DriveThruFiction.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Tradition: Sandheart Volume Three
by Jacob W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/13/2020 03:49:19

Wow! A fantastic adventure. And works very well slotting in between the earlier volume too!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tradition: Sandheart Volume Three
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Masks of Nyarlathotep - 7th Edition
by Matthew B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2020 00:51:07

This is a beautiful reimagining of the 1984 original. The changes are well thought out, and there are many helpful sidebars for when you want to run this for your players. The optional prologue adventure is very well done, and my players had a blast. Congratulations! This is a winning product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Masks of Nyarlathotep - 7th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

The Idol of Thoth
by Alex W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/11/2020 13:40:17

This is quite a tidy one-shot adventure, ideal for new players as it has investigation that isn't overly complicated, combat that can be challenging but isn't necessarily deadly, a mystery to solve and !!SPOILERS!! an unexpected betrayal by a key NPC.

It's set in the usual CoC 1920's New England, I transplanted it to London without any trouble. The only caveat I have is that it needs an edit as some of the dated events which the mystery is based on don't quite marry up and there's occasional text that needs parsing with common sense, any decent GM can deal with it easily but even so, it's not a free product so it shouldn't have that issue.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Idol of Thoth
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Valley of Plenty
by Herve C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/04/2020 13:32:40

This is a Beautiful work. Written for the HeroQuest / HeroWars rules, it describes the Dundealos tribe of Sartar in Glorantha. They're exotic because they're "Horse Orlanthi" and worship Elmal, the Sun God, otherwise it's politics as usual. They continuously fight the eastern threat of praxian and their ancestor killed Jaldon Broken Tooth, the hero of praxian heroes, hence their other name : the Jaldonkillers.

The players start very small, when they're 8 or 9 years old. Even children can stumble on Magic in this world, and they do meet a... Frog spirit. A few years later, now 11 or 12, they have a hard decision to make : should they go after a praxian kidnapper now or call on the adults ? Fast forward a few more years and it's Initiation time, the moment they have been waiting for their whole young lives. It is described as an Elmali Heroquest and has potentially surprising consequences.

This book is pleasant to read, elegantly written, with the love for its subject glowing (it's an elamli thing) through the pages. It's an easy campaign to play, with a lot of wise and useful advice about how to run different scenes. The whole story happens during lunar occupation but it would take little work to fast forward it to 1626.

So if you're into Glorantha, Horses or parenting, go ahead and read this. Even better, play it ! Enjoy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Valley of Plenty
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Secrets of Dorastor
by Herve C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/01/2020 13:34:35

Secrets of Dorastor lists many places, individuals, organizations, cults and some other things not so easily classifiable that exist / operate / rave around in Dorastor. All this is new information, even if you've read Dorastor and the Book of Drastic Resolutions about the place.

Dorastor is an EXTREMELY DANGEROUS PLACE, partly taken over by Chaos and accordingly mutated. It's a BAD IDEA to go there. It's a WORSE IDEA to try to interact with its denizens. Dorastor is for powerful characters for whom no challenge is left. Dorastor will bring them to their knees very quickly if they're not extra careful.

Yet it is as wonderful as horrible, with dozens of scenario ideas supplied by the author, all more gruesome (the stories, not the author) that each other. It's not only monster-bashing either (a precision here : the monsters do the bashing) but there are, as always in Glorantha, politics involved.

Many of Simon's ideas are disturbing : a chaotic earth Goddess whom everybody worships because, well, there's no one better to ; a giant who likes to disguise himself as a tree ; what's the interior of Kartolin castle really like... and dozens more.

Enjoy reading and my condolences for any loss you might suffer entering there !



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Secrets of Dorastor
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the review, Herve
Treasures of Glorantha: V1 — Dragon Pass
by Herve C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/01/2020 13:19:45

If you like to spice your game with magical artefacts, this is the book for you (PLUNDER has been around for so long and been, well, plundered of everything). So here are a good numbers of new items to include in your game.

My absolute fave is the SINGING SWORD. The item that indeed gives you + 1 CHA when you flash it around, but - 1 CHA if you stay in one place for too long. The item that's worth 10 000 L... unless the buyer knows its whole story and then it's worth 1 000 L at most. It's classy, it's hilarious and I would throw it in the Vent (Glorantha's biggest Volcano) if I ended up as its owner. Maybe. It's so beautiful, so elegant, it cuts so deeply... ah, such a hard choice.

I also recommend Stickyfinger (which does not stick) and the Bones of Luck and Death. So you want to be part of the Tournament of the same name ? Here's your chance to get a feel of the power of LUCK.

Hippoi's Feathers and Esrola's mirror are more classic but well-rounded ideas that are worth Questing for.

Finally, you get a full selection of shamanic items of power : medicine bundles, ancestor bundles, ablity bundles, plenty of bundles ; plus spirit weapons, spirit darts, etc. all brought to you by the excellent - if eccentric - Simon Phipp.

Enjoy reading and PLEASE let me know if you ever include the goddam Singing Sword in your game !



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Treasures of Glorantha: V1 — Dragon Pass
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks so much! I'm glad you've enjoyed the book.
Blue Moon, White Moon
by Herve C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/01/2020 13:05:46

This book is all about a character (NPC) from a different culture, in a difficult situation, who stumbles on / is stumbled upon by your characters. She's probably from THE ennemy culture (lunar empire) but is a beautiful woman in danger. Or maybe you saw her buzz-sawing her way through her attackers ? Because she is, in fact, a secret high-level assassin, one of the dreaded Blue Moon cultists. Here. What do you character do with that ?

The beauty of this little book is presenting several situations and possibilities, all mind-opening, all intriguing, for your characters. This time, the ennemy is not faceless. It's even very pretty, and it - OK, she - has a strong Honor code. Maybe a little messed up for you...

Enjoy reading and above all, enjoy playing !



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Moon, White Moon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

The Duel at Dangerford
by Mike V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/01/2020 09:42:56

Ran this for my players after Defending Apple Lane as I wanted them to be involved in the fight against the Lunars, they are D&D players experiencing Glorantha for the first time and it was a great way to show the differences between vanilla D&D and this! Great fun being Fazzur too!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Duel at Dangerford
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Rainbow Caves Map
by Mike V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/01/2020 09:41:08

I decided to run Rainbow Mounds from the original RQ scenario pack and we are using Roll 20 currently so this is an absolute godsend ! Can I have some for Snakepipe Hoillow and maybe the maps in the Scenario book for RQG? ;)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rainbow Caves Map
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Vinga's Ford
by Mike V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/01/2020 09:38:32

This is a lovely compact 1 or 2 session vignette, great if your characters are based in Apple lane, even better if you have Orlanthi or Humakti player characters. Fills in a bit of colour for Oakton home of the Vermandi who feature in the Campaign pack for Cattle raid and also has a great Duck in it! What more could you ask for!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vinga's Ford
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Secrets of Dorastor
by David B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/29/2020 06:37:38

The work of an evil genius in his volcano powered secret base would have difficulty measuring up to this Dorastor, great ideas and the doom contained within this work rivals the God Learners. If you are insane enough to want to go to this dreadful place, use this work and may Darkness ⚫ protect you from the horrors and acid within..... mostly the acid.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Secrets of Dorastor
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Creator Reply:
Many thanks for the Review. I am pleased that you noticed that I included some acid attacks, I thought I had been quite subtle in my use of acid.
RuneQuest - Roleplaying in Glorantha
by Shannon A. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/29/2020 03:36:35

It's RuneQuest! The real RuneQuest, the original RuneQuest, back for the first time since Avalon Hill killed the line over twenty years previous.

To a certain extent, you know what you're getting here, this is the classic simulationist system. Oh, it's been nicely updated, integrating the passions from Pendragon, adding in runes as skills much like the now non-canon Mongoose RuneQuest did. There's also great Glorantha background in the character creation. It took decades, but it's great to finally have it recognized that a setting strengthens a game, it doesn't weaken it. (Oh, we had a shot at this with the original RQ4 back in the late '80s, but that got killed, and that's a whole other story.) And we get a nice set of cults to add to the setting.

And this book also looks very nice. Take a look at the cover, and that's pretty representative of the level of art within the book.

Generally, I'm thrilled to have a real RuneQuest again, and to have it be such a high-quality book that innovates just enough to be interesting.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
RuneQuest - Roleplaying in Glorantha
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

RuneQuest - Glorantha Bestiary
by Shannon A. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/29/2020 03:34:01

I'd expected a Monster Manual for Glorantha, but this book is so much more.

Oh, there are monstrous listings, including chaos monstrosities, giant arthropods (an Uz favorite!), animals and spirits. The breadth is rather stunning and will support a lot of different sorts of adventuring in Glorantha. They're all well-written and many are attractively illustrated; they have good details on the critters. They'll be a wonder to torment adventurers in any RuneQuest game.

However, the real surprise in this book was the section on the Elder Races, which took up about a third of the book. Want details on Aldryami (elves), Mostali (dwarves), and Uz (trolls)? It's all in here, in very nice depth, and alongside that is material on many of the lesser Elder Races, from Beast Men to Maidstone Archers. There's also a bit on the Terrors of Glorantha, which is another nice section that's pretty unusual for a Monster Manual.

Old fans of the game may be familiar with some of this material from the Gloranthan Bestiary and Elder Secrets of Glorantha, but this is the best compilation ever of the material, with so much new stuff (and of course compatibility with RQ:G) that I think any fan would want it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RuneQuest - Glorantha Bestiary
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Valley of Plenty
by Pierre P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2020 17:28:01

Valley of Plenty is a great campaign book. By far one of the best, I've read for a long time. If you are looking for an unusual campaign and setting, (you are playing pre initiated children of the Dundealos Tribe), Valley of Plenty have everything you need to start playing... A complete backgroung description of the dundealos tribe and valley in 1602, scenarii, plot hooks / Story Seeds, special rules for character generation, rite of passage, etc. The artworks and the layout are great even if a printer friendly version will be an appreciated bonus... A really good product.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Valley of Plenty
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Secrets of Dorastor
by Frank M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2020 08:12:48

If you have any interest at all in Dorastor, then BUY THIS BOOK! Yes, book. This monstrosity is over 250 pages, chock full from beginning to end. Quality stuff. And the secrets! But I cannot share those, so let me mention just a few of the great things about Secrets of Dorastor. Scenario Hooks: There are text boxes sprinkled throughout with ways to entangle adventurers into the creatures and features of Dorastor. Imagine if a Master Gamemaster laid out his or her brain for all to see and learn from. Okay, maybe don’t imagine that, but imagine if he or she shared knowledge with you. All the tips and tricks for running a campaign in Dorastor are here. New, New, New: Crazy number of new creatures, spells, and items. It says 15 magic items on the back, but the author must have left a zero off the end. For example, there is a Treasures section near the end, with all sorts of new magic items, besides all the Things and items scattered throughout. Most have the taint of chaos you would expect of anything found in Dorastor, but there are some truly great things that can be found anywhere in Glorantha as well. Artwork: I am a fan of artwork and Secrets has plenty, old and new. It was nice to see some of the old pieces of art in here. Anyways, if none of that has you interested in purchasing Secrets of Dorastor, then I don’t know what will. I am very happy to have bought this product and I look forward to future purchases from him.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Secrets of Dorastor
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Creator Reply:
Many thanks for the review, Frank.
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 741 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates