DriveThruFiction.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Book of Beasts: Wandering Monsters 1 (PFRPG)
by Dark M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/18/2011 11:58:38

Book of Beasts: Wandering Monsters 1 by Jon Brazer Enterprise

This product is 7 pages long. It starts with a cover. (1 pages)

Monsters (5 pages) There is five new monsters in this book. Each monster takes up a full page with a black and white image. Blightdaemon – CR4 daemon. A disease based creature. Death Adept – CR 8 undead. A type of undead priest. Mantians – CR 5 magical creature. Large praying Mantis creatures. Remembrent – CR 3 undead. Kinda a weak version of the banshee sorta. Rock Ophidian – CR 3 dragon. More like oversize acid spitting salamanders.

It ends with a OGL. (1 pages)

Closing thoughts. Layout and editing are good. I didn't notice any obvious errors. The art work is black and white but very good. The five monster are pretty interesting, I thought the Blightdaemon and Death Adept was the most interesting. Taken as a whole the monsters are solid and so is the product. It gives exactly what it promises with very good artwork and no obvious flaws. It is a very clean PDF with no borders so very print friendly. If you are looking for a few new monsters then this is worth the buck fifty asking price. So what's my rating? I am going to give it a 5. I didn't notice any obvious errors and while the monsters weren't great they was good, but the artwork was very good which honestly is almost worth buying just for the art.

Trust me, I'm a Succubus.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Beasts: Wandering Monsters 1 (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Book of the Faithful: Power of Prayer (PFRPG)
by Alfred B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/14/2011 10:56:40

This is just a summary of a longer review originally posted on The Alfred Effect: http://www.thealfredeffect.com/?p=437

Overall this is a very solid product that is especially useful for any character with religious inclinations, but would make a great read even if you have not thought of this. I am personally using some of the great ideas here for an inquisitor that I am playing in a homebrew campaign. A great read for both players and gamemasters, check it out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of the Faithful: Power of Prayer (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Book of the River Nations: Feats, Spells and Secret Societies (PFRPG)
by Dark M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/13/2011 17:17:11

Book of the River Nations: Feats, Spells, and Secret Societies by Jon Brazer

This product is 14 pages long. It starts with a cover. (1 pages)

Feats (3 pages) There is two types of new feats. Kingdom feats and Mass combat feats, as well as a few general feats. The kingdom feats help with the kingdom building mechanics and the Mass Combat feats help while using the Mass Combat rules. There is 17 new feats, three of them are mass combat and three of them are kingdom feats. The other eleven are normal feats.

Spells (5 page) There is 29 new spells, 6 of them are spells to be used any time and 23 of them are spells to be used in mass combat rules. There is also side sections talking about using other spells in mass combat and in kingdom building. A couple of the spells where pretty cool I especially liked Wall of Tentacle's, a few where versions of existing spells (overland travel like expeditious retreat but can be cast on others and helps with overland travel checks), most of the mass combat spells are ok. Not great not bad.

Secret Societies (4 pages) There is 4 listed societies listed in this section. Each only has a paragraph or two about them. Mostly they are new character options, two of them. The Hidden Sniper and Monks of the Green Leaf are new archetypes for the Ranger and Monk respectively. While Devout Healers and Kings Eye are new PrC's. Hidden Snipers – The gain SA ability, Aim(as a move action can get a bonus to hit), must take bow or crossbow weapon style, and gets poison use. Gives up wild empathy, favored enemy and hunters bond. Monks of the Green Leaf – Gets some different weapons and skills, Elemental Fist, adds more Bonus Feats options, Locate Creature. Gives up Stunning Fist and Abundant Step. Devout Healer – Five level PrC. d8, medium BaB, 4 skills, +5 spell levels. Gains a lot of bonuses with healing. Kings Eye – Five level PrC. D8, medium BaB, 6 skills. Gains bonuses with sneaking, social skills, lock picking and gather information. A ability to made coded messages, slight boost to SA, and will save bonus.

It ends with a OGL. (1 pages)

Closing thoughts. It has decent black and white art works. The layout and editing where pretty good. Other than the nice borders it is fairly plain and print friendly. As for the feats, a few was pretty cool, some was meh, but most was ok, not great and not bad. Same can be said for the spells. As for the societies I think that is a bit of a not as advertised. I was expecting information about societies not Archetypes and PrC's. They wasn't bad, they just wasn't what I was expecting. The Devout Healer and Kings Eye are both pretty good, as is the Hidden Sniper, but I was pretty meh about the Monks of the Green Leaf. All and all it is a solid product. So what's my rating? I am going to give it a 3 star. It is a solid book that is worth the money if you are looking for feats or spells to help with the Kingdom Building and or Mass Combat. It is less useful to others.

Trust me, I'm a Succubus.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Book of the River Nations: Feats, Spells and Secret Societies (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Book of the River Nations: Exploration and Kingdom Building (PFRPG)
by Elliott D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/05/2011 12:58:09

A review of 2 BTRN pdfs

Three big scabs to start with: no index; no TOC on one volume ; no intro to speak of.

Seems to be a largely rehash of existing PF material.

Impolite: their new material not identified as such, just inserted along with the PF:KM rules.

It would have been nice to see "here's what you'll be getting into" "here's what you're looking at"

Peeve: they out no DEF # on city form, would have been easy fix, they just copied the form from PF:KM rotely.

did tidy up the city form

clip art for new building types.

new ideas for XPs?

Green Leaf Monk Prestige Class seems out of place, little flavor text or intro. why does a GLM fit in with a river nation ? or is he a foil ?

The Mass Combat spells are launched into without intro. They are not explained, contexted, or referenced. Could you at least point out into which book the rules relate ? They may be wonderful spells, but since I don't have the MASS COMBAT base book, and the author's didnt mention where to get one, they just made 2/5ths of their own book into a mere side-bar.

Later on I find they sell a MC rulebook, but given the material so far, why would I get it?

In other publications, the author will, upon first using an acronym or abbreviation, spell it out. ie(THACO, To Hit Armor Class Zero) but here in the River Nations, everyone automagcially knows all terms.

The Generic City forms at the end are somewhat more useful than the color ones by paizo.

The King's Eye seems excellent, and some of the Feats seem good & useful.

The Green Leaf Monk is excellent ruleswise, but seems an after thought and could use expansion and at least throw a bone to the player or DM: "Why is this guy in the middle of my campaign world?

I can only barely recommend it, and then only for the few nuggets to add onto KM:PF (which means Kingmaker adventures in Pathfinder, thank you.)



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Book of the River Nations: Exploration and Kingdom Building (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Book of the River Nations: Exploration and Kingdom Building (PFRPG)
by Dark M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/04/2011 13:20:49

Book of the River Nations: Exploration and Kingdom Building by Jon Brazar Enterprises

This product is 2o pages long. It starts with a cover. (1 pages)

Exploration Rules (2 pages) This has rules for exploring land. It has movement rate and a few other things in it.

Kingdom Building (12 pages) This section has rules for building a kingdom, random events, rules and positions of powers with the effects they have. Taxes, buildings and the effects they have etc. It is a quick simple yet effect set of rules for building a kingdom.

It ends with 4 pages of sheets, exploration map, city district sheet, kingdom stat sheet, and NPC sheet and a OGL. (5 pages)

Closing Thoughts. This is the exploration rules from Kingmaker AP 1, The Stolen Lands reprinted. The kingdom building rules is the rules from Kingmaker AP 2, River Runs Red, with 3 extra pages of information. Looks like a few more buildings and kingdom events are added to it. Other than the new sheets which are helpful and 3 pages of new buildings and kingdom events, it is just the information from the two Kingmaker AP's combined together in one book in a print friendly format. Again I find this one hard to rate as it depends a lot if you have the AP's and if being able to print the information is important to you.

My one critic is I wish the kingdom events had been it's own chapter. That way you could print it out and give everything but the events to the players, that would have helped make this better and more useful. As it is for 3 bucks, if you don't have the AP's and want some quick and simple kingdom building rules, then I would give it a 3.5 star. If you have the AP's but would like the new buildings and events and want a print friendly copy, then I would give it a 3 star. If you just want a print friendly version or just want the new buildings etc, then I would give it a 2 star.

Trust me, I'm a Succubus



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Book of the River Nations: Mass Combat (PFRPG)
by Dark M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/04/2011 13:17:53

Book of the River Nations: Mass Combat by Jon Brazar Enterprises

This product is 12 pages long. It starts with a cover. (1 pages)

Armies (4 ½ pages) Next it jumps right into army stat blocks with a paragraph introduction. It deals with the armies stats, build cost, consumption(to keep the army going) special tactics it can learn, special abilities the army might posses. Final it closes with training armies and vassal armies.

Running Mass Combat (2 pages) This section is how to actual run a combat between two armies.

Sample Armies ( 2 ½ pages) This section has 20 sample armies with stat blocks to use for them.

It ends with a army stat block sheet and a OGL. (2 pages)

Closing Thoughts. This is mostly a reprint of the mass combat rules from War of the River Kings adventure from the Kingmaker AP. I looked at the two of them, there is roughly 5 pages of stuff in the AP. This book minus OGL, sheet, cover and art. Has roughly 8 pages. Which is a couple of pages of extra stuff. I didn't notice any obvious errors and the art is fair black and white art. The layout is clean and very print friendly. This is a tough one to rate. While most of the information is reprinted and slightly reworded, some of it is new. If you have the AP with the information this gives you a print friendly way to print out just that information and it has a little extra. For those people it is likely a 1-3 rating depending on how important it is to have a print friendly copy. For those that don't have that AP then this would be all new stuff and a lot more useful, in which case I would likely give it a 3-3.5 rating.

So in short if you don't have the AP in question and you want some simple quick mass combat rules this is worth picking up, then I would give it a 3.5. If you do have that AP and would like a little extra and a print friendly version then it is still worth two bucks but not as good of a bargain then, then I would rate it a 3. If you have the AP and have no use for printing it out, then likely this is a product for you, in which case it is a 2. Most of the extra information is sample armies but not all of it.

Trust me, I'm a Succubus



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Book of the River Nations: Mass Combat (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Book of Beasts: Monsters of the River Nations (PFRPG)
by Dark M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/04/2011 13:15:16

Book of Beats: Monsters of the River Nations by Jon Brazar Enterprises

This product is 36 pages long. It starts with a cover, credits, and ToC. (4 pages)

Monster Entries. (21 pages) Some are obvious what they are like the snapping turtle and Piranha, below is a list of what new monsters are in the book. Addanc – croc/beaver (neat monster but really odd mix) Autumn Death – new undead, neat idea. Avowed Reaver – fire elemental type Bog Scum – new type of ooze, also nice. Fly Trap, Giant – plant monster Fly Trap, Dire – see above. Forest Giant – defender of forest, cool idea, but I had one issue with the fluff. Frost Mite Swarm – new swarm Garmunchi – kinda non evil ogres Hatethrall Demon – new little demon, meh. Hydrus – weird lizard animal Lemkin – new fey Night Caller – small magical bird Piranha, Mature Piranha Swarm River Dragon – legless, wingless, swimming snake dragon. Riverswell Spirit – cool new undead. Shrine Stone, Animated - construct Silver Bell – plant monster Skate Spider, Giant Skate Spider, Swarm Snapping Turtle Snapping Turtle, Dire Stumble Fish

Appendix Humanoids (4 pages) Cursed Brethren - undead that during the day look human. Kinda reminded me of Pirates of the Caribbean movie a little. I am guessing that is what they was inspired by, regardless it is a neat idea and well written. Two stat blocks for them, one of the rank and file and one of their bandit king. Grammy Beshic – Gnome NPC that lives in the forest, has a new magic ring as well.

Appendix New Drugs and Gambling (1 page) This has 2 new gambling games, well one game and a fight club. With rules on how to run them and how the odds work. It also has one new drug.

Appendix New Haunts (1 page) This section has new haunts. 6 new haunts, four of them fit very well with the forest theme, two of them not as much but still good haunts.

Appendix New Templates and Diseases. (1 page) There is five new templates one can apply to monsters and 8 new diseases all of which fit the theme pretty well.

It ends with one ad, OGL and back cover. (4 pages)

Closing Thoughts. All and all I liked the book, the art is nice black and white art. Most of the monsters I thought fit well in the theme as did most of the rest of the book. The stat blocks are easy to read and understand and the book is laid out well. Other than the cover it is a plain simple black and white book, very print friendly. I do have a few minor critics with the book. The fluff with the giants in one part, in that they sleep in branches of tree's I thought was odd. They are 15ft tall that would be some massive tree's. I think they could have left that part out.

My only other issue was some of the stuff just didn't really fit a forest/river theme. The Hatethrall Demon and Avowed Reaver being the two big ones. The hydrus just seemed weird, it seems like it does what it does just because. Now the rest was well done, I would have liked to have seen a few more fey, natural and planet monsters myself but that is personal preference. So whats my rating? Well it is a good book over all, I have a few minor issues with it. I am giving it a 4.5 star review.

Trust me, I'm a Succubus.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Beasts: Monsters of the River Nations (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

d66 Interstellar War Names
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/22/2011 00:40:17

Like all products in the d66 line, this table provides 36 interstellar war names keyed to a random scheme using 2d6 in a fashion similar to using 2d10 to produce a 1–100 result. Although a few of the entries are a bit odd (Social Network Revolutions) and several are specifically tied to Traveller lore (Dumosif Conflict), GMs running other games (Star Wars Saga Edition, in my case) could find it very useful as well. Each name costs only about 1.5¢, so it’s hard to lose with this purchase.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
d66 Interstellar War Names
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Mech Tech 'n' bot: Fighters and Small Ships (MGT 1e)
by Kevin C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/18/2011 18:45:26

The product was good...but couldnt find where it downloaded to unfortunately.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mech Tech 'n' bot: Fighters and Small Ships (MGT 1e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Book of the River Nations: Exploration and Kingdom Building (PFRPG)
by Shane O. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/04/2010 12:09:55

When reviewing an RPG book, there are different aspects to consider. How professional is the layout? Is the art of good quality? Can the author and editor deliver a text that’s free of typos and grammatical errors? And, of course, how well does it play in your game? This last question can be one of the most difficult to judge, because there’s no better way to judge how well a supplement or adventure works than playtesting – unfortunately, if you want to make regular reviews, playtesting is next to impossible; there’s just not enough time to thoroughly dig into a book.

That’s why, for me at least, it’s special when I’m able to review a book that I have gotten the chance to playtest, as I did with Jon Brazer Enterprises’ Book of the River Nations: Exploration and Kingdom Building.

Now, to be clear, what I playtested wasn’t this book per se, but rather the material that it’s drawing from…which segues nicely into noting this particular elephant in the room: virtually all of this book is reproduced Open Game Content. More specifically, this book takes the exploration rules from Pathfinder Adventure Path #31 and the kingdom-building rules from Pathfinder Adventure Path #32 and merges them into a single file. Now, there’s more here than just a cut-and-paste job; new events and new buildings are the most obvious, but I also noted some subtler additional material, like a few new terrain types listed in the costs/time expended for preparing a city in different terrains, or how there’s a sidebar that gives an abbreviated flowchart for how the kingdom-building turns progress.

To be entirely fair, the new material here may not be enough to entice you into picking up this product if you already have the aforementioned Pathfinder products. Having a few extra buildings like an apiary, a butcher, or a keep – along with a few new events such as rowdy adventurers coming to town, or holding a public execution – is nice, but extra. You can get along just fine without them.

Having said that, I’ve been running a Kingmaker (the Pathfinder Adventure Path that makes use of these rules) game for the last several months, and I think that this product is a godsend. First, it’s much easier having the exploration and kingdom building rules all in one place instead of having to flip back and forth between two different books whenever I want to use them again. Secondly, this product changes the layout regarding how the information is presented – unlike the original files, this book presents the kingdom-building turn first, and then gets into the specifics of what you do on each turn. This makes it far easier to understand the rules for those who haven’t read them before, and easier to reference for those who have.

But enough with the comparison to the original material, let’s go over this fresh.

Book of the River Nations: Exploration and Kingdom Building is a twenty-page PDF for the Pathfinder RPG. The file has full, nested bookmarks and allows copy-and-pasting, which are standard for professional PDF publications. The book has several black and white pieces of interior art shuffled throughout it, and has fairly ornate borders on alternating sides of each page. Having a single page for the cover, and another for the OGL and credits, there’s also four pages of graphs and charts, allowing you to draw the layout of your kingdom, its cities, and records the various statistics for both. This leaves a full fourteen pages of rules and material.

The first two pages cover the mechanics of exploring land. Overland areas are charted in a hex map, with each hex covering 144 square miles of land (the text characterizes this as being “just over 100 square miles”). Rules are given for how quickly a party can cross a hex based on their speed and the kind of terrain it is, followed by rules for actually exploring that area based on those same two factors. A helpful flowchart is given here for determining the order in which events occur (e.g. when you find something obvious versus when you find something hidden versus when wandering monsters attack, etc.).

The remainder of the book deals with the mechanics of building a kingdom, and it’s here that things start to get truly interesting. A kingdom has its own set of mechanics that are created and kept track of over time. It measures things like Stability, Loyalty, and Economy as measures for tracking the health of the realm, Unrest (which is a penalty to the aforementioned three scores), and Consumption, which is the cost of maintaining your kingdom and building new things. This cost is measured in Build Points, or just BP. The more BP your kingdom has, the richer it is and the more you can expand it; lose BP, and you’ll become poorer and even go broke (which can eventually lead to your kingdom collapsing).

Because these rules are written under the assumption that the PCs are the ones who not only explored the land, but are the founders and active rulers of their kingdom, there are eleven political positions in a kingdom for characters to occupy, from the Ruler to the General, Treasurer, High Priest, and more. All of these allow for some sort of benefit to the kingdom (and most have a penalty if there isn’t someone acting in these roles), meaning that you’ll likely need some trustworthy NPCs to fill some posts. There are also various edicts you can declare, such as raising or lowering taxes, running campaigns to promote goodwill amongst the public, or throwing festivals.

The main thrust of running a kingdom, however, lies in building cities. Cities are the heart of your kingdom, and occupy a significant position in the kingdom-building rules. These largely revolve around having a “city grid” that represents (a district in) your city, and which can be filled with various buildings, of which several dozen are listed. Each has a given cost to construct it, and has some statistical effect such as helping or hurting your Economy, Loyalty, Stability, or Unrest, and possibly affecting the cost of other buildings. It’s a very detailed system for managing how your cities grow, and is surprisingly fun (my players quickly grew to love it).

Finally, there are also random events that can happen. In this book, these are expanded from the original material and sub-categorized into good events, bad events, adventurer events, and leadership events. Events don’t always happen, but they’re fairly likely from month to month (as a note, each turn of kingdom-building represents a month of game time).

Personally, I love this system, and my players and I are having a blast using it. Hence, I’m overjoyed to have this new incarnation from Jon Brazer Enterprises, since it nicely consolidates all of the material and expands on it.

My only real complaint about the book, however, is that it didn’t correct several of the smaller mistakes that crept in to the original rules. None of these were major, nor was there ever a formal errata sheet for them, but if you read the Paizo message boards you were told what they were. Barracks and Watchtowers should have their costs reversed, for example (since otherwise the latter is cheaper than the former), and Graveyards should not give a bump to your kingdom’s Economy. Add in to this minor errors that cropped up here – such as some buildings not having their mechanical effects properly emboldened and italicized, or the occasional “+1” somehow being a “-1” instead, and the book could probably stand to go through one more round of editing, just to iron these kinks out.

Having said that, however, I just can’t bring myself to give this book anything less than five out of five stars. I have no problem with this material originating elsewhere, since I’ve used the source material and I still prefer this take on it – consolidated exploration and kingdom-building rules, revised layout, new mechanics, and helpful flowcharts all ensure that this will be the version I have in hand the next time I sit down to my Kingmaker game (after making a few manual fixes). And that’s overlooking the sheer convenience of having these rules available as a cheap stand-alone product, something that’s very convenient for those who don’t have the original materials.

If you’ve always wanted to run a Pathfinder game of exploration and nation-founding but never got the original books, or if you have the original books but just wanted something more, pick up Book of the River Nations: Exploration and Kingdom Building and send your characters forth to create a new empire!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of the River Nations: Exploration and Kingdom Building (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Book of the River Nations: Exploration and Kingdom Building (PFRPG)
by Erathoniel W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/30/2010 21:54:32

I like Pathfinder, despite my usual aversion to d20, so when I saw this, I was somewhat curious.

I like it, and I don't. On one hand, it's cool, and could be a GM tool even. On the other, it's just too cool.

I like the prospect of players owning cities. Surely some super-powerful bards, clerics, sorcerers, and the like have the brains, guts, and charm to pull it off. It's a good source of resources and responsibility, and allows fleshing out a world easily and quickly. Also, it has a wilderness exploration aspect, which is pretty cool, though nothing to write home about.

The one bad thing about city ownership is that it gets to the point where it could become either another game, or just a background trickle with an occasional effect. On one hand, I don't want an epic character defined by his ownership of a city, nor do I want an under-epic character using a city as his only means of strength.

Ultimately, like all supplements, this depends heavily on GM intervention, but requires a special amount of moderation, as it can wind up to be either an awesome addition to a campaign, or a tool for munchkins.

I like it, though, despite its flaws, and it's certainly priced decently.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you for taking the time to review the product.
Book of the River Nations: Exploration and Kingdom Building (PFRPG)
by Nathan C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/30/2010 14:49:03

Depending on which side of the fence you DM on, Book of the River Nations may be a pleasant treat or a dismal disappointment.

Book of the River Nations is a supplement that allows you to install a kingdom building mini-game into your Pathfinder campaign world. Your game world is first divided into hexes. You provide resources to hexes and populate in other features like established settlements and locations. Your PCs begin in a hex starting their city, and then acquiring the other hexes through exploration. Each month you receive points for the hexes you have and spend them on kingdom improvements, called buildings. These buildings provide statistical bonuses to your kingdom economy, loyalty and stability. NPCs can be appointed in positions in your kingdom, giving even more bonuses.

If you have ever wanted to establish a city building aspect to your campaign world but did not know how, Book of the River Nations is a must buy. However, for everyone who has played through Paizo’s Kingmaker Adventure Path, there is nothing new under the sun. It is a bit disappointing considering how many fan supplements and suggestions for improvement there are floating around. This is nearly a word for word copy of what is in the Adventure Path sans the Mass Combat rules. Things like new buildings, expanded resources or NPCs would have really made this product original. At the least, a list of possible encounters for hexes should have been provided.

For the Player My players have played with this system for six months. As board gamers, as well as role players, they love the extra aspect of a mini board game they play after every major story arc.

For the Dungeon Master This supplement requires a bit more prep, as you need to set up possible encounters in each of the squares. If you are the kind of DM that hates seeing well written encounters absolutely ignored, you will frequently be disappointed. However, if you enjoy creating a dynamic world that requires you to be on your toes, you will enjoy yourself.

The Iron Word I really hope someone at Paizo is getting residuals for this because this is an unchanged edition of the great kingdom building rules they created. Book of the River Nations allows you access to these rules without shelling out for the Adventure Path. Having tinkered with kingdom building rules for the last five years, this set is one of the best to fit a Pathfinder game.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
I appreciate you taking the time to review. A comment on a few items brought up in your review. This isn't intended to replace Paizo's rules but rather to allow players to have a copy of the same rules without GMs having to make copies. So a near word for word copy of those rules was essential to insure a minimum amount of confusion between GMs and players. Additionally, I showed an early version of this to Paizo, to insure that they were ok with what I was doing. They had no problems with it. New buildings were included in the building section. New NPCs are noted for future supplements. Again, thank you for taking the time to review.
d66 Spaceport City Names
by Jason L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/09/2010 11:49:58

This is a product? Seriously? This PDF is two pages long. The second page is just one giant ad. The first page is mostly whitespace, with some credits, and the "meat" of this product: a list of 36 spaceport names in the form of a random table. The names are basically just ripped off from existing sci-fi movies, shows, etc. I mean, "Alderanna"? "Serenity"? Gosh, why do these sound so familiar . . . ? It'd maybe be worth the 50 cents if these were truly unique or interesting, but as they're neither, save your money. Do not buy.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
d66 Spaceport City Names
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Creator Reply:
I'm sorry this does not appear to be what you were looking for. However, the description clearly states "Each list consists of 36 possibilities to get you out of a pinch." And while some are inspired by existing science fiction, others are unique. Again, I am sorry this this list is not what you were looking for.
Book of Beasts: Monsters of the River Nations (PFRPG)
by Ron T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/31/2010 01:09:50

Book of Beasts – Monsters of the River Nations Review

Disclaimer: This is a review of material provided to me free of charge for the purpose of review.

First Glance: From a quick perusal, it looks very promising. Nice artwork, bold trade dress, and 20 unique monsters and 7 additional pages of material.

In Depth: Many low CR monsters, from the stumble fish to the Night Caller and Mature Piranha. Though my favorite of the new monsters is the Giant Fly Trap, I’ve always had a soft spot for nature fighting back. The Dire Fly Trap is even more vicious. Those are my favorites, there are a few of the monsters I’m not as convinced with. The Addanc has a strange name, which is an odd crocodile/beaver aberration. I’m not a fan of the Hatethrall Demon since it’s a disembodied head is strange for a demon, and the Hydrus has a new Combat maneuver, which doesn’t have an explanation, in addition it’s a bit of an undercon at ½ CR. The other monsters are all well-crafted creatures.

Extras: In addition to being a monster book, it is a resource book for the River Nations campaign setting (not to be confused with the River Kingdoms of Golarion.)

To this end, the first appendix is Konrad the Bandit King and his Cursed Brethren, the second is Grammy Beshic, an ancient gnome with a dark secret. The Grammy Beshic entry includes three adventure hooks. New gambling games and a new drug, Kobold Krack, though it’s primarily something particularly vicious GM might use with some kobold barbarians. The best part of any Monster book is the templates. The Book of Beasts introduces 5 new templates; drunk, enraged, fey-touched, hungry and river-born. Though I would probably not use the drunk template, since it only emulates the sickness of being drunk, not the rage side. 8 new diseases grace the final appendix of the book, not only bringing such common maladies such as Influenza, Bird Flu, and the Common cold into Pathfinder; but also Faire Fever (fantasy version of Con Crud); Dryad Pox (my fave), Mountain Air Plague, Owlbear Filth, and River Sickness. The only problem is they’re only stat blocks, with no fluff.

In Conclusion: A strong book, with something useful for almost any campaign, it’s not perfect, but I do recommend it.

I give it 4 stars because it's good, not the best, I would give it 4.5 if the option was available. It's an A, not an A+.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Beasts: Monsters of the River Nations (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

d66 Objects Orbiting a Planet
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/22/2010 21:08:45

This is pretty much free for the price and gives a nice random list of objects that could orbit a planet. For my Rogue Trader games, this is pretty handy. It has some interesting suggestions. In this case, I usually browse the list to find what I want and just use that. Of course, you can always use the random method and roll with that too . . . pun intended. Good for those times you need a kickstart or are just blanking out mid-game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
d66 Objects Orbiting a Planet
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Displaying 136 to 150 (of 171 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]  ... 10  11  12  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates