DriveThruFiction.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
100 People In The Club
by Imogen G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/23/2022 14:41:22

Funny and approachable, easy-to-use, full of great inspiration, and an incredibly handy resource--not just for modern games if you, like me, see the fun in quickly adapting "Kinky Math Teacher" to a standard medieval fantasy setting. The book encourages you to scribble notes in it and make it your own, and I can't wait to pick up a print copy, but it's easy to print the PDF for personal use in the meantime. Absolutely worth buying and browsing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 People In The Club
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

#iHunt: Player's Companion and Quickstart
by Sean C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/27/2022 15:49:25

Have read the novel and am making my way through the PDF of the full game now--loving both. This distilled intro/quickstart is every bt as appealing and exciting. I might not use every term and jokey name (Evileenas as a template name might not get a laugh at my table), but in the vast majority of the writing is sharp, spare, and clever. This is going to be a fun game to play!

This is an excellent teaser for the full game and will be a good book to bring to the table for players. I bought the print version, BTW...can't wait for main game to hit print.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#iHunt: Player's Companion and Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

#iHunt: Killing Monsters in the Gig Economy
by Sean C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/30/2021 10:07:09

This is a damned good book! Grounded in the real world, you see that the poverty is the real enemy here, and jusr how precarious the gig life can be...and that's before you throw in the monsters! Great characters, great writing, and an overall fun yet thoughtful book!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#iHunt: Killing Monsters in the Gig Economy
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

#iHunt The RPG Zine 20 - Jesus Wept
by John M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/01/2021 22:28:12

A fun and very thematic supplement that serves as an homage to Barker as well as offering a new type of enemy that diverges greatly from the previously iterated-upon demons. The short fiction absolutely nails and encapsulates the theme of material, and it offers a fun new type of character option. Might not necessarily be for all games, but it's still crazy cool, and I can't wait until it's part of a print collection.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#iHunt The RPG Zine 20 - Jesus Wept
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

#iHunt: The RPG
by John M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/01/2021 15:58:15

An absolutely phenomenal take in a crowded arena of monster hunting TTRPGs, this book has tons of charisma and attitude. It's actually my first foray into bothering to learn FUDGE-y/FATE-adjacent rules, so it's going to take me at least another read-through to grasp all the gameplay concepts that've been presented in the book, but that's every new system for me anyhow, so no big deal there. The transitions between pre-chapter prose and each particular section seemed meaningful and well thought-out, and apart from a couple of simple spelling mistakes that can easily be rectified before the book hits physical print, I'm excited to dig deeper into this game and run it for my characters, and it's rare that I get so enthusiastic that I immediately want to figure out a new system as badly as I want to learn the one this is predicated on so I can run it. Absolute kudos to Machine Age Productions, you'll be getting more of my monthly TTRPG money in the future for sure!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#iHunt: The RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

#iHunt: The RPG
by Kyle T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/03/2021 13:56:12

The game is mechanically Fate, so if you're already familiar with the Fate system it has all the good and bad associated with that. I like the Imperil mechanic and fully intend to use it in other games, but the real strengths (and weaknesses) of the book are in its setting and portrayal.

Authorial style sometimes interfered with engaging me in the setting. The writing outside of mechanics explanations (which is dry and technical as expected) is a kind of vulgar BuffySpeak, like a mixture of the writing in the Buffy Cinematic Unisystem Core and Vincent Baker in kill puppies for satan. It works best when it leans closer to the latter than to the former, most often in the later sections of the game and those that speak about GMing and tabletop RPG philosophy. Earlier chapters lean more towards the BuffySpeak and were a bit embarrassing to read. Sometimes this bleeds into mechanical choices like renaming the Fate milestones "Selfies" with categories like "Big Mood." It's a bit cringe.

The most interesting parts are the least developed - The #iHunt app and its origins, other hunting organizations, San Jenaro as a city, and some of the sample monsters all show a lot of promise and innovation on the standard urban fantasy monster groups, and I especially liked the Van Helsings as privileged trust fund kids who don't get the same struggle #iHunters go through. I want to see more of this, and in this regard I think Fate and its demand for group-defined and collaborated settings are a bad choice. I want more of the contents of Hill's brain here, not a prompt, and not in the novels. A full supplement for San Jenaro would be excellent.

The sections on poverty work well as descriptions of poverty in the US generally but could use more direct information on how to integrate these elements at the table within the chapters themselves, perhaps as sample Aspects and Consquences and Advantages. My chief concern is that it would be easy to ignore them in the way groups generally ignored Blood Pool in Vampire The Masquerade: Fun to focus on occasionally but generally ignored and assumed as a framing device for the action.

Graphic design works well for infographics like describing the character sheet and for artwork of the advertising used by the app but occasionally interferes with the otherwise-traditional two-column format of the book by excessive use of bolding on pages that draw the eye away from the rest of the text.

Overall I think it's an interesting premise and spin on monster-hunting and urban fantasy but is not yet distinguishing itself much on a mechanical or setting level. With either a more focused system than Fate or a willingness to dig into the setting's conceit and provide more detail I think it could be excellent, but right now I'll just be harvesting bits and pieces for other games.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
#iHunt: The RPG
by Oral W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/11/2021 21:20:57

One of the best narrative driven games I've ever played. I greatly enjoy the message of desperation and poverty built into every aspect of this game. The writers are awesome too.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#iHunt: The RPG
by Matthew C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/15/2021 15:45:27

I don't believe in strictly defined types of players, but if I did I'd say that iHunt has something for old school and newer types of player alike.

The basic set-up is the timeless classic "Urban Monster Hunting", but with a nice new take on it. The familiar 'quest acquisition and completion' parts of RPG play dovetail incredibly well with the very modern "gig-economy" phenomenon (this sort of synergy between theme and mechanics is my JAM).

It also unashamedly wears its queer identity on its sleeve and even if (like me) you aren't part of the LGBT community, games like this are a refreshing change from yet more "Gruff McStubble vs Callous Darkpast" fantasy stories we've all played 1000 times before.

The book LOOKS fantastic, easy to read but also chock full of style (the in-universe corporate advertising is disconcertingly realistic), and the contents and tone really help ground what it must be like to be a person in its world. The focus on people allows the game to say important things about poverty and inequality without taking you out of the setting or sounding like a lecture. This 'Very Human' feel also lends itself to running versatile types of game, from fluffy character-focussed stuff to high-lethality monster-horror.

tl;dr - Fresh twist on classic RPG set-up, something for everyone. Recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#iHunt: The RPG
by Irene B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/17/2020 00:10:56

This book is written by millennials, for millennials and it is powerd by FATE CORE. The core premise of the adventure is that the players are a group of monster hunters who use the #iHunt app to hunt down monsters in a gig economy. Think Uber or Lyft, but with a dash of Supernatural/Buffy/whatever Monster of the Week TV show you watched growing up. Its layout is easy to read and beautifully well done. It translates very well on to a mobile screen, which cannot be said about a lot of other PDFs that were not designed specifically for mobile screens.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#iHunt: The RPG
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/17/2020 09:39:22

I haven't had a chance to play yet, but I am working on getting a group together for that purpose. Having gone through the rules though, it seems like a strong game with a lot to say, and a bit of poignant commentary thrown in to really give you a sense of what this is about. It is shamelessly and unapologetically direct about the world in which the game is set (and about the world in which we live) and through that tone is able to give a strong sense of why iHunt really is a necessary addition to the large pantheon of RPGs.

They say that gaming is for everyone, and while that is "true" the reality is that for so long marginalized groups have been given the short end of the stick, be it through outdated depictions and representations or through interactions with GMs and other players. As a personal experience being LGBTQ, there is always a struggle of whether it is safe to come out to any given table. While that is always a risk no matter what is played, iHunt's themes really set things up in such a way as to make those within marginalized groups feel that they are welcome by the very nature of the game itself. That is not to say that the game is only enjoyable to people with those experiences, but there is something special about a game that focuses on those (for lack of a better word) categories, rather than just including them as some sort of diversity checkbox.

To keep this review from going on longer, I will just say this: I haven't been this excited to play something in a very long time.

Also, you should check out the iHunt novels. While not necessary for playing the game, they are a fantastic read and can give quite a bit of inspiration.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#iHunt: The RPG
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/08/2020 14:25:57

Look, this is a game book that realizes half the crap in a game book are completely unneeded. It starts in the middle of the action, with fiction pieces that hit like trucks, and a street up view of life in poverty. Olivia Hill gets it.. #iHunt gets the struggle. You're not the hero, you're poor schlub getting paid to do the crap work no one wants to handle, for practically nothing. You're the Uber driver mopping vomit off your car seats, except it's werewolf blood, zombie vomit and pixie shit, and instead of your car seat, it's your face and clothes. Even if you look past the setting fluff, the rules are solid and narratively driven.

The Fate System, which is flexible and functional at every level, allows for improvisation, and genre savvy theatrics without much preparation. The list of skills are expansive, and while there is some broad overlapping among them, each ability feels distinct and useful. The four "kinks" are each unique and valuable, but not reliant upon each other, unlike other systems where a "balanced" team is absolutely essential for survival. Stunts, skill tricks and role based powers, are incredibly powerful, and thus beyond valuable.

As I said, the fluff of this book is fantastic, and the the book itself is an easy read. I consumed all 335 pages at a run, laughing at the realistic, and unabashedly honest language. Inclusivity is outright stated as a goal, while fascists are outright being given the boot; a design choice that I applaud. Seriously, if you're debating buying this book, get off the fence and buy it; you won't regret it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#iHunt: The RPG
by Daniel D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/26/2020 19:20:21

This game accurately represents the terror of looking at your bank account while using vampires to represent the blood-sucking soul-lessness of capitalism.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#iHunt: Killing Monsters in the Gig Economy
by Curse o. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2020 20:01:09
iHunt Killing Monsters in the Gig Economy by Olivia Hill (@machineiv)

I've been ridiculously excited to get a taste of Hill's #iHunt world since I first saw previews for the #iHunt roleplaying game, which has been on my play and review list, the Spreadsheet of Many, which has taken some serious knocks over the past year, for too long, but I'm hoping to get to play soon! So, when I saw Hill's #iHunt Pandemic Free offer I could not download this novel fast enough or be more thankful now than I did!

Unfortunately, my partner and I are both in the at-risk group for Corvid, so when they developed a cough after visiting family not a few weeks before the UK lockdown it meant solo isolation. Solo isolation for two disabled people who are each other's carer fucking sucks. My partner was in the bedroom and I was sleeping on couch cushions with a sleeping bag in the spare room, doing everything around the house to keep us going and seriously worrying about their health. It was hell, but I was so incredibly grateful to have this book to look forward to every night. Every night I would read until I could not stay awake, unwilling and unable to stop reading until my body made the decision for me. I was given countless contusions from dropping my tablet on my face because I was absolutely captivated and could not put it down until it dropped from my hands. I am sure I would have broken my nose and lost teeth if not for the protection afforded by my sleep apnoea mask!

The point I am making is this book actually helped me through a genuinely awful time. I will always be unbelievably thankful to Hill for that.

Despite being about hunting vampires and the wider supernatural world adjacent to our own, this is the most honest and true reflection of the life as I know it and you are almost certainly living. Hill’s writing style is infectious, Lana is a captivating character painted with warts and all, and I genuinely felt every emotion on this wild ride. I cannot express how vindicating and heartening (and depressing, but that’s the world’s fault not Hill’s) it was to see the world I live in and see it discussed so candidly.

The tea here is absolutely scalding and I am here for it!

In a world filled with countless vampire properties, it is so refreshing to have a story that is not trying to take the monster away from the abusive and…well monstrous things vampires are and represent. The vampires for the most part are adjacent to the story anyway. This is Lana’s story. This is her world and her difficult job she has trained for and dedicated her life to. It comes with huge risks, expenditures and uncertainty, which I see many parallels to the life of a creator in this age of the gig economy and the lack of support for the arts. I know a book is something special when I have already ordered the next one less than halfway through! I cannot express how excited this makes me to play the roleplaying game and devoured the novel series!

While comparison’s can be drawn to True Blood, Supernatural and Buffy the Vampire Slayer (more on that in The Chosen One), I believe that is only seeing the set dressing and supernatural markers, doing an incredible disservice to the world Hill has created with #iHunt. I think the core of Lana’s tale is far more akin to Breaking Bad, Better Call Saul and The Wire; brutally honest, if extreme, stories of the lives many are forced or feel the need to lead in our absurd and cruel society.

This truly was not like anything I had read before and, honestly, I was not expecting it of a novel tied to a roleplaying game, but I am absolutely thrilled to be wrong!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#iHunt: Killing Monsters in the Gig Economy
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

#iHunt: The RPG
by William W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/19/2020 20:44:07

A very well produced present day monster hunter setting for FATE. My group is having a lot of fun in our ongoing playtests. iHunt makes some clever additions to the system - an Edge mechanic makes enemies more lethal until the PCs wrest it away from them, for example, and characters are advanced with Selfies.

I found the layout a bit distracting, but I'm a grognard who grew up with much drier and less colorful/dynamic RPG books, so consider the source. There's also no Index at the end, which I always look for. The writing is conversational and occasionally fierce, and takes a hard look at our present day world through the filter of hunters struggling to survive the monster of capitalism. More conservative players won't appreciate it. I did.

Overall I think it's a fine example of art imitating life. I'm not exactly the target audience for it, but I feel I can appreciate what it sets out to accomplish, and recognize that it does so.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
#iHunt: The RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Flatpack: Fix the Future
by Sandro G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/08/2020 07:29:48

Besides this game brings a innovative proposal to the gametable, seems to me his system has very little or no playtest at all. I GMed the introdutory adventure yesterday to a group of friends and at passing the third scene we decided to end the game. Not because of the proposal or the setting, we had a lot of fun with those, but the idea of the game system seems to be "fail, fail, fail to have any chance of success" and so much fails got boring real quick. I don't recommend this game, sadly.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Flatpack: Fix the Future
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 47 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates