DriveThruFiction.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Flying Circus - Core Rulebook
by CHRISTIAN M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/10/2021 13:59:58

Flying Circus is a game that combines in depth aerial combat in a fantastic world, brought to life with beautiful artwork. It's a world of adventure, where the great industrial cities are now poisoned and ruined, leaving a world of small towns and villages linked together by daring pilots.

Flying Circus captures the daring and transgressive nature of aviation pioneers. Whether you want to deliver mail while dodging giant eagles and dragons, or battle against aces high above fae haunted forests, Flying Circus can do it all.

Plus you can be a fish person.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Flying Circus - Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Flying Circus - Core Rulebook
by Jeffrey S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/08/2021 09:32:53

a wonderful setting, that I find does characher led stories easily and is fun and original and easy to tune to your groups taste. Erika has made a crunchy PbtA game, and I can not praise it highly enough



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Flying Circus - Core Rulebook
by Charles F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/07/2021 20:51:18

This is such an awesome game; loads of fun and lots of potential to play with fun ideas. I've had a blast with it already; looking forward to pick up a hardback for myself, and a couple others for the local library.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Flying Circus - Core Rulebook
by Brian J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/01/2021 00:12:38

Flying Circus is a breath of fresh air in RPGs. Not just to mention the excellent air combat system, which gives a good sense of tension and feels nice to run, gives good vibes of turning and burning. But the well-thought out pacing and session loop, and especially top marks for a creative and compelling world to back drop the Party's adventures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Flying Circus Plane Pack #1 - Flights of Fancy
by Roy B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/29/2021 16:16:32

As a huge Battletech nerd, I love mini expansions of new toys to play with. Not only are the new planes cool and unique, but you buy it so we can hopefuly let the autor know that we want more like this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Flying Circus Plane Pack #1 - Flights of Fancy
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Flying Circus - Core Rulebook
by Roy B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/28/2021 18:36:35

The setting is the first thing that drew me in. A light fantasy post apocalypse world where you fly biplanes! Count me in!

At first, the gameplay may seem a little crunchy and overwhelming but once you get to playing, it has an amazing flow.

Overall, I totally recommend this great game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Flying Circus - Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Flying Circus - Core Rulebook
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/28/2021 16:38:33

Flying Circus is a heavily customized Powered by the Apocalypse game about being a dashing flying ace and also being a queer as hell kid in a fantastic interwar Europe inspired by the soft apocalypse aesthetic of Studio Ghibli films. It's clearly a labor of love, with design, writing, and art almost entirely done by Erika Chappell (other artists did a handful of the pictures), and is physically a gorgeous book. I backed it on Kickstarter ages ago, and I'm quite happy with the final product. The game is fantastical, creative, and hits its themes square on. So how about we take our shirts off and play some volleyball, Iceman?

There's a lot to love about this game. The art is great, the writing has a wonderful level of snark. One of my favorites is an aside that pilots, like babies, lack object permanence, so feel free to have threats disappear and reappear as needed. The setting is eminently playable, a hostile wilderness surrounding isolated towns in the wreckage of a Great War which smashed all the nations of the world with poison gas and autonomous superweapons. Magic is real, and fae ask for cruel bargains while dragons patrol the skies. The old is dead and discredited, and the young are picking up the pieces. Flying Circuses are mercenary bands who shoot trouble and carry out jobs of relative morality. The arc of the game is divided between flying missions and on the ground drama, blowing off stress with wild parties and brawls until they burn through the good will of the locals and have to move on.

That said, this is also a solo project, and there is a little turbulence. To have an aside for a moment, my typology of RPG player motivations breaks down to Explorers, Masters, and Dramatists. Explorers want to experience a cool story, with plot twists, interesting characters, and fantastic vistas. Masters want to choose cleverly, picking the right options and tactics to crush their enemies and earn victory. And Dramatists want to experience emotional states which are risky or inaccessible in mundane life. Any pbtA game is heavy on Explore and Drama, and Flying Circus has enough new mechanics to make it at least medium on Mastery.

The twin beating hearts of the game are clearly Dogfight and Indulging in Vice. There is a whole detailed subsystem of altitude, speed, ordinance, maneuverability, and damage, but it mostly boils down to Dogfight and some ancillary moves around Dogfight. Tactical aerial combat is very hard to do well, and admittedly it might play better than it reads. I don't expect the game to break out a full X-Wing tactical dogfight subsystem, and while it seems like both maneuverability fighters and energy fighters are possible in the system, I was hoping for a little bit more depth along the lines of John Boyd's Aerial Attack Study . As with all narrative games, it comes down to the creativity and skill of the GM, which can be hard if combat is supposed to be a regular thing. The best escape from this trap are missions with a focus other than downing the other side.

Indulge Vice is one of those ideas which I have mixed feelings about. It's a core part of Blades in the Dark, where it's a d6 used to replenish a Stress track. Go over, and you overindulge with a consequence. In play with BitD, I tend to abstract out downtime more than I should, so Vice doesn't get centered properly. In Flying Circus, you get up to 5 chances to Indulge Vice, and each chance gives a flat 1d20 roll, where results above 10 remove stress, and 3 or more results below 10 results in a consequence. Removing stress gives you XP, which can be spent on advances. Since there's more involved mechanics on Vice, it's harder to skip (good), but it's also less reliable than BitD's Stress, and it's tied to advancement (bad). And from a historical note, the life expectancy of World War I pilots was measured in days. Your PCs are much more durable, in fact they won't die without explicit permission. While one of the ptbA Agendas here is to show that glory and tragedy are two sides of the same coin, mechanical support for that theme is on the lighter side.

One of the strengths of ptbA is the system's laser focus on the Conversation At The Table (caps intended). The 2d6+k system, and the outcomes for each move, structure how the game works and gets the system out of the way. Flying Circus uses 2d10+k, and there are a lot more Hold X Forwards and special cases than is typical in the genre. The system is definitely more; I'm not sure that it's better.

I had a ton of fun reading Flying Circus, and I'm definitely more likely to play it than Night Witches. If you're willing to buy into the premise, it's looks like a solid game. But there are spots where I look a little askance. And I recognize it's not entirely fair criticism, I Have Opinions About Game Mechanics and air power. My favorite pilots are the jet-propelled renegades of The Right Stuff and When Thunder Rolled, not the barnstormers of WW1. I wish I could say Flying Circus is perfect, but very good will have to suffice.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Flying Circus - Horrors of the Heights
by Charles F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/06/2020 11:03:54

It's a solid little addition to an already excellent system; including not just some great new crunch and some fun planes, but several excellent story hooks and plot ideas. Also, rules for skiing, and as someone who loved skiing in my youth I'll always mark out a bit for that being added to a system.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Flying Circus - Horrors of the Heights
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Flying Circus - Horrors of the Heights
by Simon R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2020 13:39:56

If you have the Core Book for Flying Circus, Horrors of the Heights puts a maganifying glass a rule set that more or less hand waved till it becomes Plot Releveant: The Effects of Alitude on People and Flying Machines. On top of a focus and expanstion on atltiude based play, this also includes new and exepanded threats and rewards that hint to terrible new dangers and glorious forgotten tresure hidden in the the dizzying of heights of over 30,000 Ft. In grand Flying Circus fashion, this book is part Pulpy action adventure, part detailed simulationists rule sets but all friggin awesome!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Flying Circus - Horrors of the Heights
by Iv R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/03/2020 00:18:20

This was a very good read. It doesn't has many new rules, tho the ones it has are very very significant. It mostly adds a ton of new ideas and lore to the world of Himmilgard. In this world where the sky and flying are so important it makes sense that the sky holds many unknowns and that are the source of myth and legend for the people that live here.

I'm particularly fond of Leaviathans and Flying Fortresses and their Fortress Guardians. I want to play a guardian!! Truly a great adition to the Flying Circus game



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Flying Circus - Horrors of the Heights
by Rick M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2020 21:40:42

As an expansion, this doesn't have the sheer page count that the core book does, but it's really efficient. With three pages for altitude, temperature and extreme conditions, it builds a new environment to fly in that can be challenging to brave on its own, four pages for mountain terrain build a new type of land to fear and respect in equal measure and add a bit to regular ground combat, and so on. It punches above its weight, fitting tantalizing snippets of lore in new enemies and a whole variety of new challenges and adventures to take part in.

One thing I would appreciate is a few more planes that are well suited to the high altitudes, or worked out examples of existing planes modified. I'm fine living in the plane builder, but I know other players might prefer not to get into it or play with planes they know have gotten balancing attention.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Flying Circus - Core Rulebook
by Iv R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/01/2020 11:02:57

This game is big and crunchy and if you are into big and crunchy games it will be amazing and more than you expect. The author has constantly updated the text polishing specific details and rebalancing, which is amazing. And you get so much content. From the art to the many many pre made airplanes, or the online plane builder. It really is an amazing game



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Flying Circus - Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Flying Circus - Core Rulebook
by Whit C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/27/2020 17:05:14

This game is simply amazing! It pushes so many specific buttons of mine in the right way. Story-forward, imaginative, inclusive, with super detailed flight simulation rules. Who doesn't want to be a magical fishperson flying a biplane against dragons and sky pirates!?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tactical Waifu
by William A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2020 02:48:28

I think the title already tells everything. Awesome.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tactical Waifu
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

The Flesh is Weak
by Charlie R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/23/2020 12:45:49

“O Father, how might I reach salvation?”

“You cannot be saved until you have accepted the machine into thyself, and become one with it.”

“How can I do this?”

“It is not an easy path…”

“Tell me, that I might prepare myself.”

“Very well. It’s a 3-hour surgery with improvised painkillers.”

The Flesh Is Weak is a great little game with some really neat ideas and an enticingly flexible setting. It's perfect for fans of the Adeptus Mechanicus (from Warhammer 40,000) who are more interested in delving into the mysteries of the machine than dealing with all the cruft surrounding that setting. It's also a good pick for anyone who enjoys science fantasy adventure, offering the chance to explore (and create) a shattered world of mechanical mysticism dominated by a cruel empire built upon stolen technology.

The theming in this book is terrific, from the atmospheric in-setting fiction to the way mechanics are framed and executed; most games give each character a few strengths that they improve over time, like Dexterity or Marksmanship. The Flesh Is Weak does otherwise, for you are nothing but a crude engine of frail biomass, desperate to be improved by the strength and purity of the machine. Your traits in this game aren't strengths that you improve, they're weaknesses that you must excise, a fantastic tone-setting that tells you a lot about your church of toaster-fetishists right from the start.

I also loved the approach to generating Threats and creating conflicts out in the techno-wastes. It's organic, flexible, and easy to use, providing a huge number of potential hooks and angles of approach for any GM or player. The advancement system is simple but creates clear incentives and stories around your character, encouraging you to flesh out (so to speak) the augmentations they've dredged up from the ashes of the forgotten past. A strong recommendation from me.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Flesh is Weak
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 58 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates