DriveThruFiction.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Basic Game
by James B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2022 20:25:50

Unlike previous Marvel RPGs (and unlike most superhero RPGs), the goal of MHRP is to replicate the feel of comic book storylines, with the assumption that you will be playing an existing superhero character in a limited event. (There are rules for going outside that, but it's clearly the default.)

The basic mechanic is for a player to assemble a pool of dice from any relevant attributes (both powers and narrative elements); this determines the scale and effectiveness of their chosen way of affecting the narrative (usually inflicting physical, mental, or emotional stress on foes). They are opposed by the Watcher (GM), who has access to a "Doom Pool" they can use to escalate the situation (and which grows as the players fail). In this way it's similar to games like Fate. Characters can earn XP by meeting certain character or event milestones - these can be used to increase the character's abilities or unlock benefits during the course of the event (such as helper characters).

These basic mechanics are all fine, but there are a few things that bothered me about the book. First of all, there are a lot of ways to affect the dice pool (such as the many power SFX), and it was overwhelming. I actually wish there had been fewer, and the system had been even more abstract. I also wasn't a fan of its apparent assumption that you wouldn't want to make your own material, rather than adapting existing characters and storylines - and their guidelines for making your own stuff were only functional.

Most significantly, the rules explanations weren't always clear. Several times I had to reread sections to get what was intended, and even then it often didn't click into place until I read an example. Had there been more examples at every step, that would have been mitigated. In fact, the chapter midway through that brought everything together should have been at the beginning in a condensed form; it would have provided some useful context for the rest of the book.

Overall, MHRP looks like it could be fun to play, but I'm not sure it's a game I'd want to run. There are a lot of fun ideas in it - the doom pool and the way they handle stress, among others - but a slightly simpler game probably would have served those ideas better. Still, I can see that it'd be appealing to certain gamers, and I won't say it's a bad system at all. Just probably not for me. (Originally posted on Goodreads)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Basic Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Firefly Role-Playing Game Corebook
by Ian W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/04/2021 22:15:26

The core system is great, for one or two players. So i fudged that to cater for four players. This is a problem for games that try to emulate a TV or movie. The 'travel at the speed of plot' and 'buy what the plot requires' removes the ability to plan (are we faster? can we build up our reserves?).

Secondly, the Firefly class out classes nearly every other ship, so why aren't they everywhere? This could have been made to be dependent on the crew (pilot, engineer, tactician etc). Downgrade the firefly in all respects, and have the crew bring it back up (they are nursing an old, tired, skick ship = skill roles, planning, careful maintenance and not doing crazy ivans at every opportunity).

There is a board game called Space Traders which could be used as the background scenario generator and handles ship finances. Building on the above, you can keep the ship flying, or hire a mercenary to guard your stuff?? hard choices.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Firefly Role-Playing Game Corebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Basic Game
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/12/2021 15:15:29

This game remains my favorite supers role-playing game. Not because of the license or art or anything superficial. The Cortex Heroic system is solidly designed and simple to create virtually any super-powered character (in one expansion, Howard the Duck gets an official write-up).

Even if you've moved on and already purchased Cortex Prime, using MHR as a guidepost for creating a new edition of Cortex Heroic is a great idea.

The sheer number of character datafiles make it easy to figure out how to make your own characters. Reskinning Spider-Man, Captain Marvel, Captain America, Hawkeye, Monica Rambeau, Super Skrull, Venom, Rogue, or even Squirrel Girl to fit a character concept can be done in a flash.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Basic Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Leverage Digital Companion [BUNDLE]
by David v. H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/12/2020 13:20:27

Very Nice addition to the Leverage RPG and I highly receommend it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Leverage Digital Companion [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Leverage Companion 10: The Rich and Powerful
by David v. H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/12/2020 13:19:55

Very Nice addition to the Leverage RPG and I highly receommend it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Leverage Companion 10: The Rich and Powerful
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Leverage Companion 09: One-on-One Leverage
by David v. H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/12/2020 13:19:31

Very Nice addition to the Leverage RPG and I highly receommend it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Leverage Companion 09: One-on-One Leverage
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Leverage Companion 08: Node-Based Capers
by David v. H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/12/2020 13:19:01

Very Nice addition to the Leverage RPG and I highly receommend it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Leverage Companion 08: Node-Based Capers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Leverage Companion 07: Foil Folio
by David v. H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/12/2020 13:18:38

Very Nice addition to the Leverage RPG and I highly receommend it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Leverage Companion 07: Foil Folio
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Leverage Companion 06: KRYPTOS
by David v. H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/12/2020 13:16:58

Very Nice addition to the Leverage RPG and I highly receommend it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Leverage Companion 06: KRYPTOS
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Leverage Companion 05: Tropes Vs. Leverage
by David v. H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/12/2020 13:16:36

Very Nice addition to the Leverage RPG and I highly receommend it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Leverage Companion 05: Tropes Vs. Leverage
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Leverage Companion 04: Hollywood Hacking vs. the Real World
by David v. H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/12/2020 13:16:09

Very Nice addition to the Leverage RPG and I highly receommend it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Leverage Companion 04: Hollywood Hacking vs. the Real World
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Leverage Companion 01: Too Many Chefs
by David v. H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/12/2020 13:15:45

Very Nice addition to the Leverage RPG and I highly receommend it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Leverage Companion 01: Too Many Chefs
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Cortex Classic System Role Playing Game
by David v. H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2020 09:52:18

The Cortex RPG engine is very interesting and will allow you to game just about anything. The Cortex Classic system is fun and I recommend it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cortex Classic System Role Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

The Lost King - Star of the Guardians Vol. 1
by Eddy W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/10/2020 18:51:39

A great space fantasy novel. It start off feeling a lot like Star Wars, but it goes in different and interesting directions.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Lost King - Star of the Guardians Vol. 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Annihilation Event Book (Essentials Edition)
by Chad L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/07/2020 09:13:30

Meh, scene after scene of no consequence. You fight, you lose, move on to next scene. Who cares.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Annihilation Event Book (Essentials Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 324 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates