beasties, such as the giant cockroach, giant millipede (Arthopleurid), giant spider (Mesothelae) and, of course, the megaladon (giant shark). In short, if you are looking to add dinosaurs to your Savage World campaign, or just looking for a new setting to thrill your players, you owe it to yourself to check this book out!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Dinosaur Protocol (SWAdE)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Robotech: A Macross Saga RPG (SWAdE, Revised)
by andrew l. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/30/2019 12:28:08

A good solid book. Has just what you need for an early era Robotech game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Robotech: A Macross Saga RPG (SWAdE, Revised)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Robotech: A Macross Saga RPG (SWAdE, Revised)
by TiMar L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2019 09:14:01

Very solid book. I've always loved Robotech. As a child of the 80s I used to hurry home to watch the show. I've played using the Pallidum ruleset but they are cumbersome. The Savage Worlds rules are much better and streamlined.The book itself looks amazing. I like the crisp colors. They stand out and pop. The only true issue I have is that I feel that there aren't enough pictures. I would have loved to see pictures for all the various mechas as opposed to having to do my own Google research to get a look at osme things.

It's my hope that in future books they include more artwork. I also hope that they include rules for playing Robotech Masters clones like and Zor, Invid Prince and Princess like Sera and Arielle. My final hope is that they go all the way through Sentinels and Shadow Chronicle.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Sisterhood of the Blade
by andrew l. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/13/2019 21:04:42
  • disclaimer I have a story in this anthology *

Ed Greenwood and some very talented writers all spin individual tales of the Queen's personal guard. If you enjoy The Musketeers or fiction steeped in excellent and skilled worldbuilding then you will enjoy thsi book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sisterhood of the Blade
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Robotech: A Macross Saga RPG (SWAdE, Revised)
by Robert J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/11/2019 23:17:29

For the most part I liked this book, though the Zentradi section does bother me and need some cleaning up. I liked the optional rule about Protoculture Power a lot, though I wish there were more options to use the Protoculture Power points on than the four options given. This is my second favorite of the Robotech time frames. The only one I like better is the Invid Invasion, which I think would have been a much better setting to base a game off of than any of the other time periods just because it has so much more freedom. I am looking forward to seeing what else they do with the license and I believe they will be putting out books for both the Southern Cross and Invid Invasion (Genesis Climber MOSPEADA). At least I am really hoping they do just so I can have the complete set. For more complete thoughts on this product, you can find the full review here.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Robotech: A Macross Saga RPG (SWAdE, Revised)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 74 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates