DriveThruFiction.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Enemy Within Campaign - Volume 1: Enemy in Shadows
by Corey F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/17/2019 14:42:37

An absolutely stellar remake of the original adventure. The absolutely massive number of adventure hooks (and options for changing it up for those that have played the adventure before) easily puts this as one of the best RPG supplements released this year.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Enemy Within Campaign - Volume 1: Enemy in Shadows
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Enemy Within Campaign - Volume 1: Enemy in Shadows
by David R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/17/2019 12:45:37

I played the original 1E The Enemy Within campaign many years ago, and I have a full set of the 1E campaign. This update for WFRP 4e by Graeme Davis, one of the original authors of the TEW campaign, is a superb update to the original. But beyond the adventure itself, this product has great replayability value with its supplemental guide to the market town of Bogenhafen, with the Cubicle 7 WFRP trademark multiple plot hooks for every single location, enough to keep coming back to the well again and again. Also, the artwork is fantastic. I expected a lot from this and it delivered.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WFRP Ubersreik Adventures - Heart of Glass
by Rally I. t. V. P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2019 13:40:40

(Slightly modifed from a comment I've made on a different site).

I really liked Mad Men and have been lukewarm on the rest of the adventures in this line. Mostly as by and large the documents themselves don't lend themselves well to table use (more designed to be read than run).

This is the first one where the adventure itself disappointed me however. So many times does the text basically say "your players have to do this thing. If they don't, please force them".

I'm all for some gentle prodding and good players understand that there is a certain unspoken contract not to go too off the rails, but this adventure is a little extreme in that for me. I can always make up some alternate routes and outcomes but I guess I'd like to text to work a little more with me on that.

I will also say the later bit of the adventure seems lacking. Without spoilers, Part 3 onwards feels like a totally different adventure even though it's really where the players solve the mystery. The area, the motivations of those involved, and the ending are all a bit underdeveloped to my eyes.

Some good ideas and I'm always happy to learn more about Ubersreik but on a this is one release I'm not at all impressed with.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
WFRP Ubersreik Adventures - Heart of Glass
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

WFRP Ubersreik Adventures - Bait and Witch
by Connor M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/27/2019 22:24:39

Great short story, also serving as useful resource for thinking about how to run the Watch in Ubersreik, re-using the alley map and so on. I appreciate an adventure which is also a resource.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WFRP Ubersreik Adventures - Bait and Witch
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Rulebook
by Robert G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/19/2019 11:05:47

Beautiful wrapping and renewal of an old system. Lots of stuff avalible already. both on DriveThruRPG and on Cubicle 7's pages. I have bought everything and are currently kindly nudging my son towards trying the Warhammer FRP 4th edition out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Wrath & Glory: Soundtrack
by Roger L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/02/2019 04:53:34

https://www.teilzeithelden.de/2019/08/09/angehoert-wrath-glory-soundtrack-duempeln-mit-dem-imperator/

Viele neue oder erneuerte Rollenspielsysteme erscheinen heutzutage mit einem bunten Strauß an Begleitmaterial. Beliebt sind da auch passende Soundtracks. Einer der jüngsten in dieser Reihe ist jener zu Wrath & Glory, der noch unter der Ägide von Ulisses erschienen ist. Wir haben unseren Noise Marine darauf angesetzt!

Lange mussten Fans das bolterlastigen Rollenspiels warten, als dann endlich Ende letzten Jahres mit Wrath & Glory die grausamen Weiten des 42. Jahrtausends erkundet werden durften. Passend dazu erschien auch ein Soundtrack von Joe Griffin. Griffin lebt in Chicago und hat sich vor allem als Komponist für Kurzfilme und Theateraufführungen einen Namen gemacht. Bei Wrath & Glory verantwortet er das erste Mal ein Projekt im Warhammer-Universum und ist für einen kompletten Rollenspiel-Soundtrack verantwortlich.

Der Soundtrack Preparations (2:47)

Der Soundtrack beginnt sehr interessant und eröffnet mit militärisch anmutenden Trommeln und Klängen, die einen gedanklich tatsächlich in eine Vorbereitungsszenerie entführen. Man spürt die latente Anspannung für den Einsatz. Leider verliert sich dieses Gefühl sehr schnell in einer leicht drögen Melodie.

Last Day of Peace (5:26)

Ein vom Synthesizer erzeugter Bass eröffnet diesen Track und lässt an unendliche Dunkelheit im Weltraum denken. Doch wird dieser viel zu lange gehalten und erst nach einer Minute folgt eine leichte melodische Veränderung. Bei der soll es dann auch für die restlichen 4 Minuten des Stücks bleiben. Damit trägt dieser Titel kaum zu einer Stimmung merklich bei.

Aeldari Invasion (3:27)

Der Titel könnte die Erwartungen hochschrauben, wären die ersten Titel nicht so schwach. Tatsächlich startet die Invasion enorm kraftvoll. Mit einem Marschrhythmus unterlegt und durch tiefe Posaunen begleitet, kommt durchaus Kriegsstimmung auf. Es fehlen allerdings musikalisch erhaben passende Einschübe, die auf die Aeldari referenzieren. Auch ist reine Synthesizer-Musik hier nicht geeignet, Epik zu erzeugen. Gegen Ende versandet auch dieser Titel in Belanglosigkeit, gewinnt aber in den letzten Sekunden noch mal an Energie, die man sich früher gewünscht hätte.

Appeal to the Machine Spirits (3:57)

Zu den Maschinengeistern passt der reine Einsatz elektronischer Klänge deutlich besser. Es bleibt jedoch ein Hintergrundgeplätscher, das aber durchaus versteht, eine düstere Stimmung zu erzeugen und sicher für viele spannende Szenen geeignet seien dürfte. In manchen Passagen fühlt man sich fast schon an gute alte Echtzeitstrategieklassiker wie Command & Conquer erinnert.

Aeldari Stratagem (3:11)

Diesmal wird das Aeldari-Thema besser getroffen und Griffin greift zu Beginn zu exotisch anmutenden Klängen. Mit ein wenig Abwechslung im Einsatz der Synthi-Klänge und einem bedrohlichen Trommeln, gepaart mit marschähnlichen Sequenzen, bietet auch dieser Titel ein paar schöne Ansätze für Szenen.

The Void Looks Back (3:31)

Die Leere schaut in Warhammer nicht nur sprichwörtlich zurück, sondern kann ganze Besatzungen oder Planetenbewohner in den Wahnsinn treiben. Griffin fängt dieses Phänomen gut mit einer Kakophonie klagender, nicht greifbarer Stimmen ein. Dies zieht sich allerdings mit der Zeit etwas monoton hin und wir erst in der letzten Minute durch ein Ansteigen des stimmlichen Wahnsinns zu einem grauenhaften, im positiven Sinne, Höhepunkt gesteigert.

Cost of Victory (3:03)

Der Preis des Sieges ist in diesem Universum selten gering. Joe Griffin hat hier ein wirklich gutes Gespür, dies zu vermitteln. Vor dem inneren Auge könnte man ein blutiges Schlachtfeld genauso sehen, wie eine Prozession zu Ehren der Toten. Allerdings hätte dieser Titel wirklich gut echte Instrumente vertragen, um sich zu entfalten. So wirkt er am Ende lieblos und eher wie ein Demostück.

Aftermath of Defeat (3:30)

Mit diesem Titel kehrt Griffin wieder zu seinem Schema der ersten Titel zurück. Es plätschert ein wenig vor sich hin und ab und an verirren sich Pianoklänge in dieses Stück. Diese fangen dafür sehr gut die Stimmung nach einem Kampf mit hohem Preis ein. Leider gibt es auch hier kaum Variation, was diesen Titel wieder fad werden lässt. Sehr schade, weil er viele Emotionen transportieren könnte.

Waaagh! (3:34)

Man könnte meinen, der Komponist ist mit diesem Track aus seinem Schlaf erwacht. Kraftvoll pulsierend startet der Ork-Waaagh, begleitet von Rufen der grünen Meute. Spieler*innen von StarCraft werden stellenweise schöne Assoziationen zu den Terraner-Soundtracks haben. In der Mitte des Titels fühlt man sich dann wieder bei Command & Conquer angekommen. Die Inspiration ist hier eindeutig und wurde handwerklich gut umgesetzt. Der mit Abstand beste und lebendigste Titel des Albums.

The Hunt (3:13)

Das vorherige Stück machte große Hoffnungen und der Titel verspricht viel Spannung und Action. Die ersten 30 Sekunden überzeugen und versprechen eine spannungsgeladene Jagd, bei der unklar scheint, wer Jäger und Beute ist, verliert sich dann aber wieder in Eintönigkeit. In der Mitte des Titels scheint Griffin die Kurve zu kriegen, und schafft Spannung aufzubauen, die er versucht durch Wiederholung zu halten, überstrapaziert dies jedoch, da eine musikalische Entwicklung fehlt.

Righteous Fury (4:30)

Der gerechte Zorn ist zweifelsohne ein Leitmotiv des Warhammer-Universums. So gehört dieser Titel zu den wenig dynamischen Stücken des Albums und fängt dieses Thema gut ein. Treibende Trommeln und tiefe Melodien schreien danach, mit dem Bolter in die Feinde zu stürzen.

Preis/Leistung Für 19,95 EUR erhält man einen gepressten Silberling mit schönem Artwork und Booklet. Die Beschreibungen lesen sich jedoch deutlich epischer, als das musikalische Erlebnis tatsächlich ist. Mit 11 Titeln und grade mal 41 Minuten Spielzeit bekommt man wenig geboten, selbst wenn man sich für die digitale Variante entscheidet, die bei rund 10 EUR liegt. Da bieten Erdenstern und Co. deutlich mehr für das Geld.

Fazit Wer Warhammer kauft, hat eine bestimmte Erwartungshaltung: Grim-Dark (Space-) Gothic. Eine grausame, unbarmherzige Welt voller Epik und Superlativen. Das neue Rollenspielsystem, inzwischen von Cubicle 7 produziert, fängt dies ausgesprochen gut ein. Die Erwartungen an einen Soundtrack zu Wrath & Glory sind natürlich dementsprechend passend. Griffin gelingt es zwar einen Soundtrack zu schaffen, der sich nicht zu sehr in den Mittelpunkt drängt, doch leider fehlt der richtige Biss und das Gefühl von Warhammer. Das dürfte vor allem zwei Gründe haben. Zum einen hat sich Joe Griffin für einen sehr zurückhaltenden Soundtrack entschieden, der keine Geschichte erzählt. Das will nicht richtig passen und er verfehlt den richtigen Grad an Zurückhaltung, um dennoch eine Geschichte zu unterstützen. Zum anderen wirkt sowohl der Stil als auch der nahezu ausschließliche Einsatz elektronischer Synthie-Klänge sehr retro und erinnert an Computerspiele der späten 90er und frühen 2000er Jahre. Warhammer schreit aber geradezu nach einer orchestralen Aufbereitung mit elektronischen Einschlägen, die mit entsprechenden Soundboards machbar wären. Für das richtige musikalische Gefühl sollte man sicher daher lieber bei den üblichen Verdächtigen bedienen. Wem ein bisschen Synthie-Gedümpel mit etwas Science-Fiction Anlehnungen reicht, kann zugreifen, wobei Preis/Leistung hier absolut nicht stimmen.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Wrath & Glory: Soundtrack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Doctor Who: Aliens and Creatures
by anthony p. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/25/2019 12:22:55

lavishly illustrated and well researched you could honestly use this book just as a research tool not just a RPG book. Plenty of data that can be used to generate adventure and encounter hooks. Easy to use with a great layout. Cannot recommend this enough



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Doctor Who: Aliens and Creatures
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Adventures in Middle-earth - Erebor Adventures
by Marcus M. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/20/2019 07:00:03

Erebor Adventures is the new adventure book from Cubicle7, adapting the One Ring's Laughter of Dragons to their D&D 5e adaptation, Adventures in Middle Earth.

I previously reviewed Laughter of Dragons, a collection of adventures that cover the region around Erebor, the Lonely Mountain. Since you can read the previous review that covers the adventures themselves, I'm going to dive more closely into the meat and PO-TAY-TOES of the book. I do highly encourage you to read that review, as the adventures are the same, and they're really fantastic. I'm not going to individually go through the small minute differences in Erebor Adventures and Laughter of Dragons, but there are some, due to the system differences.

The One Ring and D&D have different advancement systems, and Erebor Adventures has a nice system, where throughout the book, you'll see small green and red highlights. These represent group (green) and individual (red) rewards. This is really useful, as it helps Loremasters quickly identify where they should give out experience.

I really love seeing the Nazgûl in D20 form. Now, I'm sure if I went through more of the Middle-Earth Adventures I would have seen them before, but I hadn't. Here, they are presented in two forms, as they are in Laughter of Dragons. They appear as Dark Undead, and as Unclad and Invisible. If you think about it in terms of the films, Dark Undead is them as the Black Riders, while the Unclad and Invisible is more as they are in Dol Guldur in The Hobbit. The Unclad are CR 8 and completely invisible, making them difficult to see, and their abilities aren't physical, just inflicting terror. The Dark Undead have a wider variety of abilities, including the Dwimmerlaik, a reaction that allows the Nazgûl to shatter a hero's weapon and turn the damage back on them. Honestly, by renaming these guys, you could easily use the statblocks to strike fear into your non-Middle Earth D&D adventures as well.

The appendices are useful to anyone playing Middle Earth Adventures, regardless of if they run these adventures. The Loremaster Characters appendix covers every NPC you'll encounter, telling you what pages they appear. This means you can more easily weave in the characters into other adventures by finding them quicker. The Places & Things appendix is useful in that you can easily drop in small encounters if you find yourself in the region, or if you need a description of a location.

The book overall looks absolutely beautiful. It matches the style of The One Ring, which I absolutely love. Though I own many of the books for the other system, and a lot of the information is the same, I'm VERY tempted to pick all the books up Middle Earth Adventures form too. This book is highly recommended. I'll be reviewing the core rulebook for Middle Earth Adventures soon, so that I can get into the mechanics of the game to see how it plays differently than vanilla 5e. Cubicle7 provided a copy of Erebor Adventures to Dice Monkey for review.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventures in Middle-earth - Erebor Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Buildings of the Reikland
by Karsten D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/03/2019 10:51:17

As others have said already, nice if this is your first foray into that kind of material, but for something that comes from cubicle7 directly, I would have expected a bit more - especially since several of the buildings are just rehashed models from older material.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Buildings of the Reikland
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Rulebook
by David T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/31/2019 13:14:51

I did a video review of this title:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-hRsjaatnU0&t=25s



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Buildings of the Reikland
by Robert F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/24/2019 15:42:59

I am a WFRP GM & player since 1ed. (I love the changes) and like to have maps of locations with ready-made basic details that I can elaborate on and drop into my game as needed. A recurring tavern in my cities is the "Slaughtered Lamb" - it's a chain!

A random tavern/inn name generator (anyone remember Liber Fanatica III?) and menu items table (Poor/Avg/Fine) would be nice but that stuff is out on the interwebs too.

Pros: Details, Room/space call-outs, Plot hooks, NPC's with some personal details.

Cons: Map sizes. I would have liked the floorplans larger and on single pages with consistant scales and without call-outs also.

Great resource to have, price is even better (Xmas in July). I would have given it 5 stars if the larger maps were included.

Its a grim and perilous world, party on!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Buildings of the Reikland
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

The One Ring™ Roleplaying Game
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/03/2019 06:07:28

Pretty great, wish this game was a bit more popular.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The One Ring™ Roleplaying Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Starter Set
by Robin J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2019 13:25:51

Welcome to WFRP 4th! Welcome to Ubersreik!

I find this prodct very useful! First off, it has an introductory adventure spanning 4 “chapters”, pre-generated characters, quick rules, handouts with conditions and other useful things and everything you need in order to play (If you buy the physical product you get dice as well), just to play it as it is will give you approx. 20-30 hours of fun.

In addition it has many adventure seeds after the introductory adventure is completed, some including the pre-gens, some not, which helps you to continue playing on your own adventure if you wish to. If all of this wasn`t enough, I will almost say the best is still left, "The Guide to Ubersreik". This setting book is 64 pages and contains all you need to know about Ubersreik, it also has about 2 adventure seeds for every location it discusses. If your group is interested in staying in Ubersreik, you could easily write a campaign with the information and seeds given here. The physical box has a nice “dm screen” inside the lid as a bonus!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Starter Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Rulebook
by Jay S. A. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/20/2019 02:05:35

The return of Warhammer Fantasy Roleplaying Game to the hobby is something that I welcomed with a cheer, and I’m glad that Cubicle 7 did a fantastic job at bringing back the game. Not only did they restore the black comedy gold of the setting, but also introduced some mechanical streamlining that made it work better overall.

Sure there are some old mainstays, such as the incredible number of tables, but that’s part of the experience. Warhammer Fantasy always played well with people who enjoyed all sorts of risk-taking, and both good and bad things happen to player characters all the time.

Art and Layout

The art of the book is nothing less than stunning, and the layout is clean and readable without losing the feel of the game. Cubicle 7 has always excelled in this aspect, and they continue their winning streak here.

Language and Mechanics

The rules are on the middle to high range of mechanical difficulty, and will require a test game or two to really get into, but every rule here has a place. There are no odd mechanics that don’t reinforce the feel of the setting, and that’s something that I find very admirable.

Extra credit for having a book that knows how to best use language to push for the feel of a setting, then shifting to provide clarity in mechanics.

Conclusion

If you’re a fan of fantasy RPGs, you owe it to yourself to have this in your collection. The world and mechanics of Warhammer Fantasy RPG has a unique fingerprint in terms of both rules, setting and even feel that makes it stand out in the most crowded of fantasy worlds.

There’s a reason it’s lasted this long, and in the hands of Cubicle 7, this might be the best edition yet.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay Fourth Edition Rulebook
by Lukas O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2019 16:46:43

I was really hyped.

Now, that me and my friends finished our first 4e campaign, I must say: I think this project was rushed. Some rules are just vague or not included at all which leads to annoying but necessary discussions while playing which is unfortunate. Also the golden rule "change or ignore elements if you don't like it" is... Well you can't do it in terms of combat. Combat is some kind of gear mechanism and if you remove one thing (ADVANTAGE), the whole system is unplayable. In the end, we spent hours to homebrew a combat system we could enjoy (a bit) but this new "critical wounds" and insanely high critical hit rate with criticals even when defending and stuff is just overkill. While combat takes an eternity, you still have limited options what you can do during combat. Our experience was: you either Attack (opponent tries to dodge or parry) or you go defensive stance. That's about it. Sometimes you are able to do a charge attack and in really rare cases you can activate frenzy or something but... Yeah.

Tldr: This new combat approach feels very complicated. While it sounds great on paper, it feels like a burden while playing.

The overall quality is really good though. The art is nice but a little bit too repetetive. Even though this review sounds really negative so far, there are still many elements that I love about the 4th edition. Those are:

  • Dark deals (A really interesting and sometimes game changing mechanic)
  • the career system (it is easy to create homebrews and add missing stuff)
  • magic and everything that comes with magic (the lore specific effects are a great idea and work really well. There is a Lack of chaos magic though which is unfortunate)
  • height and it's effect on combat

Conclusion:

If you are a hardcore fan of the 2nd edition, you might hate this system. While all of the mechanics SOUND great, they didn't really convice me in the end. Me and my group played this version for about 6 months, had a blast but we can't wait to go back to our favorite edition of WFRP. All the best to Cubicle 7. Love you guys and I really want to love the 4th edition but I can't :(



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 669 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates