DriveThruFiction.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Kitsune of Golarion
by Tony S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2022 11:39:05

This book is written by some of the best authors in the industry, and it's evident from the first chapter alone. As if that alone weren't enough to compell you to snag a copy, it's probably the most gorgeous book released to date on Pathfinder Infinite. Even the layout has a level of charm you just can't ignore, which is all too fitting for a book on fox-folk. The sections detailing how kitsune live in various regions in Golarion are incredibly well done and inspire good story integration for GMs and players alike. The options sections bring extra fun and flavor for those that want to really dive into the ancestry, with new heritages, ancestry feats, foxxy alchemical items, and two exceptionally done archetypes. If you are a fan of the kitsune or even just looking to expand your table options, it's a must have.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kitsune of Golarion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Abomination Vaults GMs Guide
by Mark E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/10/2022 20:57:03

Saw this and knew it was a must have. My PC's are going to LOVE this!! Just what I needed to round out and keep track of the campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Abomination Vaults GMs Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Infinite Reforged: Investigators
by Dániel V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/10/2022 17:03:28
You Write your review in such a way that the reader can't keep track of how many times you copied and pasted this sentence.

I... really wanted to like this book. Like, really. I love Investigators, and a book that's just full of goodies for 'em? Heck yeah, I'm in!
Alas, this book has good ideas, but it's lacking in execution.

Devise a Stratagem

The point made in the rules reasoning is, well, I can see it, I guess! The Investigator can feel stretched thin for ability scores, though I more prefer the "big-hitter" approach Vanilla Investigator goes for. And the first few lines of the new Devise a Stratagem presented in the book look promising! Choose either Strike, a Perception check, or a skill check related to your methodology, and you make the substitution for that? That's great, it does make the Investigator feel more investigate-y, and it also plays into your chosen methodology nicely.

Except oops, it's not Strike -- it's any action with the attack trait. So you're at this point getting Athletic Strategist for free. I'm not entirely sure why that is a necessary addition.

But it does get worse. And better. Both.
This new DaS also allows the Investigator to not make the roll if it is unfavourable, allowing them to roll normally still.

But it gets worse / better still.
You can also substitute any action's roll that contains your chosen action as a subordinate action, like Battle Medicine if you chose Treat Wounds (which by the way is incorrect, Treat Wounds is not a subordinate action of Battle Medicine).

The way this DaS is phrased also lets you add your Intelligence modifier to your Strikes even if you don't make the Strikes with Finesse or Agile weapons.

The description also cleverly leaves out having to choose a creature to use that check on, so DaS becomes targetless.

This is way too much for a starter class feature.
Out of all of these, I think keeping being able to substitute in Strikes (not any attack action!) or your methodology's skill checks, and being able to add your Intelligence modifier to non-Agile / non-Finesse / non-sap weapons Strikes would be already pretty good. The others are not needed, they give the Investigator way too many options. I understand that the goal was to make them equal to most other martials, but... is that really needed?

Strategic Strike

Balancing out the aforementioned Int modifier to non-Finesse / non-Agile Strikes by only applying the precision bonus to those that still fulfill that condition is really clever. I like it.

Revised Class Feats

THIS should have been the focal point of the entire book!
Being able to add more and more skill checks you can use for your DaS is a very nifty idea that I love. Even that option alone would be worth it, I'd say, no need for the Pursue a Lead bonus on top. I was very disappointed to see that only these two and Diplomatic Strategist do this. Heck, the "substitute for any attack action" change in DaS makes Athletic Strategist an almost must-have to an eeeeeh choice. Even the mentioned Force Open has an attack trait.

New Class Features

I do love the idea of letting the Investigator choose more actions and let them roll more. But with the changes described above, that's comically overpowered. Reminder: this book's Investigator can replace almost any roll, can roll 3d20 ahead of time to choose from, can decide NOT to replace anything if need be, can make their DaS last through rounds, and much more.

I'm not sure how workable the idea would be even, but I love the idea. Maybe with Vanilla Investigator, who needs to decide against what target, and has to commit to it, this could be good AND balanced. Add maybe a mandate that the dice must be used in the order they were rolled? Maybe it would even benefit the Investigator not to roll all 2-3 of his DaS dice ahead of time with such restrictions.
Investigator feels very much like a thinking class, and being able to roll 3d20 ahead of time to then use on whatever is very much the opposite of that.

Deductions

I could make a joke about "You Strike your foe in a way", but I already used it for the title. Seriously, why is that sentence copypasted to almost EVERY Deduction?
These are full of copypaste errors anyway. The very first Deduction, Clipping Stratagem, already makes the affected foe immune "to your Sapping Stratagem for 24 hours". Blinding Stratagem makes the affected creature immune to Deafening Stratagem.

The DC also isn't clarified for any of the Deductions. I assume class DC? At least, I'd hope so.

Overall Thoughts

I was really disappointed by this product. I really wanted to like it.
But the more I tested it, hoping that it would bend, the more it shattered into a million brittle pieces.
I see the potential in this. But I cannot in good conscience give this better than a 2/5 as it is.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Infinite Reforged: Investigators
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Pathfinder 2e Adventure Template for Affinity Publisher
by Lazarus D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/03/2022 16:49:52

Absolutely fantastic, probably saved me dozens of hours trying to make all the styles myself! Worth far far more than the asking price, in fact i need to just buy it again to give more money. Truthfully, I'd never touched Affinity before, or any publishing software, but this template basically served as my tutorial on it, and my first pdf turned out looking so nice and professional.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pathfinder 2e Adventure Template for Affinity Publisher
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Pathfinder Infinite Creator Resource - Adventure Templates
by Lazarus D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/03/2022 16:48:35

It's okay for a start, maybe. Not the worst, but not great. Recommend finding the Affinity template on Infinite. This Word doc is not going to give you the quality you want in a final product, unless you just want to push a couple pages out quickly I guess.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Pathfinder Infinite Creator Resource - Adventure Templates
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Infinite Ancestries: Loamlings of Golarion
by Tony S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/01/2022 19:56:59

Anything from Michael Sayre is a fantastic addition to the table, and this supplement is no exception. Not only is the Loamling ancestry dripping with flavor, but the mechanics of the ancestry definitely fulfill the fantasy of these little burrowing buddies while fitting snugly in the balance expectations of other ancestries in Pathfinder 2E. As if that weren't enough, the latter portions of the book cover the integration of these lovable beings in specific regions of Golarion, including one of my personal favorite Golarion regions: Irrisen. The art is also exceptional and showcases Loamlings with all the charm one would expect of such creatures. I highly recommend anyone looking to add a new Ancestry to their tables to give this a look. If one of your players is looking for a cuddly burrower, I bet they will dig this!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Infinite Ancestries: Loamlings of Golarion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Infiknight Equipment: Starstone: The Ascension
by M. D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/23/2021 20:22:24

As a fan of harrow and a long time TCG player, the mention of a harrow card game developed by the owner of the Merrygleam toy store in Lost Omens: Grand Bazaar caught my eye. I wanted to know more and if anything, actually see a functioning version of the card game developed by someone. So, it was to my delight that Starstone: The Ascension was published a few months later with a fully functioning card game based off the one in Lost Omens: Grand Bazaar.

Starstone: The Ascension itself provides an extension on the lore of the popular card game mentioned offhandedly in Lost Omens: Grand Bazaar that greatly benefits GMs interested in running the plot hooks from the Merrygleam chapter, along with adding in new plot hooks! The new NPCs feel like they're straight out of an episode of Yu-Gi-Oh, especially with the new duel disk style illusodisk magical item that provides vibrant and fun imagery in its description. The mentions of how the church of Nethys, but especially the how the church of Irez, react to this new card game is also a fun addition to the lore I'm happy to see.

As for the game's rules itself, they're simple to understand for any veteran TCG player and ones who've never interacted with the hobby as well! The simplicty of the rules lends itself to the fact that it's primarily stat comparisons between various harrow monsters, with mortal cards being able to band together to also fight the monsters. Event and location cards, along with the charge mechanic also add a bit of complex strategy to an otherwise simplistic rule set that'd get any wizard's mind turning about how to take down their opponent and build their deck. Even then, if the expert rules still need getting used to, there's thankfully an even simpler set of rules also provided!

Additionally, the card sheets provided with the PDF have some adorable hand-drawn art for the cheaper styled cards and are easily printable if so desired to put into homemade packs for your players to open. The addition of transparent cards is also very appreciated for those of us who own a physical harrow deck and don't want to look up the rules mid-game. My sole complaint is that some cards that get stat increases, like the cricket and demon's lantern state they get +1/+0 and +1/+1 respectively, but then state they get +1/+1 and +1/+0 in their reminder text for the keyword associated with the stat increases. This is a minor issue and easy fix when playing, so it doesn't detract too much from the gameplay.

Overall, Startstone: The Ascension is an amazing exploration activity to play during Pathfinder games, especially for games set in Asbalom and I recommend it to anyone who loves harrow or TCGs!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Infiknight Equipment: Starstone: The Ascension
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for the wonderful review; it really brightened my day! I will check through all the card files before the new year to make sure the reminder text and base text of all these cards match and release a corrected version of this product!
The cards have been updated!
Starfinder Infinite Adventure Card Game - Core Set
by redeux .. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/20/2021 16:54:09

This is great and worth getting if you enjoyed the Pathfinder Adventure Card Game (PACG), or if you ever wanted to try a starfinder themed card game!

This takes some of the successes from PACG and adds to it: 1. There are new rules and new mechanics such as weapon fusions and archetypes. 2. new and unique cards are used in this game, and 3. There is a new adventure with some unique scenarios and side-quests. Also worth noting that the formating, card templates, visual aids, etc are all visually pleasing as well.

Overall I highly recommend getting this. Game on!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Starfinder Infinite Adventure Card Game - Core Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Star Sugar Heartlove Paper Minis
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/19/2021 18:32:28

Star Sugar Heartlove!!! is one of my favorite Starfinder Society scenarios, so I was very excited to see these minis made available so shortly after the Starfinder Unlimited program went into effect. I won't have any opportunity to use the minis for an in-person game anytime soon, but their release was perfectly timed for me preparing a Roll20 table to run it online. I was able to use the images to create monster tokens without too much trouble, and used the band members' images to decorate the reference sheet for their music's effects during the finale battle. They definitely added some nice on-brand bits of color to my run of the game today!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Sugar Heartlove Paper Minis
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Infinite Reforged: Investigators
by Thal W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/16/2021 19:37:45

A great little supplement to add some exciting oomph to an underwhelming combat class. We started using it in our game with an investigator who was already level 8 - none of the feats have been used, though they're excellently designed, but the class features have been much appreciated. It's good to have this to smooth over some of the pain points of the class.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Infinite Reforged: Investigators
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Wrath of the Righteous Hero Paper Minis
by Tabletop O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/30/2021 08:55:57

As someone running Wrath of the Righteous with some spin from the videogame this mini set was an absolute godsend. The style fits beautifully for the game I'm running and the players really enjoyed it especially for the NPC's, Ember in particular was a big hit. If I have any complaint about the product it would be that I want more in this style. I'd love to switch over all my tokens in Foundry to using it. I highly recommend it, not just if you're playing Wrath of Righteous but even for other campaigns as the pictures have a lot of life and fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wrath of the Righteous Hero Paper Minis
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Starfinder Infinite: Holo-Fishing
by Don B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/27/2021 16:05:28

This is a really fun addition to a game where you're stuck on starships for extended periods of time. The mechanics are easily picked up and there's a variety of ways you can use it. I'll be using it in all my games when the situation calls for a little break in adventuring.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Starfinder Infinite: Holo-Fishing
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you very much for your kind words and support, I’m so glad you like it!
Starfinder Infinite - A Tail of Betrayal
by Jarad R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/11/2021 10:30:10

This one-shot adventure is awesome! Lots of action right from the start that continues its intensity to the very end. Highly recommened!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Starfinder Infinite - A Tail of Betrayal
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Heroes of Omen: The Inventor
by Bryan M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/09/2021 12:22:08

This is great - really flavorful, and works well with PF1 rules. Only one gripe, butnot big enough to deduct a star: the Overwatch is featured as a "general archetype," when it looks like it would work best as just a regular archetype of the Inventor class. (Maybe slow the progression of the explosion class feature to 5th, 9th, etc., and give the options as listed - and voila! Haven't checked that for balance, though.) All in all, a fun class that makes me wish Paizo hadn't given up on 1st edition.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes of Omen: The Inventor
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

2nd Edition Class: The Theorist
by Dylan W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/06/2021 08:08:46

A 4/5 for my personal scale is a class that functions as written and has some cool features that makes you want to play it. The reason it may lose a star is becuase it may have some options or abilities that don't entirely fight the tight balance of 2e. In the case of the Theorist, there are some abilities that a GM may want to fine tune or otherwise adjust if they allowed the class at their table. Overall though, the concept is solid and it will definitely attact a set of players that like the idea of copying spells from their foes or being the premiere counterspell spellcaster.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
2nd Edition Class: The Theorist
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hey, hello! First of all, thank you for your purchase and your review! I'm glad you seem to have a good outlook on the class; although, I have to say I'm curious about you mean by how it doesn't fight the balance of 2E! And I more than agree with you, GM out there, if you feel like you want to adjust some of the class abilities, do it! Feel free to do it! (Did I take time to answer because I didn't know I could? Yes. I'm dumb. Lots of love on you though! Have fun!)
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 75 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates