DriveThruFiction.com
Browse Categories
$ to $







Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
The Game Master’s Book of Villains, Minions and Their Tactics
by mash S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/27/2024 10:37:29

I bought it as a PDF. I think it is a very good book. The villains that are provided are strong enough to be boss characters for a small campaign or a 4-6 hour session, and with the summary of the tactics that each monster can take and the one-shot adventures, I feel that a GM would be well served by having a copy. It is unfortunate, however, that there is no bookmark for the PDF. It would be very nice to see this addressed in an update.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Game Master’s Book of Villains, Minions and Their Tactics
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Game Master’s Book of Random Encounters Digital Map Pack
by J. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/19/2023 08:59:49

As someone who purchased the book both digitally and physically, I don't mind that the "Digital Map Pack" is in black and white (though, why?) but this is a pretty awful product for anyone thinking to use it for VTTs:

  1. It's a single PDF containing all the maps. Not individual PDFs. Not image files. One 97 page PDF file.
  2. Obviously, since it's not in a format suitable for VTTs at all, you'll have to make all the walls, lighting, and notation yourself.
  3. For some reason, all the maps are in black and white.

That said, I'm sure if you're someone just looking to print out the map for home table use, this product is probably perfect. However, if you're trying to use this for a VTT, you're going to have to do a lot of work on your own.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The Game Master’s Book of Random Encounters Digital Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Game Master’s Book of Random Encounters Digital Map Pack
by Victor N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/26/2022 11:58:42

First off, this is a review for the digital map back, NOT the book, which is an excellent product filled with clever and useful content. This digital map pack is a big letdown. To begin with, the maps are, let's face it, a bit ugly. They are black and white with lots of extra gray textures that make them a little hard to read. It would have been nice to offer color maps. The worst part: these maps are very LOW RESOLUTION, and contain visible compression artifacts. Not really suitable for print, and barely suitable for screen. In fact, the maps included in the book pdf are often slightly better quality. Clearly they did not use the higher resolution source files for this map pack. It looks like they just reformatted the maps from the book pdf. Are these maps prepped for printing or VTT? NO! They come in a book-sized pdf for some reason, so you'll have to figure out how to scale them yourself. It would have been nice to give us jpeg or png versions of these maps. It appears the minimal amount of effort was put towards this map pack. I wonder if the original author was even involved. The only advantage I can see is that the number labels have been removed from the maps. Beyond that, you would do just as well to take screen shots of the maps in your book pdf, or scan the maps out of your print copy. I want my $10 back.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
The Game Master’s Book of Random Encounters Digital Map Pack
by Robert B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/03/2022 11:51:04

amazing group of maps, definately recommend getting the physical book from Amazon to accompany this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
The Game Master's Book of Non-Player Characters
by LaRhaun F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/13/2022 19:14:50

The 2nd book I have bought from Jeff Ashworth, after buying Random Encounters. I love this book. my only thing is that when travel i use my tablet and found that bookmarks for the chapters help out a ton wiith navigatation. if this could be added that would be great. I look forward to my pre ordered "Traps" and "Dragons". When the digital releases come out I think adding those would be a 5 star. Keep up the good work. Love these books and the utility of them in my games



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Game Master's Book of Non-Player Characters
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Game Master’s Book of Random Encounters Digital [BUNDLE]
by Stuart J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/26/2022 18:59:53

I bought the digital version of this book alongside the map pack to make running games online easier. The maps are well made and are quite large, so they tend not to be poorly affected by being scaled up or down. However, there are several technical issues that need to be corrected. First, the PDF for the book only has bookmarks for the Adventures and locations, not any of the random tables in the back of the book, making finding the random NPC tables very tedious. Secondly, certain sections inexplicably won't copy/paste properly, such as the random encounters table for "Bald Rock Clearing" producing complete gibberish when trying to copy/paste the 4th (and only the 4th) result. Thirdly, the maps in the "Home, Hideouts, Lairs, & Labs" folder are incorrectly labeled due to the "Witch House" map being labeled as "Variant Castles". Finally, the map pack is missing multiple maps from the adventures (The Theater and Guilderoy's Island from "An Actor's Life", and The Safehouse from "One Last Job"), making running those adventures very inconvenient, despite having all the maps from the other adventures. Other than that, the product is well made, and is a decent source of various maps and NPCs for Roll20. These issues urgently need to be fixed if possible, though.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Game Master’s Book of Random Encounters Digital [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Game Master’s Book of Random Encounters Digital Map Pack
by Stuart J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/26/2022 18:58:56

The maps are well made and are quite large, so they tend not to be poorly affected by being scaled up or down. However, there are several technical issues that need to be corrected. The maps in the "Home, Hideouts, Lairs, & Labs" folder are incorrectly labeled due to the "Witch House" map being labeled as "Variant Castles". Additionally, the map pack is missing multiple maps from the adventures (The Theater and Guilderoy's Island from "An Actor's Life", and The Safehouse from "One Last Job"), making running those adventures very inconvenient, despite having all the maps from the other adventures. Other than that, the product is well made, and is a decent source of various maps for Roll20. These issues urgently need to be fixed if possible, though.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Game Master’s Book of Random Encounters Digital Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Game Master's Book of Non-Player Characters
by Cannibal H. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/08/2021 22:18:34

"This is one of those books that is exactly what it says on the tin, but it could have been a dud if the NPCs within its pages weren’t interesting. Thankfully, that’s not the case. Writer Jeff Ashworth has crafted a veritable horde of characters, and while some may be more detailed than others, none of them are boring. My only problem is how long it would take to get all of them into play." - Seamus Conneely

Read the full CHG review here: https://cannibalhalflinggaming.com/2021/10/08/the-game-masters-book-of-non-player-characters-review/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Game Master's Book of Non-Player Characters
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Game Master’s Book of Random Encounters
by Mark S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/12/2021 14:51:48

An excellent book with easy to use drop in adventures and tables



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Game Master’s Book of Random Encounters
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates