DriveThruFiction.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
The Evil on the East River
by Mihovil K. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/03/2021 12:34:12

I can truly say that this module provided very entertaining sessions for my group and I. Very well written and you can tell that the author really took the time to research the era and provide Keepers with enough flavor for a very engaging roleplay. A great product for both veteran and novice Keepers as everything is well laid out and after skimming through the pages you will have lots to go on even if you want to just take some parts the overarching plot and vibe lends itself to many other types of games you may want to run. Good artwork and for 5.99$ it's a steal for anybody wanting to having more content to bring to the table be it virtual or pine.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Evil on the East River
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

La Recette
by Michael M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/01/2021 16:38:59

The art is great and contributes to the vibe of the scenario. This could fit into any ongoing game or be a fun one shot. Definitely pick this up!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
La Recette
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Six Seasons in Sartar
by Shannon A. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/30/2021 17:05:10

This is not a classic RuneQuest adventure, full of delves and fights (though there is a mini-delve! and more than one fight!). Instead it's a deeply moving story about a community that does a magnificent job of blending together many of the elements that make RuneQuest and its world of Glorantha unique.

One moment it's a story of young initiation, another it's about mythic quests. One moment it's a political story of oppression and rebellion, another it's about historical treasures unearthed. Somehow, Montgomery makes it all blend together seamlessly, creating a whole that's much greater than its parts.

The result? One of the best RuneQuest adventures ever.

There are also some great nuances here. The adventure's "supporting cast" stat boxes break away from the number-heavy stats required by RuneQuest and provide just what you need for supporting characters, including a really nice interrelation between runes and characteristics. (I wish Chaosium would adopt them.) The section of "Episodes" at the end is a nice way to integrate a lot of story seeds (and shows how the adventure is pretty thoroughly not a railroad despite its narrative foundation; in fact, Montgomery goes out of his way to give GMs and players meaningful choices and the ability to meaningfully change the narrative). Meanwhile, the HeroQuests come across as an entirely organic expansion of RuneQuest play.

Finally, the book is physically attractive. The art is nice, the boxes are good additions to the book, and the layout is neat and attractive. (I've a slight qualm with double-spacing after periods which tends to open up big spaces in the justified text, but we each have our hobgoblins.)

Unfortunately, Six Seasons in Sartar sets an almost impossibly high standard for other RuneQuest community content — and for Chaosium's own RuneQuest content for that matter. It's a superb release.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Six Seasons in Sartar
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Null: A Pulp Cthulhu Sourcebook
by Brian F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2021 18:49:53

Null is a fantastic sourcebook that elevates the Cthulhu system into the creepy and technological future. If you have any hesitation on this purchase, I would direct you to the Null game where the author terrorizes his players with alien cephalopods on the Jupiter moon, Europa. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FzubylNFxQ4&list=PL7rd4GrAKP9cQ8SxSVnbOBFO49S8ys9GT&index=9



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Null: A Pulp Cthulhu Sourcebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

THE COMPANY OF THE DRAGON
by Timothy N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2021 16:11:55

Well, I loved Six Seasons in Sartar (I will have to write a revied of that too) and gave it 5 stars. So what do I do with this? The rating only goes up to Five, I think SSiS was worth that, and I think this is better. So, another 5 product, full of new and expansive material for helping create and manage communities and other groups as well as an excellent campaign structured to be easy for GMs to follow. Already one of my favourite writers for Glorantha, I hope the success continues. Also, I hope there's going to be a Printed option later. I do like having a physical copy of books if possible.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
THE COMPANY OF THE DRAGON
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Cthulhu Maps - Scenario Map Pack #1 - The Darkness Beneath the Hill
by Stephen W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2021 06:18:54

This map pack has everything you need to run this scenario right out of the gate. Not only does it have the maps mocked up in the scenario but it also has several auxiliary maps that are perfect if your table is less into theater of the mind. I myself have attempted to create the serpent catacombs for digital use and haven't got anywhere near to something remotely useable. The fact that the creator took the time to design the libraries after their real-life counterparts is impressive, and while may be unnoticed by your investigators, it allows the world to be that much more fleshed out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cthulhu Maps - Scenario Map Pack #1 - The Darkness Beneath the Hill
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

King Arthur Pendragon: Edition 5.2
by Shannon M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/24/2021 20:36:15

An absolutely awesome RPG to embrace Arthurian literature and Stafford's gaming masterpiece.

A longer review may be coming in the works later but consider this a place holder.

OVERALL GRADE: A minus.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
King Arthur Pendragon: Edition 5.2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Miskatonic Repository Catalogue
by rodrigo g. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/24/2021 13:34:01

Excelent product, it help you find scenarios that otherwise you could pass them. navegate through the sheet is easy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Miskatonic Repository Catalogue
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

H.P. Lovecraft's Arkham
by Troy K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/23/2021 14:54:53

I'd give five stars if the PDF was cross-linked. Zipping into locations off the directory is a bit of a chore, though the PDF search helps. I use Arkham locations with the GME Deck for solo RPG and the results are epic.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
H.P. Lovecraft's Arkham
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Yig's Teeth: A Call of Cthulhu Scenario for Down Darker Trails
by Jazmin O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/19/2021 10:51:50

I ran this for an online convention over the weekend. We ended up finishing in about 3 1/2 hours (I imagine it would be closer if the players rp'd more or did gamble at the beginning, my players didn't gamble). We had 5 out of 6 pregens in use-Tallulah was not used.

I would suggest with the Geology and Astronomy rolls that is called for, to give those skills to Johnny, Clay and Tallulah. If I remember correctly, one of the set-up paragraphs in the beginning, Finnegan also gets to do a geology roll if presented with the rock by the prospector, so maybe give him some geology skill even if it's the worst of who has the skill. I would also give Johnny and Tallulah some points in Occult. I wouldn't change Hugh or Clara too much.

Overall we had a good time with this scenario, and I will likely run it again with the character tweaks listed above.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Yig's Teeth: A Call of Cthulhu Scenario for Down Darker Trails
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

LEGION
by Nick B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/19/2021 03:48:19

I'll just update my rating with a quick comment on the printed book: it's a gorgeous print-on-demand softcover. The full-page painted internal artwork looks brilliant. The content is as per the updated digital edition, including extra art and a scenario at the back. Highly recommended, and proof you can have loads of despicable fun with a varied mob of Chaos Broo without needing to specify what they get up to with their willies.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
LEGION
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

LEGION
by Andy B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/18/2021 08:50:48

Great and very useful book.

I'd always though of broo as relatively standard, and they tend to become chaff before the scythes of the PCs. Not so with this book, that gives hem some individual personality and can present a real and well built threat.

I also enjoyed the extra diseases and am looking forward to using hte Shrinking disease on my somewhat diminutive Lanbril PC :)

Really good value for money and a high quality book



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
[Polish] Ranczo Bestii - Nieopisane lata '20
by Jan P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2021 02:48:12

Naprawdę niesamowita i świetnie napisana przygoda! Jak jeszcze nigdy mogłem poczuć cudowny klimat gangsterki lat 20-tych w USA, a to wszystko okraszone silnymi emocjami, poruszającymi wątkami oraz złowrogim mitycznym zagrożeniem, które niejednego może zaskoczyć. Do tego scenariusz jest bardzo otwarty na kreatywność Strażnika Tajemnic i jego własne pomysły, co świetnie współgra z solidnym materiałem startowym. Szczerze polecam, bo to kawał doskonałej historii, która zapewni kilka godzin przyjemnego grania i pozwoli zanurzyć się w niezwykły świat, tak z wyczuciem wykreowanym przez autora. Jeśli lubicie klimaty przestępcze, poruszające, osobiste opowieści oraz niejednoznaczne wybory moralne to jest to tytuł obowiązkowy!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
[Polish] Ranczo Bestii - Nieopisane lata '20
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Miskatonic Repository Catalogue
by Giuseppe S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/14/2021 15:31:48

Very useful catalogue. Great job!! Hope to see updates in the future.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Miskatonic Repository Catalogue
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Prisoners' Dilemma
by Justin S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/12/2021 11:19:26

I really enjoyed how the authors took a real-life mysterious event and put a Lovecraft spin on it. The artwork is also surprisingly good for a fan-made scenario as it looks like art that Chaosium could have commisioned for any of their official scenarios.

While following a linear overall story, the depth of NPC characters allowed for a lot of fun in-scene discussions and conversations along the way. This is my favorite way to play these kinds of scenarios: be provided with interesting characters in an interesting setting and let them come to life as you go rather than having preset dialogue dictate the interactions.

The length of the scenario was also great, I would say 3-5 sessions depending on how much the group wants to dive into the details. It's long enough to feel like you have to work towards the conclusion but it doesn't overstay its welcome.

I look forward to any more scenarios that this author team decides to write!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Prisoners' Dilemma
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 990 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates