DriveThruFiction.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Subtle Cypher Deck
by Jeremy G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/24/2020 17:36:44

I was very much looking foward to this deck. I'm going to use it, however I feel a little disappointed in a few different ways.

First, while I've not looked through the enitre deck and 100 doesn't divide evenly by 3 perfectly, it seems like there are three copies of nearly all of the cyphers in this deck. Perhaps if I had read the description better I'd have noticed? In any case, there's a lot of duplicates aside from the numbers on the bottom.

I believe it was a great idea adding d6 and d100 rolls on the bottom of these cards, but I feel they missed a real oppertunity in not putting d20 rolls on the cards. While the GM doesn't roll in Cypher and I love that about the system, having d20 rolls on the cards could have been great for times when there's a group of people who want to play but forgot their dice. Or when rolling dice is less practical than drawing or cutting cards.

If this deck had d20 rolls on it, for example, I could pack the deck of cards and take it camping, and while on the car ride there (as long as I'm not the one driving) I could have used this deck, alone, to draw random d20 rolls for the players in the car. Or, at a picnick table the players could cut for a d20 roll. With 5 sets fo d20 rolls in a d100 deck, given time I could divide the deck up into 5 decks and let the players shuffle and draw themselves.

Giving us d6 and d100 rolls was smart. Leaving out d20 rolls I feel was a major missed oppertunity.

Sure, sure, its rare people will be without dice, but then why bother putting d6 and d100 rolls on the cards at all with that attitude?

I may buy other Cypher decks, and look forward to using this one. But, I find myself less excited about this than I had anticipated I would be, now that I have it.

Hopefully the edit and add in d20 rolls for future purchasers. (I would go as far as d4, d8, and maybe/maybe on d10... because they're not used in Cypher and this is indeed Cypher specific. But d20 is the core die to Cypher, so it does seem a miss opperunity.)

=-=-=-=-=

If it was only the d20 misisng thing, I'd probably gave this 4 stars. However, between the d20 missing when the idea crossed their mind to add dice, and the fact that there's so many repeats of the same cards aside from the numbers on the bottom making it seem the main reason for 100 cards is the d100 roll... I feel its a 3 star product. Though, I hope to have a lot of fun using it and perhaps my feelings will improve over time.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Subtle Cypher Deck
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Gobs of Gobs: A Book of Adventure and Friendship
by Chris W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/15/2020 17:34:17

Really flavorful and cute - the doodle art style and Goofy tone made this fun to read, and I can't wait to try it out with my group



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gobs of Gobs: A Book of Adventure and Friendship
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Cypher Shorts
by Sling S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/10/2020 09:41:46

Incredibily fast idea, to character, to table, to play! Another reason I enjoy playing Cypher System, especially when my table and I are on limited time and just want to have some fun. I really hope MCG expands Cypher Shorts and offers more pre-wrriten content in various generes using this remarkable concept.

Add Cypher Shorts to Cypher System Rules Primer (drivethrurpg.com/product/231653/Cypher-System-Rules-Primer) for a free, quick, and portable version of Cypher System on it's own.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cypher Shorts
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Consent in Gaming
by Aaron B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/02/2020 13:04:07

The controverial nature of the content is presented in a format that seems presumptious and arrogant. The content is good advice for conversations that should be held in home games. I can see some application for this at conventions, however, that is how descriptions of tables should be used for individuals to decide whether the material is suitable for them or not. When media becomes policed we get dangerously close to infringement of 1st Amendment rights.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Consent in Gaming
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

In Strange Aeons: Lovecraftian Numenera
by Aaron B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/02/2020 13:00:10

Unfortunately the source material provided in this supplement fills an underwhelming number of pages. Light on content for a core system that is ripe for fleshing out.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
In Strange Aeons: Lovecraftian Numenera
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Gobs of Gobs: A Book of Adventure and Friendship
by Alberto M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/24/2020 01:14:19

Amazing Cypher System supplement! Fun rules for creating your Gobs' "Turfs"(their home), really great custom descriptors and foci(Can't wait to see "Knows a Curse Word" in game!), as well as Gob equipment, cyphers, and artifacts!

If you're looking to add some fun whimsy to your Cypher, this ia a must have!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gobs of Gobs: A Book of Adventure and Friendship
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Enchiridion of the Path
by Nolan O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/10/2020 01:12:48

Something to make clear first: it's better to think of the item as a collection of props rather there than how you would normally think of an RPG supplement book. It will certainly expand your game, giving you new locations, indivuduals, and other content like you'd normally find. However, the book is far less "content dense" than you would normally find in such a supplement book. But that's not what this book is about. It's goal is is to expand on the unique experience playing Invisibil Sun is. For that, it succeeds.

Each is formatted like a two-four page essay, treatise, and the like written in world. Each one is something that provides your players (and GMs) a bit more infomation about the Actuality written from an in-game perspective. The books shines when your players are wanting to step out from the streets of Satyrine and go out into the wider world(s) under the Sun(s). As they research what's out there, what they may encounter, or difficulties they may face you can simply hand them one of the beautifuly crafted handouts to them as an example of something they turned up in their research. Each handout is unique, using a multitude of different ways to convey the information and tell the story contained in each document.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Enchiridion of the Path
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Dreadfully Simple Cypher System Character Sheet
by zero p. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/30/2020 14:40:58

I was looking for printer friendly, easy to read sheets, in a world where everyone wants to have beautiful filigree and colors on their sheets.

They work well. Thanks for sharing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dreadfully Simple Cypher System Character Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Consent in Gaming
by Robert L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/25/2020 14:50:22

If you require a book to talk about things that bother you, then you shouldn't be playing a tabletop with adult themes in it. If you are playing in a game where people are discussing topics that make you uncomfortable and you can't talk to the GM about it, then find another group.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Consent in Gaming
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Technology Compendium: Sir Arthour’s Guide to the Numenera
by Luciano F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2020 05:47:48

The Technology Compendium is one of my favourite supplements in Numenera.

This book starts with a chapter of how to use technology in your Numenera game. This is chapter is very useful if you, like me put a more technological spin to you game. The chapters breaks down Numenera into technology types helping you present the Numeneary in a way that makes more sense (more sense to you 20 century GM, not from ninth world perspective). At the same time this Chapter gives you a sense of the types of technologies the past 8 civilizations were delving on. Additional, you will find a new descriptor for artificial intelligence, which is a very nice bonus.

The following chapters cover cyphers, artifacts and oddities. A treasure trove of new resources to add to your game.

This supplement end with an super useful chapter where it breaks numenera (from all sources) into categories. It is great for when you want to find a cypher or artefact related to the datasphere or related to genetics for example.

All together I really appreciated the new insights this book gave me about Numenera as a source of technology and my players love all the great new chypers and artifactes that they got access too.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Technology Compendium: Sir Arthour’s Guide to the Numenera
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Teratology
by Terry R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/07/2020 12:18:37

Teratology may be the single greatest monster manual I've seen for a game. Every entry is dripping with imagination and possiblity and regularly inverts the "well, it's a bigger enemy, I guess we'll need bigger swords" trope. Many of the creature entries are designed not as enemies but as NPCs. Characters and creations with their own agendas that maybe comes to blows but doesn't need to. The three adjectives method of filling out a personality is remarkably effective. Combined with good entities are also interesting place descriptions, which is a step I don't always see in a monster manual.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Teratology
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Artifacts & Oddities Collection 1
by Luciano F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/17/2019 09:17:36

Same as with the Cypher collection, this supplement gives you more Artifacts and additional oddities to expand your core collection. I love Artifacts and my players love them even more, so it is great to have more options to choose from. Unfortunately you only get a few pages of artifacts, but every bit counts when you are hungry for more.

This supplement brings a few interesting options to your game and it is great to have more oddities to choose from.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Artifacts & Oddities Collection 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Cypher Collection 1
by Luciano F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/17/2019 09:09:03

This supplement bring a bunch of new cyphers to your table. Cyphers are one of those things that me and my group cannot have enough of. It is true that you can do well with just the core cyphers, but eventually you are going to find yourself using the same one. It is extra fun if you have more to choose from to make your game more interesting in which case this product does exactly that.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cypher Collection 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

The Nightmare Switch
by Luciano F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/17/2019 09:03:30

Simple but nice introductory numenera mini adventure. I think is great for injecting a "side quest" to your campaing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Nightmare Switch
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Invisible Sun
by Aisling S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/17/2019 01:23:09

Invisible Sun, by Monte Cook games is an imaculate game of collaborative storytelling. The rules are light and flexible but stable, consistent and well defined. The system is there when you need it, but gets out of the way when you need to step out of them.

Chsracters are interesting, rich, and unique. The PDF is a great first step, abd the files are all searchable. The art is inspiring, the text is well wriiten and imaginative, even the layout is perfectly executed.

My favorite bit is The Sooth Deck. It adds an almost supernatural element to the game, and provides fun snd interesting twists to interject into the game.

For my part, this is my perfect game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Invisible Sun
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 402 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates