DriveThruFiction.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Delta Green: Impossible Landscapes
by Tobias W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/27/2021 17:06:34

This is the best thing ever published. Seriously. Read it, be amazed and go mad. You won't regret it. If this work of art does not win every ENnie I don't know what to believe in anymore.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Impossible Landscapes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Delta Green: Impossible Landscapes
by Charley A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/27/2021 09:37:26

Like all things Delta Green, be careful what you wish for, because The King In Yellow is back in a big way. Impossible Landscapes is as much a self contained campaign book as it is at times an introduction of the Hastur Mythos and how to use it within Delta Green as a whole and is a fantastic resource for anyone looking to expand their sessions beyond more "traditional" Cthulu Mythos encounters and concepts. The book itself is full of unsettling but still fantastic artwork and the writing style continues the always entertaining and immersive Delta Green writing style of being instructional while partially written in-cannon of the series. May all our trips to Lake Hali be as wonderful as this book is.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: The Last Equation
by charles U. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/07/2020 01:41:53

Remember in school, when you knew you had math class the following period? Remember that sinking feeling in your gut that you'd get? "Aw crap, I knew I shoulda studied the pythagorean theorum just a bit more, practiced more advanced algebra... What if there's a pop quiz?!" Get ready to relive that feeling with The Last Equation, a Delta Green RPG scenario of modern Mythos horror. Step into the shoes of a Delta Green agent: a deniable asset in the war against the apocalypse. The Last Equation sees you investigating a horrific crime scene. An entire family gunned down by a college kid. And a number spray painted on the road. What could this all mean? In my opinion, The Last Equation is one of the better DG scenarios you could buy. It's pretty easy to run, but it still leaves a lot of room for groups to be very creative - or get into trouble! - at the table. And the mystery itself is pretty unsettling. If you're looking for a solid scenario to get your Working Group up and running, or if you need a reason to call some agents in from the cold, you can't go wrong with purchasing The Last Equation.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: The Last Equation
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Delta Green: A Victim of the Art
by Aaro S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/01/2020 11:46:30

Contains some spoilers!

--

In general, it is a solid and engaging introductory adventure, but requires still some preparations before the game.

There are a couple of little things that preclude me giving a perfect 5/5 rating:

Most annoying one: While the scenario comes with nice maps and all, the Glenridge city map can not be handed out to players until after they have found all the clues in it.

Secondly, there are not many NPCs for players to interview. There is one primary clue pointing out to the perpretrator, but I'd like to have alternative ones and one can imagine how to provide them (victims' families, friends, etc could provide them). Again, this is something any GM can come up with by themselves, but it would be nice to have some more flesh.

Also, as a matter of personal taste, I myself do not think it fits that the "cosmic terror" aspect that humans would be being able to control and command Mythos creatures (feels to DnD-like to me), but that can be again easily changed: I personally adjusted the scenario so that despite what some people think (They are deluded), cosmic terrors do not care for orders and commands, they listen to suggestions.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: A Victim of the Art
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Delta Green: Handler's Guide
by Aaro S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/30/2020 16:31:54

In general, a very high quality Handler/GM guide to complement the Agents' Handbook. Documentation for most parts is well organized and easy to read. Especially I liked the insight how to twist classic and more modern Mythos creatures into something players won't expect. Illustrations, like in Agents' Handbook, are quite top-notch and set the mood.

My minor reservation is that the history timeline gets bogged down close to modern times (and main bulk of published scenarios it AFAIK refers), becoming dense and difficult to interpret unless you are familiar with the aforementioned scenarios. However, it is not bad, one can still skim it to get ideas and inspirations.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Handler's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Delta Green: Need to Know
by Jay G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/05/2020 21:49:44

I had seen a video review of Delta Green Last Things Last on youtube and decided to download Need To Know and run it for a group of my friends. I was so impressed by what I was reading that I'd only gotten a dozen pages in when I called my FLGS and ordered the physical book (with screen!). So obviously I really like it and think anyone interested in a modern cthulhu/horror game should get this immediately.

Delta Green is at it's core a mash-up of Call Of Cthulhu and The X-Files. Mechanically the game is similar to Call Of Cthulhu's basic role playing system, and is extremely easy to pick up and learn. For anyone looking for a modern take on horror that is easy to learn and play Delta Green is it.

The scenario contained in Need To Know, Last Things Last is a great introduction to the system's rules and showcases the difference between tradtional combat-based RPGs and Delta Green. The option for combat is there, but the focus is on investigation, and the scenario can be completed without any combat at all.

Delta Green Need To Know would have easily been a bargain as an e-pub for $10, for free if you're even faintly curious there's no reason not to download.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Need to Know
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Delta Green: Music From a Darkened Room
by Matt J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/29/2020 04:57:59

I'm coming to the end of running this operation with my local group and its the most fun I've had running a game in a long time. The central conceit starts out as seeming like a fairly typical horror trope to the agents but the depth of background helps you as Handler build a rich operation around the sleepy area of Meadowbrook.

Like all DG operations, you'll need to do a good bit of preparation to add your own flavour to make the setting rich and 'real' but your players will have a harrowing riot playing this operation and their Agents, should they survive, will certainly remember their time in Meadowbrook.

I would say that this operation is going to a be a little more challenging to run as your first operation, but once you've run Last Thing's Last or something similarly well contained, definitely make Music from a Darkened Room your next stop.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Music From a Darkened Room
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Delta Green: Agent's Handbook
by Thomas V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2020 00:29:21

This is probably my favorite RPG of many tried but absolutely one of the best games ever made. I have GMed several scenarios for two groups and more one-shots, so I have spent a lot of time with it. The new version has improved the rules so that they become very fluid. The addition of bonds and willpower creates a frame for the players to roleplay their characters in a way many other horror RPGs does not (usually boils down to blind survival, throwing the RP element out the window). The lore is close to Call of Cthulhu but the angle of "the people are the real threat" is far superior, as it no longer feels as a tacked on thing onto our world. Lastly, all released books are to a very high standard, especially this one and the Handler. There is so much info on everything you need to run. I cannot recommend this game enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Agent's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Delta Green: Hourglass
by Alexander T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/27/2020 11:09:12

So I'm relatively new GM but my players thoroughly enjoyed this scenario, it's a good modern day scenario that they had to put some effort into investigating but they never felt lost as to what to do at any point. Lots of good details and lots of good horror, with the exception of a kinda messy endgame (Which I enjoyed but other GMs might not enjoy running) I highly reccomend this one, it's worth the five dollars and me and my players had a few hours of spooky goodness.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Hourglass
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Delta Green Quarantine Bundle [BUNDLE]
by Chris D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/15/2020 12:48:02

An excellent deal that remains one of the best deals for gaming during the quarantine.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green Quarantine Bundle [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Delta Green: Briefing Documents
by Chris D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/15/2020 11:41:34

Decent to use as a handout for a first DG game with players. Print these out to keep the rules in mind.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Briefing Documents
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Delta Green: Agent's Handbook
by Augusto O. K. K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/30/2020 16:40:10

Delta Green: Agent's Handbook is the "Players Guide" for the standalone version of Delta Green, and must have if you want to set a Delta Green game. This book contains the rules for the game, the complete character creation, a chapter with profession options from various American government agencies (extremely well-researched by the way), and "Tradecraft", more or less a guide for how to players act like spies.

The standalone Delta Green is a fantastic system, the themes and setting of the game work very well. I'd say it can be darker then standard Call of Cthulhu, it spices up that formula with paranoia, the dissolution of daily life, the apocalyptic dangers that are ever more present and just the general dickness of mankind. It's the great irony of DG: You might have big guns, but that isn't enough to defeat them, it will never be. As a side note, I like how the Agent's Handbook doesn't contain actual Delta Green lore, this serves well for two purposes: That the players not knowing the actual threats and history of the organization can make the general sense of paranoia and mystery better ("who are those guys", "who we really work for", etc) and fixes the problem from the old DG books where players and Keeper stuff were in the same book (after the keeper-only chapter), so no more "oops, accidentally read the whole chapter on the bad guys"), the other is that the amazing rules (covered below) can be used for more than playing as creepy Man in Black agents.

On rules: It's Call of Cthulhu, but better. The DC is the skills in your sheet: roll below them, they have been reorganized for the more modern setting. Combat is made more tactical, fast-paced and chaotic, almost as an actual firefight in real life, initiative is now whoever has more dexterity goes first, and the new "lethality" rule makes stuff faster and deadlier:. If you roll the "lethality" in that range, the weapon just kills the target instantly. The new Sanity system is a bit inspired in Unknown Armies: You roll if you character experiences "violence", "helplessness" and "the unnatural", and you can "adapt" for the first two by rolling bad three times (but never the unnatural). You can gain mental ilnesses (PTSD, Alchoolism, etc) from those encounters. The real meat is the new "bond" system, your character has a few bonds which are family, friends, coworkers, and each one has a score, you can make SAN loss less worse in exchange for your relationship with the bonds, so your PCs relationship with friends, family and will get worse and worse as you become more alienated and your life desintegrates. There's also new requisition rules, for getting stuff, more more simplified in relation to CoC.

If you want to play a horror game, this game is for you. If you are a seasoned (hell, or new) CoC player, this game is for you. Absolute recommend for anyone trying a new and spooky game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Agent's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Delta Green: The Labyrinth
by Jonathan A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/11/2020 21:46:37

First thing's first: this is a top quality supplement for Delta Green: The Roleplaying Game. The production quality, the artwork, the concepts, and execution are all top notch and give you well fleshed out factions, characters, and locales to include in your Delta Green campaign. In regards to another review accusing the supplement of bias against "right wing" ideaologies, I did not find that at all. One character included is based on conspiracy theorists regarding the Atlanta Child Murders, which isn't exactly a republican talking point, one unsympathetic character is affilated with Antifa, and another faction is based on "hippie" energy healing people. The user referring to the author as Dennis Detwiller should indicate one of the problems with his review as John Scott Tynes wrote this supplement. Anways, I think the included factions are excellent and nail the modern zeitgeist, from isolated internet users going on a downwards spiral towards violence to foreign intelligence assets, all masterfully tailored to fit into the lovecraftian mythos and the world of Delta Green.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: The Labyrinth
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Delta Green: Ex Oblivione
by Tero L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2020 02:45:20

Well it is deadly for sure. That investigation part of the adventure is quite well done with nice creepy build up. The action part is maybe the deadliest so far in DG adventures. A great adventure but donät expect any of the characters to survive.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Ex Oblivione
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Delta Green: The Labyrinth
by Robert A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2020 11:55:27

While I am hesitant to criticize Mr. Detwiler's latest work, as I'm a big fan of his writing and Delta Green and the modern Cthulhu Mythos (cosmic horror is very frightening to me, on a personal level, which makes it a fun topic for horror), and I've very much enjoyed the DG line up until this point, I have one big problem with this product: it focused a little too much on "right-wing" conspiracies and stereotypes for me. After reading the scenarios, I felt like only my political viewpoint was being mined for "cosmic evil" ideas, while the other mainstream platform was "left" unscathed. Even if the author is opinionated on such topics (and he has every right to be), he should consider in future works that probably half of his fans might get annoyed by this.

My advice to the author is that, going forward, he should tap into both right-wing and left-wing conspiracies, basically in an effort to undercut both sides, which would show the meaninglessness of it all: an obvious theme in Lovecraft's original work. By focusing only on one side, the author is implying that the other side is not horrific. But this doesn't really jive with the Cthulhu Mythos at all, given its nature that Great Cthulhu and the Outer Gods could care less about our little political viewpoints. I felt that the old DG sourcebook seemed far more neutral on these matters...it just used anything and everything, regardless of source or viewpoint, and attacked it all (like South Park, lol).

Anyways, I'm not mad or bent out of shape about this. And I'll still buy more of the products. (They're really very good! The art is great, the writing superb, and the ideas are just mind-blowingly evil...fun for all ages, lol!) Just wanted to give the author a chance to hear a fan out about something he might not have personally considered.

I give it a 4 for production value and writing and content, but take 1 star off because of the obvious political slant.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: The Labyrinth
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Displaying 46 to 60 (of 262 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates