DriveThruFiction.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Star Trek Adventures: Tribble Player Character (FREE)
by Stephen M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/08/2020 05:10:29

I've been waiting my entire life for this character sheet. THANK YOU :D :D :D



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures: Tribble Player Character (FREE)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Star Trek Adventures: Strange New Worlds - Mission Compendium Vol. 2 Supplement
by Stephen M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/08/2020 04:59:44

This is a pretty standard mission bo0k. a good spread of mission types and eras. But the best thing about this book is the layout and graphic design. The Art is top notch, as is usual for this awesome Star Trek RPG (this book as possibily the best of i've seen so far), but each individual mission in the book is layed out and themaned for the era that its set in! The Enterprise era layout is particulry cool. There are lots of maps, both of systems, planets, large and small ground areas and ship areas. Generally a fanstastic addition to the line.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures: Strange New Worlds - Mission Compendium Vol. 2 Supplement
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Odyssey of the Dragonlords - Character Sheet (FREE)
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2020 10:02:31

I used a paper cutter and corner cutter to make this sheet look even more fantastic.

https://photos.app.goo.gl/w9YPz9BpZgczqM1i9



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Odyssey of the Dragonlords - Character Sheet (FREE)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Star Trek Adventures Quickstart
by Eric P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/05/2020 18:03:09
  1. I may be missing the healing rules or they simply are not part of the Quickstart, which confuses me if the latter is the case.
  2. The adventure presented is rather combat heavy. It doesn't feel as much like Star Trek. I guess it would be a good introduction for people who play more combat heavy games but after seeing adventures that are true to Star Trek (e.g. The Living Campaign) I would not recommend the adventure that comes with the Quickstart.

Please understand that this is a review purely of the Quickstart and not the full product.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Vampire: The Masquerade – New Blood Starter Pack
by Nathan T S. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/05/2020 09:18:21

If you're an experienced storyteller, this is not an essential purchase. However, if you're new to V5 or storytelling in general, this is going to make the game much more accessable. Note: this kit isn't perfect. It's got some editing oversights, the story is rudimentary, and the spc's are pretty one-dimensional. However, it succeeds in putting a full session in your hands with very little preperation on the part of the players. This would be great for a four hour con event or as the start of a new chronicle to jump into with your pals. If you've ever felt intimidated by the World of Darkness and all the lore, this kit is effective at breaking down those barriers and getting you playing right away. This kit is worth $7.50, if you ask me.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Masquerade – New Blood Starter Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Vampire: The Masquerade – New Blood Starter Pack
by Rory H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/29/2020 23:31:13

A solid enough introduction to the rules and storylines of a Vampire game. Not essential if you already have the Core Rules, or even The Monsters Quickstart (which is free), but it nevertheless provides a playable scenario which captures some essential themes of the game for a relatively non-commital cost. The Character sheets provided are adapted well to summarising key information and rules on the sheets themselves, and may be useful as a formatting tool in themselves. The various files could be consolidated together into a single file with the cover included, preferably.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition
by Scott M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2020 11:38:44

Steer clear of this version of the World of Darkness, it's watered down simplified and absolutely lacking in content. Even newer content they have changed the known history of the WoD, not to mention getting rid of clans by clumping them into one clan, and getting rid of unique disciplines. Stick with Vampire 20th if you truly want to see what the world of darkness has to offer not this diluted and fairly poorly written edition.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Nibiru Character Sheet (FREE)
by William D. C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/18/2020 06:48:50

This Character sheet is awesome , and fit perfectly with the core book. rated 20/20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Nibiru Character Sheet (FREE)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Nibiru Corebook
by Tom C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/15/2020 17:52:19

So I won't bury the lead...I love this game. I love it for many reasons, but I think the reason I love it most is the Memos System that it uses for character devolpment. The systems allows players to create a past that truly informs how their character plays at the table. The backstory portion of the character is also so critical to this game that you will be creating the backstory and past over the course of the campaign not just during a session zero.

If you are looking for a unique Sci-Fi world this is also the game for you. The world of Nibiru is not like other sci-fi worlds and it feels so much different. The blending of science, weird fantasy, and Mesopotamian asthetic absolutely grabs you as you start reading. The art is also absoultey fantastic making book just nice look at. I definetly reccomend this game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Nibiru Corebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Nibiru Corebook
by Joel G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2020 22:01:34

A great concept with a decent execution. My enjoyment was somewhat hampered by a number of typos and minor textual error throughout much of the book, but none of them muddy the rules.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures: Gamma Quadrant Sourcebook
by Chris M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2020 07:54:35

I was really impressed with this sourcebook. Not only are there a lot of new ideas and hooks for gms to use for a DS9 or later era game, there are some great PC options as well. This joins the Operations division book at the top of my favorite Star Trek suppliments!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures: Gamma Quadrant Sourcebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Star Trek Adventures: Gamma Quadrant Sourcebook
by Andrew C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2020 10:58:26

Very good source book on the Dominion War on the Federation/Allies. This sourcebook has a substantial amount of backstory/lore for setting up a campaign set during the DS9 era of Trek. Stats for 12 new player races are provided as well. *Review copy provided by Modiphius



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Robert E. Howards CONAN Roleplaying Game Quickstart
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/10/2020 21:17:46

For two days, I have soloed my way through Robert E. Howard's Conan roleplaying game Quickstart using The Solo Adventurer's Toolbox. This action-packed 51 page game is free at DriveThruRPG. The game rules are interesting. The adventure included is designed for low level characters and a Dungeon Master. I used all seven of the characters provided in the module. I was able to save 13 common folk, one ox, and two horses. Just before the boss fight, I was able to recruit a shaman to join the adventuring group. The ugly = I discovered that the female mercenary had a soft side. She cried more than once when saw gruesome things. The bad = It was difficult to rest. The encounters just kept coming. The good = It would be easy to convert this adventure to other systems. So, enter the world of Conan and save the day!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Robert E. Howards CONAN Roleplaying Game Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition
by Charles S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/25/2019 14:49:21

A three star review usually means that a book was mediocre. Just ok. In this case, it doesn't. It's because some aspects of the book are great and others are terrible. Starting with the terrible: the layout is AWFUL. I could not imagine the layout being botched this badly until I saw it myself. Between changing constantly between 2 and 3 column, often with the middle column empty or almost empty, switching between white text on black and black text on white, and having white text on black on pages that you might want to print separately as references for your group, it's a complete disaster. I hope that W5 and other 5e line books do better in this respect, though I suppose they could compete to do even worse. The art is mediocre to bad. They went with this photographic art that honestly was extremely not thematic for the World of Darkness. They would have been better off either tracking down the original run Vampire artists and commissioning them or else picking entirely new artists who draw in a similar style. The art was also inserted poorly, often with little to do with the text near it, or art that is clearly meant to illustrate something but with no explanation of what. And of course, it committed the cardinal sin of the World of Darkness: it made the vampires look like dorks. From the Ventrue who forgot to zip his fly to the 8-character pieces for each clan, they just look...bad. And lame. Also on the bad list, though they insist it's intentional, is calling the Tremere "Hemetics." It's not clever, and just looks like there's a typo in "Hermetics" if you know anything about the history of the game.

The setting also has some strong negative points. The Second Inquisition is a fine idea, and I love that the Camarilla fucking up was responsible for it, but the idea that there's a conspiracy in the govenrments of the world like this that they're keeping secret is so absurd...no WikiLeaks, no "In Russia, we have no Vampires, but the US is ruled by them!" no drunken agents blabbing that they're government funded vampire hunters? I admit, I always have this problem with conspiracies that don't have a survival-based reason to stay secret, and there's a lot of them in the WoD, but I find this one particularly ridiculous.

Other setting things are really a mixed bag, but moving on, the mechanics are quite solid. Of course, they're 90% Vampire: the Requiem mechanics with 10% modifications to handle the new Hunger system, but they're streamlined and they work. They streamlined character creation a bit too much, changing it from "You have these dots, distribute them" to "Your attributes are 4, 3, 3, 3, 2, 2, 2, 2, 1, distribute them" and similar with abilities, but that's easy enough to house rule (though it does net result in lower attribute totals, which is in line with grabbing mechanics from CofD)

The best thing about the streamlined mechanics, though, is that they made Willpower into a health-type stat (I hope some types in 5e can spend Health like Willpower can be spent!) and use it for social combat (and presumably mental), and Vampire has needed a social combat system since the beginning, it significantly reduces the ludonarrative dissonance of playing characters engaged in petty politics but having no mechanics to support petty political challenges.

All in all, actually reading V5 makes me a bit more hopeful for future 5e lines. The mechanics, the thing most likely to carry through, are sound. The setting has many problems, but part of that for me is that I don't like Vampire itself very much, and neither White Wolf directly nor Modiphius is in charge of writing the core book for W5 (the only other core that has been announced), so setting details are mutable. The layout problems could continue, depending on how strict the requirement to style-match is, but I hope there's a return to traditional art, two-column pages (with sidebars instead of mid-bars...or just no sidebars, they often should just be main text sections) and consistently black text on white paper, especially for mechanics pages.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Star Trek Adventures: Call Back Yesterday
by Frederick L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/13/2019 12:47:12

This is a fun adventure that allows the players to explore their characters' backstories, particularly the career events they chose during character creation. This requires the Gamemaster to put in a little work ahead of time to make sure everyone remembers exactly which career events they chose. The Gamemaster also has to be prepared to come up with backstories for supporting cast characters if the players choose to send them on the away team (mine did).

My recommendation is for the Gamemaster to emphasize the roleplaying and character development elements of the story and let the action take a backseat. It's a well-written and coherent scenario that requires some prep work for the Gamemaster, and the group might have to invent some character backstories on the spot, but that can be a lot of fun too.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures: Call Back Yesterday
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 342 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates