DriveThruFiction.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The Pirates of Drinax
by Robins T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/16/2019 10:43:07

Hands down the best campaign I have ever seen put together for Traveller, or for any RPG for that matter. 10 very playable, open ended adventures along with sourcebooks for a sandbox campaign that players can take in a mutitude of directions. Highly recommend for those looking for a high powered Traveller campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Pirates of Drinax
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Paranoia Red Clearance Edition
by august c. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/24/2019 16:51:38

Very impressed with this edition. The rules in this edition are a lot more flexible, and the system has been trimmed into something that actually supports the style of play the game is known for. The card system also gives the players a little more say in the narrative, and is a wonderful addition.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Paranoia Red Clearance Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Character Portraits: Fantasy Heroines
by Dale M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2019 13:25:33

Product is password locked and I am unable to use the images because of it.

Please unlock this collection so I can use these images.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Character Portraits: Fantasy Heroines
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Widowed
by Travis R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/08/2019 20:42:19

Best of the Mongoose short stories to date. If you've played the Pirates of Drinax Campaign, you know the Widows are one of the more fascinating but underdeveloped features of the campaign. This short story is an enjoyable read on its own merits, and also fills in a lot of the gaps in the campaign material.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Widowed
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Widowed
by Matthew K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/28/2019 01:50:34

This short story is a technological thriller that is fast paced with good character development and a solid plot. Widowed is set in the Official Traveller universe, but confined to one world and accessible to anyone who doesn't play the game. Like all good science fiction, it has a bit of allegorical social commentary relating to the role of the individual vs. the collective. My only complaint is that there's a lot more to explore here than can be done in 10,000 words.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Paranoia Service Pack 1
by Davis C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2019 10:17:10

Service Pack 1 is the appropriate level of Paranoia for your current security clearance. This review was not written under duress or through coersion.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Paranoia Service Pack 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Perfectly Safe Gear
by Luis H. F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2019 10:41:38

I'm kind of flustered about this... I live in Brazil and it's too expensive to order real cards, so I decided to buy the PDF's, print them and sleeve them. The Secret Society pack is as it should, made in a way that I can print, cut, fold and sleeve without a problem. Every sheet has about 4 cards I think. However, this pack, as well as the Equipment pack, are NOT like that. Every card is a separate PAGE in the file! How am I supposed to print it correctly??? It's impossible to use it like this!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Perfectly Safe Gear
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

The RAM Deck
by Luis H. F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2019 08:09:27

I'm kind of flustered about this... I live in Brazil and it's too expensive to order real cards, so I decided to buy the PDF's, print them and sleeve them. The Secret Society pack is as it should, made in a way that I can print, cut, fold and sleeve without a problem. Every sheet has about 4 cards I think. However, this pack, as well as the Equipment pack, are NOT like that. Every card is a separate PAGE in the file! How am I supposed to print it correctly??? It's impossible to use it like this!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The RAM Deck
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

The Frozen Watch
by Peter C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2019 16:27:56

A tightly written story very much in the spirit of the hard SF classics. A marine of the frozen watch has to use ingenuity and physics to stay alive - as moments after they awake they find themselves adrift in orbit, with no immediate hope of recovery. An easy, entertaining read, that never gets lost in the minutiae of canon but nonetheless has a strong Traveller feel. Entertaining, with a nice reveal at the end that challenges typical misconceptions of the genre.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Frozen Watch
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Supplement 9: Campaign Guide
by Stephen M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/26/2019 08:57:07

WAnt to run an entire campaing with no prep at all? Let the dice rule your world withthis giant book of tables!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Supplement 9: Campaign Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Referee's Briefing 3: Going Portside
by Mikhail M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/30/2019 10:00:57

Pros: useful, makes you think, unique naval/space take on familiar concepts.

Cons: $6 for 15 useful pages, some entries bland.

To give some background for the review: I read "Referee's Briefing 3: Going Portside" in one day on my tablet, and it is still fresh in my memory. I got it because I was looking for a pdf-only supplement for Mongoose Traveller 2E (New Traveller) while I am waiting for a discount on some physical books I want to get. My experience with Traveller is limited to the New Traveller: I have read the Starter Set, Companion, and High Guard so far.

This supplement promises "a miscellany of things to do and places to visit that are both interesting and memorable." That it does. Most entries either make you think about common pastimes in unusual (space/naval) context, or give you interesting bits of lore that make the locations come alive, or give the Referee little hooks on which to hang their adventures. The last one is a far fetch from full-blown adventure seeds, but it helps the Referee to start thinking.

With that said, some entries are just bland. One entry even tries to turn the blandness into a joke, but I would say it is not very successful at that. However, dull entries are in the minority.

The supplement consists of four chapters:

  1. PORTSIDE FEATURES. This chapter gives you an overview of what to expect in a spaceport and makes you think about its environment and surroundings. It also has stats for a robot, which most likely require the rules from Central Supply Catalogue.
  2. HOTELS, BARS AND RESTAURANTS. This chapter gives you a brief explanation of the role of these establishments in a Traveller's life and a list of nine entries. In my opinion, the forte of this chapter is not in the list of brands to drop into your game, but the background lore they tell you, such as naval-themed drinks.
  3. RETAILERS, MERCHANTS AND SERVICE PROVIDERS. This chapter humanizes the "shopping interface" of the game. This may be helpful for a referee who wants to spend more table time on, well, shopping. The chapter also has a couple of vendors who look more like plot hooks and a little bit of background lore. Personally, I do not think it is great as the plot hooks are underdeveloped and the lore does not quite feel right, but it is subjective. The chapter is still pretty robust.
  4. RECREATIONAL FACILITIES AND PLACES TO VISIT. This chapter made me go "neat, why didn't I think of that" a couple of times. Most of the locations (in a fairly broad sense) in this chapter can serve as unique backdrops for various missions. Some sites are a bit too vague or not as readily usable, but overall this chapter is excellent.

Overall, an entertaining read with a lot of neat ideas. I would recommend it even if you think that you can come up with various locations and things to do on your own. This supplement is more than a list of those things - it jogs the creative machine quite a bit and makes you think. If anyone has any questions about this review or the supplement though, leave a comment in the discussions tab, and I will try to respond.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Referee's Briefing 3: Going Portside
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Book 0: Introduction to Traveller
by Sean S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/28/2019 15:05:40

This is a free intro version, so I suppose one shouldn't expect much, but there are some glaring formatting and text registration errors in the copy I downloaded via Safari on iOS. I mention this because I haven't noticed this problems on other files I've gotten thru here, free or paid.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Book 0: Introduction to Traveller
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Element Class Cruisers: Ship Builder's Blueprints
by Daniel H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/05/2019 16:28:35

Excellent supplement to High Guard and the Core Rulebook. Completely satisfied with all contents of this e-book. The level of detail present in the blueprints far exceeds anything else in this edition of Traveller (haven't looked at previous versions). The Naval Campaign guide is a fantastic resource that gives many additional rules on how to run a game taking place within a rigid command structure, the sort of adventures those Travellers will go on, and so forth. The ~80 page book pertaining to just the Element Class Cruisers is detailed and evocative enough such that the PCs will have all the information they need on all aspects of running the ship, and the referee has enough information to infer much about ship operations on other, less detailed ships. Highly recommend this book, and I would love to see similar products soon!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Element Class Cruisers: Ship Builder's Blueprints
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Element Class Cruisers: Ship Builder's Blueprints
by Christopher J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/08/2019 21:32:38

This is the kind of dense, meaty product that makes Traveller shine. The writer is one of the best in Mongoose's stables (IMHO); his prose is clear, concise, and flows smoothly from one page to the next, even in the rule systems sections. This product has a plethora of rules additions and modifications for running a thoroughly immersive naval campaign. The crunch is modular, so you can pick and choose to use the bits you're comfortable with. Then there are the blueprints - holy cow, these are massive and high quality. The actual blueprints have 2 more files than the print-friendly black and white ones (Forward comms and the Courier / High Guard poster).

I wish Mongoose had a more aggressive publication schedule because products like this make me want to buy more, more, more.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Reach Adventure 2: Theories of Everything
by Tom S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/02/2019 08:01:09

Traveller Reach Adventure 2: Theories of Everything Author: Martin J Dougherty Publisher: Mongoose Publishing ISBN 978-1-908460-62-2

Price: £8 Pages: 38

I received this as a complimentary copy from Mongoose for review purposes.

Overview:

"In Reach Adventure 2: Theories of Everything the Travellers are hired as crew and research assistants aboard the laboratory vessel Insight III. The ship is owned by a cooperative of scientists working in a cross-discipline environment to solve problems and discover knowledge as they journey across the vast reaches of space… or so they claim. In fact, Insight III is basically a jump-capable shouting match as its owners bicker, squabble and argue their erratic way across a dangerous subsector. The Travellers’ mission is thus more than merely running the ship and helping collect data. They will need to be advisors, diplomats and bodyguards too, injecting a little common sense into the heady mix of ego and brilliance aboard Insight III. The storyline of the adventure is as much about the interactions of the scientists and crew as the situations they find themselves in, and it may be that the Travellers’ greatest challenge will be keeping the scientists from murdering one another…"

This an adventure book that utilises the Type L research vessel that has seen deployment in many a Traveller adventure since the early days. It does this with a well detailed, well mapped, and interesting mixture of vessel, scientist crew, a clearly define set of research tasks that begin on the planet of Marduk, move to Borite and end in an exciting and potentially emotionally fraught rescue off a gas giant.

This scenario is not novel, but the author, Martin J Dougherty, expands and delivers it well, and in doing so reveals a little more about the wider setting in which Marduk and Borite lies. This is a non-linear adventure book with lots of opportunity for dynamic and freeform roleplaying, and using a limited set of components, the book delivers an excellent series of play sessions, probably 3-4 in total. There is some overlap and re-use of the Marduk material from Reach Adventure 1, but in a way that could enrichen the ability of the PCs to save the bacon of a rather foolish research academic. It is well illustrated with recognisably 'Traveller' like 3D imager, Tyle L ship plans, pinnacle and vehicle stats, and competent character illustrations. It follows the high quality of Traveller 2.0 layout and graphics, and has no apparent typos or grammatical problems.

It comprises of the following chapters:

Introduction: A short, sweet and yet purposeful. Key here is the adventure starts on the planet of Marduk, in the Oghma Cluster, in the Sindal subsector of Trojan Reach, before proceeding into the Borite system. The adventure is suitable for any group of Travellers, but they need to either not have starship or a plot device is provided he.re to relieve them of it with a hook to engage them in "Theories of Everything" for a month or so. Again, so nice phrasing from the author "Using the jump drive in it's present state would fall into the 'might not die' catergory of risks" raised a smile from me. The players do really need a pilot, and an engineer. Referee's Introduction: As noted, this a Sindal subsector, Oghma cluster adventure in the Trojan Reach sector. This is a very well detailed part of the Original Traveller Universe (OTU), and well developed by Mongoose over many years in books about the Aslan and the foundational "Pirates of Drinax" campaign. There is a small amount of necessary duplication from Reach Adventure 1, and other sources, but this is utterly necessary and makes this adventure accessible to a referee or group of players who know nothing of the Reach, or even the OTU. The Insight III: This chapter details the Type L research lab ship, a ring design familiar to experience Traveller gamers, and the complement of quixotic, irascible, heads-in-the-clouds research scientists who own and work on it. These are the academics that the players will need to look after as they embark on a series of field work missions across 3 systems: Marduk, Borite and Noricum. The ships and pinnace are attractively mapped out, detailed for Mongoose Traveller 2.0, and the four scientists statted up and their idiosyncratic personalities and inter-personal relationships explained. There are also 2 other non scientist NPCs, which could be easily swapped out for suitable player characters, so as to avoid the possibility of the players simply watching the referee 'acting out' a cast of NPCs in front of them. With little work a group could also adopt the roster of NPCs and simply play them as pre-generated characters, which would be my personal preference for a 3-4 session extended micro-campaign. Theories of Everything: This is technically chapter 3, but is in fact 3 paragraphs stating that this a freeform open ended adventure. Superfluous, but has a lovely scene setting picture of a snarky note left by one NPC to another that's well worth printing and showing to the players! Hiring On: Here the research project is detailed, in and of itself straightforward but notably it gives the whole group clearly defined tasks, opportunities for roleplaying, and [and this is rare] actual tasks to fulfil when in jumpspace between systems.. Marduk: This could be subtitled "Amongst the Ruins by the Seaside, something Lurks". So as not to spoil it, any player who has played Reach Adventure 1 is going to be able to handle this spike of danger very well, but the duplication of moving pieces is well handled and should delight the group. If the first adventure was not played, then it will be potentially a little dangerous, as it should be. Borite: The culture of Borite is one of carefully nurtured idiocy, a front to ensure that no-one is a potential target for Oghma raiders who target the capture of anyone who can read/write or has numeracy. The interaction of a group of very well educated and in one case very extroverted scientists as such a culture is a potential source of great roleplaying. [I was also minded that an Oghma quisling might even be on planet and taking names..] The Borite field work is very similar to that on Marduk, but is interrupted by a Signal GK distress call from space! Rescue: This is a very exciting, well designed, rescue attempt to save the crew of the far trader Jolly Joel before it tumbles into a gas giant. Slingshots, parallel routing of the Insight III and the pinnace, the number of hour left before disaster, all are carefully explained by the author, and even if you don't know your 2G acceleration from your 4G mobile phone, a referee has all they need to run a space rescue mission worthy of Thunderbirds. Again, not all is at seems, and the crew of far trader are flawed people, the scientists have little common sense, and it might all go completely Pete Tong [Google it..], and a very linear mission has been interweaved with open ended possibilities, some tragic, some triumphant. At the end it is likely that those that live will eventually make their way to Noricum. As the blasted remains of the Sindal Empire a key place in the Pirates of Drinax campaign, this a good choice for Mongoose and Dougherty to leave the players, probably with a new network of contacts, friends or enemies on board a rambling excuse for a scientist adventure in games to come.

Summary: Well crafted, well illustrated, well laid out, well written, high potential for 3-4 evenings of engagement in non combat SF adventure, complements Reach Adventure 1 well. 4.5/5



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Reach Adventure 2: Theories of Everything
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 757 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates