DriveThruFiction.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Shadowrun, Sixth World Core Rulebook
by Wade A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/28/2019 15:46:15

Thie reduction in number crunching is a big net plus. The pdf isn't TOTALLY without error, but compared to 5th and many of the 5th supplements, it may as well be perfect. The streamlining and rules layout are far more clear and leave very few ambiguities in the mechanics. The core ruleset gives them room to develop the expanion rules in all kinds of different ways.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun, Sixth World Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Shadowrun, Sixth World Core Rulebook
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/27/2019 20:25:09

After all the people saying how terrible this edition is I am plesantly surprised. Lets get this out of the way there are errors, it needs errata fixes but the layout is the second best I've seen in a Shadowrun core book and it is easy to navigate. Character creation is probably the best I've seen of the priority systems. Skills are more similar to the 2e days. Unfortunatly there are no gear packs so it is still a nuyen slog. Edge is expanded alot, this could be good or bad depending on your take. Theres alot to take in with it. Theres also some unnessasary rules like the wild die that seem to go against the idea of simplification. Combat is streamlined but worded very poorly making it hard to tell if its actually improved over 5e by just reading it. If you have been reading about armor being worthless, I wouldnt go that far but it is weak, this may actually be ok as most average opponents would get taken out by an average double tap. The session we have played it seems more lethal in an already lethal game but its not going to be one shot lethal. There are also options that seem to have slight differences where none was needed like fall prone and hit the floor. Magic is cleaned up from 5e, the differences may seem minor but CGL continues to improve an already great magic system. The Martix is a slight bit more complex than I had hoped for but really great job overall. We are getting close to getting away from the private game session for deckers. Rigging is slim and probably the weakest part of the book, theres always 7e... Critters are cleaned up and the GM section is the standard stuff. I think with some errata clean up and some revisions to a few rules this may be the best edition of Shadowrun yet. It could also use a few rule options like +2 DV to make magic weaker or something similar. One of the things I really liked in 2e and 4eA was the sidebar of optional rules to dial it in for your group.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Fifth Edition Core Rulebook (Master Index Edition)
by Jennifer B. B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/19/2019 17:10:04

I'm literally going through this book with a black sharpie crossing out sentences. This book badly needs an editor. Apparently Catalyst Game Labs owners' are a bunch of criminals who decided to not bring charges after their leader embezzled money (for an extenson on his house), and then kept that guy on at the company anyway (name of Loren Coleman, google it). http://ogrecave.com/2010/03/18/catalyst-monetary-trouble-rumor-gets-official-reply/

Other things I don't like:

  • The core rules sections are very difficult to read. Players would hugely benefit from some structure and an editor to cut out the drek. Put in some diagrams.
  • They literally reuse art in the book.
  • A lot of the art is not "new", it's from older Shadowrun editions. This leads to the sense that 5E completely lacks a visual language/style.
  • Apparently 6E doubles down on these mistakes and introduces lots of copy pasting.

Yes, I still play this game with my friends, but without the technical depth I'd like. Basically I handwave a ton of stuff. The publisher doesn't care and/or has the worst company culture, the kind that would produce this doorstop.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Fifth Edition Core Rulebook (Master Index Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Shadowrun: Corporate Shadowfiles
by Matthew J B. Date Added: 08/15/2019 08:34:55

This is unreadable, and therefore useless.

I have download this on 3 separate occasions on two different computers, and while the pdf with load into a pdf reader, the original scan is blurred and so you cannot read it.

I would like my money back, please, or better yet, update this with a readable copy.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Corporate Shadowfiles
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

BattleTech: Alpha Strike Ad Hoc Unit Cards
by Kristopher R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/14/2019 05:42:21

I1 None of the PV values are correct. 2 there's no crit tables on the cards. 3 I paid a high price for some coasters.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Alpha Strike Ad Hoc Unit Cards
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Shadowrun Legends: Worlds Without End
by Allegra V. R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/31/2019 19:09:33

A sad ending, but a good story, is always bittersweet. I like the connections between ED and SR. I read the trilogy out of order, but this is still good. I like how Harlequin isn't a complete Mary Sue- I feel like Spector actually salvages the character.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun Legends: Worlds Without End
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Shadowrun: The Neo-Anarchist Streetpedia
by Allegra V. R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/31/2019 19:06:37

Lots of good info. There were some bold choices to alter the usual format of shadowtalk/jackpoint, which didn't necessarily pay off. QC on some of the stories could have been better, but others were very good. A decent source of inspiration that could have been much better with a bit of love and polish.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: The Neo-Anarchist Streetpedia
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Shadowrun: Mercurial
by Allegra V. R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/31/2019 19:04:21

Absolutely killer, and surprisingly easy to adapt. I ended up running a "reverse" of the adventure with an Anarchy group, putting Bull and Johnny 99 as antagonists and players as agents of Kyle Morgan (It was a one-shot). There was definitely enough information in this book to support that kind of turnabout.

Hard to run nowadays since the twists are so well-known, but definitely a good read for anyone trying to build a good SR adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Mercurial
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Shadowrun Legends: Never Trust an Elf
by Allegra V. R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/31/2019 19:02:15

Not really the best SR tale out there, but it gives a lot of good lore- some of which isn't addressed in the SR rules proper until much later in publication history. (Such as orks with human lifespans) Wish there was more followup on some of the plot threads, but that's early SR novels for you! Worth the price.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun Legends: Never Trust an Elf
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Shadowrun: Chicago Chaos (Anarchy)
by Allegra V. R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/31/2019 19:00:21

Absolutely loved both the fluff and the new stuff for the Anarchy system, which can always use more love! The missions in this can be easily adapted for any edition of Shadowrun, and I appreciate the details about NPCs that help for players branching out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Chicago Chaos (Anarchy)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

BattleTech: Chaos Campaign: Succession Wars
by Nick S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2019 02:27:21

Pretty good Chaos Campaign version for the Succession Wars era. Not overly complicated, excellent for those that do not wish to involve themselves in AccountTech (nothing wrong with that though).

Highly Recommended



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Chaos Campaign: Succession Wars
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Shadowrun: Rigger 3 Revised
by Gergely V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/24/2019 15:29:22

Some books and game systems are Good and Bad at same time for exactly same reason. You have WiFi at home, and when connections in 3rd edition Shadowrun are often Wired, you might say that is outdated, antiquated and you would want to see something different. On the other hand, I am sitting less than 10 feet away from a WiFi router, only I use would use that router, it is a fast AC router, yet I find that a wired connection is faster. Wired connections can easily use a dedicated medium with dedicated bandwidth, while most wireless aren't "point to point" dedicated links, but use a "shared medium and a shared bandwidth". That is why we use wired connection when speed, latency and reliability matters. It is physics that won't change.

I know my characters can use a plain old image link, that exists since 1st edition, to display data and images in an AR way. For orientation system, to cyberdeck, to devices connected with Smartlink like interfaces and everything else can use this system. Neither AR nor Wireless is any new to Shadowrun both were present in various forms if you used some existing devices creatively. But it shown us the advantages of the other options. We had many campaign types, where "slices of life" were also important. And unlike many systems with chaotic modifiers Shadowrun system was complex because it had rules for almost everything. Including vehicle design, and as the developers tried to lead the playerbase instead of copying the worst expectations of the masses we had pretty solid products.

Vehicle Design Rules in Rigger 3, and Rigger 3 Revised were part of this picture, and they are useful. They are useful even if you would have to convert vehicle data to other systems after the vehicle design process. And this, along with plenty of other options helped us to have plenty of freedom in Shadowrun 3 games. Of course this freedom ment we had to prepare more. There is nothing bad with 4E, 5E and Anarchy, but they are simpler games with far less options. And as long as we don't have a true spiritual succesor to classic Shadowrun, these old originals are the best thing we can have. It is for thinkers and tinkerers who think RPGs are a "serious hobby" and are willing to invest time in the game.

And for us, Rigger 3 is a must have. For players on the opposite side of the spectrum such products aren't recommended.

There is only a slight problem with PDF quality, when I tried to copy data for Vehicle design sometimes selecting data from tables had small issues, but "we can always write down the data we need the old way" so it is a minor issue.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Rigger 3 Revised
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Shadowrun: Sixth World Beginner Box
by Monica G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/20/2019 13:30:49

Note: We got an early copy of the physical Sixth World Begginer Box, which we've based our review on after a few play-throughs. Note that not all of what we discuss is present in the digital starter kit:

The Shadowrun Sixth World Beginner Box is a boxed set that introduces players to the rules for Shadowrun 6th edition. It's a great introductory set that has all the material you need to get a game started quickly. This includes a 24-page rulebook, a 24 page scenario, four character portfolios, a map of Seatle in the year 2080, scenario maps, a deck of equipment cards (which also includes spells and some NPC stats for the DM), and a set of 12 beautiful custom Shadowrun dice. You'll need a lot of dice, because Shadowrun has always been about three things: futuristic technology, magic, and rolling handfuls of dice--and 6th edition is no different.

A brief word on the world of Shadowrun--the game is set in an alternate future where magic of ancient legend has returned to the world in the early 2000s. The return of magic also brought creatures such as dwarves and elves, and even monsters such as dragons and ghouls into existence. This future is set in and around 2080, in a time when high-tech lasers and cybernetic implants are rather common. This future is a distopian one, with different national boundaries than we know today, and corporations controlling many aspects of daily life. You and your fellow players are shadowrunners--hired mercenaries that end up doing the dirty work for the corporations, often in the form of espionage, kidnapping, computer hacking, robbery, etc. Among the character options are deckers (hackers), a riggers (mechanics), mages, and street samurai (the muscle).

Now, for the quickstart rules. This is a nice 24-page set of simplified rules that give us a taste of what is to come in 6th edition. The quickstart rules don't include much in the way of character creation, but focus more on gameplay. If you're a veteran of the game, you may remember that Shadowrun's basic mechanics have been centered on forming a dice pool and rolling a bunch of dice. This version of Shadowrun, like recent iterations has us building a pool from an ability + skill and rolling a number of dice equal to the total. For example, if your character is attempting to hack into a computer, you would add your character's logic (representing her natural intelligence) and your electronics skill (her knowledge of electronics). You would then take that result and roll that number of dice to determine the effect. Each result of a 5 or 6 is a success, and contributes to the effectiveness of her attempt to hack the computer. Sixth edition places increased importance on the concept of 'edge', a stat that has been used in previous editions to represent the charcter's luck. Characters enter battle with edge points and more can be gained based on circumstance, such as having the high ground on a battlefield. This edition has expanded rules on gaining and using edge, allowing you to spend edge points in different amounts (1-5) to gain increasing bonuses on actions. Lower-end edge effects allow for things like buy a single re-roll or add to the outcome of 1 die. Higher-end edge expenditures let you do things like roll an additional die for each 6 you roll on your initial test, or increase your enemy's chances of having a critical failure. These are just some examples, but this edition really brings edge to the forefront as a major mechanic. At the heart of the game, you're still rolling a ton of dice and anticipating the outcome. Edge now makes that process more exciting, and players seem to enjoy thinking tactically to gain edge in combat. Veteran players will notice other changes to magic, combat, etc. that largely lean toward simplification. As well, there are some editing errors, particularly in the card set that can lead to confusion. It's likely that the core rulebook will clear up the confusion due to editing, and also possible that we'll see expansion on the rules that often aren't present in a starter kit like this.

The adventure book contains a simple scenario called 'Battle Royale', in which the runners find themselves in the middle of a gang war. Without spoiling too much, they'll have to find a way to rescue a high value target from the gangsters and get out safely to collect their reward. Players can choose from 4 character options: Frostburn--ork combat mage, Rude--troll street samurai, Yu-- Elf covert ops specialist, and Zipfile--Dwarf decker. Each character comes with an 8-page folio that contains an overview of the rules, some background and role-playing tips, and some charts for quick reference during the game. This makes it really easy to get started. The box includes a set of cards that have the stats for the equipment and spells that each character has, which also makes for easier reference. The scenario is about 24 pages with a lot of helpful tips for first-time game masters. There's even a map to help players and GM visualize the scene.

Overall, the Shadowrun Sixth World Beginner Box really has everything that you need to get started. First time players can get a game prepared in probably a couple of hours or less. The box retails for about $25, and it's an amazing value considering that a dozen custom Shadowrun dice will probably cost you at least $20. Not to mention the cost of the card set and adventure book. As a veteran Shadowrun player, this has me excited to play and run the game again. Though this boxed set doesn't present the full rules, it gives us a taste, and I like what I'm seeing so far. This preview of the game shows a lot of promise and it I can't wait to pick up the core rulebook when it's available in a few months.

See our full review at GeeksAGogo.com



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Sixth World Beginner Box
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Shadowrun, Sixth World: Dossier: Emu (Human Rigger)
by Rion S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2019 00:30:23

Overall, as the first glimpse of 6E proper, I have some issues. On the sheet itself, it has a number of items it doesn't explain. If you were totally new, you wouldn't know what half the gear is from the dossier. There's also a lot of stats it doesn't explain, and items that don't say what they even are. The gear bloat from SR5 seems to be here with a bunch of the same mods to gear, but with no explanation what they do or even what the item is you are reading. She has an Armor Jacket, but this doesn't seem to have any stats. Apparently these are explained on a card.

It seems complete as a character goes, but I can also see a lot of strange choices, like an absurd amount of debt to be paid off. It's nice that they included a conversion chart for meters per combat turn to kph to miles, but weird that it stops at 70. There's a weird (P#) annotation on some tables, which I guess must be referring to the place in the QSR document to find a better explanation?

There's also some goofiness of 6E showing up here. The action economy charges you a Minor action to drop an object? And a Major to pick an object up or put it down? Pretty unconventional for any game to not make it a free action to drop something. Edge is baked into every single quality, with Gearhead seeming to imply you can't spend Edge on a non-combat task unless you have a Quality that allows it. 50000 ways to get or deny permission to spend Edge doesn't seem like an enhancement to the game, really. In fact, it feels like they are moving Edge into the same slot that Limits occupied before, trading one type of clunk for another. I miss the days of just having a stat, a skill and some basic modifiers. While this is substantially more approachable than 5E was, it feels like I will constantly be overlooking some way to have earned or spent Edge, which makes the game feel cumbersome and underwhelming. I wouldn't have reservations about playing this version, however. I feel like I can intuit what to do as a long time player of prior editions.

The character sheet itself is not great in terms of layout or presentation, with some very tiny type in some places, and a poor font choice that causes characters to run together (same from 5E) so you can't read it very well, and everything is abbreviated, hindering new players in finding things on the page. Since the gear cards are what explains everything (I guess) there's things on here you won't be able to use or parse without the eventual Core Rule Book (I assume), since the character has 20+ gear items, but only is supposed to take 3 gear cards. The sheet itself did not get laid out with consderation for being viewed as a PDF with the sheet cut in half awkwardly, and not aligning to have both halves of the sheet able to lay out side by side in a PDF viewer.

Lastly, this is not a printer friendly document. It would kill your ink budget to try. You'll want to upload it to your phone if you plan to try to use it in a game. But with the sample run placed in between the tables and the character sheet, you will be doing a lot of scrolling to get between the character sheet part and the rules tables.

It really doesn't feel like a lot of thought or consideration went into this product. Reviews on the digital version of the QSG suggests it would be best to skip the QSR version as a purchase. I don't hate the edition from this product, but this product does not do what it's trying to do very well at all.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun, Sixth World: Dossier: Emu (Human Rigger)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Shadowrun: No Future (A Cyberpunk Sourcebook)
by Christopher L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/16/2019 13:13:06

The reason I give this bad, is not because of the mini-systems it has in it or anything of that nature or even the content. I give it a bad rating because it reuses art from other source materials. I give it the rating, because it references SR5 in a SR6 mechanic. It is not a properly edited book. No excuse for reusing art either.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: No Future (A Cyberpunk Sourcebook)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Displaying 31 to 45 (of 1059 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates