DriveThruFiction.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

Browse









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Basic Game
Publisher: Margaret Weis Productions
by Allen S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/21/2012 22:08:37
I love this game, pure and simple. The mechanics took a bit of getting used to but I saw people I ran this for just come alive. Once you get used to making dice pools the rounds don't take too long. I LIKE the character creation rules. In this game it's ok to have Thor and Black Widow on the same team, because they will both be useful. Yes, Thor is not in the book. He was dead when Breakout was going on. he gets better though and he will show up...and it's not like it's tough to make your own :) I have enjoyed all 8 sessions of this I have run so far and I will enjoy more I am sure :)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Basic Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Villains and Vigilantes
Publisher: Monkey House Games
by Allen S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/28/2010 11:36:34
As I read the new version of Villains and Vigilantes (with my copy of the previous version close at hand) what struck me the most is how well this system holds up in today's gaming world. Yes, it's old-school...but in some ways, it fits right in with a lot of games today. This is a classic and I am proud to own the new version and hope to introduce the young'uns around my neck of the woods to some real superhero fun in the days to come. I'm so glad V&V is back where it belongs!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Villains and Vigilantes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Doctor Who: Adventures in Time and Space
Publisher: Cubicle 7 Entertainment Ltd.
by Allen S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/19/2009 13:25:53
As something of a response to the above review...

It makes sense to me that Cubicle 7 would want to promote the series that is on now rather than the old one, and that the BBC would require this. Nevertheless, as is being proved on the unofficial forum, you can very much do classic Who with this game. And, on the cover of the upcoming UNIT boxed set what do we see? Brigaider Alistair Lethbridge-Stewart, an old school Cyberman and Dalek, and a Yeti! I would be quite surprised if there were not also stats for the Third Doctor and maybe even the Second. So the classic stuff IS coming.

I believe a review should concentrate on what the game IS, rather than slamming it for not including stuff which is outside its scope anyway. This game is fantastic! It is fast-paced, rules-light, with systems that emulate the show beautifully. The production values are off the scale..and it comes in a BOX! I have missed boxed sets like this, frankly. A caveat: I was a playtester on this project. I love this game, and I really believe that anyone who gives it a chance will find it very enjoyable. And you don't have to play The Doctor :) It has very good character creation rules (something Time Lord did not have), and you could use it to play Torchwood, UNIT, something like the Sarah Jane Adventures, or a variety of variations on the time travel/battling evil aliens theme..and of course the "Time Lord and his companions in a TARDIS' paradigm works well too.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Doctor Who: Adventures in Time and Space
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Career Book 1
Publisher: Spica Publishing
by Allen S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/01/2008 15:56:55
I posted this review at the Freelance Traveller website, and am reposting it here:

On the ... Shelf?
An attractively laid out and well organized PDF. I was especially impressed with the artwork; while much of it computer generated, it’s pretty good. Mongoose should give these artists some work.

Initial Impressions
I was quite happy with the book as I originally purchased it – and then they put out an updated version with even more goodies in it. This is exactly the kind of support I was hoping we’d see from "third-party" sources. New careers are always fun, and expanded event tables are great stuff.

On Closer Inspection
We get expanded mishap and event tables for the non-military careers from the Core Book, except for the Scouts because those will be forthcoming from Mongoose. All the new event tables are "d66" format, with a lot more potential events. They can be used in place of or in conjunction with the originals. There are two new Life and Unusual Events tables to really add some spice to your characters background. Then we get into the new careers and specialties: Adventurer (explorer, treasure seeker, hunter), Bounty Hunter (skip tracer, repossessor, support), Clergy (missionary, monastic, preacher), Colonist (farmer, miner, settler), Corporate Citizen (finance, legal, administration), Militant Religious (warrior, monk, zealot), Space Patrol (operations, trooper, technical) and Worker (technician, service, labourer). The Corporate Citizen, Colonist and Worker careers take the specialties from the core book’s Citizen and expand them into full careers of their own. My personal favorite is the Space Patrol; space cops! Traditionally in OTU this job has been done by the Navy, which never made a lot of sense to me. There is now officially a Imperial Interstellar Space Patrol in my campaign.

And then we get FORTY pre-generated characters; one from each assignment of the new careers and 16 multi-career characters that also use some of the core book careers. I will go on record right now; I would purchase a book of nothing but these! What a great resource for referees! They can be used as NPCs or as PCs and they are great! Notes are included on the new skill specialty Social Science (theology).

Summary
Buy this PDF. Its simply that good. New careers, and those pregens..this is great stuff. And the presence of the "1" in the title implies that there will be more, and if so I will be all over that like a Hiver on corn dogs!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Career Book 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Old-School Gazette #7
Publisher: Expeditious Retreat Press
by Allen S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/14/2006 00:00:00
This was just a ton of fun to read. I gotta get caught up on these :) Feel like I'm reading a good ol' late 70's/early 80's gaming mag again


LIKED: everything :)

DISLIKED: that it isn't in print rather than PDF (but I understand today's realities)

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Old-School Gazette #7
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Classic Fantasy Review Vol. 1 Issue 1
Publisher: Goblinoid Games
by Allen S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/14/2006 00:00:00
This PDF maagzine, and those like it, are a great boon to the OSRIC player and GM and its fun to see this kind of stuff back in "print"


LIKED: Old-school style goodness and new critters :)

DISLIKED: The art is a little mediocre (but then maybe that's old-school too)

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Classic Fantasy Review Vol. 1 Issue 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

First Edition Feats
Publisher: Mob United Media
by Allen S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/14/2006 00:00:00
This was a product that made me go "why"? The cover is somewhat garish but not too bad, although it lacks the old-school look that a lot of OSRIC products have; probably sets it apart. The concept is interesting but this is something I very likely would not use.


LIKED: Interesting concept and nice to see the OSRIC rules being extended

DISLIKED: retrofitting OGL/d20 concepts like this into OSRIC just strikes me as odd

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
First Edition Feats
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Publisher Reply:
I think there's a significant audience of people who enjoy both contemporary OGL and 1E gaming, but this supplement really focuses on OSRIC's design principles. That's why, unlike OGL feats, Combat Proficiencies are restricted by class and have strictly limited benefits -- there aren't "feat trees," and rigid paths to character optimization.
Wyrms & Warlocks: Fantasy Caverns 2
Publisher: Goblinoid Games
by Allen S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/14/2006 00:00:00
Another selection of geomorphic cavern maps, useful for improv games of OSRIC or similar systems


LIKED: old school look and feel

DISLIKED: no grids on map

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wyrms & Warlocks: Fantasy Caverns 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Hi Allen! Thanks for the review. I added grids to the maps to make the product more useful to a wider range of customers with different tastes. Thanks again!
Wyrms& Warlocks: Fantasy Caverns
Publisher: Goblinoid Games
by Allen S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/14/2006 00:00:00
A collection of map geomorphs similar to those put out back in the day. Welldrawn and interesting, and not terribly expensive.


LIKED: Old-school look and feel

DISLIKED: No grids on the maps

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wyrms& Warlocks: Fantasy Caverns
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Hi Allen! Thanks for the review. I added grids to the maps to make the product more useful to a wider range of customers with different tastes. Thanks again!
Wyrms & Warlocks: Medusa's Hunger
Publisher: Goblinoid Games
by Allen S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/14/2006 00:00:00
This is a good old-fashioned 1e style adventure with a nasty group of monsters, an interesting setup and lots of dungeon-crawling fun. My only complaint is the lack of a square grid on the map which will make describing distances and such a tad difficult. A worthy contribution to the growing number of OSRIC-compatible products.


LIKED: Great storyline, classic look and feel, much fun!

DISLIKED: As mentioned, no grid on the maps.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wyrms & Warlocks: Medusa's Hunger
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Hi Allen! Thanks for the review. I've updated the map to include graph grids. I hope this makes "Medusa's Hunger" a more useful product! Thanks again for your feedback.
Six Gun
Publisher: Deep7
by Allen S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/14/2006 00:00:00
This is a good little product. The one page approach to rules does leave some things unexplained and the initiative situation was a bit confusing but the system plays smoothly and the character creation is quick and fun. The first character I created was a Chinese Lawman :) Now there would be an interesting character.


LIKED: The adventures given were very good and look like lots of fun to play. Character creation was smooth and simple.

DISLIKED: The GM section should have been two pages and told you what the skills meant; what does "Posin'" do?

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Six Gun
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Mutants & Masterminds Archetype Archive 1
Publisher: Green Ronin
by Allen S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/08/2006 00:00:00
Absolutely excellent. A must have for any Mutants and Masterminds game.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds Archetype Archive 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Traveller - Early Fallen
Publisher: Avalon Game Company
by Allen S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/23/2006 00:00:00
I love Traveller and I really enjoyed Traveller The New Era. I was saddened when GDW fell and took TNE with it. Now along comes Avenger Enterprises, picking up the gauntlet with this excellent adventure. A VERY challenging situation, a action-packed story. And very likely the most violent Traveller adventure written, but it all fits and it makes you long for the TNE:1248 sourcebook and the next adventures in this series. This is easily the best Traveller adventure published since The Long Way Home and I am really looking forward to running it.



LIKED: Excellent production values, great writing, exciting adventure.

DISLIKED: Have to do all the stats myself :( (but that's ok, I'm up to the task)

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Traveller - Early Fallen
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Modern Dispatch (#66): Superheroic Adventure Generator
Publisher: Adamant Entertainment
by Allen S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/13/2006 00:00:00
Kind of cool, if you're really stuck for ideas. Standard plots available or you can roll some really odd ideas.


LIKED: Good presentation, easy to use

DISLIKED: could have stood a bit more detail

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Dispatch (#66): Superheroic Adventure Generator
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Coyote Trail Enhancement Pack
Publisher: Precis Intermedia
by Allen S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/13/2006 00:00:00
A collection of useful add-ons for the game. Probably should just be in the main book.


LIKED: Decent presentation, good adventure

DISLIKED: That I had to buy it separatley. I would suggest simply incorporating it into the main rulebook and charging 5 bucks for it.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Coyote Trail Enhancement Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruFiction.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 25 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates