DriveThruFiction.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
The Highway of Blood: A Call of Cthulhu Scenario for the 1970s
by Shawn V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/26/2020 12:23:52

Do you crave adventure? Do you seek excitement? Or perhaps having your body eviscerated in a horrific high speed, octane fueled car crash on a desert road sounds like a good time? Then “Highway of Blood” is defiantly for you. This is a sand box style adventure built in the style of the Grindhouse movies of the 1970s. Having had the chance to be player in this adventure it is a refreshing addition to the Call of Cthulhu scenario catalog. This module fills a void between the classic Lovecraftian adventures of the 1920s and more modern-day style adventures. There are numerous ways that it can be played such as your classic style investigators looking to solve a mystery or a group of friends trying to survive a horrific experience in a small desert town in western Texas. It has the potential numerous outcomes and expansions into a much larger campaign of your own design. So, if you are an individual that doesn’t mind a visceral romp with a potential high body count then give “Highway of Blood” a go, you will not be disappointed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Highway of Blood: A Call of Cthulhu Scenario for the 1970s
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Rocks Fall
by Rob D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/25/2020 21:47:04

"a...beautiful 16-page RQG scenario based on the classical notion that there are some trolls and you should kill them." D. Probst.

For me the beauty lies in just how scalable this scenario has been made. It is usable as a mook bash or, as I did the other night, a serious threat to a near rune level party.

It is the ideal introduction to both the prevalence of magic in RQG and to the lethality of the system's combat combat. This makes it a great training one shot for those inducting players from other systems.

It has been written to slot easily into pretty much any setting where you can justify a narrow approach and some tunnels (I was using the Main Ruins in the Big Rubble). Even then the characters and justifications are strong enough to generate plot hooks if they survive; so valuable for an ongoing campaign.

Finally the minis. They're beautifully drawn and will see much re-use.

A versatile little scenario.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rocks Fall
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

7th Sea Adventures: Welcome to Five Sails!
by Jayson S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/25/2020 20:02:59

This adventure is... A mixed bag, at best. It tries to do too much, while simultaneously not doing much. It rambles, placing huge emphasis on inconsequential things, then handwaves things significant to the plot. It's contradicting the game's own canon, and sometimes itself.

The foreword says "It brings your players into the city, introduces them to some of its local color and flavor, then puts something they care about in immediate danger."

That something they're supposed to care about? A tavern they have been in less than 2 hours, owned by a curmudgeon who complains about everything (including the players, for simply existing), and has only owned the tavern for 5 weeks anyways!

I'm hard pressed as to why they would care about it, let alone that they're expected to - the entire adventure is 100% dependent on this one thing.

An entire full page handout of a pamphlets is duplicated in read aloud box text. And more words (literally half a page) are spent discussing the fully optional encounter with the harbormaster (all they do is collect a docking fee and wave you on), then are written about the actual main villain.

Plus it is riddled with typos, including those that even a spell checker would catch, like "a few dayds later". It also has a sidebar about "You'll notice [H] used a lot" and how it's used for scaling... Except that the ONLY occurrence of [H] is in that very sidebar.

Best of all, the footer on every page declares this to be "The Changeling Queen" which is a separate, unrelated adventure, which points to this being quickly produced by quickly editing an existing product and not paying any attention to details.

The concept is mediocre at best, the execution is... Worse than that. Do not recommend.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea Adventures: Welcome to Five Sails!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Rocks Fall
by Jon G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2020 11:40:07

This is a great little product for a one-shot scenario, or a drop-in for a campaign. It's aimed at beginner-level parties, but has alternative setups for more advanced parties, up to Rune level.

Without spoilers: what we have here is a cave-based mini-dungeon, with Trolls as foes. Expect tricksy shenanigans from the Trolls when (not if) the party goes on the warpath. It's the GM's job to get them on the warpath, of course, and quite a few ideas and hooks are presented. As well as maps for the GM, there are player handout maps too, should you want to use them. The PDF even includes printable miniatures for the Trolls and Trollkin. Usual story: fold, glue to a penny and you're all set.

Non-map graphics for me are less important than GMing details, but the imagery here is pretty nice, giving not just the Trolls but Trollkin individual personalities.

I haven't yet run my players through this, but I'm expecting to give it a try in the next couple of weeks. Fun will, I suspect, ensue.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rocks Fall
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Dark Offerings
by Barry S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/17/2020 02:35:10

we ran this last Friday night and it was well received. The build up had them all guessing where they were headed next, and they were not disappointed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Offerings
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Rocks Fall
by Clint S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2020 12:11:00

This is a well produced brief scenario or encounter with everything you need to run it, and a bit more! I like that, as written, it is suitable for beginning adventurers of RQG, but recommendations for scaling the inhabitants and encounters could make it a challenge for anything up to rune-levels. The fold-and-play miniatures are also very handy and well done!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rocks Fall
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Call of Cthulhu 7th Edition Conversion Guidelines
by Clem W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2020 17:40:10

This is a wonderful system which has brought my friends anad I hours of fun! I would suggest it to any group of people who like horror and slow burn style play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Call of Cthulhu 7th Edition Conversion Guidelines
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Book of Sires
by Nicholas J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/03/2020 05:30:16

It is an amazing supplement that can add a whole new level of intruge to the game at large. Perhaps your Character's fathers were married to a lady from Cornwall or Silchester or even Malahuat. Meaning perhaps you would have ties to either of those places causing for more plots and schemes to be developed.

There are many things this book does for those who want a more indepth family history. But it also includes options for those who wish to start later in the campaign which I beleive is a nice touch.

For Player it is a side benefit. For a GM who wants to run an extensive, broad and inclusive Grand Campaign it is a must!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Sires
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Refractions of Glasston
by Michael F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/01/2020 19:34:42

Review: Refractions of Glasston for Call of Cthulhu

When I first heard of a group of college students working with faculty and Chaosium mentors to write a scenario I was simultaneously hopeful and skeptical. On one hand, anyone who has played role-playing games for an extended period of time knows that writing content for a wide audience for a game is challenging. My head spins a bit when I think about taking quality writing and needing to support it with art, handouts, editing and layout that makes for a truly professional-looking package. That isn’t easy. On the other hand, Miskatonic Repository has provided a lovely platform to allow amateur writers access to publication avenues that were not present in the past. Why shouldn’t a college course provide an opportunity for experiential learning? With these competing perspectives in mind, I dove into Refractions of Glasston (RoG henceforth) with a positive and open mind. And I was not disappointed.

The scenario is a 1920s-era investigation set within the historical context of Indiana at the time. This is probably my favorite part of the endeavor. I learned a bit of Indiana’s glass manufacturing history by reading this scenario. Call of Cthulhu has always had the advantage of being a nice vehicle for exploring true history in the context of fiction. Having real world tie-ins in any CoC scenario are useful for giving players reasons as to why their character would be present and engaged. I think this will help the scenario especially if run at conventions.

At this point, note that there will be spoilers moving forward. There are specific plot points that I want to give as feedback to the student writers and I can’t really do that without making specific references to happenings. I enthusiastically recommend this scenario for play, so if you are a player and want to send it off to your Keeper, I think you can feel confident in doing so. Please direct your Keeper to read the rest of the review for tips for running it.

I have a long list of things that I like about the scenario. The biggest one for me is the cast of characters. The authors have done a great job of fleshing out the details of a wide variety of different characters for players to interact with, each with their own personal motives. This micro-setting feels “lived in” and the characters give it that authenticity. I think it is particularly important for a scenario of any game to have characters that players want to interact with. RoG has NPCs with a variety of motives.

The town is really well fleshed out. Glasston, as presented, has the right number of buildings for exploration activities to have solid depth, while not also being overwhelming in scope. Of particular note is the temporal variations that the authors have worked into the text about specific locations. There are many options as to what could happen depending upon the timing of when the investigators explore a particular location. Whether a Keeper uses these as written, or adapts them to their own purposes, it can never hurt to have more options.

I find “the monster” of this scenario to be very interesting. I think fear of being cut by glass is a very real phobia of a lot of people, and for good reason. Any scenario that targets common fears is immediately aiding in the development of mood. The Glass Plague is creepy and deadly and gives investigators added incentive to continue to find out more critical information as to what is happening in town. This threat also has a calculating intelligence behind it. I think the scenario could probably stand on the Glass Plague alone, without the entity at all, but the added layer of a cold, directed intelligence behind what is happening just makes everything even more interesting and terrifying. The attacks of the creature are varied and interesting.

The overall organization of the scenario follows three distinct acts. The first act is a sandbox with a large amount of supporting material to help it feel fleshed out. The last two acts are a bit more prescriptive. One of the most interesting elements of the sandbox act is the idea of the suspicion tracker. This is a simple but very powerful mechanic that I think could be broadly used in many investigative horror scenarios. A question constantly facing Keepers is timing of when sinister elements make their move. I’m sure opinions on this will vary on a continuum from “when the Keeper deems the time to be right,” to a more objective method of determination with the suspicion tracker. At the end of the day, the “correct” answer is whatever makes the game most interesting for a particular group. The suspicion tracker adds a concrete option for Keepers who prefer discrete triggers to events. The extent to which particular events contribute to the tracker make sense in the context of the overarching narrative.

The layout of the scenario is professionally done. Everything that makes the organization of 7E scenarios great is present here, down to the consistent formatting of character information blocks. This standardization makes it immediately easy for new fans to pick up the importance of getting characters down first before any events transpire.

The art of the handouts, the town map, and character portraits are all well done, given the amateur group producing the scenario. It is refreshing to see character portrait artwork that breaks the mold of what is “usual” for 7E. That isn’t a criticism of 7E so much as an appreciation for art variation in any product.

The pre-generated characters are well designed and each follows the “Holy Trifecta” rule of at least one or two critically useful skills (Library Use, Social, Investigative).

This is a free product being produced for learning purposes for students and as a benefit to the community. So, I think anyone needs to keep that in mind when they are evaluating. I’m not inclined to get too nitpicky here, except when that could have a positive impact on learning.

I’ll end my “things I like” section by just mentioning how important I think it is that a class at a religious college is publishing this scenario. Role-playing in general, but especially “occult”-themed games like Call of Cthulhu, are often demonized by faith groups. I think it is a critical act of gaming leadership for a class at a religious college to publish a secular scenario. Thank you for sending a positive message about story-telling from your vantage point!

As to stretches, there are a couple aspects of the narrative that I think deserve mention for prospective Keepers.

A linchpin of the narrative is setting up the concept of the Sand Pit as a key location for the third act. The sandbox portion is pretty light on concrete mentions of the Sand Pit. It would be up to the Keeper to plan by having a list of NPCs that are the most important sources of Sand Pit information. For me, the top four (in order) are: Dennis Adkins, Gloria Hillis, Barry Coddle, and Elias Winters. Barry Coddle is the only character that gives explicit references to the Sand Pit. I think that relevant sections of the text would benefit greatly from reminding the Keeper that each of these characters are important sources of information for helping the investigators learn about the significance of the Sand Pit. For example: “Keepers should note that, if the investigators have not learned about the Sand Pit before now, Gloria is an excellent opportunity to communicate that information...” A journal entry handout cryptically references “sand.” But other than that, scouring the scenario, I find scant reference to the main sources of info about the Sand Pit. I’m guessing the authors had the idea firmly placed in their minds as they wrote and edited. In my opinion, it doesn’t come out in the text. I could see an inexperienced Keeper failing to do enough to set up the idea of the Sand Pit and, by extension, I could see a group of players completely lost as to how to act on the information they have about the Glass Plague. As written, it is entirely possible that if the investigators don’t talk to Barry Coddle, they would never hear the term Sand Pit uttered in the adventure. A good axiom to follow in scenario preparation is that players always need more chances to find information than you might think. References to the Sand Pit seem too light to me.

There are a couple points in the scenario where the NPCs seem overly aggressive. For example, the interaction with the Sheriff seems odd. One failed Fast Talk roll and not leaving immediately is enough to get an investigator shot? By the sheriff? Yikes. I understand that one of the central ideas is that the Glass Plague alters people’s minds, but this action seems in direct contradiction to what we learn about Joan McKay in her character bio. She wants to “keep outsiders from suspecting its plans” and her “strong moral code often outweighs Kh’yrenery’hk’s influence.” These statements seem to directly contradict her just shooting an investigator because she doesn’t like the cut of their jib. Shooting somebody isn’t an effective way to curtail suspicion. Another example would be the Brawl in Aisle 12. That just doesn’t sit well with me as a Keeper. It kind of smacks of “let’s be sure to get a combat encounter in here.” I think perhaps the goal is to give investigators an opportunity to study the Glass Plague, but those opportunities abound in the scenario. Does it function to influence the suspicion tracker? Is the goal to increase tension through violence? It just seems overly aggressive.

The Jim Crow Laws sidebar feels like a tacked-on and missed opportunity. It basically says: “Jim Crow Laws existed. Use that if you want.” Without any guidance on how to use them appropriately, I think the section potentially does more harm than good. Maybe the writers didn’t feel qualified to write advice on using Jim Crow in a historical scenario? If that’s the case, it is probably best to not try to do something you aren’t prepared or qualified for. It just leaves a hollow taste in my mouth. I feel like Call of Cthulhu is a great opportunity for us to engage on tough social issues as gamers. But without guidance on how to do that it risks making a mockery of very serious historical issues. So, my advice is either to flesh out this sidebar a bit more to give the tips needed for Keepers to be effective (maybe consulting with someone who can give appropriate guidance?) or to just ditch it entirely.

I think this is a pretty deadly scenario, whether we are talking about physical or mental harm. This could be considered a strength or a weakness of the scenario, depending upon who you ask and whether it is used as a one-shot or as part of a campaign. I wonder if it was independently play-tested, because I see a TPK here as being pretty likely, unless the investigators have a well-thought-through plan for fighting Kh’yrenery’hk.

Very minor nitpicks:

Page 24, first paragraph: “Visint”

Page 26, first column, last paragraph: Sounds (pun intended) like it should be a Listen roll, not Spot Hidden.

Page 28, Glass Behemoth stat block: Damage bonus is +5D6, but Brawl attack has +1D6

In summary

Refractions of Glasston is an excellent scenario with an interesting cast of characters and a truly frightening, otherworldly, unique threat. I find it easy to visualize squirming at a gaming table as the clues are uncovered and the Glass Plague is encountered. This student group should be proud of what they accomplished!

Verdict: A solid 4 out of 5 for me. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Refractions of Glasston
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Refractions of Glasston
by Edward K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/28/2019 15:37:04

Ring Side Report-RPG Review of Refractions of Glasston

Originally posted at www.throatpunchgames.com, a new idea every day!

Product- Refractions of Glasston System-Call of Cthulhu, 7th ed Producer- Taylor University PWR Press Price- free! https://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/297601/Refractions-of-Glasston?affiliate_id=658618 TL; DR- A college work! 90%

Basics-All is not well in the midwest….In a small glass making town in Indiana, something ancient and evil is stirring. Can our heroes learn the horrific secrets in time or will fail and end up consumed by the glass as well? Let's break this down!

Mechanics or Crunch- This is mechanically well done for an intro adventure. Honestly, the only major tool in the CoC toy box that isn’t on display is a chase scene. There are fights, ancient, evil books, spells, investigation, and lots of social interaction. If you play your cards right, don't lose your head, and look everywhere (all the parts of a smart CoC investigator), you can put down something TRULY evil, and it will feel natural when you do it. 5/5

Theme or Fluff-Here things suffer a bit. The story is decent once you are in. However, it's a big rough getting the different investigators together, into the town, and working together. That's a pretty rough start other than "YOU SEEM TRUSTWORTHY! LET'S INVESTIGATE HORRORS BEYOND HUMAN KEN TOGETHER!" But once you are past that part of the story, it opens up well and you will have a blast. 4.5/5

Execution- PDF? Yep! Hyperlinked? no…. For a first outing by this team, I like what's here. Need my links, but it's not bad. There are rough spots like there is a character that they characters will need up with who plays a major role in advancing the story, but she’s not in the Dramatis personæ at the back of the adventure, so that's a minor problem. Aside from minor issues like that, the adventure is solid. The pregenerated characters have a mix of types that are fun, but their skills are thought out enough that they compliment the problems you see well. I would like for pulp options in the next adventure like how that is handled in the larger adventures Chaosium puts out, but again, that's going beyond in development. What's here is relatively solid and reads well out of the box. 4/5

Summary-I majored in the hard sciences in college, so I never did anything as cool as write a CoC adventure for credit. But, if this is the quality I can expect going forward, I think I really missed something awesome. This is a good intro adventure with a fun variety of toys to spring on and for the adventurers. The story has a harder start, but once it’s going, it takes off. The execution is decent. It's not perfect, but the issues are minor enough that the players won’t know if you think on your feet as a keeper. Good layout and text make this easy enough to read. I did enjoy the line about completely reading the adventure before you start because that NEVER happens. Overall, this is a fantastic intro adventure I feel like I can spring on any group of new players and get an amazing CoC experience that will hook them for decades to come. 90%



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Refractions of Glasston
by Justin L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/20/2019 11:43:18

This is a pretty solid and open adventure that funnels to an ending.

It starts with the players arriving in a town ... they need a reason to be there, and all the pre-gens have those on the sheets, which is good.

The module starts with a lot of history of the area where it takes place. I like this. It isn't an overwhelming amount, but it's a few pages, and an interesting read. Saves time as a keeper, because I tend to try and do some history reading on an area before I run a Cthulhu game in an area.

There's a list of the important characters before the story itself. I think if there was a brief note of what was happening in Glasston before this, it would have been better. It was hard to know how these people were important without knowing what was going on. That said, a short read into the section after, and I was back up reading about the people.

There are also a few GMCs (Game Master Characters) that aren't in the list, which is fine, but I felt I needed a little more info of who they were, or worked for.

Several of the scenes have multiple possible outcomes listed, which is good. The moidule doesn't make too many assumptions.

I do think a smaller 'things that could happen' list might be good for newer keepers. There a few avenues of investigation that are in the next, but there's no section for if the players do. The Keeper might want to prepair in advance for these or be ready to improvise, and be ready to nudge towards some of them if needed.

I feel this module will work well in a single or double session. If the Keeper keeps it paced properly, you can go faster or slower.

I like this little adventure. It's pretty solid, makes sense as a story, and delivers most if the info in a very usable way.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks for these very constructive critiques of the scenario. These will be good for the students to consider how they could resolve them both for this adventure and future projects they may work on. - Professor T.R. Knight
Yozarian's Bandit Ducks
by Marc C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/18/2019 13:47:09

He sido jugador de la aventura y fue muy divertido. Esta aventura se apoya mucho en los personajes para los que se ha creado, en sus pasiones y relaciones. Los personajes aventureros vienen incluidos en la misma aventura. La aventura es corta pero completa, para unas 4 horas de juego, aunque añade ideas y una escena extra para alargarla. Puede llegar a durar dos sesiones. Además, se incluyen varias semillas de aventura con ideas para futuras aventuras.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Yozarian's Bandit Ducks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks a lot for your positive review. ^_^
Refractions of Glasston
by Daniel P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/17/2019 17:15:16

Amazing, well researched product. Why is this free?

Things like this - a school having their young scholars study and write scenarios for an RPG - fill me with hope that humanity just might have a chance (at least in their heads) against the Mythos.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Refractions of Glasston
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for your positive review. We are glad you enjoyed the research the students did for this scenario. As a class, we really wanted to ground the scenario in the history of the region. The reason this scenario is free for everyone to enjoy is it was designed and published as part of an academic course at the university. The students received academic credit for their work. We also like it being free as it will receive wider distribution and hopefully increased discussion and reviews. This feedback will provide the students information to improve their writing and editing while the Professional Writing major will use this feedback to improve future gaming related courses at the university. - Professor T.R. Knight
A Wealth of Knowledge
by Daniel P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/12/2019 20:14:28

Cool little scenario, fun ideas. Keeper's will hace to work to make it scary in any way. It's free though, and you should support the author. Well written.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Wealth of Knowledge
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Night of the Rising Sun
by Kevin K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/10/2019 13:43:30

I ran 'Night of the Rising Sun' for an experienced group of Call of Cthulhu players and had a blast. I am a fan of non-traditional (read as not just investigative) Call of Cthulhu scenarios and this is easily one of the most interesting I've had the pleasure of running in recent years.

The night before the Paerel leaves port for the season, a group of influential individuals on the Dutch trading island of Dejima meet for a dinner. From there they are confronted with their past missteps as numerous plots collide into a truly chaotic night. I mean this in the best way - with plenty of pull-asides and hidden notes, your players will always be on the back foot trying to make sense of everything. If you are fan of PC-driven games, check this one out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Night of the Rising Sun
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 615 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates