DriveThruFiction.com
Browse Categories
$ to $







Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Fallout: The Roleplaying Game Core Rulebook PDF
by Richard [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/01/2024 22:16:56

A great adaptation of the videogame to tabletop. The main criticism I habe is it focuses too much on Fallout 4's Commonwealth at the expense of covering the setting of earlier games.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fallout: The Roleplaying Game Core Rulebook PDF
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
One More Quest - Core Book (PDF)
by Simon [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/19/2024 15:36:44

Don't underestimate this game! Even though it's a parody, it is a complete tabletop RPG. The game mechanics are very easy and can be explained in just a few minutes. Character creation is quick and consists of only four steps. Throwing dice at a target is a pleasant change and a game mechanic I haven't seen before. Throwing the dice is fun, as there's a lot of laughter involved even during the rolls. The game places a greater focus on storytelling and general comedy rather than on rules and mechanics. The magic and crafting system is very simple; anything is possible as long as the players and the dungeon master agree on it. This allows players to build hilarious constructions and cast the strangest spells. The world description is quite funny and mocks every cliché fantasy setting, along with a few other things like Dune and Apple. The bestiary is quite extensive, and it's easy to write your own NPCs and adventures. There are guidelines to adapt almost everything in the game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One More Quest - Core Book (PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Fallout 2d20: NPC Pack 2 - Enclave Remnants (PDF)
by Michael [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2024 21:29:54

The content in this book is not worth $12.50. At most I would pay is $5 for what is inside. This is the 1st time I have felt ripped off buying from this site. Do not buy this unless it is on sale and you have whatever the sale price is to flush down the toilet. I feel ripped off and will keep this product in mind before purchasing further Modiphius products.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Fallout 2d20: NPC Pack 2 - Enclave Remnants (PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Star Trek Adventures - Second Edition Quickstart
by Vinicius [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/06/2024 21:28:15

This Quickstarts presents an interesting iteration of the 2d20 system. Should be an easy sell for the system's enthusiasts, but will probably not convert anyone who is more recalcitrant to the system's lows. It looks that it remains one of the best mechanical fits for the Star Trek universe, however.

This 2e Quickstart is better laid out and explained than the 1st edition one, so that's a huge bonus right off the bat. Unfortunately, they've made the odd decision regarding the rules presented and the adventure offered.

A Quickstart like this effectively serves as a "rules preview" for veterans and as a "rules presentation" to newcomers. 2e's version contains a preview for the core character mechanics - but the adventure provided for the product is basically a "starship adventure", where most interactions will occur between the "ship" and "external circumstances". This means a new GM will be "ad hocking" all those mechanical interactions that are simply not described in the Quickstart rules (what does it means for a ship to take a Breach? How to operate shields? etc). A veteran GM could import those from the previous edition but this, ideally, should be a stand-alone product, complete without the need for a previous edition or the main rulebok for the current edition. It COULD have been a complete product if they have offered a "character-based" adventure, but that's not really the case.

In addition, even though the adventure presented is very close to Star Trek's tone and nature, as a game product, it's too linear and bland in gameplay experience. The juicy "narrative tidbits" are basically behind a boring "gauntlet of events/scenarios" with little to no narrative connective tissue between them. Worse of all, those "juicy narrative tidbits" can be shut down from your players by failure on some crucial rolls, which can result in a very frustrating game if the dice gods get angry at your table.

Still, an experienced GM can easily wrangle a good session out of this material, but the designers have not made that job easier with this one.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures - Second Edition Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20: Shadows of Atlantis 2d20 Edition (PDF)
by Gary [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/03/2024 12:09:41

A literal waste of time since it is written to be read, not run. Plan on a ton of prep just finding and keeping straight all the key pieces of information that are buried in walls of pretty prose. There’s a fun campaign in there somewhere, but you’ll have to be a forensic archaeologist to dig it out and separate it from the surrounding material. Even then, key pieces (like art and maps of core items, people and locations) will have to be guessed at.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20: Shadows of Atlantis 2d20 Edition (PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Odyssey of the Dragonlords Adventure Book
by Dylan N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/26/2024 10:27:04

can't wait to play this with my party, only just found out that this doesn't include de (battle)maps.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Odyssey of the Dragonlords Adventure Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Fallout: The Roleplaying Game - Quickstart Guide - PDF
by Neil [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2024 21:33:11

The very basics are there but there are no stat blocks for several creatures mentioned in the adventure, no explanation of how salvaging works in any capacity despite listing salvage information for several locations, and no description of how much healing you get from food/water or what any of the chems that the pregens have do.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Fallout: The Roleplaying Game - Quickstart Guide - PDF
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Fallout: The Roleplaying Game - Hunted (PDF)
by Justin [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2024 16:21:31

Great module, great writing, but no maps included.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fallout: The Roleplaying Game - Hunted (PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Achtung! Cthulhu - Mysteries of the Manor PDF FREE!
by Björn L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/09/2024 11:20:08
A (inter)mission in the countryside - a Mephisto review

Mysteries of the Manor

To accompany Halloween Horrors 2, Modiphius has released another short mission, this time under the title Mysteries of the Manor. The agents are sent out to investigate a manor in the English countryside, particularly as there are indications that the Black Sun is active in the area. The manor, called Rainthorpe Hall, is the home of Lord Dowling, an eccentric collector of antiques and other objects. The agents are tasked with infiltrating the estate, eliminating a possible threat from the Black Sun, and recovering any artifacts. If possible, they should also rescue Dowling, his family, and his servants.

The adventure revolves around the player characters working their way through the large manor room by room, eliminating the threats and stopping the Black Sun agents. The plot is not very original, but it offers a solid mission for an evening of gaming.

The link to the second Grimoire of Terror is very limited here, but the monsters from this accompanying volume can be incorporated into the mission. I found the layout of the house a little unusual, which only makes limited sense to me in some places, but even that is probably a rather insignificant detail in the context of a mission like this.

Anyone looking for a straightforward, short (inter)mission to spend an evening fighting Black Sun agents will get free game material here for a short mission between larger adventures.

(Björn Lippold)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Achtung! Cthulhu - Mysteries of the Manor PDF FREE!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Achtung! Cthulhu - Halloween Horrors 2 FREE!
by Björn L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/09/2024 11:13:38
Monster not just for Halloween - a Mephisto review

Halloween Horrors 2 - Grimoire of Terror

Just in time for Halloween, Modiphius has released another small free supplement for Achtung! Cthulhu with several monsters with Halloween Horrors 2. Once again, the supplement features five creatures from the Achtung! Cthulhu universe, as well as a few plot ideas to use them.

The selection is varied this time. For example, the classic Djinn are thematized and incorporated into the setting. The Flying Polyp is a standard Mythos monster that was previously missing. With Grand Mere Cherie, the supplement features an unusual ghoul, while Kelpie and Redcap are two monsters from Celtic mythology that have been slightly adapted for the mythos.

The monsters are described in an interesting way and fit into the background of Achtung! Cthulhu and can therefore be used universally within the setting.

The Flying Polyp, the Djinn and Grand Mere Cherie in particular are very useful additions. In my opinion, Kelpie and Redcap as creatures of Celtic mythology do not quite fit into the Mythos setting, even if the Kelpie is interpreted here as a variant of the Deep Ones.

In addition to the double-page monster descriptions, the booklet offers ten briefly described adventure hooks for these monsters on one page, making Halloween Horrors 2 a nice addition offering interesting monsters that is also free of charge.

(Björn Lippold)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Achtung! Cthulhu - Halloween Horrors 2 FREE!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20: Under The Gun
by Grant [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/06/2024 04:31:30

This was my first scenario I ran for our newly put together Achtung! Cthulhu group, cobbled together from a couple of seasoned Call of Cthulhu players and 5e players trying something different.

Call of Cthulhu players will find the first part familiar as there is some good investigative work to be done gathering clues for what is going on. My 5e players liked the rollicking combat. I created my own "battlemap" so I could keep the layout straight in my head and as we use Foundry it gives my visual players who are used to maps something to look at.

The only thing I wasn't so keen on was keeping straight so many NPCs in combat with the multiple sides - felt like the ratio of player to enemy action was a bit off. In the end I pared that back quite a bit.

Overall it was a fun romp and appealing enough I had no trouble enticing the players to have another go at a different scenario. Thanks for the fun!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20: Under The Gun
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Achtung! Chtulhu 2d20: Operation Cold Threshold (PDF)
by Grant [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/06/2024 04:18:22

We have a new group of experienced players who are trying Achtung! Cthulhu and this is the fourth scenario we've run through now. This took us about seven hours (we admittedly are not a very quick group and we have the odd stop while we get rules straight in our heads) and overall I thought everyone enjoyed it a great deal.

We played using the Achtung! Cthulhu module on Foundry and used the maps provided. I added a generic map for the encounter en-route and expanded the play out on the ship a bit by using a ship deckplan. I also added some interesting things to find on the ship to make it a bit more rewarding.

Sometimes I find a read of the scenario for Achtung! Cthulhu can make them seem a bit railroady but it was easy enough to have a light touch here and let the players/agents set the story outcome. Mine had a clever plan to prevent the release of the creature in the ice and save the day without me feeling it was necessary to "free the beast".

A good fun idea in an interesting place with a set up for creative problem-solving for players smart enough not to launch a full frontal assault. Thumbs up from us.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Achtung! Chtulhu 2d20: Operation Cold Threshold (PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Fallout: The Roleplaying Game Wanderers Guide Book (PDF)
by William [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/02/2024 21:36:32

This is a great idea, but, as is standard for Modiphius, it's just not taken seriously.
A lot of work was put into it, but then the editing staff didn't bother looking at it to catch dozens of errors. Items described and missings. Items on lines but no descriptions. Tables omitted from the book. Sections discussed and not present.
This book needs about another year of editing and re-writing. Modiphius should refund everyone who purchased it. The book isn't complete.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Fallout: The Roleplaying Game Wanderers Guide Book (PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Fallout: The Roleplaying Game - Map Pack 1: Vault (PDF)
by Andrew [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/31/2024 07:37:02

Completely over priced for the contents.

Maps are ok if you like Iso format, but repetative and pretty small area. For a company with such emphasis on great graphics and art, its more than disappionting. Burning a limited page count with padding like a full reprint of Protectron stats from core rule book is not helping. Location notes might save an inexperienced GM a little prep time but that's about it.

Would suggest spending money on a rpg mapping platform (not recommending one) instead.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Fallout: The Roleplaying Game - Map Pack 1: Vault (PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Star Trek Adventures Rules Digest PDF
by Carl [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/30/2024 15:55:36

I bought most of the PDFs for Star Trek Adventures a long time ago, but didn't get to run it. I love the setting, but I didn't love the rules (at the time). But after some time running some other settings where there's a lot more crunch and funny dice with my regular group, I thought this might be worth a try. Having the PDFs makes sharing easier than having only physical books.

But the layout of the core rulebook is a little convoluted. Sometimes something is used before it is explained, and there's a lot of fluff mixed in, making it harder to find the specific section you need later on. Sort of by accident I bought the Tricorder Collector's box on Amazon, and it came with the digest rules. At first, I thought it was a bit of a waste since I had the Core rulebook, and figured I'd just use the book at the table to pass around. I really wanted the box itself for a project. Well, after looking it over, I bought the PDF of those rules here as I much prefer the layout. It works better as a RPG rules book than the original core rules by quite a bit.

Technically it is redundant, but it's that good. I'm only writing this review because there weren't any reviews mentioning this on this product (there are others stating this on the Core Rulebook, but you won't see those if you just look here).

The system is pretty easy to pick up. There are vague similarities to other system like Star Wars RPG, but it is much easier to play with normal dice than that game, which requires either specialty dice or the app on smartphones to be played functionally). You generally have 2 to 5 d20s you'll roll. You want low rolls. The specific number you need depends on your character's stat + department. If you have a focus that applies (each character has a few of these, like Xenobiology or Philosophy or Subspace Theory) then really low roles (equal to or below the department you are using in the roll) count as 2 successes. Extra successes beyond what you need build momentum, which is a group resource that anyone can use to buy extra dice on a critical roll.

If you don't have enough momentum, you can instead give the GM Threat to use on a 1-for-1 basis. This is very similar to the Light Side Dark side destiny system in the Star Wars RPG game, but isn't a zero sum system. I much prefer this method as momentum and threat can build and be spent separately so neither side and "freeze" the other out by refusing (or forgetting) to spend it. Some weapons will build threat automatically, which explains why Trek ships don't pull out photon torpedoes at every opportunity (much like knives and guns don't get pulled in every fight in the really world, either).

Finally, some rolls will also use 6 sided dice (for example, combat, but also extended tests) to determine the specific effects of a successful roll. They have specialty dice you can use (which also come in the tricorder box I mentioned) but they really aren't needed. The six possible effects are: 1: 1 stress 2: 2 stress 3: Blank 4: Blank 5: Effect 6: Effect

The roll that say, "Effect" cause 1 stress, and trigger one use of the special effects in play. Typically, that depends on the weapon being used. That might be extra stress inflicted, or ignoring some of the resistance of the target, but it could also be a loss of power, additional automatic hits caused, or damage over time). Finally, the total amount of stress you rolled is totaled and reduced by the opponent's resistance. If there's anything left over, they lose that much stress and if you do 5 or more, there's an additional effect. In personal combat, that's an injury (they are seriously wounded and out of the fight). In Extended Tasks that's a Breakthrough (you need a number of these to succeed, so a really good roll might let you succeed earlier than expected), and in Starship combat these are hull breaches and can take out a system completely. Finally, high results on the d20 can result in Complications. The simplest of these are additional Threat, but other results are possible, such as destroying a control, or hitting an ally. Normally these only result on a natural 20, but that can be lowered due to existing complications or certain character traits, perhaps in exchange for additional (free) dice.

This same system is used in extended actions, so once you understand how it works you know how all the systems work. It gives you the opportunity to have unexpected results. You knock out the guard, but you can hear another pair coming around the corner, etc.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures Rules Digest PDF
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 566 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates