DriveThruFiction.com
Browse Categories
$ to $







Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Pulp Fantastic (SWAdE)
by Joshua [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/13/2024 08:09:47

I cannot recommend this supplement enough. After reading through this you'll have ideas for a least a few campaigns. And don't sleep on the adventure generator. It's lead to some truly memorable adventures (gangsters and dinosaurs anyone?).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pulp Fantastic (SWAdE)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Pulp Fantastic (SWAdE)
by Chris [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2024 09:38:35

One of my go to titles for Savage Worlds. If you like the pulp era, this book is a must. Great set of archetypes, villain archetypes, secret societies, and a decent bestiary. The Groups and Bases rules add some benefits in campaigns. The Gazetteer is a mine of adventure seeds. This book is a gold mine.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Terran Trade Authority Spacecraft 2000 - 2100 AD
by TIM [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2024 17:23:42

The PDF is adequate in that these are the best scans of the first book I have seen, there is no moire and the colors are good. However most of the art has been butchered especially the two page spreads they don't line up properly and they are missing parts from the originals, you literally cant join up the spreads. This is unforgivable given the full price of the PDF is the same as a quality printed book, like the Chris Foss book, Hence a low rating from me.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Terran Trade Authority Spacecraft 2000 - 2100 AD
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Terran Trade Authority Spacecraft 2000 - 2100 AD
by Leonardo [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/30/2023 19:05:31

I got this book through the original kickstarter. My copy was delivered in great shape. The pages are matte, which I wasn't expecting, but that might be similar to the original? Because of that, the colors are a bit muted. However, on my first readthrough I didn't notice any glaring scan artifacts; the art is clean and well reproduced.

The book itself and the art within is a definite classic, showing some of the best "vintage 70s" sci-fi art and a great near-future military space setting. The influence of these artists on games like No Man's Sky and Homeworld (among others) is obvious.

4 stars because I would have loved nice glossy reproductions of these images, but it's a solid book regardless and if this is the only way you can get it, every serious sci-fi fan or artist should take a look. The material itself - when adjusting for it's age - is easily 5 stars.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Kaisers Gate Jumpstart
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/22/2023 01:40:00

I read through the Kaisers Gate Jumpstart and I must say that I am very impressed!

The team at Battlefield Press International did very well on this, and you can see all of the love and care that went into this just by how it was written.

The primer sets out everything nicely, and the timeline of events is rather interesting and unique!

The race that is included in this Jumpstart is pretty cool, I really do not want to spoil anything for those that have not read it. But I will say that it is incredibly cool to see fantasy races being part of The Great War!

The adventure included with the Jumpstart, Fire and Vengeance, is also nicely well written and shown that a lot of care went into its creation. The team really went and did their darn best on this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kaisers Gate Jumpstart
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Terran Trade Authority Spacecraft 2000 - 2100 AD
by Bruno A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/03/2022 14:43:44

Have to say, as a fan of the original this edition doesn't do it justice. The pages are warped and bendy, and the color reproduction isn't up to par. A shame that a 40th anniversary edition is so bland.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Terran Trade Authority Spacecraft 2000 - 2100 AD
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
This book was created from scans of an original, as the original artwork did not survive the years. It is entirely possible that the book has images that are not as sharp as the original book. However, it is prudent to also note that this version of the book passed inspection by Stewart Cowley and the Artists. We do appreciate your purchase.
pixel_trans.gif
Sherwood: The Legend of Robin Hood (5E)
by Joseph C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/22/2021 17:23:10

This supplement is fantastic resource for GMs looking to run non-magical 5E campaigns. You get 6 robust new classes that are wholly standalone and capture all of the archetypes a medieval campaign might need -- nobles, men-at-arms, priests, engineers, and outlaws. You also get yeomen, which can be used for skilled craftsmen or burly outdoor workers. Not only can any dark ages campaign use these, but without much work they can also extend from Imperial Rome and into the Renaissance. The inclusion of options to add more "realistic" magic classes -- druidic, conjuration, etc. is great for folklore-inspired games, too.

Of course, the book is chock full of information on Robin Hood and his merry men. All of the major players are statted out, and there's over a dozen more obscure characters described, like the Sheriff's personal guard, Richard de Villy, and his corrupt abbot, Geoffrey Petherton. The history of 13th century England is helpful to read, though is only a few pages, so GMs wanting to fully replicate Robin Hood's world will need to do some additional research.

Finally, the book offers optional rules to capture the swashbuckling aspect of Robin Hood fiction. All classes get bonuses to AC when they aren't wearing armor, characters receive "swashbuckling points" to pull off feats of derring-do, and there's a full list of maneuvers with accompanying rules, like running along beams and walls, lassoing opponents, and switching horses at full gallop. While GMs running cinematic games will probably just hand-wave rules for these types of maneuvers, it's nice to see thoughtful worked examples.

My only complaint is that the small medieval bestiary at the end of the book which feels tacked on (werewolves and dragons?). I would have preferred a short adventure that captures the spirit of Robin Hood instead.

However, if you're looking for a book to help you run historical or no-to-low-magic 5E games, this one is solid.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sherwood: The Legend of Robin Hood (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Robotech: A Macross Saga RPG (SWAdE, Revised)
by Robert R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/17/2021 07:26:10

I bought this because I'm fans of both SWAdE and MACROSS. Okay, fine. I also grew up with Robotech and actually have no issues with that. I do have issues with HG but that's neither here nor there.

If you run SWAdE, this can be played out of the box. Everything is in place and seems to fit with the general storyline of Robotech Season 1. If I understood the rules right, you can play everything from Ep1 all the way to at least the end of Khyron's assault on Robotech City.

It's best if you have the Scifi rulebook. Even if it's not SWAdE (as of this writing), it can provide you with some ideas to help you out here.

The rules can be used to of course play as Veritech and Destroid pilots. If you play in the time period between the end of the First Robotech War and befor Kyron's final assault, you can even play as Zentradi working with/for the EDF. Not as micloned, but as full-sized Zentradi and Meltrandi in pods and that disctinctive power armor because all of those things are present. You can also play as infantry! My own campaign setting for this involved a mixed command of Veritechs, Destroids, micloned and not Zentradi, and human and micloned infantry.

You can also play it as Macross. Which is what I did. If you're familiar enough with SWAdE, you can either simply swap terminologies for Robotech's treatment of Protoculture for Macross stuff or, if your knowledge/undertanding of SWAdE is good, design your own Macross-specific rules (like using Arcane Edges to simulate Song and Spiritia power). Before I suspended play to research on some new rulesets I bought (ah, these DTRPG sales), I was trying to incorporate that disctinctive reactive armor of Macross to the setting. The tweaks aren't that big, if you're playing Macross using these rules.

What will be hard - and why I only gave this four stars - is to play in eras beyond what would be in Macross as when the SDF-2 Megaroad left. There are stats for the next-generation VF, but that's it. The main issue would be to do the necessary GM legwork to design later-era Variable Fighters for a Macross setting.

Oh, I just remembered you CAN play during the Sentinels/Army of the Southern Cross era because there are stats for the Hovertank veritech. At least the early version. So just tweak that using info from ,say, MechaHQ and you're good to go.

But really, the 4 star rating is only there because you're limited to the eras you can play. If they included a robust Veritech/VF design guide based from the Sci Fi Companion's mech creation rules, plus notes on how to sinulate later era Robotech PLUS conversions to Macross, I'd give this 11 stars if I could.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Robotech: A Macross Saga RPG (SWAdE, Revised)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
The other eras are currently in layout and will be released as soon as they are ready.
pixel_trans.gif
Gaslight Victorian Fantasy 2nd Edition (OGL Edition)
by JAVIER E. P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/23/2021 15:32:39

Just received my printed copy amd it really looks fantastic. It take me back in time to the good 3/3.5 era with perhaps the most interesting setting of AD&D: Masque of the Red Dead. POD version is fantastic, good paper, hard and solid book. This is a must.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gaslight Victorian Fantasy 2nd Edition (OGL Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Robotech: A Macross Saga RPG (SWAdE, Revised)
by Russell J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2021 08:18:10

I bought this product becuase when i asked the publisher if they would cover the other eras they said they were working on it. over a year ago. i like the game system and i do not have issues with the book itself. but robotech is a three era series. and if you are not covering all the eras I am not interested in the game.

> Battlefield P. has replied your review on Robotech: A Macross Saga RPG (SWAdE): The other eras are currently in layout. We will release them in due time. If you had been following along on our FB group, you would have seen the announcement for the new material, plus the announcement for a revision of this one. We were hit with theft and arson in August of 2019, and it has taken time to catch back up (which was also talked about in our FB group). We were displaced for nearly a year, and then we got hit with Covid, deaths in the family and other personal stuff. These books do not appear out of thin air, and patience is what is needed to get the new material. I wish you would have talked to us before posting this review, as you might have learned all this information prior to now.

Since I cannot reply to battlefield P directly Ill do it here. I do not have facebook. I do not like thier practice and to assume I should have it so i can track your work is insulting. Have youe own website and share its link. I would gladly go there. they said there are two additional books on the way. That is excellent. I am excited for that and as soon as i can find them I ll aquire them. I prefer downloads. Sorry your studio/home burned down, but besides your facebook how would we know this? I like the Savage world setting and I do like the Robotech adaptation. I highly suggest these. However I have expectations when it comes to robotech. I want the entire series.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Robotech: A Macross Saga RPG (SWAdE, Revised)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
The other eras are currently in layout. We will release them in due time. If you had been following along on our FB group, you would have seen the announcement for the new material, plus the announcement for a revision of this one. We were hit with theft and arson in August of 2019, and it has taken time to catch back up (which was also talked about in our FB group). We were displaced for nearly a year, and then we got hit with Covid, deaths in the family and other personal stuff. These books do not appear out of thin air, and patience is what is needed to get the new material. I wish you would have talked to us before posting this review, as you might have learned all this information prior to now.
pixel_trans.gif
Ninja High School Textbook Volume 2
by Eddy W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/01/2020 07:53:37

The story turns a little more serious and interconnected here, but there are still some funny bits (including some thinly-veiled swipes at superhero comics). The art jars at one point -- I think a comic produced later was jammed into the ongoing storyline -- but still a good collection.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ninja High School Textbook Volume 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Ninja High School Textbook Volume 1
by Eddy W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/01/2020 07:51:49

Fun comic in the vein of Teenagers From Outer Space (or, more accurately, the reverse). With over 500 pages of comic, it's well worth the price!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ninja High School Textbook Volume 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Ninja High School Textbook Volume 4
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2020 16:36:25

Many of the lesser side characters get their own stories, like Ichi's little sister. And alot about the daughter of the enemy ambassador, who is a midget cross dressing male.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ninja High School Textbook Volume 4
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Ninja High School Textbook Volume 3
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2020 16:29:12

Most of it was very good, (the combat cheerleaders are back), but the longest worst drawn story arc was nearly unfollowable, as it dragged on far too long with too many fights.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ninja High School Textbook Volume 3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Ninja High School Textbook Volume 2
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2020 16:23:15

I got used to different artists doing the comic. Loved the combat (boy hating but mst have a boyfriend) cheerleaders best.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ninja High School Textbook Volume 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 81 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates