DriveThruFiction.com
Browse Categories
$ to $







Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Valor Knights GM Screen
by Rick H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/04/2024 02:35:52

This is a review of the digital version only. The four interior easy-to-read panels are (1) devoted to a lexicon, (2) key rules & concepts (core mechanic, difficulties, attributes) (3) time, distance, & movement, Luck points, random chart of Chaos Lord / npc traits, and (4) an adventure generator. The outside panels (at least one of which is displayed on this product's page) all showcase full color art by Jacob Blackmon. Basically, the "sweet spot" VK rules and Jacob Blackmon's amazing art are a match made in giant robot nerdvana and this is a fantastic addition to the VK/Champions of the ElectroCube line.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Valor Knights GM Screen
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
COCAINE OWLBEAR (or FANTASY WOODLAND COCAINE HEIST CREW)
by Michael I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2023 12:52:19

If this sounds AWESOME to you, do yourself a favor and pick it up! If you are on the fence, does Honey Heist rpg sound too childish but the concept seems fun? Then you WANT this game! PERFECT for a one shot where too many players are missing for your regular game. VERY simple rules, easy character creation, adult humor, everything you expected from this title!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
COCAINE OWLBEAR (or FANTASY WOODLAND COCAINE HEIST CREW)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Goatlands Omnibus
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/21/2023 17:51:45

Spiders on the Storm is a fun fantasy adventure for Fifth Edition D&D, but I used A Dungeon Game (50 pages, DriveThruRPG, free/pay what you want). This spider adventure is the first adventure in this set of adventures. I used GEMulator as my solo engine. I created five first level characters. Each had one spell, two weapons, and no armor.

So, the first thing the PCs had to deal with was a nasty storm. My undertaker character took damage from the mudslide and then died drowned during the flood. When they arrived at Archway, they had to deal with two giant spiders. My gambler character got bitten twice and died because of the poison. The other three PCs did kill one of the giant spiders. The other one was hit with a beast friend spell and it retreated. At this point, Tulak joined the group (he had been living at Archway). He was the one that had the antitoxin potions. The PCs then tracked the spiders back to their den. In the den, they had to fight two giant spiders and a Ettercap. Shea the astrologer went down because of two spider bites. Tulak healed her and cured her of the poison. The loot was pretty good. They found copper, silver, electrum, gold, three potions, and an oil of slipperiness. Give this a try!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Goatlands Omnibus
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
[M&M3e] Smol Sidekicks: A Guide to Super Pets
by Sean V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/10/2022 20:43:45

Great fun read and very useful. Lots of amazing art.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
[M&M3e] Smol Sidekicks: A Guide to Super Pets
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
[Savage Worlds] Youniversal Monsters Omnibus
by Sergio P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/07/2022 07:51:27

The content of the PDF is pretty interesting, diferent options for the monsters and even some adventure ideas. Am having problems with the version downloadable from the DTRPG app, the text shows up as boxes and its unreadable. Initially I believed it was the PDF itself but if I download it directly from the website it works just fine. Good material, sadly its not functional on the DTRPG app, maybe reupload it and test the font embeding?

I wasnt sure how to reply to the follow up so I edited my review, the problem appears to be related to the file on the app itself I think. I work on a laptop and the file WORKS just fine if open by Chrome. It is Nitro AND Adobe that seem unable to open it. Also this problem doesnt happen if I download the file directly from DTRPG.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
[Savage Worlds] Youniversal Monsters Omnibus
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
I wasn't aware of a DTRPG app. Is it possible you're having trouble reading the pdf on your phone but it works ok on your laptop?
pixel_trans.gif
OK - I've been looking but haven't been able to find a DTRPG app. I've contacted my layout person and they're giving the pdf a second look.
pixel_trans.gif
[SUPERS] Extreme Earth Campaign Setting
by Yann E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/04/2022 04:20:38

Hello,

I like the setting in that PDF and they are really good ideas inside. Still this is a 3 for me and here's why:

  • there are several errors on several NPCs
  • members of the Wolfpack are supposed to be playable by gamers but none are built with the same budget in dice.
  • the authors indicate that supplements will come out to address more in depth Mantis and the Pantheon but ultimately nothing has been done.

As it stands, we have a very good implementation of the Supers Revised Edition role-playing game in a dark universe, but if we want to play something other than Fist, it will require additional work from the gamemaster.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
[SUPERS] Extreme Earth Campaign Setting
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Blaster Bolts #1
by DALE [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/01/2022 21:29:56

I enjoyed this Fun Product. Makes me want to play White Star. I am a person of few words and they are making me type at least 50 characters - so here are my extra words.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blaster Bolts #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
[ICONS] Improbable Villains Compilation
by Andrew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/01/2022 00:16:25

I love super-games, and really love pre-generated character compilations. This work is a welcome addition to my ICONS library, with truly great ideas and art- marred only by some really unfortunate GSP errors. They were the only reason I went with four stars- great work, otherwise!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
[ICONS] Improbable Villains Compilation
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Pew Pew! For a Few Credits More
by Don A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2022 10:34:45

It's amazing how much play value has been stuffed into this relatively small package. The adventure table generator alone makes it worth the purchase price. With just a few d6 rolls, your head will be spinning from all of the cool ideas it has sparked.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pew Pew! For a Few Credits More
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
[Savage Worlds Adventure Edition] The After
by Jeffrey R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/18/2021 16:09:27

Finally got a hard copy of the book. The interior looks great as does the cover. PLenrt of cool information inside on the world of The After. DEfinetly a game I want to play



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
[Savage Worlds Adventure Edition] The After
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Jeff - Terribly sorry that happened to you. I've had some problems myself with OBS POD orders in the last year. I understand you've been in communication with Jon Gibbons. At his direction, I just now ordered you a new copy of the softcover edition of the book. With current printing and shipping times - looks like the eta would be 6 to 8 weeks. Again - sorry this happened to you. Let us know when the replacement arrives and if there are any problems with it. Of course, if you'd like, please feel free to work with DriveThruRPG Customer Service to resolve the issues with your original order.
pixel_trans.gif
Jeff we sent another replacement. This time hardcover. Please let us know if it arrived.
pixel_trans.gif
[Savage Worlds Adventure Edition] The After
by Thomas E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/11/2021 09:10:24

A beautiful world, described in detail without getting repetitive or overburdening, and with great mechanics to support the overall feeling ingame. I love the stress tag system which handles deteriorating equipment. While being super lightweight, it still creates a sense of scarcity. The After is easily one of my favourite settings.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
[Savage Worlds Adventure Edition] The After
by Péter A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/04/2021 08:45:11

I love the concept of this book! ("If aliens visit us, the outcome would be much as when Columbus landed in America, which didn't turn out well for the Native Americans.") After an alien invasion and the fight between 2 alien races (named Butchers and Ghosts) using Earth as a battleground, human survivors need to rebuild civilization.

The changes that the invasion(s) have done to Earth, and the new playable races are interesting: 2 alien "slave" races (the towering Helots and the bug-like Skav) and Changed (humans who have mutated due to the exposure to alien bio-weapons). Of course, simple Humans are playable too.

The setting has 3 distinct Arcane Backgrounds, each of which feels very different than the others. It has interesting gazetteer detailing different towns, factions and breach zones. It also has cool new rules for gear (item stress). Speaking of gear, some of the invaders' gear was left on Earth and they can be found and used as well.

The artwork of this book is amazing. It has an "adverseries" chapter which is a bestiary where each monster has their own picture and the look really good. So few SW products have this, and I just love that this one does.

It also has 4 pre-written adventures, and one of them has 6 pre-gens as well.

It is a very high quality product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
[Savage Worlds Adventure Edition] The After
by Bart Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/03/2021 10:43:03

The after is a post-apocalyptic alien style campain mostly comparable with titles as 'roadside picnic' or the movie 'annihilation'. The book is filled with amazing art, a well thought out setting, rich with lore and it's own set of gritty rules, and unique gear and powers such as mutations and alien artifacts. Recommended if you want to play in a clearly unique post-apocalyptic world.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
[Savage Worlds Adventure Edition] The After
by Leslie A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2021 16:32:56

My daughter was interested in playing an rpg with a post-apocalyptic setting, as the Fallout franchise is one of her favorites, so I began researching games in the genre. The After was different enough from the rest of the herd to catch my eye and the rest of the gaming group was willing to give it a chance. I've been running the game weekly for several months now, and everyone is quite happy with it.

I think the rest of the reviews here are spot on, so go read those for an overview. I'll try and avoid repeating what was said before and concentrate on my own personal feelings and experiences.

The vibe I get from the game, and the vibe that it seems to impart to the players, is that of D&D. Not D&D as I see it now, exactly, but as I saw it circa 1980 - new, fresh, wide-eyed explorers and adventurers striking out into the unknown for riches and adventure. The scarcity of equipment, the lack of complex machinery, and the Item Stress system emphasize a grittiness - a closeness to the environment - even if that environment is very harsh. And the absolute craziness and inventiveness of the Butcher and Ghost tech seem to revitalize the same old same old feeling of the D&D magic items we've all become accustomed to over the decades.

The players have really taken the author's suggestions to heart and become deeply involved with the people of The After. They've built up a salvage business and traded with the community of Chapter. They have jockeyed for leadership positions within the Posthuman faction. They have had romances and marriages. They have had a hockey game with a rival salvage business. One player even wrote and starred in her own one-woman show in the local playhouse.

The game developers have done a wonderful job of painting just enough of the world to get their point across and left huge areas for the players and I to exercise our creativity. As a GM, I'm fascinated with the Ghosts themselves, and how their technology works. It makes just about anything I can think up fit into the world. And since this is Savage Worlds, I can dump people, creatures, and items from Deadlands, Rifts, Lankhmar and others. Oh, and Deadlands: Lost Colony has a treasure trove of beasties to throw into the mix.

Later, I intend on dropping Expedition to the Barrier Peaks (AD&D Module S3) straight into the campaign. Why? Well, it's a favorite D&D module of mine and fits perfectly thematically. And it will be easy. I've got most of the monster stats right here in my Savage Pathfinder bestiary.

I'm also very interested in the real-life place the setting is based on - the Wind River Range up in Wyoming. I've spend quite a bit of time exploring the area in 3d on Google Earth, and watching hiking vidoes on Youtube covering the area. I have a strong desire to go there now. It's beautiful.

One note about the physical product. I grabbed the softcover of the book. One of my players bought the hardcover. While the softcover is perfectly servicable, the hardcover is just so darn pretty. I'm jealous.

So thanks to the developers for creating and publishing this game. It's a setting I never thought I'd be interested in until I saw the possibilities. Five stars and all that.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Agents of BAMF
by Anthony D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/24/2021 10:29:55

In short:

As a backer of this on Kickstarter, I'm disappointed in this. The premise had such potential, but in the end, it feels like nothing more than an OSR grab on the coattails of the Hellboy RPG Kickstarter with bad writing and desperate need of an editor.

As a fan of the genre, this brought nothing new to the table, and was an abbreviated Black Hack with minimal heroic flavoring. As someone who's growing increasingly burned out on (and burned by) OSR and the OSR/d20 approach to heroes, this didn't help. There isn't anything new here for the genre or style of play; the opportunity was there and it was dropped.

As an editor, I cringed every time I turned a page: inconsistent writing, missing or an overabundance of punctuation, and a poor background color choice make this an unpleasant to read title at best and impossible to read at worse.

If you're a die-hard OSR fan, you might find some enjoyment here. Otherwise, I cannot recommend this to anyone.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Agents of BAMF
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Anthony, Please contact me directly on the Kickstarter and i'll give you a full refund. Also - really wish you'd reached out with your concerns earlier. We did at least two revisions of the pdf incorporating feedback from KS backers. Are you sure you are looking at the latest pdf? If you missed our revisions, perhaps you didn't get the latest download with those changes. Might be worth a check. Also - just for the record - we never claimed to be do anything new with the Black Hack. We were very specific (it's said 3x on the main KS page) that we're using Hack the RPG by Eric Bloat. This is an OSR ruleset that is a hybrid combination of The Black Hack by David Black and The Blackest of Deaths Game System by Eric Bloat. I can understand your disappointment and your desire to see something new in the OSR space. But we never once anywhere on the KS page claimed we were doing that. We were very clear that we were using Hack the RPG and just adding 3 new classes. In any case, sorry you were disappointed. Please reach out and I'll give you a full refund.
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 72 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates