DriveThruFiction.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Savage Rifts: Game Master's Handbook
by Archie B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2018 11:27:03

Savage Worlds has become one of my favorite Rulesets that I've played. I consider myself a collector of different RPG systems and this is by far the most User Friendly that I've found. Pairing SW with Rift's has been a very pleasant surprise. I've purchased nearly all of the Palladium Rift's books over the years and enjoy the setting immensely. I highly recommend any of the Savage Rift's books.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Rifts: Game Master's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Savage Rifts: Savage Foes of North America
by Archie B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2018 11:26:08

Savage Worlds has become one of my favorite Rulesets that I've played. I consider myself a collector of different RPG systems and this is by far the most User Friendly that I've found. Pairing SW with Rift's has been a very pleasant surprise. I've purchased nearly all of the Palladium Rift's books over the years and enjoy the setting immensely. I highly recommend any of the Savage Rift's books.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Rifts: Savage Foes of North America
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Savage Rifts: The Tomorrow Legion Player's Guide
by Archie B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2018 11:25:32

Savage Worlds has become one of my favorite Rulesets that I've played. I consider myself a collector of different RPG systems and this is by far the most User Friendly that I've found. Pairing SW with Rift's has been a very pleasant surprise. I've purchased nearly all of the Palladium Rift's books over the years and enjoy the setting immensely. I highly recommend any of the Savage Rift's books.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Rifts: The Tomorrow Legion Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Savage Rifts: A Fine Solution Part 5 - Power Play
by Archie B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2018 11:24:04

Savage Worlds has become one of my favorite Rulesets that I've played. I consider myself a collector of different RPG systems and this is by far the most User Friendly that I've found. Pairing SW with Rift's has been a very pleasant surprise. I've purchased nearly all of the Palladium Rift's books over the years and enjoy the setting immensely. I highly recommend any of the Savage Rift's books.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Rifts: A Fine Solution Part 5 - Power Play
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Savage Rifts: A Fine Solution Part 4 - Unwanted Heroes
by Archie B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2018 11:23:27

Savage Worlds has become one of my favorite Rulesets that I've played. I consider myself a collector of different RPG systems and this is by far the most User Friendly that I've found. Pairing SW with Rift's has been a very pleasant surprise. I've purchased nearly all of the Palladium Rift's books over the years and enjoy the setting immensely. I highly recommend any of the Savage Rift's books.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Rifts: A Fine Solution Part 4 - Unwanted Heroes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Savage Rifts: A Fine Solution Part 3 - Triangle Trade
by Archie B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2018 11:21:45

Savage Worlds has become one of my favorite Rulesets that I've played. I consider myself a collector of different RPG systems and this is by far the most User Friendly that I've found. Pairing SW with Rift's has been a very pleasant surprise. I've purchased nearly all of the Palladium Rift's books over the years and enjoy the setting immensely. I highly recommend any of the Savage Rift's books.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Rifts: A Fine Solution Part 3 - Triangle Trade
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Savage Rifts: A Fine Solution Part 2 - The Circle of Death
by Archie B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2018 11:21:03

Savage Worlds has become one of my favorite Rulesets that I've played. I consider myself a collector of different RPG systems and this is by far the most User Friendly that I've found. Pairing SW with Rift's has been a very pleasant surprise. I've purchased nearly all of the Palladium Rift's books over the years and enjoy the setting immensely. I highly recommend any of the Savage Rift's books.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Rifts: A Fine Solution Part 2 - The Circle of Death
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Savage Rifts: A Fine Solution Part 1 - Welcome to the World
by Archie B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2018 11:18:04

Savage Worlds has become one of my favorite Rulesets that I've played. I consider myself a collector of different RPG systems and this is by far the most User Friendly that I've found. Pairing SW with Rift's has been a very pleasant surprise. I've purchased nearly all of the Palladium Rift's books over the years and enjoy the setting immensely. I highly recommend any of the Savage Rift's books.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Rifts: A Fine Solution Part 1 - Welcome to the World
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Savage Worlds Super Powers Companion (2nd Ed)
by Lee L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/23/2018 21:27:09

One of the easiest to use Supers systems on the market. Adpts very well to Teen Hero and Street Level games as well as high powered settings!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Super Powers Companion (2nd Ed)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

50 Fathoms Explorer's Edition
by Lee L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/23/2018 21:11:08

50 Fathoms is an amazingly well written and wonderful background and book. This book has the, in my opinion, best written Plot Point Campaign to come from any Savage Worlds book to date. Wonderfully written and great fun to run. The mix of Humans from Earth in a world of High Seas Fantasy is very well done. Highly recommended for anyone who loves Pirates, The age of sail and fantastical creatures and beasts.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
50 Fathoms Explorer's Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

50 Fathoms Explorer's Edition Player's Guide
by Lee L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/23/2018 21:00:46

50 Fathoms is an amazingly well written and wonderful background and book. The players guide is a brilliant addition to this as it adds an option for the players to build characters and learn the world of Caribdus without revealing all the background game master information to the players. Highly recommended for anyone who loves Pirates, The age of sail and fantastical creatures and beasts.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
50 Fathoms Explorer's Edition Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

The Last Parsec: Irongate
by Nathan J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/11/2018 13:44:54

Irongate is a solid product. This looks to be a fun mini-plot point campaign (8 plot points) that has a rich back story and a bunch of interesting things to do. I will try to keep this spoiler free as much as possible but there will be a one spoiler below which i will mark accordingly. I purchased this product for 9.99 and basing the review on that value.

PROS:

  • For players it seems like a fun mini-plot point campaign that will give them plenty to do, savage worlds style! Iconic fights, car chases, salvaging/looting, exploration etc. All the core savage worlds goodness is in here.
  • Tie-ins to Last Parsec (jump corp) are on point and immersive. For heroes that enjoy LP they will feel right at home (at least at the beginning--see next point)
  • In the 'before you play' section it warns potential GM's that the players need to be on board for this sort of campaign since they will be 'stuck' on a prison planet. I thought this was a nice reminder that the GM might want ot run this but you really need to make sure the players are 'in' on this type of campaign since it has the potential to 'confine' the heroes.
  • Core Savage world goodness: Several dramatic tasks (2 in the core PP, 1 in a random event), a social conflict (even though its called a social combat in the adventure), several chase opportunities, a mission generator, lots of roleplaying/NPC interactions available which are core to the story.
  • Strong sandbox feel/potential. The sand box is not huge but it is on point with this size of product. 96 pages. 3 thorougly detailed regions with encounters, hazards and event lists unique to those region and, of course a decent bestiary to accomodate. In addition, there are 2 'areas' (specific locations/buildings/sites) each detailed out since they will be most likely visited during the adventure.
  • Setting Rules: The setting rules really bring the package together by rounding out the feel of the campaign, including a new 'favors' system. Essentially, the Favors setting rules, the Salvaging Rules, mission generator and 3 regions area/encounters tables are the core of the 'sand box'. All, IMO, are decent size and detailed enough that this alone could provide hours of awesome savage worlds iconic play!
  • For Veteran and/or creative GM's there is plenty of room (and encouraged by author) to insert your own Savage tales, stories and adventures as needed. The world is detailed enough that it should give you enough seeds to build whatever you would like here.

NEUTRAL (or just random thoughts to help your purchase consideration)

  • There are way more plot points than the actual savage tales. There are 2 savage tales which is surprising to me. This is in the neutral section just because it was surprising not because its a pro or a con. FYI.
  • It seems to me that a good chunk of the campaign, outside of the PP's, is composed of the Mission Generator, Salvaging, gaining favor with various factions (ala the Favors system) and exploring the 3 regions, instead of the traditional Savage Tales to accomodate. So, again this is not a mark for or against, its more of an FYI. IMO, this seems like a fun style to play in (since i posted this in the PROs section).

CONS: Ok here is a SPOILER area. I only have 1 (minor CON). I will post a spoiler free version of it first then i will post a spoiler version.

Spoiler Free CON:

  • There are a couple of Plot Points that seem to be railroady. They are PP's that must be run (due to story consistency) and make certain conditions happen to the heroes--which IMO, some may not like. I mark this in the CON section because these PP's seem very railroady to me. Which for a sandbox, IMO, should not heve these types of PP's.

Overall, this is a solid Savage worlds product that will provide many hours of Savage Worlds goodness!

++++++++++++++++SPOILER+++++++++++++++

++++++++++++++++SPOILER+++++++++++++++

++++++++++++++++SPOILER+++++++++++++++

SPOILER CON: 2 of the PPs seems very railroady.

  • There is a PP where the heroes get 'caught' essentially. Not captured but their cover is blown. This isn't an optional PP--it just happens. In addition. a subsequent PP (down the line) makes assumptions that the PC's get caught and are written accordingly. This really breaks the sandboxy nature of the campaign IMO. In fact, the PP as a whole seems to be written very much in the traditional 'adventure' style where: this happens, then this happens, then this happens. Which really breaks my heart because savage worlds PP's are sandboxy by design and this seems to break this mold. In fact, the sandbox stuff doesn't really kick in until PP 4;--see point 6 under PROS. It really gives a feel that the sandbox is optional and not required. I do think this is easily 'fixable' and veteran GM's will easily be able to adjust the game to the playstyle of the players but i just wanted to make a note of this since it was surprising and a little disappointing.


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Last Parsec: Irongate
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Savage Worlds Horror Companion
by Robert B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/03/2018 21:27:26

I love how they have balanced the power of fear and the power of the characters. In too many games one just overwhelms the other but in Savage Worlds it is done really well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Horror Companion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Deadlands Reloaded: Player's Guide
by Monica G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/17/2018 21:59:42

Since the release of the original Deadlands RPG, it's been one of my favorite games. It's a great western/horror blend with a dash of steampunk (full disclosure--I'm not a big steampunk fan), but it all works well together to make a great setting. One of the most attractive features of Deadlands is its system, which involves resolving some features of the game with hands of poker and using cards to determine initiative. This fits very well with the wild west theme, given the prevelance of poker in old-west movies--and this makes Deadlands one of the most fitting settings for the Savage World system. It helps that the game's original rules were the basis for the Savage World gaming system, of course.

The setting of Deadlands is an alternative history in which a cataclysmic event brings magic and monsters back to the world, and much of the supernatural activity is centered in the American West--which is still a point of contention between the USA and Confederacy, given that the war never ended in this reality. Territories are disputed for the supernatural mineral--ghost rock--that is used to build technological wonders. Players are given a lot of leeway in building characters, and can play pretty much any sort of character found in a Western, such as gunslingers, cattle rustlers, and Native American braves--but also can play supernatural characters if they pick an edge (a character feature in Savage Worlds terms) that gives them the ability to use magic. This makes character creation very flexible, and there are a lot of options for players, including things like nuns and preachers with divine power, Kung-Fu monks, Native American shaman, vudu priests, mad scientists who create technological wonders, and sorcerors called 'huxters', who use decks of cards to work their magic.

The Savage Worlds system provides a set of generic rules on which individual settings build their own additions. Deadlands does so very nicely--especially in the rules for magic, which give a list of magic power options, and how they manifest by caster class. For example, the 'armor' power for a for a player with divine powers will manifest in attacks simply missing them, but the same power for shaman will appear as a shimmering war vest, while a mad scientist will simply wear a bullet-proof vest. Deadlands plays close attention to this sort of flair in their games. The writing does a great job of evoking the old west, with it's use of wild west vocabulary such as using terms like shootin' iron instead of 'gun'), and the renaming of Savage Worlds' 'bennies' as 'fate chips'--poker chips that grant benefits on rolls, with some expanded rules for different colored chips, which again evokes the popularity of poker in Westerns.

Overall, like the original Deadlands RPG, Deadlands Reloaded does a great job of building an old west fantasty setting, and giving it rules that thematically fit the setting. That has always been Deadland's strength, and it contiues to be the case with this edition.

Read the complete review at Geeksagogo.com!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Reloaded: Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

50 Fathoms Figure Flats
by Mike C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2018 17:14:58

It's nice to have minis that exactly match the things you'll encounter in 50 Fathoms. There are about 14 characters, 20 warriors of various types, and some giant spiders and creatures unique to 50 Fathoms. Many have a dozen copies on a page, so you can print up a fight pretty easily.

The enclosing boxes for humanoids are 31mm tall. The tall Atani and the short (5 foot) Grael are the same height.

31mm looks a little small against Reaper and Pathfinder minis, and you can scale these up about 10% before the edges get cropped. I wish the layout had supported 20% zoom without cropping. These also look small against ArcKnight's excellent 2D plastic pirate minis.

The art could be more defined, but it's certainly adequate to the task and this set is worth purchasing if you play with minis.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
50 Fathoms Figure Flats
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 715 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates