DriveThruFiction.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Gatsby and the Great Race
by Cory W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/05/2019 19:02:46

I felt compelled to write a review with some counterpoints to the last one. I cannot say enough about this scenario being entirely awesome and players LOVE it. What Michael says is true - it is a convention scenario, and it is by no means easy to get set up with the Con folks - it's quite a task to pull off and getting dedicated Keepers to put on this performance, as that is what it is (although a LARP, it is not), arrange for tables in separate spaces and get the special table in another location where isolation makes it all the better. However, pulling this event off locally WOWS people - I'd suggest at least three tables of 4 players (and a Keeper per table), and you then need the escort Keepers to for the players between tables. It is a fresh and incredible experience, and people are interacting and their brains are craning to figure out what is going on - it is AWESOME.

There is a lot of great info in the book and great tips - it doesn't cover every scenario as it's very Keeper-centric - go with a theme and throw in cool weirdness, red herrings and Lovecraftian (or other) staples to keep everybody guessing. They are truly solving a mystery in across many tables, and players LOVE it. Blindfolidng is kinda creepy, but we've found blacked out "granny sunglasses" work great and don't overly stress people, and but using them is a HUGE boon for the players - it's different and a novel new scenario additon. If anybody is interested in more detail, I can provide more information. We're currently running a little circuit of Gatsby and the Great Race at Gary Con and Gamehole Con in the Wisconsin area - if this sounds of interest and you'd like to have the experience, we'd love to see you there!

Gatsby and the Great Race has an incredibly well tuned scenario with lots of great mechanics (it's 6th Edition Call of Cthulhu - we've converted them to 7th), huge backstory and the open and creative leeway for players to have an >experience< - with the effort and coordination between Keepers to make every table interesting and different, players are blown away by Gatsby and the Great Race. If you pull off a multi-table session with dedicated Keepers, your players will have an incredible time and awesome mystery to behold.

Ha - that review was 8 years ago... This is a lovely ancient gem - I can't say enough about how great this scenario is - enjoy!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gatsby and the Great Race
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Mizuumi no bakemono
by Godo T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/03/2019 16:14:01

この作品は少人数で遊ぶことに長けており、日本の一般的な情景を想像しながら遊ぶことができます。 登場人物や目的地も少ないため、キーパーの負担も軽く、気軽に日本を舞台としてプレイすることができます。 日本の妖怪である『河童』を題材にすることでより日本らしいクトゥルフ神話を再現しています。

ただ、ANNEX 2: CREATING INVESTIGATORSのランダム表が偏見に満ちた内容になっているので注意が必要。ゲームとして、ジョークとして遊べば日本人でも大盛り上がりするはずです。 少ない欠点を上げるのならSUIJIN SHRINEについての情報が少ないことです。クトゥルフ神話に詳しいプレイヤーなら真っ先に調べる箇所なのに何もわかりません。



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mizuumi no bakemono
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Alone Against the Tide
by Alexander B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/28/2018 01:52:24

There were way too many arbitrary decisions that if you failed them you would immediately die. Furthermore, many situations have easily conceivable alternative methods of solving the problem but are not presented to you which in my opinion shows a lack of forethought concerning some of the decision points in the game .



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Alone Against the Tide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Isle of Madness
by Jackson M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/21/2018 20:03:57

A very fun pulp adventure well worth the small price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Isle of Madness
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Casting Call of Cthulhu
by Jason C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/06/2018 15:46:50

The Call of Cthulhu monograph series varies tremendously in quality, and Casting Call of Cthulhu is one of the best. It contains dozens of NPCs for use in modern-day Call of Cthulhu games as people who might be informants or provide specialized assistance to the investigators.

A key element of why the Casting Call of Cthulhu is so effective is its organization. The NPCs are listed by the "field" they are in - art, crime, law enforcement, media - meaning that when the players suddenly, out of nowhere, want to go to the press (for example), you have several to choose from. The characters presented are diverse, and each are given fully humanizing qualities - you never know what characters the players will seize on as appealing, so having a solid background, goal, and personality helps bring them quickly to life.

Call of Cthulhu isn't a game that lives or dies by its recurring NPCs - this is a tremendous first step towards filling out a setting that can otherwise feel empty and isolating as the horror genre tends to be.

The missteps in the piece involve some typos (a problem throughout the monographs) and some archaic terms that don't reflect how best to describe a diverse set of peoples. (C'mon, "Oriental"? I get that Gary Gygax used it but Said published Orientalism in 1978. Can't we have caught up by now?)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Casting Call of Cthulhu
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Moonglow
by Konrad R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/06/2018 01:27:36

Well written and complete with everything you need to just read it and start playing almost immediatly.

  • Handouts (maps, NPC lists for the PC)
  • 4 Character sheets (every character can be male or female) + 1 blank sheet
  • Complete scenario, perfect for one evening
  • Inspired by Lovecraft works but in futuristic setting

I will certainly try with the CoC rules as well as a Dread game. It's a perfect fit :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Moonglow
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

The Great Pendragon Campaign
by Mattias S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/05/2018 10:26:32

Im sure the content of the book is good but the quality of the print is bad. The paper is thin and feels cheap. The pictures look faded and looks like its printed with a old home printer running out of ink. The paper is so thin you can almost read the text on the other side through the pages.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Great Pendragon Campaign
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

RuneQuest Quickstart
by Jorge J. V [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2018 20:50:02

The text was poorly edited, the combat rules are wrong and can't be followed as written. It needs a better copyeditor or line editor.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
RuneQuest Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Book of Feasts
by Drew W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/27/2018 10:15:36

Book of Feasts is useful for Knight characters only. This is a well made product, but I made the mistake of buying it to use during an upcoming game with friends, before reading the contents. I WAS going to introduce my players to Pendragon during a Xmas party, and use Book of Feasts as the icebreaker. I had imagined a nice collection of creative role playing starters. But most of the events described in this deck are strictly for a male knight's perspective. From serving wenches flirting to challenges at arm wrestling.... I can't use this. Half of my players are WOMEN and all of my players intend to play different character types. I wish the events depicted were more applicable, and not so fixated on the men.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Feasts
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

An Invitation in Yellow
by Denice K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2018 19:59:41

Ran this with my CoC group and it was incredible! It has a great mix of suspense/horror, loved the handouts and really satisfying conclusion. Thanks!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
An Invitation in Yellow
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Book of Uther
by Nicholas J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/12/2018 02:39:03

While I enjoyed this book it is not for everyone. It does expand greatly on characters and the customs of Uther's Court along with the Uther Expansion included within. If you want to run a more in depth court intrigue during the Uther time period then this is a must by. Otherwise it a is a nice edition to your Pendragon Collection



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Uther
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Call of Cthulhu 7th Edition Quick-Start Rules
by Cedric C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/22/2018 23:37:06

Call of Cthulhu's written adventures are some of the best on the market. But The Haunting isn't one of them. It's a very straightforward scenario, but, as written, little of the investigation during the scenario actually helps the investigators rid themselves of the menace at the final location. Thankfully, Alone against the Flames is an excellent adventure to introduce you to the mythos, as well as give you ideas how to run a CoC adventure.

As for the ruleset, CoC's skill check system is easy to pick up for roleplayers familiar with other roleplaying games. However, the way most CoC adventures are designed, investigators have to follow a trail of clues -- and if they fail their skill checks, the game master has to find some way to put them on track again. 7th edition added a "push" mechanic which allows a player to attempt another skill check, which helps address this problem, but we now play a homemade rules-light system that takes care of this.

Finally, of course, these rules are free, and you only need to print about ten pages for each player so they have their own set of rules. No more "passing around the rulebook". I'm not sure what the best free adventure is, however.

SPOILER: I highly recommend removing the glowing symbols at the Church, since they're not even explained why they're there. You may wish to modify the tome found at the Church to contain a spell that will help the party at the climax.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Call of Cthulhu 7th Edition Quick-Start Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

The Pipeline: A Call of Cthulhu Scenario for the 1980s
by Ian C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2018 08:15:44

The Pipeline is more than just a Call of Cthulhu scenario. Inside you will find some really good options for making the environment come to life, adding a bit of NATURAL horror to the usual supernatural! This product also contains great handouts, maps, new equipment, NPCs, and more... greatly adding to the value of the product in my opinion.

The environmental options are really well presented and they make sense. They provide you with a lot of options, while not forcing you to add anything you don't want should you feel the game is already deadly enough for your particular group. Personally, I like my horror games as deadly and scary as they can get, so I'm certain I'll get good use out of these new rules!

The next part of the book is the scenario itself. The guys have really done a great job with the presentation here, laying out a thorough and easy to follow timeline and really going into great detail on all of the locations and scenes. Oh, and there are a LOT of them, too! This is not a one shot scenario, and I expect it to last at least three sessions for most of my usual groups. The locations and scenes are laid out in a sandbox fashion, and aside from the timeline of events that will occur without player character intervention there isn't any railroading to be found here.

The handouts presented are plentiful and of great quality. They do a great job of supporting the aesthetic of the scenario, and are easy to make use of whether gaming at a live table or via online play.

The final portion of the book details dozens of potential NPCs, presents 8 pregen characters should you need them, and detail some of the new/unique equipment for this scenario. All of this is supported by some great images and artwork!

In conclusion, this is an excellent supplement for Call of Cthulhu, on par with some of the great official Chaosium releases in my mind! It looks great, reads great, and pretty soon I will get to find out just how great it plays!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Pipeline: A Call of Cthulhu Scenario for the 1980s
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Orient Express tickets
by Marcin M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/25/2018 15:23:04

Great addition to the campaign. Played with those tickets, and marking every major station really helped feel like we have achieved some milestone in our journey.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Orient Express tickets
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

The Night Door
by Edward P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/21/2018 10:01:02

Jon Hook is one of my all-time favorite RPG writers, so getting this scenario was a no-brainer for me. The Night Door doesn't disappoint! It's a creepy mystery with a lot of surprises for the players. It comes with a printer-friendly version which is awesome! Keep them coming Jon!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Night Door
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 357 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates