DriveThruFiction.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Hero 9 to 5 #9: Disposable Heroes
by Katherine P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/13/2019 15:05:23

While it will no doubt be most fully enjoyed by those who've read everything that came before, as the echoes of the Quietus arc are felt, this first issue of Disposable Heroes arc of Hero 9 to 5 is a feasible jumping-on point to new readers: and instantly recognizable to anyone who has ever gone near a certain type of convention. Or certain types of online forums, for that matter. But the recognizability goes beyond the tee-hee of familiarity with a trope of superhero comics or of fandom. Hero 9 to 5 continues to satirize the world beyond the genre, and there is something recognizable in its own way about innocent bystanders being gorily attacked, perhaps fatally, right in front of the world's greatest heroes, in the time it takes to ascertain who will be paid to save the day. The issue includes distinctive character-driven artwork, a consistent color aesthetic, and seamless lettering.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero 9 to 5 #9: Disposable Heroes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Boudicca
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/14/2018 06:00:00

150+ pages. A superb retelling of the legend of Boudica, the Queen of the Iceni Celtis in Roman Britian. This cleaves close to the legends we have all heard with the addition of some interesting (and some hated! [we are supposed to hate them]) characaters.

The art is fantastic and each character is carefully crafted.

For the history buff there are plenty of little "Easter Eggs". The "Bar Bar Bar!" was a favorite. I paid $4.00, but printed it would be worth a lot more.

If you are a fan of the story, the time or of Celtic Britain, then this is a must buy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Boudicca
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

The Lady & The Lost World #1: The Mexican Mystery
by Katherine P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2018 03:26:55

This first issue of Lady and the Lost World was, in the tradition of some of the best first issues of things, concisely informative and engaging, neither talking down to the reader nor obfuscating. The historical mystery was intriguing and the villainy unsettling but human. The art was very good, but especially captivating in the villain scenes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Lady & The Lost World #1: The Mexican Mystery
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Hero 9 to 5 #1
by Ric C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2018 22:27:28

Wow, this was great! B or C list heroes working for a company. I like the story of Flame O, who works for Heroes For Zeroes. After reading #1 I want more. I like what happens after the hero captures the "viilian." The art and writing was fantastic. I will be looking for more to read from AAM/Markosia.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero 9 to 5 #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Hypergirl Trade
by Mikael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/02/2018 04:02:03

Simplistic plot, flat characters, cartoonish crayonlike drawing style ...

It just ... mediocre



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Hypergirl Trade
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Hero Killer #3
by Roderick Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/16/2017 09:25:27

This is essentially an NYPD Blue story, where a rogue detective carries an obsession with investigating a serial killer that is picking off members of the Justice League. Art is mediocre, but story pacing and suspense keeps it interesting. Some thoughtfully absurd elements here as well, such as the manner in which a casket is handled and buried at the funeral for titular hero.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Killer #3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Slaughterman's Creed Trade
by Aaron M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/24/2017 18:04:03

Highly enjoyable. It was a deep plunge into a dark world of human trafficking. Would definately recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Slaughterman's Creed Trade
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

The Indifference Engine #1
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/29/2015 21:32:27

An interesting premise for a story. Definitely makes the reader interested in finding out what came before and what's going happen next.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Indifference Engine #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Serial Artist #1
by jeffrey v. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/14/2015 13:54:40

I'm not into reading about the torture of women. I didn't even finish it.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Serial Artist #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Bloodfellas #1
by jeffrey v. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/19/2015 14:21:37

Good concept, appealing art and story. I would have to read more before I could make a decision to give it a permanent spot on my limited reading list.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Bloodfellas #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

The Young Sherlock Holmes Adventures Trade
by Eddy W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/15/2014 18:11:28

A charming (if moderately inconsistent) reimagining of Sherlock Holmes. The trade is set in an alternative steampunk world, where Sherlock Holmes runs around with his friend James Moriarty (!). There are some new characters introduced as well, including a female Indian character who is sadly more of a stereotype than a compelling character in her own right. It's not remotely close to the original stories, but it's a fun adventure in its own right.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Young Sherlock Holmes Adventures Trade
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

The Vessel of Terror Trade
by Flames R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/08/2014 20:24:20

ARRGH! Shiver me spine and turn on the lights, this is one creepy sea monster comic by the team of Aspli and Acosta! Okay, well wait can I technically say sea monster? Yeah I can say that but I need to add some Lovecraft style to it so let say Sea Cthulhu. The artwork in this book is just above and beyond on a few levels. I will point out some parts where angles seemed odd which is the reason I did go a little lower on the score, but people seriously, one artist… 2 different styles… and he delivered on a scare factor that is rarely done in comic books.

The story telling at first seemed jumpy, until I really got what was going on. There are 2 stories being told here and they work so well in the way they break each other up. Now I am not a Lovecraft aficionado, I know the basic of the basics, but I do know that when I read a story with these themes, they typically have an ending that makes me happy and puzzled at the same time. This book was no exception. I was so satisfied with how it ended but, is there more to come? What happened to _____? Oh you tricky writers and your great storytelling. This book is worth every penny you pay for it.

I feel horrible having it sit in the review pile for as long as I did, because now I have to sing its praises after it has been released. Plain and simple Lovecraft fans, Slasher Fans and Monster Fans this one is a must own.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Vessel of Terror Trade
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Midnight Kiss #1
by Keith M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/06/2014 03:22:24

Nice art, an interesting story in the urban fantasy genre.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Midnight Kiss #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Cancertown 2: Blasphemous Tumours
by Volkamenia V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/17/2013 17:46:47

Agh I love it. Admittedly it starts off a little slow, but there's enough things going on that kept me flipping to the next page. I'm glad I did.

The art struck me as a little rough at first, but after getting used to it it didn't matter. I think it was the choice of colouring... But overall it doesn't detract from the story. My favorite part by far was the clever and distinct character dialogue. The writer really knows how to capture this.

I intend to go buy the first Cancertown soon. Despite the fact that I hadn't read it, I found it very easy to pick up on what was going on. Props for that.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cancertown 2: Blasphemous Tumours
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Reya: Chapter One
by Volkamenia V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/17/2013 17:36:10

I was kind of surprised when I bought this... I'm familiar with the quality of AAM/Markosia's stuff, and I've got to say that I'm kind of surprised that this was published. The lack of backgrounds, the strange anatomy and the lack of any sort of tones in the work really make it look more like someone's first web-comic/manga attempt than a publishable graphic novel.

The inking is nice. But I think it could benefit from more varied line weight, especially if you aren't going to draw backgrounds. It makes your characters look like they're just floating around in a void, and they blend into the void since the lines are rather thin. One of the majorly jarring things I noticed is that everyone suffers from 're arr rook saaame'.. cough. That is, the facial structures of hte characters don't vary in the slightest. The older people are only distinguished from the younger by a couple of additional lines on their faces. It's a bit jarring! Some study would help there, and I'm sure it'd help iron out the inconsistencies from panel to panel.

The story... Is okay. I mean. It's what you expect from reading the blurb I guess. Not the best, but not the worst. I'll be reading 4, 5 and 6 soon, so I'm hoping to see some improvement.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Reya: Chapter One
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 20 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates