DriveThruFiction.com
Close
Close
Browse







Zurück
Andere Kommentare über diesen Verlag:
Fate Core System
von Jan M. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 09/09/2016 16:39:17

For me this was the very first time where I have tried a pen and paper based game. I knew some of the general rules but had no clue on how to play,what to do or how to start and end.
Fate gave me a front to back explanation on how I can play a good game and gives you all the freedom you want to have if you fell like you need this .
So, its great. Dont regret a thing



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Fate Core System
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruFiction.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Young Centurions
von Benjamin F. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 07/31/2016 16:29:33

Meant as an introductory RPG for younger children, Young Centurions delivers that to a T and a bit more. Characters are differentiated from mundane people due to their embodiment of an ideal of the 1900s (like in Spirit of the Century, for which this is based). It also delivers a bit of insight into the pulp genre, and with the campaign rating system (rates the campaign similar to how movies are rated), you could easily tweak it to have older characters in scenarios akin to a PG-13 or R rated campaign to fully represent the pulp genre. Furthermore, in my personal opinion, the use of the Fate Accelerated ruleset is far better suited for pulp campaigns than the Fate Core ruleset of Spirit of the Century, and running campaigns in the early 1900s (whether its the 1910s, 1920s, or 1930s) using this ruleset is rewarding, as it is to teach younger children the hobby.


All in all, it is a good RPG for all ages, even though some of the writing is geared toward younger children. Great read, great ruleset, and I will definitely be picking up a physical copy at my FLGS.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Young Centurions
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruFiction.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Spirit of the Season
von Myron B. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 07/27/2016 21:30:51

Spirit of the Season is a somewhat tongue-in-cheek supplement for the Spirit of the Century game. Don't get me wrong its well done, and more than a little fun, but turning Santa into a gadgeteering pulp hero is a bit out of the ordinary.


The booklet provides a nice selection of Christmas and Hanukkah-themed characters. Nick Saint, for example, is assisted by his Reindeer Men—each of whom is written up a playable character.


If the book has a weakness, its that most people are only going to be interested in its theme once a year. Even so its a fun addition to SotC and at a bargain price to boot!



Wertung:
[4 von 5 Sternen!]
Spirit of the Season
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruFiction.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Fate Worlds: Worlds on Fire
von Myron B. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 07/27/2016 21:04:46

Worlds on Fire gives you six cool new settings to play in: Tower of the Serpents, White Picket Witches, Fight Fire, Burn Shift, Wild Blue, and Kriegszepplin Valkyrie. I'm a sucker for both pulp (Kriegszepplin Valkyrie) and post-apocalypse (Burn Shift) adventure so I was sold on this book from the get go. Wild Blue's "superheros of the Old West" setting is also lots of fun.


But I'd have to say the setting that stands out the most is Fight Fire. With it's customized skill set, it really highlights the ways you can tweak the Fate system to drill down and focus exactly on what you want your story to be about—in this case putting out fires and rescuing people.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Fate Worlds: Worlds on Fire
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruFiction.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Fate System Toolkit
von Gustavo C. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 07/24/2016 18:22:02

I recently received this book in paper format as part of a kickstarter. This will give you an idea of how much I love the Fate Core and FAE systems. Some people may not realize it but in truth both are the same game system with the dials adjusted differently. This fact is one of a whole sets of insights you'll get as you read this toolkit.


Before starting this review, let's say that you can perfectly play Fate without this toolkit. Now, lets face it, once you'll start playing, you'll start tinkering with the system, because that's something GMs like to do, give their unique twist, find the unique flavor, provide the extra rule that will set their campaign appart from others. And that is why this book is for you. This toolkit will show you how modular the design is, how it can be tinkered with, where the dials are. And it will also expose you to a lot of thought provoking ideas, several variations one each theme and interesting possibilities everywhere.


You'll also noticed that most this ideas are not completely finished, and that's allright, because this is a toolkit, it gives you the tools to make your own reskining of the tools provided, to develop further upon them and to come up with greatness. And whe love doing that.


There's a lot packed in the 200 pages of this book, discusions on Aspects, Skills, Magic variations, a whole set of subsystems for special types of adventures and much more. You'll start reading and before long start writing and planning. It's clearly written and explained, yet if you are like me, you'll find you have to read it in small bites, as each idea fires up a lot of other ideas and makes you connect a lot of the dots, or even firing whole campaigns based on a simple possibility. It's worth reading it entirely, yet it's perfectly fine to read only the parts you think you'll need for your adventure, and it's easy to do so, as ideas are clearly grouped and labeled.


Remember also that as much as this book is great and meant for you, this is a toolkit, not The toolkit. You can get this one now and get a feel of what it can provide, so that you'll know what a toolkit does when the new Evil Hat kicstarter for bigger and meaner specific toolkits appear. This is the initial step. yes, but at the same time it's a must have book for all game tinkerers. Because while being the first step, it's a really tall one.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Fate System Toolkit
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruFiction.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Eagle Eyes • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
von Customer Name Withheld [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 07/19/2016 14:48:48

Eagle Eyes is a prime example of all the wonderfully strange things you can do with the FATE rules system; take a setting (the Roman Republic), take a cinematic genre (gritty detective noir), and smash them together to create the game before you today. Eagle Eyes isn't overburdened with historical information (Wikipedia and any book store ccan give you a lifetime's worth of information on Rome), instead electing to give GMs and players just what they need to get the game rolling, then moves on to devoting the majority of its wordcount to investigative gameplay in FATE and offers a nice new subsystem for creating Conspiracies that need to be unraveled and exposed. Character creation is the usual for the system (High Concept, Trouble, and a couple neat Aspects unique to the setting), while the skill list is a rebranded take on the Approaches from FATE Accelerated, pitching them as Pleas to the Roman gods; while simple and straight-forward, I'm not in love with such a short list, but bringing in the Skills from FATE Core would be an easy task.


A shining proof of how versatile FATE is and a genuinely fun game to boot, I hope Eagle Eyes can be given another visit later on.



Wertung:
[4 von 5 Sternen!]
Eagle Eyes • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruFiction.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Fate System Toolkit
von Jeremey C. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 07/18/2016 17:23:52

This is a great supplement to adding to your FATE games once you are familiar with the system. It also includes a lot of insight into why the designers made the choices they did for different FATE games.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Fate System Toolkit
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruFiction.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Venture City • A Superpunk Sourcebook for Fate Core
von Jeremey C. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 07/18/2016 17:20:23

I love this take on superheroes, and it is one of my go to examples of how well the FATE system can support a theme.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Venture City • A Superpunk Sourcebook for Fate Core
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruFiction.com Bestellung hinzufügen

The Secrets of Cats • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
von Customer Name Withheld [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 07/15/2016 13:01:06

I really enjoyed this game. You can tell the author put a lot of thought into the motivation of cats.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
The Secrets of Cats • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruFiction.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Venture City • A Superpunk Sourcebook for Fate Core
von Zeb W. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 07/14/2016 16:52:40

I love superhero rules. What I think I liked most about Venture City was that it was not your usual superhero game - it is much darker. Sure there were powers like flight, but with the Collateral Damage power, when could have it so that that when you go "super sonic" your flight destroys the environment around you as fly. Not very "super heroic", but in this settings when heroes are owned (and created by corporations) - and most likely part of something nefarious, and the good guys are looked on as vigilantees, it reminds of how the world viewed the X-Men.


While I did not like a number of the power - several where pretty bland when they could have done something interesting with them, I really loved the power buying structure - it works extemely well with how FATE handles their "extras".


If you like the FATE system and like Dystopian Super Power settings (think Heros, Powers), then this is the game for you.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Venture City • A Superpunk Sourcebook for Fate Core
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruFiction.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Save Game • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
von Steve S. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 07/12/2016 00:05:40

Super Awesome for a group just learning Fate Core. I'd absolutely run this again with another group. As long as your group likes weirdness or 80s video games, you can't go wrong with this.


It should be noted that we ran by the book, rolling on the included tables for keywords to make several aspects per player, which made some wacky but really cool characters, such as one that can pull out a supply of glowing green radioactive hot dogs and restore his lowest heart by eating one, and another character who can call in an ACME supply drop when she needs something. This also means they weren't playing established video game characters. This game would work just as well with players writing aspects for their favorite existing characters I think.


Pros:
• Hearts instead of Stress made a bit more sense to my players, coming from a D&D/Pathfinder paradigm. As did Special Moves instead of Stunts.
• Descriptions in the setting are loose enough to interpret in ways my group likes. For example, we made the town outisde of Castle Templyvania into a (still spooky) old west town, which made them pretty happy.
• PCs are aware they're video games, which is good for when I want to take them down a peg. For example, the shop between levels now has a blood donation machine. Players can donate thier lowest available heart for a coin into the combo pool, up to all of them if they want (in this one instance, losing a life doesn't take them out, so it doesn't empty the combo). Donating a life this way lets them get some sort of really useful item (of their choice within a very open amount of reason) from the shop. This is • all stuff not in the pdf, but added as I felt it worked.
• Coins dropping from defeated mooks helps new players get used to fate points.
• Hax are amusing.
• Easily adjustable difficulty because you can always have someone spot a hidden powerup and gain a life if they desperately need it. If the players were children, you could even spatter lives in corners and unusual places and let them compete for who has the most while also ensuring no loss will be so great as to completely take their character from the game.


Cons:
• Probably not for new GMs. The same loose descriptions and open ended setting notes I listed as a Pro above also mean you don't always have answers to what your players come up with. Having PCs acting as aware they're video games could also be a bit jarring.
• Rolling for aspects sounded better on paper, but several PCs had aspects that just didn't get used and would have to be re-examined a few stages later.
• Limited types of action by Skill was a bit jarring too. I was asked "why can't anybody Jump on an enemy and do hearts in damage?" and didn't really have a satisfying answer. This turned into a great way to make the players think outside the box though, so it's not really a Con after the first session or two.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Save Game • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruFiction.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Behind the Walls • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
von Mike K. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 07/03/2016 14:11:13

This is well written and a good game. It's a nice addition to Fate.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Behind the Walls • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruFiction.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Dresden Files RPG Casefile: Night Fears
von Mike K. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 07/03/2016 14:09:20

This looks like a fun game. I can't wait to play it.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Dresden Files RPG Casefile: Night Fears
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruFiction.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Morts • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
von Mark K. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 06/22/2016 15:02:49

Morts is a great little read. It sets up the setting in a nice compact way that gives a lot of ideas without inundating the reader with too much. The Missions guidelines are also a very nice way to set up adventures, very handy fornovice game masters.



Wertung:
[4 von 5 Sternen!]
Morts • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruFiction.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Fate Core System
von Allie G. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 06/19/2016 07:13:46

We haven't really played this yet, just test-drove it a little, but I think I love the rules system. But Holy moley they needed to take some of their Kickstarter money and hire a technical writer and an editor! The rulebook is is desperate need of editing. In several places the exact same paragraph is repeated within a page of the same location, and the whole book is so poorly organized that it's next-to-impossible to sift through and find the actual rules. This rulebook reminds me of a Depression-Era meatloaf: I can tell there's meat in there somewhere, but there's so much filler it's not possible to identify it. Did we really need pages and pages explaining the difference between game time and real time? Couldn't all the stuff having to do with skills be under one heading in one place instead of fifteen headings scattered throughout? Did the errors make it into the print edition, or is the problem with repeated pages limited to the electronic edition?


This seems like an excellent system for a mature group of experienced players. For a group of teens or drama queens, it could be a recipe for disaster. Player characters gaining power the more time they spend role-playing their personal problems... I envision entire sessions spent trying to coax emo pcs out of the bathroom, with the night ending with everyone taking new aspects entitled something like, "Is so over Jane and her issues." This system seems to have been designed for taciturn fighters who need to be encouraged to interact, not for my usual group who drive GMs insane by refusing to stop futzing around in character and get to the action.



Wertung:
[4 von 5 Sternen!]
Fate Core System
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruFiction.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Publisher Reply:
Content repetition is part of the teaching text philosophy that informed the editing of the book. Very few have had problems with it proportionate to the magnitude of your objection. I\'m sorry it wasn\'t to your taste. :)
Rezension 1 bis 15 (von 320 Rezensionen) werden angezeigt Suchergebnisse:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Nächste >>] 
0 Einträge
 Die heißesten Produkte
 Gift Certificates