DriveThruFiction.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Foreven Worlds: Careers Beyond the Claw (MGT 2e)
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/06/2020 12:06:21

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This supplement clocks in at 30 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 2 pages of advertisement, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 25 pages of content, so let’s take a look!

This review was moved up in my reviewing queue as a prioritized review at the request of my patreon supporters.

As an aside: Man, it’s been too long since I got to review a Traveller supplement! I really love this game.

So, we get new careers here, and the book explains them all in the beginning, before going on to depict them. All careers have in common that they have a DM -1 for every previous career. System guards also have a DM-2 if aged 34 or more.

The first career would be the Athlete – the assignments covered here are electronic, physical and vehicle sports, with qualification being DEX or END 6+. Interesting: The Career Progress for e.g. electronic sports requires EDU 5+, and DEX 7+, vehicle sports requires INT 5+ for survival, SOC 7+ for advancement. These career progress notes are provided for all careers, just fyi. 7 ranks of muster out benefits are provided per job (including cash), and each career comes with 6-entry skills and training notes that list proper personal development benefits and service skills. Provided you have a minimum EDU of 10, you also have 6 advanced education entries here – all of the careers feature this. The three assignments each come with 6 entries as well – vehicle sports could, e.g., be vacc suits, while physical sports might be recon or even carousing.

Progress in ranks is noted in its own table, with 6 ranks provided – vehicle sports would e.g. net you Drive 1 or Flyer 1, Persuade 1 and SOC+1 over its course, while physical sports would net STR+1, END+1 and SOC+1. These make sense to make, and from some names for a couple of ranks to the benefits, these made sense to me. A 6-entry mishap table and a d66 event-table complements each of these jobs.

To give you an example regarding the Athlete: Among the mishaps, we have exposing corruption among the owners, which results in not being hired anymore, illegal drug use, or standing up for a cause the public doesn’t like – these mishaps can also have benefits. The latter, for example, reduces your SOC by 1, but also nets you D3 Contacts! I like these as conductive to roleplaying and character development.

Events can range from a mishap sans being ejected, and also some risky bits – such as e.g. being offered performance enhancers, which might blow up in your face…or not. You might gain a Rival, or your clubbing nets you some seedy tricks, like Streetwise 1, Carouse 1, etc. You might gain an experienced promoter, noble contacts, etc. These are surprisingly diverse and mechanically (and roleplaying-wise) interesting.

The second career is customer service, which requires INT 4+, and uses assignment skills instead of Service Skills. The assignments featured are company representative, corporate prostitute and waitstaff. At this point: Kudos for a tasteful and non-explicit rendition of sexwork! For Survival, these require INT 4+, END 6+ and DEX 5+, respectively, with SOC 8+, SOC 6+ and EDU 7+ required for advancement. At the 6th rank of personal development, we have Jack-Of-All-Trades here, which makes sense. Company Rep and corp prostitute btw. share the ranks and bonuses, which, I admit, makes sense. The mishaps here are interesting as well: Sticking up for a co-worker might cost you both your jobs, but also nets you an increase of Advocate by one level, and an Ally. Conversely, the event table here may net you an Enemy among the customers. Toxic work culture can happen, and you might, by accident, kick the president’s dog – which might net you a Rival, but also Animals and Steward increases by one level. I also liked the emergency entry – on a successful DEX 5+, you gain Medic 1…on a failure, you roll twice on the Injury table and take the lower result, but become better known – gaining SOC +1. The entries are plausible and make sense, and yes, they include streaming.

The Frontierist might be archaeologist, prospector or terraformer, and required EDU 6+, with EDU 5+, DEX 6+ and EDU 5+ requires for survival, respectively. For advancement, we have SOC 7+, INT 6+ and END 7+ - which, once more, make sense to me. In this career, the dispersal of skills and training is particularly nice: Electronics, Science, Gun Combat, Broker, Mechanic, Investigate for the prospector? Makes sense. The mishaps here are particularly interesting if you’re like me and sometimes lean towards running an experimental solo-adventure – you can be left for dead, for a year, as one of the Mishaps, and running this as a one-show survival? Heck yeah. Among the events, we have incarceration due to being thought of as a spy, and uncommon issues, like the encroachment of civilization interfering with your work – nice!

The medical professional requires INT 6+, and the assignments are surgeon/nurse, long-term caregiver, physical therapy, with EDU 4+, END 6+, EDU 5+ being required for survival, respectively. For advancement, we need EDU 8+, SOC 6+ and INT 7+. Once more, there is obviously a LOT of thought that went into these – long-term caregivers can get, for example, Mechanic and Electronics as well. For ranks and bonuses, to give you an idea, the physical therapist not only gets Medic 1, but also Athletics 1 and Admin 1. As for mishaps, they similarly make perfect sense for the career: Being friends with a couple of medical professionals, I can attest that burnouts in particularly make sense. In the event section, we have also some rather cool ones, such as medical care used as art.

Finally, system guards have a Qualification of INt 6+, commission SOC 8+, and is used instead of the Navy/Scout careers on the Draft table in the Foreven Sector. The assignments are crew/line, inspectors, and planetary patrol, with DEX 7+, INT 6+ and INT 5+ required for survival, and EDU 5+, EDU 6+ and EDU 7+ required for advancement, respectively. Special here: Beyond the personal development, service skills and advanced educations, we have an additional column of skills and training for officers (Comm only). Kudos! The mishaps here respect the harsh realities of the job – a comrade might die for you; you might be fired by accident as an admiral’s last order, but come out of this with the repentant admiral as a Contact…you get the idea. The events include inspections, being adrift in space for a while, or finding an abandoned ship.

Conclusion: Editing and formatting are very good on a formal and rules language level. Layout adheres to roughly a 2-column standard, but ultimately, everything is subject to the demands of the table. The supplement is laid out in a pretty printer-friendly manner, with white background. The artworks used range in quality from high (vast majority; see cover for the style used) to somewhat uncanny valley (the final one for the system guard is a CGI piece I really didn’t like). The pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience, making navigation simple, smooth and painless.

Dale McCoy Jr.’s career collection was a pleasant surprise to me; I expected a well-designed offering, but this manages more, namely that difficult tight-rope walk between being universally applicable and widely-useful, and yet maintaining pronounced and interesting roleplaying angles. There is always a chance inherent in the mishaps, one that makes sense; from the survival and advancement requirements to the personal skills to the muster out benefits, this book shows that a lot of genuine thought went into these. The careers may be crunchy, but they offer a lot of roleplaying opportunities, and going in-depth, are on par regarding their benefits as well. All in all, a great little supplement, well worth checking out. I am pretty much bereft of means to complain about this, and the material works in play; there is so much care in the small details here – not necessarily evident at first, but once you get into it, you notice how carefully this was crafted. My final verdict will be 5 stars.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Foreven Worlds: Careers Beyond the Claw (MGT 2e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Foreven Worlds: Careers Beyond the Claw (MGT 2e)
by Tim M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/03/2020 02:21:49

Was looking forward to this coming out. We have a physical therapist, waitstaff and a table full of various auto-racing fans and those careers are covered in this book. Also pretty cool Drone Racing career is also included. Character Creation is one of the best parts of the game and there is a random event chart for each parent career (athelete, customer service etc). Lots more art than i would have expected for the price and really well done!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Mystery of BT-SHT 365
by Darin C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/25/2020 21:36:13

A good 'Introduction' to hopefully a fun, rambuncitous and rollicking adventure.

Youtube reveiws offer an indepth, blow by blow play through in which said reveiwer goes about raising a couple of points. For myself? I would recommend "Starship Geomorphs - Traveller" to help things along.

I, personally, am very much looking forards to see where the adventure will go.

In all a good 'Extra' for gamers wanting more things to dissvover/interact with around the region of Sindal expans.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Mystery of BT-SHT 365
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Paranoia Interactive Screen
by 4510156017537163 K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/10/2019 13:26:30

My big problem with this is unlike other digital DM screens this is not printer friendly. It's a bummer that they didn't seperate the info onto different pages to be printer friendly. As someone who uses a modular DM screen it's a real dissapointment to try to figure out a good way to print it to fit in there. I don't want to have to take this to a print shop. It's also a steep price for a digital DM screen without any other content.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Paranoia Interactive Screen
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Foreven Worlds: Creatures of Distant Worlds (MGT 2e)
by Bryan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/15/2019 10:43:43

What we have here is another book (29 Pages, 22 actual content) by JBE that this time covers a selection of Creatures that can be used in Traveller, but probably easily adapted to any other Sci-Fi setting with minimal fuss.

The book starts with a brief introduction that discusses how to use the creatures presented in Native Life, Dangerous Fauna, Vehicles, Pets and Entertainment. Each one comes with a couple of paragraphs describing each and then a suggestion or two for actual use. The content here is good and albeit obvious, it does provoke some thought.

The book then moves on to the actual creatures with a page dedicated to each. Each one is broken down into a description, Combat tactics, Ecology and Habitat and then some stats for each. For example, the Shark goes into small detail about how Sharks originated on Earth and were spread by Ancients throughout known space. The combat tactics talks about hunting whilst Ecology discusses where you would find them, types of bodies of water for example. The stats then offer up stats for a Small, Normal and Large shark. Each creature is laid out the same way and this provides some ideas for use and as a 1 pager can be very useful to have to hand.

Each Animal also comes with an image of each. The art here is generally good throughout the book. You then get an appendix which covers a series of benchmarks should you wish to create your own animals. A second appendix then offers up further details around each of the Traits.

All in all, a good addition to your library. My only criticism would be for the price, I would personally would have preferred a little more content, maybe even a 1-2 page scenario with some of the creatures in actual use.

Overall though, very good. Reads well and could be useful for any ground based adventure / campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Foreven Worlds: Creatures of Distant Worlds (MGT 2e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Foreven Worlds: Creatures of Distant Worlds (MGT 2e)
by Brett K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/01/2019 08:03:08

The PDF document consists of 29 pages, which includes the cover page, a disclaimer page, table of contents and 4 pages of ads at the end, which leaves 22 pages of content. Not too bad for $15 AUD, better if you can get it when on one of the numerous sales on DriveThru. The book starts with a great two page introduction with five different ideas on how to use the creatures in your own adventures. The information is detailed enough to hopefully get your imagination working but not so much as to tell you do this, this and this. I think there is enough information for even a new GM to use the creatures outlined in the following pages. Next come 17 pages of creatures, one type per page. Each page includes a description, combat tactics, ecology & habitat and one or more characteristic blocks of different varieties the creature. The characteristic blocks are standard Mongoose Traveller edition 2 statistics so are useable for most versions of Traveller. I found the description of each creature the most interesting for two reasons. First, the descriptions are clearly inspired, at least to my mind, by creatures from movies and tv shows. It became a fun little game as I read the book to try and work out where the inspiration came from. Some were self-evident, others not so much. The second reason I liked the descriptions stemmed from the first, knowing a source for the creature gave me ideas on how I could use the creature in my own games. The creatures are varied enough to use on almost any world your characters might find themselves. Oh and yeah, the artwork is great throughout the book and they definitely add value to the book. After the creatures is a page of stats for every day earth creatures, which gives you a good basis of comparison for the previous creatures. The final two pages are the Traits pages, which gives you an outline of each of the traits covered throughout the book. This is especially good if you don't have the core edition 2 Mongoose book and want to pick up Creatures of Distant Worlds for use in a non-Mongoose Traveller game. So overall a really worthwhile edition to your Sci-fi gaming collection. Good formatting, clean, easy to read with great artwork. Only two things I can think of that would make this book better. First, a little more detail into where you would find the large and gigantic creatures, as opposed to the standard versions of them, such as giant creature X is 5 times less likely to be encountered and even then only in X locations. I guess this does allow the GM to be creative but would be helpful to new GMs. The second thing that would make this book even better is more creatures! When is edition 2 coming out?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Pirates of Drinax
by Robins T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/16/2019 10:43:07

Hands down the best campaign I have ever seen put together for Traveller, or for any RPG for that matter. 10 very playable, open ended adventures along with sourcebooks for a sandbox campaign that players can take in a mutitude of directions. Highly recommend for those looking for a high powered Traveller campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Pirates of Drinax
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Paranoia Red Clearance Edition
by august c. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/24/2019 16:51:38

Very impressed with this edition. The rules in this edition are a lot more flexible, and the system has been trimmed into something that actually supports the style of play the game is known for. The card system also gives the players a little more say in the narrative, and is a wonderful addition.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Paranoia Red Clearance Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Character Portraits: Fantasy Heroines
by Dale M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2019 13:25:33

Product is password locked and I am unable to use the images because of it.

Please unlock this collection so I can use these images.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Character Portraits: Fantasy Heroines
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Widowed
by Travis R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/08/2019 20:42:19

Best of the Mongoose short stories to date. If you've played the Pirates of Drinax Campaign, you know the Widows are one of the more fascinating but underdeveloped features of the campaign. This short story is an enjoyable read on its own merits, and also fills in a lot of the gaps in the campaign material.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Widowed
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Widowed
by Matthew K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/28/2019 01:50:34

This short story is a technological thriller that is fast paced with good character development and a solid plot. Widowed is set in the Official Traveller universe, but confined to one world and accessible to anyone who doesn't play the game. Like all good science fiction, it has a bit of allegorical social commentary relating to the role of the individual vs. the collective. My only complaint is that there's a lot more to explore here than can be done in 10,000 words.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Paranoia Service Pack 1
by Davis C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2019 10:17:10

Service Pack 1 is the appropriate level of Paranoia for your current security clearance. This review was not written under duress or through coersion.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Paranoia Service Pack 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Perfectly Safe Gear
by Luis H. F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2019 10:41:38

I'm kind of flustered about this... I live in Brazil and it's too expensive to order real cards, so I decided to buy the PDF's, print them and sleeve them. The Secret Society pack is as it should, made in a way that I can print, cut, fold and sleeve without a problem. Every sheet has about 4 cards I think. However, this pack, as well as the Equipment pack, are NOT like that. Every card is a separate PAGE in the file! How am I supposed to print it correctly??? It's impossible to use it like this!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Perfectly Safe Gear
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

The RAM Deck
by Luis H. F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2019 08:09:27

I'm kind of flustered about this... I live in Brazil and it's too expensive to order real cards, so I decided to buy the PDF's, print them and sleeve them. The Secret Society pack is as it should, made in a way that I can print, cut, fold and sleeve without a problem. Every sheet has about 4 cards I think. However, this pack, as well as the Equipment pack, are NOT like that. Every card is a separate PAGE in the file! How am I supposed to print it correctly??? It's impossible to use it like this!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The RAM Deck
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

The Frozen Watch
by Peter C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2019 16:27:56

A tightly written story very much in the spirit of the hard SF classics. A marine of the frozen watch has to use ingenuity and physics to stay alive - as moments after they awake they find themselves adrift in orbit, with no immediate hope of recovery. An easy, entertaining read, that never gets lost in the minutiae of canon but nonetheless has a strong Traveller feel. Entertaining, with a nice reveal at the end that challenges typical misconceptions of the genre.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Frozen Watch
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 763 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates