DriveThruFiction.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Referee's Aid 1: Among the Trojans
by Jason P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/12/2021 12:42:21

This is a nice fairly-detailed community with its own economics and factions that can be dropped into just about any canon system with a gas giant. The plot hooks are not detailed, and there are no finished scenarios, but there are lots of ideas that any talented Referee could expand on.
The presentation is sparse, with minimal artwork. The value is really in the text. Some reviewers have said that a system map should have been included, but as it's designed to be dropped into an existing system any map would have had to have been modified anyway, so I don't miss it. This supplement does a great job of showing how solar systems in Traveller can be much more than just the mainworld. Even individual solar systems are big, with lots of room for anything the Referee wants to drop into them.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Referee's Aid 1: Among the Trojans
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Legend
by 38720 M. J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/11/2021 11:52:26

A solid take on one of the best game systems out there. The manouevres are a thing of beauty and fit well with my HEMA experience. Overall, it's an RPG that deserves much wider recognition.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Regina Map
by Yann P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/27/2021 07:29:05

(Review in English below) Une belle carte qui peut s'avérer utile pour des aventures sur ce monde. Je mets 4 étoiles et non 5 car le fond est noir ce qui consomme beaucoup d'encre pour une impression. J'espère qu'une version plus "printer friendly" verra le jour.

A beautiful map that can be useful for adventures in this world. I put 4 stars and not 5 because the background is black which consumes a lot of ink for printing. I hope that a more "printer friendly" version will be released.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Regina Map
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hi Yann I will have a new version with white background in the next week or so- will update the exisiting one so you won't have to pay for it again cheers
Kinorb World Book
by Yann P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/24/2021 03:57:03

(Review in English below) Sur la forme, ce très intéressant supplément contient les éléments suivants :

  • Une superbe couverture qui représente Kinorb vu de l'espace, ce qui permet de ce mettre très vite dans l'ambiance.
  • Une page de présentation rapide du monde.
  • Trois pages de cartes, encore une fois superbes, et de données techniques sur Kinorb et son système.
  • Cinq pages de description de la planète et de ses habitants.
  • Une aventure illustrée de dix pages comprenant les caractéristiques des PNJ.
  • Deux pages de synopsis d'aventures.
  • Une page blanche.
  • Une carte régionale sur deux pages.

Sur le fond, on a là un très bon supplément, rapidement exploitable. La lecture est agréable et donne envie de jouer. Vivement d'autres suppléments dans la même gamme Mister Wallace !

On the form, this very interesting supplement contains the following elements:

  • A superb cover which represents Kinorb seen from the space, which makes it possible to put it very quickly in the atmosphere.
  • A quick presentation page of the world.
  • Three pages of maps, again superb, and technical data about Kinorb and its system.
  • Five pages of description of the planet and its inhabitants.
  • A ten-page illustrated adventure including NPC features.
  • Two pages of adventure synopses.
  • One blank page.
  • A two-page regional map.

On the background, we have a very good supplement, quickly usable. The reading is pleasant and makes you want to play. Looking forward to other supplements in the same range Mister Wallace!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kinorb World Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thankyou! The plan is as follows in order of release - Heya adventure book is nearly finished, which involves a runaway high tech Imperial Ship, ancient intelligence, heart of darkness style jungle river expedition, an alien race (zurphani) plus hovercraft! Its a big one so its taken me a while. An Adventure on Yori involving interclan warfare with Imperial Corporations and the Zurphani A world map book for Regina Subsector An adventure book for Pixie- this is a while off put it ties in with the events on Heya An Expanded Yori book Hope you enjoy and I wish I could write in your native language, it would make life a little easier for you. Cheers
Rachando
by Jason P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2020 11:39:01

Rachando is a free trader who works his way into the royal court of the floating palace of Drinax. The floating palace is the last remaining bastian of the once-great Sindal Empire that ruled over most of the sector for thousands of years. Now all that remains are the descendents of the nobles who fled the surface of the planet before it was bombed into oblivion by the Empire's enemies two centuries earlier. Everyone living in the palace is the descendent of a noble of that Empire and has their own inherited titles for worlds dozens of light years away that they no longer have any real power over. They live surrounded by opulant art and relics of the Empire but have had to build catchbasins on the roof of the floating palace to provide drinking water. Rachando gains the favor of the king by offering raw materials and imported fruits and vegetables rather than the frivolous luxuries every other merchant has offered there. Once he has gotten on the king's good side he also offers to run an errand for him...

This is more backstory for one of the significant NPCs in The Pirates of Drinax campaign more than it is a stand-alone story. At the end of the story Rachando is basically where the travellers will meet him at the beginning of The Pirates of Drinax.

The story lays out some of Rachando's history, his motivations, and it describes the all-robot crew of his ship the Invisible Hand. It will be a useful read for a GM running The Pirates of Drinax as it helps flesh out one of the more significant NPCs and gives a taste of what life in the floating palace of Drinax is like. It gives away too much about Rachando for it to be recommended reading for players of the campaign until after they have played through it.

It is well-written and interesting, and Rachando is himself an interesting character, but it's mostly set-up for The Priates of Drinax. None of the major plot threads are resolved in the story itself.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Rachando
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

TAS 2D Deck Plan Templates
by David C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/10/2020 10:06:34

Unimaginitive and not the sort of style of deck plans I like to use.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
TAS 2D Deck Plan Templates
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Legend
by Jeremy C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/01/2020 11:20:06

If you get frustrated with the illogical game mechanics in other fantasy rpg's.. if you have a hard time wrapping your head around whether the players are fantasy heroes vs super heroes... then THIS game is for you! I LOVE the Legend game system. It is hands down one of my favorites. The game is filled with gritty, dark, realism. So good!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Wet Work
by Gregory H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/01/2020 10:05:50

This would be a 3-4 star short story for a generic sci-fi category. However, it does next to nothing to expand on the Traveller universe.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Wet Work
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

High Guard
by Troels P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/17/2020 03:48:41

There is not much useful in this book. There are mistakes in the numbers/calculations. I ended up not using it at all.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
High Guard
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Knights of Solaris
by Travis R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/15/2020 16:43:14

Obvious facsimile of the Force and its users from Star Wars, but very well done. Good for those who want to bring the concepts of the Jedi and Sith into the Traveller ruleset.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Knights of Solaris
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Infernum - Book of the Conqueror
by Jonathon C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/16/2020 07:00:00

Hands down, Infernum is and seems fit to remain my favorite "demonic/diabolic" planar layout of all time. Even as a hardcore fan of the World Axis, D&D has never made its demons or its devils or any of its other myriad fiends as inherently interesting and gameable as this setting does. It was Mongoose Publishing's finest work. Being focused on the domain-running, social mechanics and mass combat angles, this is probably the least immediately useful of the Infernum trilogy; it's definitely worthwhile getting it to complete your collection if you can, and the social mechanics angles can really add a lot if reverse-ported to D&D 3e or Pathfinder, which traditionally have been rather lacking in those departments, but it's just not as inherently useful as the Book of the Damned and the Tormentor.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Infernum - Book of the Conqueror
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Infernum - Book of the Tormentor
by Jonathon C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/16/2020 06:55:42

Hands down, Infernum is and seems fit to remain my favorite "demonic/diabolic" planar layout of all time. Even as a hardcore fan of the World Axis, D&D has never made its demons or its devils or any of its other myriad fiends as inherently interesting and gameable as this setting does. It was Mongoose Publishing's finest work. As the primary lore-focused splatbook, the Book of the Tormentor is hands down my must-pick of the three; the Book of the Damned provides the player-immediate information about demons, mortals and angels, but if you want to know about Hell as a place and the history of the Infernum, you NEED to read this book. I would use the Infernum in place of Hell or the Abyss or Hades or any of the other Lower Planes of D&D in a heartbeat, that's how much this book speaks to me.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Infernum - Book of the Tormentor
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Infernum - Book of the Damned
by Jonathon C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/16/2020 06:53:27

Hands down, Infernum is and seems fit to remain my favorite "demonic/diabolic" planar layout of all time. Even as a hardcore fan of the World Axis, D&D has never made its demons or its devils or any of its other myriad fiends as inherently interesting and gameable as this setting does. It was Mongoose Publishing's finest work. For the Book of the Damned in particular, this is primarily a crunch-focused book; if you're familiar with the D20 mechanics, you'll generally know what to expect going in, but the race-as-class system and the mutations system is definitely worth checking out. I found it most interesting for the lore. My one gripe is the Sorcery system, and this is purely a matter of personal taste; I like magic for its destructive and combat-capable elements, and Infernum's firm slotting of magic into purely utilitarian spellcraft works, but isn't personally very satisfying to me.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Infernum - Book of the Damned
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

The Mystery of BT-SHT 365
by Ernest B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/30/2020 10:40:13

This is a fine adventure for the price, the only quibble I would have is that more maps and diagrams would be helpful. It's a good start to the author's proposed series.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Mystery of BT-SHT 365
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Traveller: Makergod
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2020 16:31:11

Since starting Drinax in 2015, I had long wanted to take my players to icy, untamed Oghma. Potential 'fall guy' for the Drinaxians vis-a-vis the Punitive Flotilla, testing grounds for the nascent Pirates and their crews, or just a dangerous place with dangerous people, the planet had its mystery and reputation (and uses). The PCs were going...and it was going to be a lot of work!

Fortunately for me as a harried GM, there was suddenly a nearly fully-developed treatment of the world, its inhabitants, geopolitics, a lead-in scenario, technology and a sandbox (icebox?) the likes of which one usually associates with boxed sets (Tarsus?) or full softcover books (a la Sword Worlds), costing 3x as much or more. The cartography and schematics are first-rate, and the more modest endgame maps and plot twist inspired me to a much bigger effort of my own linked to other elements in my campaign-something I could never have done without the foundation this book provided. It is shaping up to be an epic conclusion to the current arc of the campaign and I must say-this book is the single most impressive Drinax-related Traveller product I have purchased other than the full campaign itself, which I backed on Kickstarter.

While capsule descriptions and short stories (cf. Arunisiir, Torpol Cluster, various Drinax fiction) are of some help, few feature such a broad and nicely detailed approach as the Makergod product. If this author creates more such books set in the Reach, I will put my money down without question!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Traveller: Makergod
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 786 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates