DriveThruFiction.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Low and Dark Fantasy Careers
by Lumberjack N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/29/2020 19:33:14

Thank you so much for this. It's exactly what i needed



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Low and Dark Fantasy Careers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Zynnythryx's Guide to Magic: A Beginner's Guide to Genesys Magic
by Morgan G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2020 00:44:49

This is a great guide for demonstrating what you can do with magic and the new actions fill a gap I'd been pondering how to fill. Definitely worth picking up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Zynnythryx's Guide to Magic: A Beginner's Guide to Genesys Magic
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Inquisition: Genesys Medieval Dark Fantasy Setting
by Nicholas G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/13/2020 22:30:45

This setting is fantastic! I'm about to start a game in this world here soon and I'll update more after it has seen some table time but here are the best selling points:

  • the lore is easy to grasp, espeically if you are familiar with the dark ages in Europe
  • the themes are darker and more gritty than the standard RoT setting
  • FANTASTIC and memorable enemies to challenge your players
  • options to run all human monster hunters or an all monster group
  • an open world to place your own towns and locations in


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Inquisition: Genesys Medieval Dark Fantasy Setting
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Al-Kalim Adversaries
by Roy A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/02/2020 02:45:19

Chris Markham has nailed it again! This gem of a supplement has detailed and evocative descriptions of 12 adversaries, including beautiful hand-drawn art, ecology, behavior and adventure hooks, as well as optional rules for nocturnal creatures. The creature lore is complemented by poetic paragraphs written by Tarik Al Farabi, an emissary of his Most Glorious Caliph of Al-Kalim. It is clear that Chris has done his research and put a lot into this supplement like all of his work. It is a joy to read and will definetly add to your Terrinoth or any fantasy campaigns. And it even includes ready made printable Adversary cards!

On a personal note - Chris is a friend and colleague and I personally know the amount of work and passion he puts into each of his Foundry projects. The other reviewer (1 star) clearly did not read the supplement and is apparently just trying to troll. I would definitely not pay any attention to that review. Chris's body of work speaks for itself.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Al-Kalim Adversaries
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Al-Kalim Adversaries
by Ajey P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/31/2020 12:55:44

It's rather lazily thought-out little supplement. It buys into tired Orientalist tropes without making anything interesting of the lore of the admittedly already-lazy Terrinoth setting.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Did you even read it? Orientalist? It is set in a Middle Eastern setting! and draws from established lore. There is nothing "oriental" about it. The only thing lazy here is a one-star review without speaking to the author. If you have a problem with the setting, that's more on you. Lazy setting? The Terrinoth setting is the location for NUMEROUS successful FFG games such as Runebound and Descent as has YEARS of lore. It is THE most fleshed out setting FFG owns that isn't licensed from elsewhere. While I'm sorry this doesn't appear to be your cup of tea, it is rather unprofessional to trash another author's product. There's a lesson many of us learned as children, that perhaps you should recall. If you can't say something nice, don't say anything at all. If I didn't like a fellow author's product, I certainly would never trash it. Message left with the hope it will cause reflection for the reviewer.
If you send me your email address for Drive Thru, I will happily transfer $3 to you. i.e. your money back, since you are so dissatisfied with it.
Salvage: Genesys Sci-Fi Junkpunk Setting
by Aaron R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/31/2020 08:39:41

A great setting, well written and professional looking. I can't wait for more content.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Salvage: Genesys Sci-Fi Junkpunk Setting
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Salvage: Genesys Sci-Fi Junkpunk Setting
by McKendry H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/25/2020 11:19:06

A very well done, evocative setting book. Genesys was made for a setting like this!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Something Strange: Genesys Modern Horror Setting
by Conor M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/22/2020 23:14:15

As other reviews have said this is a toolkit rather than a setting, and that's exactly what I was looking for.

The careers here are my favourite I've seen in a Genesys book, and the expanded talents for supernatural creatures are everything you could need.

I was so impressed with this. As a final bonus: it's a breezy and easy read, getting across a lot of useful rules stuff in an entertaining and approachable way.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Something Strange: Genesys Modern Horror Setting
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Sunfall
by Guillaume T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/22/2020 14:20:59

Sunfall holds a very special place in my Genesys collection.

To start with, the setting is refreshing. It's nothing like I ever played. It's not a postapocalyse but rather a post-post-apocalypse. It's not like "appocalypse has struck us and now we gotta do what we need to survivre". No. The apocalypse took place, people adapted and years/generations have passed. It's a whole new world where humanity is thriving despite the evernight and sunless cold world.

The setting has new interesting options, including a revenant archetype and even a demon possessing a host. New magic options are well implemented and gives an interesting twist to the setting. The mix of intriguate old world high tech/magical weaponry with present day (in-universe) blends well with the setting. You'll also find bunch of new adversaries to throw at your PCs.

The author is an incredible world builder. The universe is rich and the writing style is awesome! Right now, the book is mostly artless despite its great layout but I know the author is currently making some art pieces to include in the book.

Regions are detailed with adventure hooks and mysteries here and there. It offers options for a vast array of adventure types whether you're supporting the inquisition effort, engage in political intrigue, scavenge old ruins, and even raid the Hell. You read it right! The humans hold ground in hell where they bring the fight to demons! How cool is that?

Make yourself a favor and get that awesome document!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sunfall
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Gamemaster's Eclectic Toolbox
by Shane S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2020 15:19:18

Not only has the author gone out of their way to interpret abstract concepts from the core system and translate them into manageable mechanics, they've also done the legwork for GMs when it comes to many essential mechanics the core rulebook and supplements do not cover. I particularly like the author's "clout rating" system to quickly create NPCs. It also should be mentioned that the author's layout is exact and professional, and they both bookmarked the various sections for easy navigation and made the table of contents interactive.

This product is both content-dense and well made; I firmly believe this resource belongs in every Genesys GM's library.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gamemaster's Eclectic Toolbox
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Android: Monitor
by Jukka V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/18/2020 16:09:33

Book is quite mediocre at the writing level, but unfortunately that's not it's largest weakness. Books plot is fairly weak, and unbelievable. Also, end is very anticlimatic. I didn't quite get what this book tries to be, but classic tragedy comes to mind. Unfortunately the book fails as tragedy. I have now read all Android universe book, and this definitely is the weakest. It's whole mood is very diffent from other books is series. Other Android Universe books open the world for reader, but this book just seems to close it. Maybe the biggest fault in Android: Monitor is that is feels out of place when compared to other Android books.

Who might enjoy this: People who want to read one take on how media works in Android Universe.

My recommendation: Ignore this book, unless you have read everything else from Android Universe, or you are really interested about media.

Good:

  • Everything technology related. (Cameras everywhere)
  • Megacorp omnipotency is present, although only in form of NBN

Bad:

  • Plot is unbelievable and disorganized (and partially hard to follow, I got a feeling that the writing was rushed, or maybe book was cut to shorter than writer intented.)
  • Technology is added fairly superficially, and not utilized in proper manner (see Exodus from same series to see better example how it should be done.)
  • Characters are unrelatable and it's hard for reader to actually care about them
  • Megacorp omnipotency is too blatant. There are no shades of grey in it, like in other android universe books.


Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Android: Monitor
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Shadow of the Beanstalk
by Conor M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2020 23:00:02

In almost 30 years of gaming, I was always waiting for a cyberpunk setting that felt just right to me. Shadow Of The Beanstalk is that Goldilocks bowl.

It's intentionally somewhat generic, so that it feels like a place to tell my own stories rather than a place to respectfully repeat someone else's. But it's also full of enough ideas to prompt a thousand game sessions.

This setting's take on artificial life is my favourite I've seen in a cyberpunk game, and it's presented with a nuance that I've seen interpreted differently by different friends, which I think is a sign it's succeeded. A central question in the game is what makes someone alive, and the book gives you a lot of ways to explore it without answering it for you.

The art is absolutely beautiful and the book design in general is superior. One thing I'll mention is I bought the PDF, and the design looked gorgeous on a tablet, kind of making me feel like I was holding a futuristic device rather than just my regular old tablet.

If I deduct one star from an otherwise glowing review, it's because I'd have happily paid an extra few dollars to have all the required rules in this book. I do also own the Genesys Core book, but it would have been nice to have it all in one for less back-and-forth.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadow of the Beanstalk
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Sunfall
by Michael P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2020 20:07:40

This is one of the more compelling settings I've read in a while. It feels very flushed out and the book is extremely polished. It feels kind of like Darksun by way of snowball earth, but that ignores a lot of the more interesting cosmology elements going on here. It very much feels like its own thing and I dig it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sunfall
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Sunfall
by Chris M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2020 08:42:33

Fantastic work! And at Pay What You Want, its a steal! Even if you don't use the setting, it has a lot that can be mined for both Fantasy and Post-Apocalyptic settings. Really well-written, and it has a nice, unique look to it, like any setting should. Really fantastic job. The setting itself is very richly described, and you can tell the author has a real love for world-building. Any Genesys fan and GM should definitely give this a good read. (and throw the author a few bucks for this great effort!).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Starcana Campaign Setting
by Michael P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2020 07:22:14

Richly detailed science fantasy setting. A number of neat ideas are here. I'm particular fond of the idea that the shared pantheon across the galaxy is.. incredibly wicked and vile, but their church (sort of) isn't. If you're looking for hard scifi you'll be disappointed, but if you're looking for something that will mash up space adventures with fantasy elements you'll be very pleased. Art and layout are all excellent, just in general really polished.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Starcana Campaign Setting
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 356 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates