DriveThruFiction.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Artesia: Adventures in the Known World
by Benoit L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2018 19:28:09

Great book!

The art is fantastic!

The only thing I find challenging is the lack of support on content (other books).

I wish I had more to work with on my campaigns!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Artesia: Adventures in the Known World
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Artesia Compendium
by Keith M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/25/2014 04:54:22

What little art there is is good, the rest is an... encyclopedia of the people and the world of Artesia, so if you like behind the fictional scenes reads you'll probably enjoy it.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Artesia Compendium
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Artesia #1
by Keith M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/25/2014 04:53:44

Good artwork, the story was okay, but the style of talking and telling put a distance between me and the story that left me cold.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Artesia #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Book of Urgrayne
by Colin T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/20/2012 18:00:56

I'd hoped that Book of Urgrayne would serve as a good intro to Artesia; unfortunately it seems to be more of a supplement for fans. The art is excellent but I don't have enough background to make these stories meaningful.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Urgrayne
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Book of Urgrayne
by matt b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/03/2012 07:06:35

Pretty good stuff but we are coming in the middle of the story. Great art but hard to follow, like reading a middle chapter of a Tolkien, George RR Martin or Robert Jordan book. However, it is intriguing to make one go look for more, and that's what it is supposed to do: entice. This could be a great world. The villainess is intriguing, as well. I would find out more about Artesia.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Urgrayne
by David F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/30/2011 12:39:20

I loved the art on thats and the feeling I got about the world. The only issue I had was that since it was a serious of viniets it was hard to follow.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Artesia Compendium
by Nick K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/29/2011 21:04:20

This is a good product. I hope it actually downloads after I fillout this stuff. If not then I really have no ideas what it will be like. However, in the past RPG products have been good, but sparse.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Artesia Compendium
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Artesia: The Book of Dooms Volume 1
by Billiam B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/17/2010 17:11:13

Marvellous art work, excellent line and colour work (if not a little naughty in places!), inventive use of frame. Compelling story. Ace.

(special offer copy - I don't often purchase graphic novels online - not sure if I can comment on standard price/value for money)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Artesia: The Book of Dooms Volume 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Artesia: Adventures in the Known World
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2009 00:15:34

I am not familiar with the comic book that sparked this product.

What you get is 354 pages of material, and yes, that is 354 don’t-waste-space pages. There are seventy pages of pure background and setting, and the rest is a combination of the game system overlaid with more game setting data. This setting makes Harn look like a beer & pretzels game. Regimental lists of major nations, lists of cities, forts, rules, all packed in there. I’m not going to use the Fuzion system, but the setting is so imbedded into the system that you pick up huge amounts of information while looking over the rules. The amount of detail is incredible, vast, and yet worded in such a way that you can easily tweak it in the direction you desire with little effort.

In a nutshell, the Known World was created by a goddess and lesser gods of her creation that in the first & second ages carried on in a manner that world make Jerry Springer shake his head. The gods have drifted away from interaction in the last thousand years (in the manner of the Greeks, the gods are just super-charged people, neither all-knowing and nor completely invulnerable), and Mankind is increasingly on its own. The last few decades before the game start has seen a breakdown of major kingdoms into smaller states, and near-constant war, both between neighbors and in response to outside invasion. At the game start, a GM could easily announce that the leaders are ready for peace, ready for a massive all-out bloodbath, or a continuation of the feuding and fighting of the last half-century, all without any significant break from the tone of recent events. The set-up is extremely well-done. It feels right.

There is a good mysterious feel to the setting which can be exploited or ignored without breaking from the tone. On the one hand, swords of power, vitally important thrones, and the bodies of major villains all have vanished under odd circumstances; but at the same time, the descriptions of these events are such a GM can either shrug it off, or tie them together in a conspiracy of deadly intent. This is some of the best writing you’ll find in a RPG setting.

I have four points of negativity to report:

1) The maps are bad. They are hand-drawn, and while very pretty and strategically informative, they are low-resolution pages within the book and any attempt to zoom in blurs the names beyond the ability to read. The back of the book promises high-definition maps for download at the publisher’s site, but this is untrue. Nor are the hard-copy maps promised available. This is a major drawback. It will be hard to employ the detail of the setting with the low-resolution maps in the book.

2) There is no pronunciation guide, and the author has chosen nation and place names that have a good honest ‘look’, but their pronunciation is debatable. For example, a nation who make for handy villains are called the Isliklidae. The is-what?

3) Some details are not adequately explained, and some subjects are badly scattered. References are made to ‘seated kings’ being different from other kings, but I have not found out why or how. Worm Kings are a major form of Undead, but there is only a few facts available, and these are badly scattered. A free index is available as a download from the site, which is good because the author failed to provide one.

4) There is no print-friendly version. There is lavish full-color art throughout which strongly supports the subject matter, but it makes this pdf an ink cartridge eater. Even printing in B&W is going to pull ink faster than drilling a hole in the fluid tank.

Get past the above four points, and you’ve got a truly exciting work.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Artesia: Adventures in the Known World
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Artesia Afield: The Book of Dooms Volume 2
by Jez G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/22/2008 19:15:24

Artesia Afield continues in much the same way as the previous book. If you liked the first collection, then everything you liked is in this one too! As Artesia strugles to come to grips with the effects of her actions in volume 1, she finds herself at the head of a growing army as it marches to war. The scale of battles increases in this volume and the amount of different states and gods mentioned rises as well. Like the first volume, I found this one hard going at first. It really does help if you read the extra info at the back of the book. The only problem I have with this series is that there's so many characters I find it confusing sometimes as to who's who. There's a couple of deaths that I think are supposed to be quite significant but I wasn't really sure as I didn't know if they were bit players or some of Artesia's best friends! But that's easily overlooked when you take into account the georgeous artwork and ongoing story.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Artesia Afield: The Book of Dooms Volume 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Artesia: The Book of Dooms Volume 1
by Jez G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2007 06:04:35

I became intrigued by this product after hearing good things about the RPG. I thpught I would have a look at the comic the rpg is based on and see what the fuss is about. I am glad that I did. On first reading Artesia is a bit dull. There's lots of talk about gods and waring states and prayers and all sorts of nonesense you get in most dire fantasy offerings, I struggled through because the artwork is truly amazing. Then I got to the appendix at the back. Like Tolkein, the author of Artesia obviously has an overarching backstory for the world he has created. There is oodles of info on the gods of the world and the kingdoms therein. Once I had read and digested this I went back and re-read the comic. his time around I realised just how far above the standard hack and slash tale this is. Artesia is an awesome book and I am now fully hooked on it's tale. I would highly recommend this to any discerning graphic novel reader. It isn't for kids though with some quite graphic violence and scenes of full frontal nudity.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Artesia: The Book of Dooms Volume 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Artesia: Adventures in the Known World
by fabien m. m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/24/2007 20:36:29

Great book all around. Custom game system, detailed words, illustrations, etc. A shining example in the fantasy genre.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Artesia: Adventures in the Known World
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Artesia Afield: The Book of Dooms Volume 2
by phillip h. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/05/2007 10:04:29

As much as I want to love these books, I find I can't. I have read the first three, and I did enjoy them a lot. But there is one issue I have with Mr. Smylie's epic story of "Girl Power & sorcery"-that is we never see Artesia really in any situation she can not handle, she is able to out think, out fight, out plan and out magic every one else in the world. Hell, it could be called "Artesia will not fail". In the three volumes I have yet to see anything that challenges our hero in the least- there are moments where others question her, but she just goes on full throttle, with no real moment of self doubt. This all seems to clearly telegraph where this is all going. One doesn't need to think really hard to imagine what her ultimate victory will be. That is unless Mr. Smyliethrows one heck of a big monkey wrench in, to gum up the works.

This is all unfortunate, every hero needs a tragic flaw, a moment of doubt, a real chance to screw things up- to make them more human. Instead we get a god like warrior queen, who is unstopable.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Artesia Afield: The Book of Dooms Volume 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Artesia: Adventures in the Known World
by Brian F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/07/2006 00:00:00

There are numerous reasons that this book won the Origins Award for the "Best RPG of 2005".

Here are a few quick thoughts about that:

  1. A deep and interesting world that rivals anything on the market today.
  2. A system of play that rewards the characters behaviours rather than actions that further the story-line. Experience is based on the actions the characters take. Instead of expirence points characters recieve Arcana points that can be used to spend on the character. To quote the book: "In order for the action to qualify for an Arcana Points reward, it must occur as part of the game?s narrative, as a reaction or contribution to the events, goals, and activities put forward by the Guide or generated by the Players themselves. The Known World rewards activity with purpose, actions taken towards a goal, rather than mere activity itself."

  3. The best character generation system I've seen in an RPG. New characters immediately have a large number of role-playing hooks that the GM can use.

<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Artesia: Adventures in the Known World
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Artesia: The Book of Dooms Volume 1
by Maurizio B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/21/2006 09:13:47

Great comic! Great arts and plot. I also suggest the rpg (The known world).

Hope to see others from the same author.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Artesia: The Book of Dooms Volume 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 16 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates