DriveThruFiction.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Arms and Armor of the Stone Age
by Bill A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/14/2005 00:00:00

Very useful - I now have several NPC tribes of barbarians outfitted in unique ways. <br><br><b>LIKED</b>: One word: Chakrams.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: The description of the atlatl is incomplete. <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arms and Armor of the Stone Age
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Arms and Armor of the Stone Age
by Lisa H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2005 00:00:00

I purchased Arms & Armor of the Stone Age to get some ideas for how to model Stone Age-style weapons. It was one of two books recommended to me.

Arms & Armor of the Stone Age comes with two different versions of the pdf: one in landscape format, suitable for viewing on screen; the other, art-free and suitable for printing (being reasonably easy on the ink cartridge).

The screen version is very attractive, with the text appearing on a piece of parchment attached to a wooden board of some kind.

The book starts off immediately with tables listing the weapons covered in the book, separated into weapon types (i.e. Simple, Martial, etc.), and each table is further subdivided into Light Melee Weapons, One Handed Melee Weapons, and so on. After the tables, there are descriptions of all of the weapons, including any special rules. Interspersed through this text is artwork of the weapons or someone using a weapon.

The process is then repeated for armor and shields. After that, there is a brief section about other items and equipment available during the Stone Age, such as clothing and mounts. Finally, there's a brief list of the origins of all the weapons listed in the book. <br><br><b>LIKED</b>: The organization of the book was well done, and the desciptions of the items were very useful. The choice of the parchment color in the screen version was a good one, making it easy on the eyes to read.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: I think it would have been nice to include a bit more history about the weapons and armor, specifically about the materials used. For example, when did the use of bronze become more prevalent than bone or wood? Also, would different materials result in different damage? How much more damage would a bronze club do over that of a wooden club.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Primal Heroes: The Knave
by Derek H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/25/2005 00:00:00

A mixture of bard and rogue, this class allows the player to have a much freer hand in deciding how the PC will develop. Like the other products in this series, this has tons of options in the form of class abilities and feats. Some are taken from the two classes, but most are new or enhanced versions of existing ones (with the proper prereqs of course).

If you want flexability in class advancement, this whole series is for you.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Primal Heroes: The Knave
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Primal Heroes: The Sentinel
by Derek H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/25/2005 00:00:00

An interesting mixture of the paladin and ranger, this book allows the creation of fairly unique PCs. Like the others in the series, it gives a class table that indicates how many special abilities are gained by the class. It is up to the player to select which ability (or feat).

Some of the abilities or straight from the paladin or ranger, but most are new or are enhanced versions of existing powers (with the proper prereqs of course). It is balanced but DMs will have to keep an eye on the PC and make sure the player's choices are not going to negatively affect the PC. Being able to forage better doesn't work well in a urban setting.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Primal Heroes: The Sentinel
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks! We are always glad to hear that people are pleased with our work.
Hell on Earth (1939-1945) World War II
by Robert S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/27/2005 00:00:00

A decent supplement. While I didn't make use of many of the rules presented within, I found it a good way to add WWII technology to my game without much expense.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Some of the added feats are great, and the equipment listings are both exhaustive and sensible.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Nothing in particular. I did notice an image or two that was taken from the wrong era.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hell on Earth (1939-1945) World War II
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks! Yeah, the equipmnt chapter takes up roughly half the book. Its a LOT of material. You're right that there are a couple of images taken from another era (the Korean War, to be exact).
22 Talent Trees
by Peter M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/08/2005 00:00:00

Some really cool material here. Some of the highlights: The Quicker Than The Eye tree forfast heroes that lets you move like one of the Agents in The Matrix, the Heavy Load Talent Tree for Strong Heroes that lets them hump all that extra gear without penalty, The Intimidating Talent Tree for Charismatic Heroes, and the Selfless Talent Tree for Dedicated heroes are also pretty cool. Some of it seems a little overpowered, some of it seems a little underpowered, but the vast majority of it seems about right. To be frank, there's no reasonable excuse for some of this material NOT having been in the d20 modern basic game. (For instance, the driving tree for fast heroes, the intimidating one for charismatics, and the heavy load one for strong heroes)<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Between this product and its companion product, Another 22 Talent Trees, we get a lot of the cooler class features from D&D to play with in d20 modern. What little art did make it in here is of surprisingly good quality.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: I mention this in my review of the other one too, but my only true gripe with these products is that the layout isn't as accessable as I wish it was. <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
22 Talent Trees
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Another 22 Talent Trees
by Peter M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/07/2005 00:00:00

Some good and some bad, and the assessment of which is which is likely going to vary from GM to GM. One thing that is interesting about this is that it takes the role of "Combat Monster" out of the exclusive sphere of the physical classes somewhat. The Smart Hero Gets the Brains over Brawn tree, the Dedicated Hero gets the Dedicated Warrior and Hated Enemy trees, and the Charismatic Hero Gets the Flashy Fighter and Heroic Deeds trees. Some of this stuff is inspiring, some of it is downright scary. One thing is certain, though. With this much material added to the base game, you will find yourself wanting to get a lot more levels of those basic classes in.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: The outside-the box thinking.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Some better formatting might have helped.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Another 22 Talent Trees
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks! Yeah, the formatting is pretty basic and not very attractive. We've gotten a lot better at that since this title was released. Eventually, we'll update this title with a better layout. I'm glad you like the outside-the-box ideas, that's what I liked most about this title too.
1948: Organizations, Agencies and Secret Societies
by Michael D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/25/2005 00:00:00

A fairly large selection of Occult, intelligence, and paramilitary agencies "for use" with the d20 system.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: The groups are a mix of real and imaginary, so quite a few can be used with a minimum of tampering with history.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Absolutely no d20 information (maybe this is an advantage for some folks!) in the way that groups are presented in Urban Arcana or the Menace Manual.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
1948: Organizations, Agencies and Secret Societies
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

1948: Spy Radios and Cipher Devices
by Michael D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/25/2005 00:00:00

A short pdf of various types of clandestine radios and codebreaking equipment for use in the 1948 setting.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: For the real items, the author pays attention to historical detail.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Some missing information in charts, a section of text appears twice.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
1948: Spy Radios and Cipher Devices
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for your comments. There is no entry for the range of the two receivers on the table on page 9 because receivers do not have range. Only transmitters have range. Receivers must be within the range of a transmitter to pick up a signal. I was not able to locate the text that appears twice. If you can e-mail us and pin-point the double text, we will be sure to remove it from the revised version (coming soon).
Wilderness Traps
by Chris H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2005 00:00:00

This is a nice, brief, focused PDF that provides some helpful ideas for outdoors traps. The traps described are pretty basic--but then, they're supposed to be constructible with materials that can be found in the wilderness. Which brings up the product's biggest weakness, I'd say: where are people out in the wild getting all those spiked boards, or for that matter, boards of any kind? The traps need to be a little bit "wilder" in that regard. Most any DM could come up with similar traps independently, but for a few dollars the work is done for you, and I find that very convenient. Each trap is also illustrated with a sketch, which helps me visualize it.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Convenience of having the traps ready-made.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Some didn't seem "wilderness" enough; they seemed to rely on manufactured or refined products (boards) and couldn't be built by characters on the fly.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Wilderness Traps
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Creator Reply:
Yeah. There are two traps that mention "Boards." However, the Lever Trap doesn't really need a board at all. A large stick about the size of a broom handle will work too. For the Folding Door Trap, any sort of reasonably flat piece of wood will work. You would probably need to use a hatchet to trim down a piece of wood to the appropriate shape, but I don't think you really need a manufactured board to build it.
Primal Heroes: The Savage
by Derek H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2005 00:00:00

This is a very cool class that is similar to the generic classes in Unearthed Arcana. Unlike those, this file contains tons of abilities, many new, to customize the savage. Thumbs way up. I can't wait to see what the next class is going to be like.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Primal Heroes: The Savage
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks! Personally, I feel it is a little flawed because there are several cool abilities that didn't make the final cut. But overall, I would have to agree with you. This system of character design is pretty cool. Next up: The Sentinel.
Arms and Armor of the Stone Age
by Patrick T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/05/2005 00:00:00

Well, for the cost, I can't complain much. I did find a significant number of editorial oversights, spelling errors, and so forth. Also, I wasn't knocked over with the quality of the art. I think it looks anywhere from bland to just poor. Also, I found that this was a more Broze Age supplement than really a Stone Age one. I was thinking "Quest for Fire" more than "Barbarians of the Greek/Egyptian times", but that's okay. A few things: no rules for breakage/wear when using bone/stone/bronze/wooden implements, no "downside" to these inferior technologies in terms of damage, and no "really" barbaric weapons or tools.

It was an interesting effort, and there are a few useful weapons and armor types in here, but overall, I would have preferred a more in-depth and well sorted product, even had it cost significantly more to download<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Cheap, a few neat items<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Bad art, poor illustrations, incomplete vision of the topic, not exactly what it advertises<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Disappointing<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Arms and Armor of the Stone Age
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Hero's Handbook
by Evan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/22/2005 00:00:00

Very, very helpful to my campaign! I couldn't have bought a better file from here!<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Wilderness Traps
by Arjen L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/21/2005 00:00:00

Nice document. Useful if you are really starved for trap ideas, but if you are not, you will probably be able to come up with most ideas mentioned in Wilderness Traps yourself. But then, it's a cheap little booklet, so it's not like you are wasting oodles of cash if you grab it.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Wilderness Traps
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Another 22 Talent Trees
by Todd F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/05/2005 00:00:00

More fleshing out to try "tweaking" your campaign to the flavor or style one wants. Even if one doesn't like all the talents, they still are great starts for more and more ideas.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Very adaptive to any campaign<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Less red ink on the covers would be a lil more printer friendly.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Another 22 Talent Trees
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Displaying 76 to 90 (of 135 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates