DriveThruFiction.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!










Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Asylum
Publisher: Apex Book Company
by Steven D. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 04/18/2011 18:17:39
“The last thing I want to believe is that we’re in some queer version of Night of the Living Dead”

I read the short novella “Dead Stay Dead” before I realized that it was the second story in the new “Zombie Feed” series from Apex Book Company. After a bit of research I found the short story “Asylum” was the first story released in the series, which also happened to have recently arrived as a reviewers copy book in my mail. Feeling kinda sheepish that I hadn’t done my home work before hand, I set out to read “Asylum” to cover my bases. And I’m glad that I did as this story was unexpectedly interesting to read and author Mark Allan Gunnellis got a lot of mileage out of a mere 80 pages.

The story is centered on several homosexual men who barricade themselves inside a gay bar when the zombie apocalypse begins. The main character Curtis is a twenty year old virgin from a small town and has gone out to a gay club in the big city for the time, at the urging of his very gay friend Jimmy. From here the story switches between several characters as they battle their personal demons as well as the zombies that have surrounded the club.

Read the complete review at FlamesRising.com:
http://www.flamesrising.com/asylum-novella-review/

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Asylum
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Dead Stay Dead
Publisher: Apex Book Company
by Steven D. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 04/18/2011 18:14:52
Hello again fellow horror hicks! I know, it’s been a long time since my name graced the pages of Flames Rising. But my school duties have been a greedy bully with my time as of late. If it makes you feel any better, I’ve not have much time for anything else I enjoy doing either. And perhaps as further punishment of my not being around more often, the latest book I was given to review, titled “Dead Stay Dead”, was simply insufferable and punished me harshly for reading it.

From its description, it wanted to be blended mix of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Shaun of the Undead and Zombieland. But what it turned out to be was a plain mess to read that completely missed its mark. I hope my past reviews show that I’m not a snobby or picky reader. I’ve read many different styles of horror books and have found ways to enjoy them all.

And while I usually call them out in my reviews, I can forgive and sometimes even ignore a lot of short coming in any book, as long I enjoyed the narrative. But this one… it was disjointed, confusing to follow, and between the poor editing (missing words like “a, and, of, but, it” and others in sentences on a regular basis) and using incorrect words (like using “here” when he meant to use “hear”) it was nearly unintelligible at times.

Read the complete review at FlamesRising.com!
http://www.flamesrising.com/dead-stay-dead-novella-revie-
w/

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Dead Stay Dead
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Bigfoot War
Publisher: Coscom Entertainment
by Steven D. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 06/03/2010 10:43:40
A Flamesrising.com review:

I’ve been put through the literary meat grinder recently with really great & really intense books like Darkness on the Edge of Town and On the Third Day. So I figured it was time to read something a little lighter of subject; something not quite so epic this time around. You know, something frightening… but fun! To that end, my reviewer’s copy of Bigfoot War couldn’t have come in the mail at a better time!

I’ve never read a Bigfoot horror story before; to be honest, most of my experience with Bigfoot comes from either watching Harry & the Henderson’s or watching the car crushing eponymous monster truck. I knew nothing about author Eric S. Brown either, but fortunately he spilled his own can of beans in the book’s introduction. Growing up in rural North Carolina, Eric apparently had Bigfoot as his mythical neighbor when you consider all of the sightings and stories about the big cuddly lug in his hood. No doubt this was the sort of fertile ground where Eric’s garden of terror would allow a story like Bigfoot Wars to sprout from!

Our story begins with young Jeff Taylor, who lived in the small rural town of Babble Creek. Notice that I used the word “lived” (as in past tense.) You see, according to Jeff, he witnessed his family being slaughtered by the legendary Sasquatch! Understandably, he fled the small town… but he left as a soon to be ”man on a mission”. Fast-forward fifteen years later; with two tours of duty in the Iraq War under his belt, Jeff has now returned to Babble Creek a very different person, and he has a score to settle with ol’ Bigfoot.

Jeff’s return to town understandably concerns the town proper immediately. Between his old friends, the Police department and other locals, an unfortunate series of events takes place which stirs up the proverbial hornets’ nest. It seem that “the one and only Bigfoot” isn’t quite so one & only. As fate would have it, a whole tribe of Sasquatch lives in the nearby woods… and they’re enraged & aiming to put their collective bigfeet in Babble Creek’s hinny!

Clink on the link below to read the entire review:
http://www.flamesrising.com/bigfoot-war-review/

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Bigfoot War
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

On the Third Day Part One
Publisher: Macabre Ink Digital
by Steven D. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 05/11/2010 08:11:19
A Flames Rising Review:

I became an instant fan of David Niall Wilson’s work when I had read This is My Blood a few months ago. Since reading and reviewing this new personal favorite book of mine, I’ve kept in touch with David here and there. During one of our chats he’d mentioned one of his latest books titled One the Third Day and its subject being deep-rooted in religious themed horror, much like This is My Blood. I was immediately intrigued and I set off to read it as soon as possible.

My original intention was to read it during the week of Easter as the novel revolves around Easter Sunday. Sadly however, this was not to be as my laptop went ill for a few weeks, delaying my reading it (or any of the other books in my E-library waiting to be read and reviewed.) I was finally able to read it this last week, and I’m happy to say that whether you read it during the Easter season or not, the story and the messages contained within it are just as powerful!


Please click on the link below to read the entire review:
http://www.flamesrising.com/on-the-third-day-review/

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
On the Third Day Part One
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

On the Third Day
Publisher: Macabre Ink Digital
by Steven D. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 05/11/2010 08:00:00
A Flames Rising Review:

became an instant fan of David Niall Wilson’s work when I had read This is My Blood a few months ago. Since reading and reviewing this new personal favorite book of mine, I’ve kept in touch with David here and there. During one of our chats he’d mentioned one of his latest books titled One the Third Day and its subject being deep-rooted in religious themed horror, much like This is My Blood. I was immediately intrigued and I set off to read it as soon as possible.

My original intention was to read it during the week of Easter as the novel revolves around Easter Sunday. Sadly however, this was not to be as my laptop went ill for a few weeks, delaying my reading it (or any of the other books in my E-library waiting to be read and reviewed.) I was finally able to read it this last week, and I’m happy to say that whether you read it during the Easter season or not, the story and the messages contained within it are just as powerful!

Click on the following link to read the entire review: http://www.flamesrising.com/on-the-third-day-review/

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
On the Third Day
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Ghosts Templar (Jason Dark - Ghost Hunter)
Publisher: Thunder Peak Publishing
by Steven D. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 05/05/2010 13:00:23
This one makes three for three!

Not only has the fun factor of Guido’s stories improved, his overall writing and descriptive details are improving. I'm really getting to like the "dime novel" format. Keep up the good work sir! I’m looking for to the next three installments! :)

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ghosts Templar (Jason Dark - Ghost Hunter)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Theater of Vampires (Jason Dark: Ghost Hunter)
Publisher: Thunder Peak Publishing
by Steven D. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 05/05/2010 12:49:37
An except from flamesrising.com;

My first opportunity to sit down and read the first volume came while waiting for my wife, who was having surgery on her sinuses (she’s doing fine, thanks for asking). I had a few hours to kill in the waiting area, which made cracking open Volume I an ideal opportunity. What Jason Dark offers is a fast paced, action packed adventure that reads quickly. It’s not Shakespeare, it’s not Stephen King, nor is it an engrossing mind job of a horror story that mentally beats you violently and senselessly. But you know what? It didn’t have to be. It was just plain fun and easy reading, something that I found surprisingly satisfying!

I don’t recall the last time I was able to sit down to a book and get through it so quickly and have such a lax and fun time doing so! The adventures are told in a dramatic, fast paced and yet simplistic method and the pages just flew by. So my experiment with Volume II was to read it over my lunch hours at work. Its size allowed me to slip it into my back pocket, freeing a hand to allow carrying my drink and lunch bucket without juggling a book in the mix. I finished reading it over two sittings, and again it made for a smooth, fun and easy read. In a way it was a gratifying experience to be able to just read through them at my own pace and not have to worry about remembering all the details that a large and epic story that takes weeks to read over my lunch hours require.

Then I tried another experiment, I asked my daughter (who turns fifteen next week) to read the two volumes and let know what she thought of them. Guido’s method of telling a horror story (or perhaps its just the way of “The Dime Novel”) is to be direct and matter of fact in the violence and moments of horror. There is no lavishing on the gruesome and disgusting here, making it an ideal read in my opinion for teenage horror fans in training as much as they are for those who don’t enjoy the hardcore horror story. I’m happy to report that my suspicions were correct as my daughter, who’s really into “manga books” right now, was able to enjoy these tales as well.

To read the entire review, click the following link: http://www.flamesrising.com/jason-dark-ghost-hunter-review/

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Theater of Vampires (Jason Dark: Ghost Hunter)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Queen Of Crows
Publisher: FR Press
by Steven D. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 03/23/2010 10:55:56
A Flames Rising Review:

I’m not only a reviewer for FlamesRising.com, I am a fan. From the features and articles to the reviews, I read and enjoy it all. I’ve even gone as far as purchasing Instant Antagonist: Selfish Succubus, the first product from Flames Rising Press. Therefore, it should go without saying (but I’m saying it anyway) that I read all of Monica Valentinelli scribes on da’ flames, and I believe that she’s one of the best contributors on the site (and coincidentally puts my feeble writing talents to shame). So you can imagine how honored and excited I was to have been given a reviewer’s copy of “The Queen of Crows”, written by Monica V. and published by Flames Rising Press (their first published fiction no less).

Outside of her writing on the flames, I’ve read Monica’s short story titled “Pie” from the horror anthology Buried Tales of Pinebox, Texas, which was one of my favorite tales if memory serves. However, I knew nothing of Monica’s work in progress, the “Violet War”, an Urban Fantasy setting in which the Queen of Crows takes place in. So, in preparation of reading this story, I decided to do a bit of homework and discover just what the Violet War is all about. And honestly, I couldn’t describe her world and do it justice, so I implore you to take a look for yourselves (you can do so by clicking here). After getting familiar with her world I felt ready to get down to business with Monica’s tale.

So after all that build up and preparation, how did my audience with the Queen of Crows fare? Well, I do have one small quibble; this short story was just too short folks! I want more, MORE I tell ya! I really enjoyed this tale, and yet Monica followed the cardinal rule of the audience; always leave them wanting more. Excellent work Monica!

Read the Full review at http://www.flamesrising.com/queen-of-crows-review/

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Queen Of Crows
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Revolt of the Dead: A Zombie Novel
Publisher: Coscom Entertainment
by Steven D. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 03/20/2010 13:34:32
A Flames Rising Review:

"Two friends.
An ancient book.
One heck of a problem.”

Halloween isn’t until tomorrow night, but Barry and his best buddy Shawn are dealing with a scary monster today. Mitch, the school bully has had Shawn marked for sometime now, and he takes it on the chin. Barry encourages Shawn to stand up to Mitch and defend himself, but so far he’s lacked the courage. Ahh, the joys of school.

Later that day the two are looking for a book for a class, but instead they find a very different and much more intriguing book in a secret compartment. Shawn is fascinated by this seemingly “ancient spell book” and studies it throughout that night into the following morning. Shawn even takes it with him when he and Barry go a Halloween party a class mate invited them to. But Mitch is also attending the party and after a confrontation gone bad, he ruins their night and gets them kicked out.

Desperate for revenge, Shawn takes Barry with him to a nearby cemetery to play a prank on Mitch. According to Shawn’s research of the spell book, there is a spell contained within the book that can raise the dead. So why not raise a couple of zombies to scare the living heck out of Mitch? Because nothing ever goes quite as planned when you’re meddling with powers you cannot comprehend, that’s why!

Revolt of the Dead by Keith Gouveia, is the latest zombie novel to move into the crosshairs of my rifle scope. While I’m not familiar with Keith’s work, I like to think that I’m fairly well versed in zombie literature. With that in mind, I peered through my rifle scope, aiming between the eyes of this undead fodder. Did this novel hit, or did it miss? Let’s pull the trigger and find out.

Read the entire review at http://www.flamesrising.com/revolt-dead-review/

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Revolt of the Dead: A Zombie Novel
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Robin Hood and Friar Tuck: Zombie Killers - A Canterbury Tale
Publisher: Coscom Entertainment
by Steven D. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 03/20/2010 13:30:36
A Flames Rising Review:

The other day in my email there was a new
Offering of an eBook novel for me to review.
“What’s this? A new tale of the great Robin Hood
As a zombie killer?!” Now this should be good!
Tis a different style of novel, for better or for worse
For this Canterbury tale is told entirely in verse.

I ask you to follow along with me if you would
About this unique take on Friar Tuck and Robin Hood
As they deal with a hoard of zombies and their maw’s
Their horrible stench, their appetite and also their claws.

At first I wondered what story this novel may reveal.
A zombie outbreak on Saxon soil... really, what’s the deal?
It seemed silly at first that Robin Hood’s latest plight
Would be saving all of England from an evil zombie blight.
In my head, the framework of my review was ready to concede
That this strange angle on Robin Hood would be silly indeed.
And yet as I read the novel, to my very surprise I could tell
That this tale wasn’t a mockery… it was actually quite swell!

The book beings with a monk spreading a dose of fear
To a crowded tavern of many people supping on wine and beer.
Between his swigs of the tavern’s free flowing ale
A horrible story of undead monsters was the theme of his tale.
It starts on familiar ground as King Richard was away
Dealing with the Palestine’s and leading a spiritual fray.
Back home his brother Price John, with an evil smirk
Plotted the steal Richards’s kingdom, man what a jerk!
To fund his alliances, the heart and soul he’d tax
Out of the poor peasantry who all paid by the sacks
Of coins and trinkets made of silver and gold
That is, until one day came a man who was brave and bold.
He stood up to all those oppressive Norman lords
By using thievery, bows, arrows and swords.

Read the entire review at http://www.flamesrising.com/robin-hood-friar-tuck-zombie-kil-
lers-review/

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Robin Hood and Friar Tuck: Zombie Killers - A Canterbury Tale
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

John Winchester's Journal (Supernatural)
Publisher: HarperCollins e-books
by Steven D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/18/2010 08:33:12
A Flames Rising review:

You may recall that I’ve received a couple of reviewer books based on the “Supernatural” TV series to shoot my way through. If you do, then you may also recall that I was disappointed with my first contestant and was concerned that the WB exec’s had sold out with gusto to earn a quick buck on some lame books at the expense of the fans and their beloved show. Well, I’m happy (and relieved) to report that my second foray into the book series was better than the first. But then again, that’s not saying a lot.

I was sorta jazzed about reading “thee” coveted journal of papa Winchester. I could imagine all sorts of potential and information that could be contained within these pages. I mean, this journal has been pivotal to the hunky Winchester duo since episode 1; it’s just GOT to have a lot of goods worth reading, right? Am I right? Well, I was sorta right. This book is a mixed mojo bag to be sure. So let’s open the bag and see what’s inside, shall we?

The good mojo? There are plenty of references to main events, places and people from the show. While they don’t really add any news insight for the fanatical fans, the casual and newbie fans may find some of the details from John’s point of view interesting. Quite a bit of it was told in a prequel fashion and included some interesting anecdotes about the Winchester boys growing up with their dad and his growing obsession to find and kill the yellow eyed demon. Being told through John, he has sincere moments of realization about how “the family business” has robbed them of a childhood and a place to call home. A hunter’s life is full of driving, research, greasy spoons, hotels and hunting the supernatural. Sure some of this seems obvious, but it was interesting to read all the same.

But what I found even more interesting was the OVERWHELMING amount of random trivia on a variety of religions, alchemy, the occult, demons, monsters, haunted locations, various theologies, methods of protection from evil and more. As a lifelong paranormal enthusiast, an armchair occult historian and a former manager of a ghost hunting group, I’ve come across a lot of occult trivia and information in my life time. And yet I’m still impressed by the amount of obscure details that I’d never heard before that author Alex had dug up and crammed in. For those interested in historical trivia of the paranormal / supernatural, the price for this book is most justified. Nice work on this portion Alex!

Review by Steven Dawes

Read the full review at http://www.flamesrising.com/winchesters-journal-review/

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
John Winchester's Journal (Supernatural)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Demon's Night (Jason Dark - Ghost Hunter)
Publisher: Thunder Peak Publishing
by Steven D. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 03/18/2010 08:13:41
A Flames Rising Review:

I’ve not experienced “Dime Novels” before. I’ve never really even seen one before, although growing up my mother owned a “collector book” composed of several dime novel reprints that I once looked through. They’re a format that seems to have died out here in the union long ago. It looks like however, that the “Dime Novel” format could be on the verge of a comeback.

My dad happened upon a new gothic horror series while visiting one of his favorite websites and asked me to check it out. Following his queue I did a little homework and indeed I’d discovered a new book series titled “Jason Dark: Ghost Hunter”, a series written in the spirit of the “Dime Novel” format. This initiative brushed my interest with a fine tooth comb and I inquired further with Guido Henkel, the author of this series in progress. Guido turned out to be a really cool guy and was kind enough to send me the first two novels to read and review.

When they came in the mail, I was a little surprised by their physical size. They are about half the size of a comic book with a page count of only sixty four pages each. Again, I’ve not read nor ever held a true “Dime Novel” before, so this was a new experience all around. In a world of large and epic stories taking tons of space on your book shelf, can something this small be entertaining and enjoyable? Can the experience of such a short story be worthwhile? Are these “fun size” stories really fun to read? YOU’D BETTER BELIEVE IT FOLKS!

Review by Steven Dawes

Read the complete review at http://www.flamesrising.com/jason-dark-ghost-hunter-review/

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Demon's Night (Jason Dark - Ghost Hunter)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

This is My Blood
Publisher: Macabre Ink Digital
by Steven D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/11/2010 14:00:39
A Flames Rising Review:

I’ve only been a reviewer on da’ flames for about a scant 6 months now (my, how time does fly), but I’ve already read and reviewed some good books within that time. In one particular case however, I decided to read and review a book (Personal Effects- Dark Art) after reading a featured preview. As it turned out, this was a good book and was worth taking the leap and I told myself I would review more featured books in the future. And now I’ve recently read the featured preview of This is My Blood. This preview also grabbed me by the attention and I took another leap of faith. Was my faith rewarded?

Well before I answer this question, I feel a need to explain my review style. For those of you who’ve read my past reviews, I hope you’ve enjoyed them. If always been a philosophy and goal to make my reviews as enjoyable, including adding what I think are sometimes witty and/or silly bits of humor, sarcastic remarks, different points of view, where I am coming from on a given subject and so on. I feel that if I can’t keep you interested or entertained along the way, you probably won’t acquire the interest to look into the items that I’ve enjoyed nor think twice about looking into the items that I didn’t. Well, I’m scraping this method this time around for a more serious review.

So why am I traveling along a more serious route today? The answer ties into the first question when I asked “was my faith rewarded?” In a word I could say “absolutely” or even “completely, but I don’t feel that either of these words (or any group of words in general) will do this book justice. This is My Blood is nothing short of amazing, and I believe that no matter how hard I’d try, I won’t be able to give it the praise it deserves. So instead of my attempts at long winded goofy commentary in the hopes of encouraging you to sit down to this book, I’m simply going to implore you to read this extraordinary piece of literature. And to that end, I’m going to attempt to obtain your interest by stating the facts and I see them. So please follow along with me on this one, I wouldn’t just ask if I didn’t feel so strongly about this book.

Read the complete review at FlamesRising.com:
http://www.flamesrising.com/this-is-my-blood-review

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
This is My Blood
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
 Cart
0 items
 Publisher Info
Apex Book Company
Apex Book Company
Publisher Average Rating

See All Reviews
Publisher Homepage
Other products (56)
 Reviews
Asylum
This is a great zombie story that is centered on a few gay f ..
 Gift Certificates
Get Your Favorite Readers What They REALLY Want...
$10 Gift Certificate