DriveThruFiction.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Five Parsecs From Home - Expansion 1 - Trailblazers Toolkit
by William B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/14/2021 21:33:13

Editing my rating to two stars. There just isn't anything in this expansion I really wanted. What I was hoping for was more to do, like additional story events, and I was also hoping the no-mini combat rules would be included. The designer has put the no-mini rules on the patreon page for yet another additional purchase. Five Parsecs is a fun game, but I'm asbsolutely not going to buy expansions AND a subscription on Patreon. That's just cheap, and not treating customers very well in my opinion.

There is some OK material in here like multiple types difficulty tweaks, which I do not currently need because the game is already brutal, but I might use them as I get better at the game. Not to mention the base game already has difficulty tweaks. Low value at best.

AI Variations adds some uncertainty to enemy actions, which I like. - Edit: Upon trying this I didn't like it. All it does is add additional dice rolls to combat. For the time being, I'm sticking to the simpler AI in the core rules.

It contains some random name generators which are nice. I would have also liked to see some tables for character names. This is a no value item, random name generators are all over the internet for free. Not to mention I've read hundreds of sci-fi novels, and can pull better names out of my head on demand.

The PVP and Co-Op stuff I will never use. Zero value to me.

An introductory campaign in an expansion? Seems like we could have used that, oh I don't know, when we were first learning to play the game. This adds zero value for me.

I'm also very disappointed that the non-tactical combat rules are not included. Apparently they are available for an additional subscription service? I think someone wants to bring microtransactions to tabletop gaming. If the game continues down this path of additional fees for basic things (non-tactical combat rules are included in Savage Worlds core rules, for example) I'm just going to stop playing.

Overall, a weak offering for $10. I wish I could get a refund.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Five Parsecs From Home - Expansion 1 - Trailblazers Toolkit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20 Quickstart
by Björn L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/14/2021 13:24:50

A free trip into a new system - a Mephisto review

A quick trip to France

Achtung! Cthulhu is a roleplaying game that started with an unusual rulebook that supported two game systems at once - the classic Cthulhu game system and Savage World - and for which there are several rule versions for Fate or PDQ, for example. Now Modiphius, however, focuses, Achtung! Cthulhu on its own rule system 2d20, and in the run-up to the two essential rulebooks, publishes a quickstart for testing first.

This quickstart consists of two parts: on the one hand, the short rules and, on the other hand, a first introductory adventure. The rules and background give a brief insight into the world of Achtung! Cthulhu and the conflict between Section M on one side and the Black Sun and the Nachtwölfe on the other, transferring the Cthulhu setting to the backdrop of World War 2.

The rule system is based on rolling d20 for tests, rolling below a difficulty. Therefore, a 1 is an excellent result, while a 20 is a bad roll, causing additional problems. The dice are rolled against the sum of an attribute and a skill. The number of successes is determined by how many d20 beat the target value. Additional successes allow players to gain Momentum, which is used to bring positive game effects into play. While two d20 are rolled by default (hence the name 2d20), Momentum points and other mechanisms can be used to gain up to three bonus dice.

Another option is giving the gamemaster Threat, a currency that the gamemaster can use to buy additional threats and complications later. Also, non-player characters can use Threat the way player characters use Momentum. Luck - in the form of Fortune - gives players additional options. Of course, the rules system of the starter focuses heavily on combat. In fights, the player characters first accumulate stress; only greater damage causes injuries. The topic of magic is only briefly touched upon in the quick starter. The possibility of casting counter-magic offers the player characters a way to ward off the dark magic of their opponents.

Another new concept in the 2d20 system is the so-called truths, which are similar to the aspects in Fate. They describe and define something in the game world, which then has rules implications. Similar to Fate, players have the ability to define truths through the use of Momentum.

A quick trip to France is a short adventure in which the player characters are sent out to France. Here, Black Sun activity has been reported and needs to be investigated. The adventure begins with the parachute drop over occupied France and with searching and contacting the resistance. Eventually, the player characters must penetrate the Black Sun's fortress, where, of course, a sinister ritual must be stopped at the last second. While the plot looks pretty archetypal, the adventure is primarily set up to introduce various rules, mechanics, and concepts, making this a good tutorial for new players. Of course, there is a small arsenal of pre-made characters (character creation rules are missing from the quick starter) that players can start with right away.

If you would like to get a first glimpse into the world of Achtung! Cthulhu and its implementation for the 2d20 system will get a great chance to get some insight here. Both the basic rules are well summarized, and the adventure offers an interesting introduction to the setting. And as this frist trip is for free, it is worth trying it out.

(Björn Lippold)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20 Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Fallout: The Roleplaying Game Core Rulebook PDF
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/12/2021 14:04:40

This corebook does a great job of detailing both the 2d20 system used to play the game as well as the Fallout World the game takes place in. I'm only passingly familiar with the World having never played the video game (Although I have played the board game) and had no issues getting the feel of the Vaults and the Commonwealth as well as the adversaries both human and otherwise.

Various quests and plenty of background are included to give a GM dozens and dozens of gaming ideas to fuel a fertile mind. At the end of the book is included a more detailed adventure. This quest is a murder mystery that gives the players an opportunity to create new characters for a long campaign or have seasoned characters come upon a town during their travels.

As always with Modiphius products the art is top notch and goes far to give readers a visual feel for the game, which further helps GMs new to the world immerse PCs in it. All in all I consider this book well worth the price of admission!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fallout: The Roleplaying Game Core Rulebook PDF
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Conan: Adventures in an Age Undreamed Of core book
by jerry s. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/12/2021 13:04:32

Good game system and some great art and fluff but, as iv heard oters say as well, the organization and layout of the rules and mechanics make this a little harder to navigate then it should.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Conan: Adventures in an Age Undreamed Of core book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Dune: Adventures in the Imperium Wormsign Quickstart Guide
by Jason I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/07/2021 09:01:28

I have not had a chance to playtest Wormsign yet.

That being said, SPECTACULAR artwork and production design. Rich sections of lore and world-buikding. As far as introductories or quick-starts... This is how how to do it.

Everything you need to get a taste for the world and for play. I ALMOST BOUGHT THE COREBOOK SIGHT-UNSEEN AFTER REVIEWING THIS I WAS SO HIGHLY IMPRESSED.

There's an art to successfully crafting a role-playing game, an art largely neglected in recent years. These folks are reviving that artform. And that is welcome.

I wish long, successful careers to everyone involved.

I hope the game plays as well as it is presented.

The world of rpg needs more pieces that inspire.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dune: Adventures in the Imperium Wormsign Quickstart Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Achtung! Cthulhu: Secret War Documents
by CD F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/06/2021 19:25:38

This really makes for a great way to get that game immersion and flesh out your adventure. I know when I filled out mine it made me think of the organiztion and the personalities behind it. The players would refer back to it and it was worth way more than the purchase price.

Please make more!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Achtung! Cthulhu: Secret War Documents
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20: Operation Falling Crystal
by Björn L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/28/2021 07:56:50

Baseball instead of battles - a Mephisto review

Operation Fallen Crystal

In the series of new adventures for Achtung! Cthulhu, in Operation Falling Crystal the player characters must travel to Scotland to investigate the discoveries of a university team. Apparently, they have managed to find a large amount of Blauer Kristall - the very substance on which the Nachtwölfe's technology is based. While players investigate the caves and find traces of the mythos, of course, their enemies appear to take possession of the find. Once again, a mythos-race also enters the scene, so players must not only survive in the underground tunnels but stand their ground between Black Sun and mythos creatures.

Again, Operation Falling Crystal is structured in a relatively typical way: At the beginning, it's all about exploration, after which the adventure plunges into action, which also leads to several battles accordingly. The interaction with the Mythos creatures is presented in an interesting way, so Operation Falling Crystal offers another exciting adventure in the current series.

(Björn Lippold)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20: Operation Falling Crystal
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20: Seventh-Inning Slaughter!
by Björn L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/28/2021 07:55:32

Baseball instead of battles - a Mephisto review

Seventh-Inning Slaughter

Far away from the action of war in Europe, Seventh-Inning Slaughter takes the player characters to a seemingly peaceful place. The scenario is based on a baseball game of the American women's league, which the president himself attends as a spectator on the occasion of Independence Day. But of course, this scenario quickly becomes a deadly danger because stranger and stranger incidents happen during the rounds of the baseball game. In the end, the goal is to stop a deadly threat that will otherwise endanger the president and the safety of America.

Seventh-Inning Slaughter offers some pre-made characters that can be used if the game master wants to involve the players more in the baseball scenario to participate in the game itself. Round by round, the game is described as it unfolds with or without the players' intervention. Also, which each round, more mysterious and later threatening things happen. In the end, the player characters must stop a dangerous ritual if the whole thing is not to end in disaster.

While Seventh-Inning Slaughter offers some good ideas, the overall adventure did not quite convince me - perhaps because I lack any connection to baseball. While the challenges in the individual rounds are interesting, they do not make much sense to me in the context of the entire adventure. On the other hand, the finale seems a bit extreme when a member of the Black Sun tries to underline his importance with a terrorist-motivated ritual.

(Björn Lippold)



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20: Seventh-Inning Slaughter!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20: Operation Vanguard
by Björn L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/28/2021 07:53:20

Fighting the Nachtwölfe - a Mephisto review

Operation Vanguard

Even before the 2d20 rulebook for Achtung! Cthulhu has been published, Modiphius already provides a series of adventures that can be played with the starter set A quick trip to Paris. In Operation Vanguard, player characters are sent out to explore a secret Nachtwölfe base in the occupied Netherlands. It is up to the player characters to contact the local resistance, scout out the location, and infiltrate the base. Due to the location and security measures, this operation is challenging. While the Black Sun cultists were the agents' antagonists in the first quick-starter adventure, this follow-up mission focuses on the activities of the Nachtwölfe. Thus, the mythos faction that plays around with alien technology is introduced.

Operation Vanguard is an adventure that emphasizes exploration and preparation, as well as combat and action. Of course, the goal here is to uncover sinister experiments being conducted by the Nachtwölfe (although, in reality, DNA that was only discovered in the 1950s, which probably will not matter for most players). Operation Vanguard is thus another introductory adventure to learn the basics of the game and introduce the player characters to another group of antagonists.

(Björn Lippold)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20: Operation Vanguard
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20: Under The Gun
by Björn L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/28/2021 07:51:13

Mythos secrets in Dover - a Mephisto review

Under the gun

The adventure Under the gun has already been published as a starter adventure for the version of Achtung! Cthulhu based on the rules of the 7th edition of Cthulhu. There is now a new edition as part of the 2d20 version of Achtung! Cthulhu. The story remains the same: the players' agents are called to Dover because mysterious caves have been found in the chalk cliffs during the building of defenses against an invasion by the Germans. The player characters first have to deal with the traumatized individuals who have been exploring these caves. After that, they travel to the scene of the mysterious find itself. Here, a battle quickly ensues with several parties having their own interests in the mythos background of this place.

Under the gun is a fitting introductory adventure that highlights two central aspects of the game: on the one hand, gathering clues and questioning people - that is, classic investigative work - and on the other hand, what is even more prominent in Achtung! Cthulhu: the fight against the powers of mythos. As an introduction to the world of Achtung! Cthulhu for the 2d20 system Under the gun is well suited. Even layout and presentation have been enhanced compared to the previous edition.

(Björn Lippold)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20: Under The Gun
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Fallout: The Roleplaying Game Core Rulebook PDF
by William B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/19/2021 15:24:47

I'm a GURPS guy and not terribly fond of the d20 in general. However, this game seems quite interesting. My group is going to, after our current game goes on its break, give this a try. It looks interesting. It has a lot of similarity to D&D 5e, but, really, in a good way. The short description is 2d20, roll low, success-counting. Each die is read separately and can generate its own successes. Successes are counted compared to a required number of Successes. Extra Successes build up Action Points which can be used to do other things. Damage is handled with specialized d6’s, but, they’re easy enough to emulate with normal d6’s. It’s like every other 2d20 system out there. Just a bit more crunch added. But, honestly, not enough crunch. But, take that with a salt-mine, I am a GURPS guy, after all.

Mechanically, the only thing I really have a problem with is the horrible "area-based" combat. It barely worked for FASERIP Marvel back in the 80's, and it doesn't work for this game. In one scene, you can shoot across a city block, in the next, you can't shoot across a room. Areas are bad. It doesn't fit for Fallout--they need to spend some time and get an actual movement/range system. Me, I'm going to be cribbing from D&D. I thought about cribbing from GURPS, but other than using hexes, D&D is a better fit.

Beyond that, the book has a bunch of errors that have been reported, but haven't been corrected yet. I did reach out to the publisher and they told me that since the game hasn't gone into full release yet, they haven't updated anything. I deeply appreciate that they took the time to answer the question of internet guy. But, the decision to not update is a bad look for the developer. If they're asking for money, this shouldn't be selling the play-test documents. At least, not without saying “hey, these are the playtest documents, if you go here you can give us feedback.” At the very least, they should have an official errata document bundled with this indicating that they are aware of the error, and will be correcting it in the future. One of the best “source books” I can suggest is getting the Fallout 4 GOTY Strategy Guide and using their cost/weight information for anything that seems hinky (because it’s probably typo’d or two columns in a table have been swapped! I’m looking at you Powered Armor table!).

All in all, the game looks interesting. Experienced GMs will have no problem fixing the bugs in this game. Much like the CRPG Fallout 4, this game will be made much better with community-provided Mods.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fallout: The Roleplaying Game Core Rulebook PDF
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Fallout: The Roleplaying Game Core Rulebook PDF
by Noah E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/14/2021 15:25:23

The book does a good job of making the game feel like a Fallout game, and despite the focus being on the Commonwealth, there is good reference to other settings and the rules are robust enough to allow you to homebrew to adapt to a different locale. The system also keeps true to lots of Fallout themes, if mildly crunch heavy. Only downside is a major lack of focus on GM rules and aids, requiring another supplement only available from the publisher as a physical supplement. Not very new GM friendly therefore and probably more of a Player's book than a Core book.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Five Parsecs From Home - Expansion 1 - Trailblazers Toolkit
by Erik R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/14/2021 08:56:57

The is the first supplement to Five Parsecs from Home, and it's a neat one. You can read the description and see what's in the pack, but it's got a good spread of tools for veterans of the core rules. A lot of difficulty toggles, ai toggles, and options that will certainly expand the life of your campaign. There are some neat tables to help name things like your ship, planets and patrons which is appreciated by this table aficionado. There are two ways to play with another person if you fancy some not so solo solo wargaming, which looks like a neat way to potentially share a universe with a friend or two. There's also an introductory campaign in this book, but to be honest, it feels out of place since everything else is aimed at veterans. It's not a bad intro by any means, but it would have been better suited to the core book.

As with the last book, the art and layout are gorgeous. Overall, it adds a lot of new options and ways to extend the life your campaigns and is well worth the 9.99 and I'm looking forward to future expansions (and Modiphius' take on Five Leagues, but that's for a different day...)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Five Parsecs From Home - Expansion 1 - Trailblazers Toolkit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Fallout: The Roleplaying Game Core Rulebook PDF
by kristine y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/12/2021 16:31:22

A book that weighs in at 438 pages. The art in the book is great and shows off the world of fallout well. The rules section is short but easy to use and understand. pc creation section is straight forword and has examples covering each part. The book contains chapters on the major companies and vualt tech. Campaign area is the commonwealth area. If you have played the video game you can tell how detailed Modiphius covered in this book. An extensive equipment section is included as are rules for scavenging and crafting. The book does a good job of covring the enemies in the game. One thing this book has is a lot of charts. It seems like there is a chart covering everything. If you have played any other 2d20 game you will pick up the rules quick. For new players they can pick up the rules with little difficulty. If you like fallout or post nuclear war settings then this book has you covered.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fallout: The Roleplaying Game Core Rulebook PDF
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Fallout: The Roleplaying Game Core Rulebook PDF
by Andrew C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/10/2021 12:31:51

Just amazing. Modiphius realy got the feel of the Fallout universe in this one.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 439 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates